Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women's football qualifying on RTE 2 - legit or sjw out of control?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

The USA women's team being the most elite women's team in the world were beaten by an under 15 boys team from FC Dallas. 5-2

This is something that has happened before, under 15s destroying national women's sides. They no longer play these matches due to the humiliation. Can we please stop pretending the standard of women's football is anything other than amateur level. Who cares if one signed to Man City or Barcelona. Pure diversity hire nonsense. Don't even get me started on equal pay.

I'm all for supporting women's sports. We should all have the opportunity to play whatever we want but the narrative that it deserves equal money or equal pay should be dependent on equal skill and equal ability. As yet we are not seeing it at all.

You've actually managed to pick the one example where you could make an argument for equal pay. The US womens team are more popular and more commercially successful than their male counterparts. Like it or not, the game is all about money now, the mens game does not have equal opportunity solely due to skill or ability, its more about having the right agent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Forty Seven

The USA women's team being the most elite women's team in the world were beaten by an under 15 boys team from FC Dallas. 5-2

This is something that has happened before, under 15s destroying national women's sides. They no longer play these matches due to the humiliation. Can we please stop pretending the standard of women's football is anything other than amateur level. Who cares if one signed to Man City or Barcelona. Pure diversity hire nonsense. Don't even get me started on equal pay.

I'm all for supporting women's sports. We should all have the opportunity to play whatever we want but the narrative that it deserves equal money or equal pay should be dependent on equal skill and equal ability. As yet we are not seeing it at all.

You've actually managed to pick the one example where you could make an argument for equal pay. The US womens team are more popular and more commercially successful than their male counterparts. Like it or not, the game is all about money now, the mens game does not have equal opportunity solely due to skill or ability, its more about having the right agent

Agreed. I would advocate that pay should be a percentage of revenue generated. I don't believe paying people to get better works. It breeds complacency. Let them get better to EARN better pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Agreed. I would advocate that pay should be a percentage of revenue generated. I don't believe paying people to get better works. It breeds complacency. Let them get better to EARN better pay.

But how do they get to that level without money and sustained promotion of the game? Was the English First Division so much better than every other league in the world in 1992? Or when the oil money started coming in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

If you looked at the cost of the womens teams vs how much they bring in, the players would owe Delaney money. Stop trying to make out that Delaney was living the high life on money the women were owed.

You are talking absolute nonsense man. As you have been for the entire thread.

They weren't even provided with basic changing facilities and had to share tracksuits. That's ridiculous; there's secondary school teams in the country that are better equipped.

At the same time the then CEO of the organisation was out racking up expenses on the company credit card, staying in the finest hotels and having his rent paid etc, etc - the list goes on.

I'm not blaming John Delaney for everything, but if you're going to do a cost v benefits analysis of financial funding of the women's game over the years then you have to acknowledge there's plenty of other stuff the FAI have squandered money on over the years, without waffling about how the women "probably owe Delaney money". But, I don't think you genuinely care about any of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Iang87 wrote: »
    The ignorance!!!! Not sure if this is a misplaced attempt at "bantz" or trying to be a "lad". Honestly stopped short of making a kitchen joke. I wonder would you speak like this to a woman.

0 technical ability, cop on. These are the elite women in the country playing soccer. One just signed for Man City. They've in all likelihood been playing this game since the age of 7 or 8 and are just as passionate as any male player playing. As for the fiver in is robbery point. God forbid they finally knock down all the barriers to make this as accessible to everyone as possible.

Was it?? Should they have just disrespected the majority of teams then that got knocked out in the groups. Thailand scored 1 goal in the tournament. The emotion of that moment was what the world cup is supposed to be about. They know they aren't going to win a world cup, all but 5 teams know they can't win it. Maybe just exclude everyone and start at the semi. Would that be the better option.

They are. There are B license courses available at half price or free to some women to improve the coaching level.

Never seen someone in a mens game misread a pass. You must not watch many mens games.

