Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,590 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I have zero recollection. I passed out and he was a gentleman..oh God what am I writing.

As long as your arse wasnt sore and full of lube I reckon you were grand :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

As long as your arse wasnt sore and full of his cum I reckon you were grand :D:D

fixed that for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,197 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Monkey2019 wrote: »
    Years ago i got a job doing admin work. The office was in a depot and I was the only female working there. I was covering a maternity leave. The supervisor of the place was a real cranky auld fella and everyone that came to the depot were terrified of him.

Anyway I got on really well with him. He would make me coffee in the mornings. Few months in I started noticing stuff floating in the coffee. It looked like phlegm floating on the top of it. I thought at first he just gave me a dirty cup but this happened every morning then. I stopped drinking the coffee he made me.

The girl i was covering for came back and i got moved onto the reception desk in the showroom. After a while got talking to the girl that I had been covering for. Got talking about the old boy in the depot and she asks me had i ever noticed anything in my coffee. Turns out I was right and he had been spitting into our coffees.

She had complained about him a few times, he was always being touchy feely with her. Came back after some hols and he had been fired.
    She had been getting filthy text messages and heavy breathing phone calls - went to gaurds - was traced back to him.

And I thought I was a good judge of character :D
    Are you sure it was only spit?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Klemantine

Biggest scandal, was with my boss, I threw all around me away because he starting yelling at me. I told him to go verry and left. Next day He called me, said sorry, and asked if I don't want a promotion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

I won't name the company but supposedly the companies head office was in South Africa and an Irish subsidiary was based in Ireland and it was up to the Irish side to look after their patch.

Anyhow unbeknownst to the head office in Africa the Irish side of the company had its own club house,bar, snooker hall,soccer pitches, tennis courts and a yacht in the ocean and cruiser on the lake, top end company car's etc

A company director came over to see how it's all working out, lets just say he wasn't happy with the cashflow...

The ostentatious 80's huh

• Registered Users Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Carla 4 Garda

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

Are you sure it was only spit?

Yea :D He was seen doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Not really a scandal per se, but a former manager of the place kind of went of the rails after being let go (he'd been pretty useless for years by that stage in all honesty) Anyway a year or so afer being let go, he broke in to the office, attempted to set fire to the factory, didn't take luckily, left notes for various people and then hung himself from the balcony in reception!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

gwalk wrote: »
    I have zero recollection. I passed out and he was a gentleman..oh God what am I writing.

Did you swab your arse for cum?

He did in his hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Tomw86

valoren wrote: »
    He did in his hole.

No, he let your man do it before he left :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭phunkadelic

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

gman2k wrote: »
    How do you buy drugs in the States on a credit card?

Might have withdrawn cash with the credit card?

Great thread by the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Floppybits

mlem123 wrote: »
    Doubtful, as she doesn't swing that way hahaha I don't think the guy was in the right head frame to discern which bathroom was correct

Sounds like the poor guy was set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Wow, some of them still working there - based on a quick LinkedIn search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭phunkadelic

Yeah but none of the lads involved!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

If that's their "Top 10" then they are very much struggling. Well compared to where i work anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭lassykk

In fairness most get the hell out of the Big 4 as soon as their training contract expires

Not the most exciting but I worked in a local supermarket/deli during school/college.

There was plenty of bitching and moaning and a couple of absolute nut jobs working there.

Anyway one of the nut jobs was probably mid to late 20s and got with a security guard who worked there probably mid 30s. No big deal, they are going out for a while and he moves in with her in the flats above the shop.

A while later (months I'd guess) all hell breaks lose and we can hear screaming from the flats down in the shop and bags of clothes end up out in the back store which would have been accessible from a window in the flat (the security guards).

Turns out the guy who had been riding the nut job has also cracked onto the new starting blonde 17 year old and not alone that but he'd gotten her pregnant. Apparently there was a cat fight in the shop between the two girls that I sadly missed and grainy CCTV wouldn't have done justice to.

I recently found out that 15 years later the security guard and the then 17 year old are still together which means at least it had a good ending for someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭facehugger99

A chap I worked with was convicted of running multiple brothels with a Brazilian lady that he was in a relationship with.

He was a very mild mannered guy, not at all what one would imagine when you'd think of a stereotypical pimp.

He was given a 2 years sentence - lost his job obviously too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

They'll be onto us once they see a load of random blokes looking at their profiles... haha

Crying shame number 4 on the list is married now! A loss to us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

A company I used to work for did a lot of business with Graham O'Dwyer. Met him a handful of times- a more unremarkable man you could not meet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

A company I used to work for did a lot of business with Graham O'Dwyer. Met him a handful of times- a more unremarkable man you could not meet.

Hardly a scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I recall in the naughties in a very large, very high profile tech multinational when the male HR director and female recruiter suddenly disappeared. The word on the street was that he had approved her expense claim for a visit to Victoria's Secrets on their recent work trip to the States.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

I recall in the naughties in a very large, very high profile tech multinational when the male HR director and female recruiter suddenly disappeared. The word on the street was that he had approved her expense claim for a visit to Victoria's Secrets on their recent work trip to the States.

What a cuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

In my previous callcenter company, a manager shagged the HR lady IN THE CAR PARK OF THE OFFICE BUILDING. Many people heard/saw it. In addition, said HR lady also bullied a HR lad to such an extent that he left. In the end, the HR lady was fired for her misconduct, but the manager happily continued for years after. All people in question are now gone (as well as myself) from this company though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Worked in a cafe beside a Dunnes, a lot of the auld ones would stop in for tea after they did their shop. One day saw one of them being led away by the gards shouting and crying. She had apparently only paid for about one in every four trolleys of shopping she'd left the place with. She'd fill it up, go out of the grocery section into clothing, if anyone said anything she'd say oh I'm just grabbing a couple of things in there before I pay, then in the clothing section it'd be oh I paid for this already I'm just having a look here. Proper blue-rinse lovely old granny, and she was paying the odd time so I suppose that took suspicion off.

