Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dingle Road in Cabra a good place to live?

• 10-09-2019 2:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭

Looking at a possible house share on Dingle Road. The house seems nice but I'm a bit worried about the area. The Cabra House pub is quite nearby and it looks more like a fortress than a local I'd want to drink in. All thoughts, opinions and local knowledge appreciated though...

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭phantasmagoria

I went to school, lived and worked in the area for years and it gets a bit dodgy up that end of Cabra (i.e. as soon as you get up the hill on to Faussagh Avenue). You are right in saying that Cabra House isn't a place you would probably socialise in. Further down the road the pub that I think is still closed was the scene of a shooting a few years back. It's not a great place when it gets dark. Too many annoying little scrotes (some carrying). Other parts of Cabra are grand. Up Broombridge direction I believe is worse but have no direct experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,920 ✭✭✭Augme

Don't the know area but Google cabra house pub and you'll get some interesting results. Generally you can tell a lot about an area from their local pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Bandit country...avoid it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

It’s a prime location but has it’s bad spots by the looks of it. Also a quick google of the cabra house shows that it’s actually up for sale at the moment. So might actually turn into a nice place if it is that dodgy.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

Still the usual little scrotes knocking about, but if you keep yourself to yourself Carbra is fine. Luas lines and trains, bus routes, access to town, the boogies/st john pauls park, Gaa/soccer clubs for kids (Played for both Dingle utd and Begsbrough utd as a young kid). schools in the area.

Dont let a reputation put you off an area, in saying that i would avoid the Cabra house how its still open is a miracle, Matts down the way closed to a shooting many moons ago, the Gaa club is still good craic and sure its walking distance to phibsbro.

Theres also a Garda station local by Declans school which is nice be it if understaffed as a piece of mind.

There are some wonderful people from Cabra

I can see the money for these houses going up in price in the future

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Ciaranis

Bandit country...avoid it.

Hi. Are you basing that on personal experience?

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Ciaranis

Thanks for the replies. I honestly wouldn't dream of drinking in that pub but was just saying that was one of my first impressions of the surrounding area and it wasn't great. Would it be dangerous for a woman to walk around the area on her own at night?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,106 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

I live in between Phibsborough and Cabra, about 1.5km from Dingle Rd, very near the Cabra Luas stop, and have never had any issues in the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I'm from cabra. I've never been into any of the pubs there. It's very easy to avoid a pub, just don't go into it.

I'm not a drinker though.

Kids seem to be out very late playing on the road beside the station, never good imo.

That's Cabra West, Cabra East is closer to the city centre and is a more established area.m, older.

Both near to the Park. You could end up living beside a header, but that's applicable to most places, I'd check that out, your immediate potential neighbours.

It's a small area really

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Ciaranis wrote: »

Looking at a possible house share on Dingle Road. The house seems nice but I'm a bit worried about the area. The Cabra House pub is quite nearby and it looks more like a fortress than a local I'd want to drink in. All thoughts, opinions and local knowledge appreciated though...

Cabra House pub is up for sale so you wont need to worry about it.

Id avoid the area, buy somewhere else

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭ebayissues

What place should avoid if thinking of living in cabra? Dingle Road, ST Attrcta/Kilala road?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭iamtony

I used to go out with a girl from Dingle road and it's a mad place I wouldn't live their if you paid me. Saying that the locals seem to love it.
    I've been in the pub at the top of the road, it was called the oasis, dont know if that's changed but it was a mad shop. The barman worked from behind a bulletproof screen like in a bank ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Im from Cabra and like most places it has its problems.But its a great area to live in.I have loads of new neighbours.Professionals,they chose Cabra because of its rail and Luas links.

I still live in Cabra.I like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Ciaranis wrote: »
    Is Dingle Road in Cabra a good place to live?
    Not to move into.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,223 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

A lot of people think working class accents = total sh*thole. I always liked Cabra and spent a lot of time there as a kid, it's a grand area. I'd live here 100 lives before I moved out of town miles away from everything, you can walk to the city centre and Phibsboro and all manner of amenities.