As for the match being tedious you left the room. We already established that your remote control works so why didnt you change the channel again.

Its these type of comments why Womens Football needs to be shown on television. This type of lazy comments about standard with zero regard for the sacrifice and work put in by these girls, who for the most part have been left down for generations in terms of funding by government and the FAI.
    It needs to be seen by younger girls who can see a pathway to the top, so they know they can walk out and represent their country if they stay playing.

I'm not a woman but I did coach a ladies team for a year and honestly I learned more about myself, teamwork and what support means in that year. The reason they all play the game is simply because they love it. If they're deemed to be the best players in the country then they should be correctly celebrated and broadcast to the nation on our televisions.

Sir White Knight, welcome. The standard is gowl. That is a fact. Any LSL team would destroy the Irish Womens National Team, or even whoever won the WC, by a cricket score.

thesiegeof wrote: »
    In fairness, the women's game may not be high quality yet but everyone agrees that more investment and popularity it gets, the higher the standard will be? I mean, the men's version had to start somewhere at one stage. Also, you can't really slate women's soccer for the low standard and then advocate watching the League of Ireland.

A league of Ireland team would humiliate any of the womens international teams. Jesus, a league of ireland division 1 team would.

• Site Banned Posts: 41 thesiegeof

A league of Ireland team would humiliate any of the womens international teams. Jesus, a league of ireland division 1 team would.

English, Spanish, German league teams etc would humiliate League of Ireland teams so no one should watch that either, that's what you're saying?

Arghus wrote: »
    You are talking absolute nonsense man. As you have been for the entire thread.

They weren't even provided with basic changing facilities and had to share tracksuits. That's ridiculous; there's secondary school teams in the country that are better equipped.

At the same time the then CEO of the organisation was out racking up expenses on the company credit card, staying in the finest hotels and having his rent paid etc, etc - the list goes on.

I'm not blaming John Delaney for everything, but if you're going to do a cost v benefits analysis of financial funding of the women's game over the years then you have to acknowledge there's plenty of other stuff the FAI have squandered money on over the years, without waffling about how the women "probably owe Delaney money". But, I don't think you genuinely care about any of that.

Do you think any of the money squandered by Delaney was generated by womens football?? Clue: It wasn't

English, Spanish, German league teams etc would humiliate League of Ireland teams so no one should watch that either, that's what you're saying?

The majority of people don't, you've proven my point. There is a hardcore that does, but the majority pay a subscription to watch the English, Spanish and German leagues which are broadcast all over the world. Is the LOI broadcast anywhere else??

Are you advocating firing money at the LOI to make it better supported??

The majority of people don't, you've proven my point. There is a hardcore that does, but the majority pay a subscription to watch the English, Spanish and German leagues which are broadcast all over the world. Is the LOI broadcast anywhere else??

Are you advocating firing money at the LOI to make it better supported??

Would it not be better if more people watched the League of Ireland? Would promoting it be a way of doing this?

Better for who?

For soccer in Ireland. Maybe you prefer soccer abroad but it would help our national team if our league was better.

Scottish leagues have one of the biggest supports per capita in Europe and aren’t world beaters. So I’m not sure how much it would improve us internationally.

Do you think any of the money squandered by Delaney was generated by womens football?? Clue: It wasn't

No, that's not what I'm arguing.

It's not for me but by no means the worst thing RTÉ have aired. Certainly no worse than the men.

Scottish leagues have one of the biggest supports per capita in Europe and aren’t world beaters. So I’m not sure how much it would improve us internationally.

Who said anything about world beaters? It would help, no reason why it wouldn't.

No, that's not what I'm arguing.

Before the men’s teams qualified for Euro 88 they got pretty much nothing. Their success and the raising of standards afforded them the luxuries they enjoy. It didn’t happen overnight like the ladies would like.

They see men’s football as it is at the moment and say, I want that, otherwise you’re sexist against women. They don’t look at the years it took to get to the level it is now. They don’t want to do the hard slog to that it improves in the future, they want it all, and they want it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I could just change the channel, but the people of Ireland are paying to subsidize this. I think it's ridiculous.

