Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most underated song

I was always partial to this version of Faith No More's 'Caffeine' - a little bit atmospheric tension, a little bit Matrix chase scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭BOSTIK

I doubt I'd ever have heard of this only for The Sopranos. Bloody great tune, and just perfect to augment a magnificent TV series.

This is the follow up single to Berlin's big ball of slush from the Top Gun soundtrack more than 30 years ago. Mercifully it's a totally different kind of track, definitely wouldn't have been much use during an 80s slow set anyway.

It only barely scraped into the UK Top 40 in early 1987. I was one of the ones who helped it into the Irish Top 30 the same year. It's a damn good song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Good early singles Sex (I’m A) and The Metro

I never heard those other Berlin songs before, probably better known in the US.

Back to 21st century. Fleetwood Mac released Peacekeeper as a single in Spring 2003. It didn't trouble the upper echelons of too many charts, but it's still a fine song. Was originally meant for a Lindsey Buckingham solo album.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Not only is this the most underrated song by China Crisis, I think it's their finest: You Did Cut Me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zodl-oC6NTI

^^^^

I remember that China Crisis track getting plenty of airplay on Radio 2, Gerry Ryan was a fan.

I always liked this song from the same era, he's a cool guy is Mr Ferry.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Not one of their best known, and not included on the Substance 1987 compilation despite being released that year, but still sounds good.

BOSTIK wrote: »
    Not one of their best known, and not included on the Substance 1987 compilation despite being released that year, but still sounds good.

Substance came out in August 1987. Touched By The Hand Of God wasn't released until December of that year. It was recorded for the film Salvation so appeared on the soundtrack of that instead.

Substance is the only album that I bought on all three formats - on the day of release: LP, cassette & CD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭GhostofKNugget

Ween are known for their over the top, satirical songs but this is a thing of beauty. Supposedly written about Gene Ween's divorce, it drips with melancholy. It has an absolutely blistering guitar solo as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Oh Mary

• Site Banned Posts: 4 Derfbenlath

We all have our favorites but what for you is a song that seems to fly under the radar yet is incredibly special?

How Soon Is Now by The Smiths:D.

Substance came out in August 1987. Touched By The Hand Of God wasn't released until December of that year. It was recorded for the film Salvation so appeared on the soundtrack of that instead.

Substance is the only album that I bought on all three formats - on the day of release: LP, cassette & CD.

Didn't realise that. I suppose the fact that I didn't buy it for years after clouded the memory.

Don't think a CD Player made it to my house till the mid-90s, couldn't say what the first new CD I bought was.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 jacquiabbafan

I think one of the most under rated songs would be "I ran" by Flock of Seagulls and "Black and White Town" by the Doves.

Favourite Oasis track, think I'm in a minority but I guess it has some decent competition

Hidden track on the Know Your Enemy album, I really like this. A cover of a fairly obscure song.

The original band - McCarthy - are brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Favourite Oasis track, think I'm in a minority but I guess it has some decent competition

I wouldn't say it's my favourite, but definitely up near the top. And definitely underrated in my experience. I was listening to Definitely Maybe a few months ago – first time in about a decade I’d say. I’d forgotten how good that tune is.
    Going to give it a spin at lunchtime.

For me, I’ve listened to a lot of Modest Mouse. I think the song “Spitting Venom” stands out a mile, but it never gets a mention. I just love the build up of the song – over 8 minutes

The original band - McCarthy - are brilliant

That's a decent song, reminds me of some of the early 90s Irish indie stuff. I'd never heard of the band before.
    I wouldn't say it's my favourite, but definitely up near the top. And definitely underrated in my experience. I was listening to Definitely Maybe a few months ago – first time in about a decade I’d say. I’d forgotten how good that tune is.
    Going to give it a spin at lunchtime.

For me, I’ve listened to a lot of Modest Mouse. I think the song “Spitting Venom” stands out a mile, but it never gets a mention. I just love the build up of the song – over 8 minutes

Not really familiar with much of Modest Mouse. Not too gone on "Float On", but do like "Dashboard" with its nod to "Planes, Trains & Automobiles".

The Bangles are more well known for the music from their 2nd & 3rd albums, but this from their debut is my favourite track of theirs.

Sheldon Cooper would appreciate the video too.

Michael Stipe considers the 1996 release New Adventures in Hi-Fi to be his favourite REM album.

I wholeheartedly agree. This is just one of its gems

Funky collaboration from Sheila E & Prince. This was a big hit in the States but stalled at no. 76 in the UK Charts in 1986. I liked it so much that I bought the 7 inch.

The 80's is the most underrated musical genre in history. This tune will be 40 next year, can you hear me millennials?

This timeless classic is 40 this year

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Great song but I don't think it is underrated as it is well recognoised.

Thanks for the advice pal, I just sang it for you.

Love always:)

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Just spent the last four days listening to all 33 CDs of Donna Summer's Encore.

Belter of a tune from 1987, reached the Top 30 over here, faring much better than it did in their native US.

