Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

oughterard people - see OP for Mod warning 29/09/19

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Woodsie1 wrote: »
    What has that got to do with what Wibbs said?

It’s not cryptic. Monocultural societies are far worse than the alternatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

alastair wrote: »

Japan seem to do just fine

• Registered Users Posts: 38,132 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

alastair wrote:
    Yeah and bringing those from monocultural societies into this country is ruining it.

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭creeper1

Salvini is out and now a soft touch has replaced him.

Many more direct provision will need to be built to welcome the new Europeans.

https://youtu.be/K3USyQmreKY

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

creeper1 wrote: »
    Salvini is out and now a soft touch has replaced him.

Many more direct provision will need to be built to welcome the new Europeans.

https://youtu.be/K3USyQmreKY
    A great time to be a human trafficker.....sorry NGO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Interesting article about how Oughterard was used by Ireland's own far-right to push their own racist agenda:

https://twitter.com/b_m_hughes/status/1175564490919862272

https://thesciencebit.net/2019/09/22/fact-checking-the-racists-a-look-at-the-psychological-approach-of-irelands-alt-right/?fbclid=IwAR0MPRB8A3B_TpHrqjgr51HUNXbPXe4b6WT2EeaJ4jD6vQ6JHjGoDoh1U-o

from the article:
    Let me be specific:

The Oughterard meeting was organised by moderators of a Facebook page that was set up specifically for the purpose. The moderators of that page include persons with links to far-right activities and pages. The contents of the Oughterard page have included several inflammatory racist diatribes.

TV crews were not allowed to film inside the meeting. However, the meeting was filmed by a prominent far-right vlogger, who posted videos of proceedings online. He travelled to Oughterard specifically for the event.

I have been told that busloads of people from outside Oughterard arrived in advance of the meeting. Recall that up to then the meeting was publicised mainly on Facebook, via a page moderated by people with far-right links.

A ‘fact’ sheet was circulated to attendees, which contained highly misleading information about asylum seekers (more on this below), suggesting an organised effort at co-ordinated messaging.

The chair of the local branch of the far-right National Party spoke from the floor. He did not, however, introduce himself as a representative of that party, but rather presented himself as a concerned ordinary local person.

A woman in the audience proceeded to read out a letter advising the people of Oughterard that the opening of a similar asylum centre in Norway had led to a spike in sex crimes there; so much so that local blonde women needed to dye their hair in order to avoid being raped by asylum seekers. However, there is no evidence that this letter is authentic. In fact, when subsequently contacted about this by Irish journalists, the Norwegian authorities said that the asylum centre in question was “calm and harmonious” and completely debunked the claim of an associated outbreak of sex crimes. The claim was either a delusional myth or an outright lie, but either way it reveals an alt-right influence: the ‘African-as-rapist’ trope is a long-established calling card of the far right. (Try Googling “Rapefugee,” if you can stomach it.)

The tone and content of speeches, and that of the ‘fact’ sheet, completely belie any claim that the organisers were concerned about the “inhumane” nature of Ireland’s Direct Provision system. In fact, there was no mention of the word “inhumane” in the campaign until after the Oughterard meeting had begun to attract negative media attention. The Facebook page was originally called ‘Stop Connemara Gateway Hotel Direct Provision Centre.’ After the controversy exploded, it changed its name, becoming ‘Oughterard Says No to Inhumane Direct Provision Centre.’

A well-known far-right activist posted a message on one of Ireland’s most prominent alt-right Facebook pages congratulating his comrades, noting that “this group” had done “important work in Oughterard.”

For the subsequent protest march, anonymous fliers were circulated advising marchers to bring Hi-Vis vests. In recent months, Hi-Vis vests have become the symbolic garment of far-right movements across Europe. There is no tradition of wearing Hi-Vis vests at protest marches in rural or urban Ireland.

One of Ireland’s leading alt-right figures appears to have personally attended the march, posting videos online that were then seen by far-right counterparts around the world.

An analysis by social media intelligence agency Storyful, as reported in the Sunday Times by journalists Mark Tighe and Lorna Siggins, has established that “individuals, groups and media associated with promoting far-right rhetoric were the dominant force in spreading news of the protests” across Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

You don’t? Ah well.

Ah bless. Did ya run outa steam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 370 ✭✭WB Yokes

B0jangles wrote: »

Lol article using tweets from well known fruitcake Leah Doherty.

Are you expecting us to take this seriously?

WB Yokes wrote: »
    Lol article using tweets from known fruitcake Leah Doherty.

Are you expecting us to take this seriously?

It's not for your benefit, it's for people who aren't extremely familiar with the activities of the far-right in Ireland - people who might have believed the propoganda because they didn't know who was working so hard to spread it.

For people that has never heard of Leah Doherty she is an extreme far left agitator and psychopath who likes to silence people that disagree with her agenda by assaulting and or doxing them. She is also the daughter of corrupt ex FF politician who was involved in the illegal tapping of journalists phones.

Shes about as credible as Gemma O' Doherty.

maxresdefault.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So whats your own view on the peope in Oughterard?

They aren't simple minded idiots who would be taken in by far right probaganda.