I suppose their mandate is to serve the community, not just show whatever gets the largest audience. From their point of view, having Women's football on in a slot that demand alone wouldn't justify will serve the community if it gets more people supporting and participating in the sport.
    Of course, it's not doing any of that if nobody watches it. There's a balance.

Before the men’s teams qualified for Euro 88 they got pretty much nothing. Their success and the raising of standards afforded them the luxuries they enjoy. It didn’t happen overnight like the ladies would like.

They see men’s football as it is at the moment and say, I want that, otherwise you’re sexist against women. They don’t look at the years it took to get to the level it is now. They don’t want to do the hard slog to that it improves in the future, they want it all, and they want it now.

That isn't the case. In their dispute with the FAI the women's team were making reasonable requests, some of which were shockingly basic and at a time where plenty of money was being spent elsewhere for no obvious benefit to the game in Ireland and under a near veil of secrecy. "They want it all and they want it now" is just exaggeration on your part.

Your logic seems to be that if something doesn't generate money then it should be ignored. We may as well ignore anything to do with grass roots or underage then too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭BurnUp78

In fairness it's not that the 16 year old lads are technically more skilled (though they may be) it's that they are far physically stronger and faster so of course they will beat any women's team. But everybody knows that already not like its some revelation but it doesn't stop someone like Ronda Rousey becoming a huge star or Maria Sharapova etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

RTEngland are a disgrace and have been for years showing our league. It has gotten so bad it would be better if they just scrapped this "Soccer Republic" nonsense. What a stupid name btw. Either do it right or don't do it all. License fee my swiss.

While eir have picked up the slack they did let the league down when Rovers played Limassol. Having shown both legs of our win over Brann they then decide to show wolves instead.

Their excuses are hogwash. Rights, costs, camera angles etc. Honestly did they get a better audience from showing wolves as against Rovers???

That isn't the case. In their dispute with the FAI the women's team were making reasonable requests, some of which were shockingly basic and at a time where plenty of money was being spent elsewhere for no obvious benefit to the game in Ireland and under a near veil of secrecy. "They want it all and they want it now" is just exaggeration on your part.

Your logic seems to be that if something doesn't generate money then it should be ignored. We may as well ignore anything to do with grass roots or underage then too?

How many “grass roots” or “underage” are shown on the national channel??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Sir White Knight, welcome. The standard is gowl. That is a fact. Any LSL team would destroy the Irish Womens National Team, or even whoever won the WC, by a cricket score.

I'm no white Knight. I'm also not on a public forum expressing opinions that belong in an era long before the Internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

The majority of the TV audience were actually men, probably because there was nothing else on and it was a bit of footy during the summer.

But the real challenge from here is whether or not the average attendences improve in the domestic leagues, 2,000 average attendance for the womens league is not going to cut it.
    The long tanned legs have nothing to do with the lads watching it of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Bit of both, tg4 show a lot of this type of thing as well, you can change the channel if you don't fancy it. 2-0 wasn't a great result, Macedonia were no use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Bit of both, tg4 show a lot of this type of thing as well, you can change the channel if you don't fancy it. 2-0 wasn't a great result, Macedonia were no use.
    Macedonia!!!! I'd say Montenegro will give them a tough game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,426 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I am aware that the womens euros are in 2012. that is is the point. perhaps you should reread the post i replied to.

why would they need to put "womens" in it to make it clear given that the year makes it clear that it is the womens euros?

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0903/1073654-fai-set-to-name-new-manager-of-republic-of-ireland/

FAI set to name new manager of Republic of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

why would they need to put "womens" in it to make it clear given that the year makes it clear that it is the womens euros?

That's not the point. You wouldn't have to follow football at all, I'm pretty sure the vast majority of people in europe would know the years of the world cup/euros - or at least that they land on even numbers. I know where next year's summer olympics is and most of them in recent history despite having no interest in them.