Hooters track was in Miami Vice and appears on the third soundtrack album

Miami Vice was always good for the contemporary '80s tunes alright.

Doubt if these lads ever featured on any episodes though. The opening track on A Pagan Place, which is my favourite Waterboys album.

Miami Vice was always good for the contemporary '80s tunes alright.

Doubt if these lads ever featured on any episodes though. The opening track on A Pagan Place, which is my favourite Waterboys album.

Be My Enemy (from This Is The Sea) appears on two episodes of Miami Vice - third and fourth seasons - the programme took a fairly dark turn then and the music reflects that.

That's incredible, Mike Scott must be delighted with the few bob.

I'd say this uplifting piece from early 1985 wasn't featured though. Even though it was a Top 20 hit at the time, you'd never hear it anywhere now.

That's incredible, Mike Scott must be delighted with the few bob.

I'd say this uplifting piece from early 1985 wasn't featured though. Even though it was a Top 20 hit at the time, you'd never hear it anywhere now.

It's a rework of China Crisis, Wishful Thinking.

^^^^

That's a bit different to the version I remember, a few extra strings, but I wouldn't have mistaken it for San Damiano though.

Great American storyteller, had a few cracking albums in the '80s filled with fantastic lyrics like this:

Not the biggest hit that Pete Wylie's ever been associated with, but I still like it nearly 36 years later

Michael Jackson featured on some amount of hit singles during the 1980s, not always by himself. This collaboration with his brothers and Mick Jagger from the Summer of '84 is the best of them all, Jagger is one bould yoke:

The NOW collections back in the day invariably contained a lesser known track amidst all the Top 10 hits. NOW 3 contained this belter from March 1984 which I don't think I've ever heard on the airwaves. It reached no. 27 in the UK Singles chart.

This clip is from a TV appearance, so 1980s.:pac:

Ah specialist subject time......Now 3 is my favourite compilation ever. Here are my top 15. I wrote a detailed feature on compilations for Classic Pop magazine back in 2017 - here.

I got into Propaganda and David Sylvian as a result. They're great snapshots and time capsules.

Over the last few weeks, I worked on a fantasy Now and Hits album project - basically assuming that both started in 1980 instead of November 1983 and December 1984 respectively.

The full results (including Spotify playlists) - If there was Now before Now and If there was Hits before Hits

The NOW collections back in the day invariably contained a lesser known track amidst all the Top 10 hits. NOW 3 contained this belter from March 1984 which I don't think I've ever heard on the airwaves. It reached no. 27 in the UK Singles chart.

This clip is from a TV appearance, so 1980s.:pac:

I love the way the backing vocalist on this song (she also does the spoken vocals) has a bit of a giggle near the end - obviously miming!

That is an underrated song that I had overlooked, mainly because I had not heard it much at all!

Propaganda had at least two other underrated songs, so basically a very underrated musical act.

Firstly, there was the song they are probably best known for, but still underrated: Duel
    Here's the single version:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nnQ2zOmb6Hg
    Here's the extended version:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAix55PbNrk

Secondly and more exquisitely, there is Dream Within a Dream:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXZyTx4TzLg

Their 1985 LP A Secret Wish is one of the best ever

Ah specialist subject time......Now 3 is my favourite compilation ever. Here are my top 15. I wrote a detailed feature on compilations for Classic Pop magazine back in 2017 - here.

I got into Propaganda and David Sylvian as a result. They're great snapshots and time capsules.

Over the last few weeks, I worked on a fantasy Now and Hits album project - basically assuming that both started in 1980 instead of November 1983 and December 1984 respectively.

The full results (including Spotify playlists) - If there was Now before Now and If there was Hits before Hits

NOW 3 was good alright, the excellent "Love Wars" from Womack & Womack is probably the best of the lesser known tracks which adorns it.

Your playlists make for an interesting read, though I'll be trying to forget some of the songs contained therein. I always reckoned a 30 track compilation album was worthy buying even if you only liked 5 of the listed tracks, as it'd be cheaper than buying the singles individually. And of course there would invariably be an undiscovered gem lurking about somewhere.

NOW 3 was good alright, the excellent "Love Wars" from Womack & Womack is probably the best of the lesser known tracks which adorns it.

Your playlists make for an interesting read, though I'll be trying to forget some of the songs contained therein. I always reckoned a 30 track compilation album was worthy buying even if you only liked 5 of the listed tracks, as it'd be cheaper than buying the singles individually. And of course there would invariably be an undiscovered gem lurking about somewhere.

Thanks.
    I couldn’t gloss over the rubbish as the purpose of those compilations is to primarily document a four month chart window. So stuff that did well at the time gets included. One major flaw of retrospective compilations is that they cherrypick and omit some of the forgotten songs.
    Agree, the compilations were great value for money but the sound quality suffered with too many tracks on each side. They should have started full CD releases a lot sooner than November 1987.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭UrbanSprawl

I know arcade fire are not under rated and Ive know this song 4ever but what a tune and will ever see such genius again