What about the far left and the poor mouthing bs they come out with. Are people aware of that.
    The media in this country id consider way left in its train of thought. Every poor me boohoo story streamed across our screens. All far removed from realities of life. A small country with very limited resources and it doled out to everyone and anyone as if it's infinite.
    As much as people think we're a wealthy country. We're not. Built on lots and lots of debt.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,970 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Interesting article about how Oughterard was used by Ireland's own far-right to push their own racist agenda:

You don't really need an article, this thread alone is proof.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭enricoh

For people that has never heard of Leah Doherty she is an extreme far left agitator and psychopath who likes to silence people that disagree with her agenda by assaulting and or doxing them. She is also the daughter of corrupt ex FF politician who was involved in the illegal tapping of journalists phones.

maxresdefault.jpg

Saw that one on rte news that time, grade a fruitloop.
    I see on the indo it says that Grealish stands by his sponger statement
    Poor oul Twitterati will be in meltdown mode again. Behind a paywall if anyone can link it

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/td-grealish-stands-over-remarks-about-african-migrants-38521277.html

• Registered Users Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

maxresdefault.jpg
    Doherty the elder was some charlatan allright. After the phone tapping, walls around his house built for free and the dowra affair he smelled where the real money was and tried to get on the euro gravytrain but the public were having none of it. He "found" God in the end and became a regular at the house of prayer in Achill
    "kicky mare kicky foal" as they say

enricoh wrote: »
    Saw that one on rte news that time, grade a fruitloop.
    I see on the indo it says that Grealish stands by his sponger statement
    Poor oul Twitterati will be in meltdown mode again. Behind a paywall if anyone can link it

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/td-grealish-stands-over-remarks-about-african-migrants-38521277.html

The eyes say it all don't they :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Once you use Leah Doherty as a credible voice for direct provision etc. I think you must realise how wrong it is. Fruit loop is correct.

What's gonna happen now Grealish has stood over his comments? Surely they cant let him get away with having an opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Says all we need to know about leftie bias in RTE when they interview basket cases like Leah Doherty.

What's gonna happen now Grealish has stood over his comments? Surely they cant let him get away with having an opinion.

That's why people really need to stand behind him over this.

Doherty the elder was some charlatan allright. After the phone tapping, walls around his house built for free and the dowra affair he smelled where the real money was and tried to get on the euro gravytrain but the public were having none of it. He "found" God in the end and became a regular at the house of prayer in Achill
    "kicky mare kicky foal" as they say

Ha, there's nearly as much dough knocking around the house of prayer as the euro gravy train! An oul bachelor farmer here sold his farm to a developer in the tiger for mega money. Yer one has the vast majority of it now apparently.
    Hes like the high roller gamblers in vegas, they collect him n drop him home after a few nights after emptying the account a bit more!

Once you use Leah Doherty as a credible voice for direct provision etc. I think you must realise how wrong it is. Fruit loop is correct.

Theres a lad that has a little amp and a microphone that sets up on the street in my town telling everyone that jesus is coming back n to repent.
    I reckon he's more credible!

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Sponger calls other people spongers.

And people love it.

Baffling that most don’t even realise their own hypocrisy.

Faugheen wrote: »

And people love it.

Well if enough people agree with you, vote him out next year in the election.
    People were asked to vote on the anchor babies referendum n voted overwhelmingly.
    Pity theres no plan for a referendum on the leave to remain spoofers !

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ah right. Just like Saudi provides the best social model for those awkward issues of sexism, homophobia, and sectarianism.
    How in god's name did you make that daft leap? Then again daft leaps are your forte as you struggle in vain for an argument for this multicultural nonsense. You would think it would be so easy to defend as a position if it were so positive.

Oh and I hate to break it to you over ten percent of Saudis aren't Arab, they have their own ethnic minorities, mostly African and Indian. They have no trouble from them, though they're mostly all but slaves in name, so there's that.

As for ethnic monocultures, most nations in East Asia tend to be and also tend to be wary of too many "outsiders" coming in and what part of the world is seeing some of the highest growth, with some of the lowest crime rates?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

So whats your own view on the peope in Oughterard?

They aren't simple minded idiots who would be taken in by far right probaganda.

No-one is immune to propoganda - why do you think it exists?

It exists because it works.

I also notice that the entire response to the article has been to attack one of the sources as a person - no-one has refuted any of the claims made in the article about the entire event having been orchestrated and astroturfed by Ireland's far-right.
    Can I take it then that most of you here accept that the analysis is basically accurate?

The links to Leah Doherty's tweets are not to her opinions - they are to screenshots of tweets made by members of the far-right, some of which are tweets discussing their plans to use Oughterard as a propoganda tool.
    Are those screenshots faked?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,970 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Wibbs wrote: »
    Oh and I hate to break it to you over ten percent of Saudis aren't Arab, they have their own ethnic minorities, mostly African and Indian. They have no trouble from them, though they're mostly all but slaves in name, so there's that.

As for ethnic monocultures, most nations in East Asia tend to be and also tend to be wary of too many "outsiders" coming in and what part of the world is seeing some of the highest growth, with some of the lowest crime rates?

The crime rate for slaves has always been historical low though, hasn't it?

Faugheen wrote: »

And people love it.

I think the real spongers in all of this are the people who are making their money off the backs of the people who are being put into these centres, but alot of the people who think they are speaking up for them cannot see this or don't want to. The whole DPC set up is a quango ran by people who couldn't care less about your migrants or local communities alike.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I also notice that the entire response to the article has been to attack one of the sources as a person - no-one has refuted any of the claims made in the article about the entire event having been orchestrated and astroturfed by Ireland's far-right.
    Can I take it then that most of you here accept that the analysis is basically accurate?
    There's always going to be a slant, but no B I would not be surprised at all with far right involvement in such things. And yet another issue on top of all the others around "multiculturalism", more loons on both sides of the political spectrum using ethnic minorities as a football.
    Boggles wrote: »
    The crime rate for slaves has always been historical low though, hasn't it?
    Whooooosh.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.