The point is they're intentionally not stating it as a kind of faux-equivalency of male and female soccer. If it's not unrestricted male football it need a modifier attached to it. For example U-21. They shouldn't leave it out saying "oh people will work it out".

Another thing is that the 2021 comes at the end of the title. So a person's eyes are already widening and they're thinking there's a male's one on for that split second until they see that at the end. That's why they tend to put U-21 at the beginning of the title, so it's clear straightaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Not bad in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

That's not the point. You wouldn't have to follow football at all, I'm pretty sure the vast majority of people in europe would know the years of the world cup/euros - or at least that they land on even numbers. I know where next year's summer olympics is and most of them in recent history despite having no interest in them.

The point is they're intentionally not stating it as a kind of faux-equivalency of male and female soccer. If it's not unrestricted male football it need a modifier attached to it. For example U-21. They shouldn't leave it out saying "oh people will work it out".

Another thing is that the 2021 comes at the end of the title. So a person's eyes are already widening and they're thinking there's a male's one on for that split second until they see that at the end. That's why they tend to put U-21 at the beginning of the title, so it's clear straightaway.

**** me you do read a lot from absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Edgware wrote: »
    Macedonia!!!! I'd say Montenegro will give them a tough game

Sorry, the opposition were no use. It wasn't a good contest, but its better than rte showing a BBC drama from 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭tjhook

If there's an Irish involvement, either men or women, in a sporting competition then why not show it on TV? It's probably a bit much to be showing *everything*, but I think qualifiers for a UEFA championship is fair enough. Women have done very well in a number of sports (e.g. boxing, hockey, sailing) and not all of the success was expected beforehand. I know almost nothing about hockey, but I was delighted to see the women's success in the world cup. It'd be a shame to have an Irish team do well without TV coverage of it.

Now if there's a competition with no Irish involvement (e.g. the 2021 finals if Ireland don't qualify), then I think it becomes a more difficult question. It should come down to the level of public interest, and I'm not sure there'd be enough interest to justify RTE filling a summer's prime-time slots with a minority sport (and women's football is one) that has no Irish involvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Most of the LoI bores spouting on about RTÉ not showing enough games as the same sort who don’t pay the licence fee in the 1st place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Most of the LoI bores spouting on about RTnot showing enough games as the same sort who don’t pay the licence fee in the 1st place.

Yea cos we are all unemployed spongers :rolleyes:

Most of the LoI bores spouting on about RTnot showing enough games as the same sort who don’t pay the licence fee in the 1st place.

Have you a link to this? I'd love to see the correlation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I'm a fan of soccer but I only have so many hours in the day to be a dead-eyed consumer so when I watch a match it's only of the best of the best. So I'm personally not interested in women's soccer or, jesus, the League of Ireland.

But, obviously, I am aware enough to know that other people may actually hold interests other than my own so I presume that's the audience for whom women's soccer is shown.

I also think it's good for young girls to be exposed to women's soccer, they would hold more of an propinquity for it than they would for men's soccer. I certainly wish women's soccer was on television when my daughter was growing up, maybe then she would spend her evenings playing a real sport instead of sitting on her hole gorbing down bowl after bowl of ice cream! Or playing tag rugby, whatever the **** that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

It doesn't look great to be giving out about your child here (that is, if you're not operating a parody account of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,649 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm in favour of the qualifiers being shown.

Women's football seems to be the coming thing in global sport. The World Cup was a huge success this year.....all the indications are that future tournaments will be bigger and with even more viewers. The leap in standards of football between the last two WCs was very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Raconteuse wrote: »
    It doesn't look great to be giving out about your child here (that is, if you're not operating a parody account of course).

It's been obvious for a while that he's just a parody account so I wouldn't pay much attention to him.

Raconteuse wrote: »

I’m an adult, she’s an adult, I presume you’re an adult. We’re all adults here.

Strazdas wrote: »
    I'm in favour of the qualifiers being shown.

Women's football seems to be the coming thing in global sport. The World Cup was a huge success this year.....all the indications are that future tournaments will be bigger and with even more viewers. The leap in standards of football between the last two WCs was very impressive.

Huge success?? Its worldwide viewing figures were on par with the German Championship (2nd Division in old money).

Edit: Source: The Economist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

If you look at the popularity of beach volleyball at the Olympics, where it's almost impossible to get tickets, you have to admit that Sepp Blather may have been onto something when he suggested the women's game needed to 'sex-up' to get the viewers.

Nobody is going to watch a women's football match for the technical ability on display, but if there's 22 women running around in hotpants and tight-fitted tops then I daresay both game attendances and viewing figures would increase markedly.

Surly it's worth trying?

Huge success?? Its worldwide viewing figures were on par with the German Championship (2nd Division in old money).

Edit: Source: The Economist

If I remember correctly the “German Championship” is the second most popular 2nd tier football league in the world, apart from the English Championship. So they’re not exactly insignificant viewing figures either.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    If I remember correctly the “German Championship” is the second most popular 2nd tier football league in the world, apart from the English Championship. So they’re not exactly insignificant viewing figures either.

And neither are near the top 15 in the world, which is the lowest I can find online. Also, one is a World Cup, the other is a second tier league in one country. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    I’m an adult, she’s an adult, I presume you’re an adult. We’re all adults here.
    What I should have said then was: It doesn't look great to be giving out about your daughter here (that is, if she exists and you're not operating a parody account of course).

I was able to Google tag rugby also. Looks like just a form of exercise to me. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tag_rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Have you considered that people don't watch womens football because it's hardly on TV. The womens team are at least competative. I'd happily watch the womens over the mens football.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 391 ✭✭99problems1

BBC brought this in a while ago and RTE is now copying them - showing the women's football qualifying on main prime time tv now. Hardly anyone watches women's football. Sure if you push it and push it then you will get artificially more viewers of it, what about all the other fringe sports and activities they could be pushing instead?

Ireland vs Montenagro Women's qualifying - not even a playoff or critical game, a by-the-numbers qualifying game. Even Ireland vs Montenagro men's qualifying would be a borderline game. Montenagro has a population of 623,000 people, it's about the population of Cork county.

I could just change the channel, but the people of Ireland are paying to subsidize this. I think it's ridiculous.

What's annoying about these idiots is that I was browsing the channels yesterday and it said "european championship qualifier" and thought great, the footy is on tonight! Switched over and saw women footballers trying to play football.

RTE even had an article up today "FAI set to announce new Republic of Ireland manager."

They're not even making it clear they're talking about women. Next thing they'll be calling it "mens european qualifer" and "new mens football manager"

Look, the quality is not good, yet. The final of the World Cup was presumably one of the best in terms of technical ability and it wasn't particularly entertaining. It was no worse than every MLS game I've watched though. All 20 outfield lads going for the ball like its a schoolyard game, mixed with terrible passes going astray. They can't all be as good as myself and Lionel Messi, I understand that.

Complaining about RTE showing any sport involving our country instead of a repeat of an old US sitcom and bringing SJW into it is absolute bollocks. If you plan to watch the next abomination involving our mens team, why not support the women too?

MLS isn't being shown on RTE though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I watched some of the women's match yesterday and it was far more entertaining than the crud served up by the men's team tonight.

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Because showing the highest standard game isn't the goal here. If it was we wouldn't show the male National team often.

It probably cost RTE nothing to buy the rights to and nothing is lost due to it. It's not an either or (though I agree their LOI coverage is poor)

They should be showing the games that have the most demand. No one wants to watch womens football. 40k + at the qualifier tonight.

Full of kids in for free at the womens game.

I saw TG4 show a stupid womens gaelic football match. There must have been only 200 people at the match, which would be all family members. They didn't even have a linesman to go get the ball when it went out into the stand.