A new security guard started and would actually ask her to produce a receipt, she pulled the "oh I'm a silly old lady I'm so sorry" routine but he spotted her pattern pretty quickly.

Where I am now, probably the guy who was buying fruit and vegetables from one of the German supermarkets and reselling it at a big mark up, I think misrepresenting it as locally grown etc.

jesus i didnt, and i hate to say it, think "spitting" while i was reading that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Carla 4 Garda
    Did you work with her or with the Garda who got in hot water for shagging her in/on the squad car?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Sameouldstory

Better to use a new account for this as my scandal involves boards.ie

My company was throwing a big bash but after work hours and basically forced everyone to attend.

So a girl in work posted on boards to find out it it was legal for the company to do this. A few lads in a different department seen this and realised it was our company and signed up to boards pretending to be the CEO giving out to the girl.

Some friend of the CEO seen it and told him. He got the IT lads involved and eventually the profile and post where traced back to the office . They uncovered email chains then and knew who was involved.

4 of them got sacked and some got off with warnings....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Sounds like a great place to work that. Also, Boards would have had to have provided the info of users? IP and such?

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Sounds like a great place to work that. Also, Boards would have had to have provided the info of users? IP and such?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

nthclare wrote: »
    I won't name the company but supposedly the companies head office was in South Africa and an Irish subsidiary was based in Ireland and it was up to the Irish side to look after their patch.

Anyhow unbeknownst to the head office in Africa the Irish side of the company had its own club house,bar, snooker hall,soccer pitches, tennis courts and a yacht in the ocean and cruiser on the lake, top end company car's etc

A company director came over to see how it's all working out, lets just say he wasn't happy with the cashflow...

The ostentatious 80's huh

In Ireland? ! I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

J Mysterio wrote: »

No way boards.ie would have provided that

I presume he means IT checked their logs on their end to see requests to the boards.ie URL at the time it was posted.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

One hotel I worked in the male general manager (whose was married with 3 kids) was caught riding a male night porter. I worked with this same guy in a different hotel before that and he was caught organising prostitutes for men staying there.

Same place the duty manager (in his late 40s) left his wife & kids and shacked up with an 18 year old waitress.

Last office I worked in one fellow wrote a full book about all the high up managers listing every reason he hated them & really disgusting insults, printed out a copy for everyone working there and left them on each desk.
    He did everything he could to get fired but poor f*cker is still there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Not in my workplace but in the secondary school I went to. This happened about 8 years after I left.

I think he was a first or second year but he was caught looking up normal porn on his phone one day. He was sent to the principal's office and his phone was confiscated.

That evening he went home, got out and loaded his father's shotgun and you know the rest. All because of how hard the principal and vice principal were on him led him to fear what his parents would do or say.

The principal and vice principal were turned away from the house when they went to pay their condolences and both retired a few weeks afterwards.

Not in my workplace but in the secondary school I went to. This happened about 8 years after I left.

I think he was a first or second year but he was caught looking up normal porn on his phone one day. He was sent to the principal's office and his phone was confiscated.

That evening he went home, got out and loaded his father's shotgun and you know the rest. All because of how hard the principal and vice principal were on him led him to fear what his parents would do or say.

The principal and vice principal were turned away from the house when they went to pay their condolences and both retired a few weeks afterwards.

Murica?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Not really a work scandal but a funny thing happened to my brother about 20 years ago.
    He was working in IT, working late one night as deadline was next day, anyway their office was out in one of those business estates and at about midnight a nice car pulls into the lot, parks in front of the windows (one way glass).

Guy in a nice suit just takes his dick out and has a **** right there and then in front of the few IT lads working late - who were pissing themselves laughing.

Guy obviously thought no one be around, but jaysus just have a sneaky Tom Hank in your car ffs!!!

Murica?

Tipperary

Worked as a contractor in one of the bigger electronics multinationals in Ireland for a while. To say corruption aided by incompetence was rampant at African levels would be an understatement. I mean the company was well known for prosecuting thieves to the full extent of the law, how there wasn't mass arrests for fraud when the whole scandal broke is beyond me.

To give you some background, with some contractors the company paid X amount of money to get the job done, it was then up to the contractor to staff the job with appropriate numbers and arrange for cover if/when needed. Other contractors however were paid a certain hourly rate per person on site. This covered the worker's hourly wage, insurance, etc, and the balance represented the contractor's own profit.

Problem began with the maintenance guys, and just to be clear, these lads were on big bucks from the word go. Electricians, fitters, etc. They started turning up for unrequired overtime on weekends, justifying it if confronted with some fairly spurious excuses like "such and such a machine has to be stripped and I can only do it when production is stopped". They were clocking in at 8AM, and then promptly hitting the golf course, the pub, going back to bed, or off doing private nixers like re-wiring houses and the like. They'd be back 10 or 12 hours later to clock out again, pocketing double time worth several hundred euros (pounds actually at the time) in the process.

Scandal broke when the facilities manager, a former maintenance contract worker himself but by now a direct company employee and department manager, was exposed taking bribes in exchange for awarding contracts. A gig came up to supply fire extinguishers, however the real profit in this case was not in supply but in the regular maintenance and safety checks that have to follow periodically on a long term basis. Some guy offered a quote, facilities manager handed him a piece of paper with his home address on it and says "have a big screen tv and a VCR* delivered to this house and we have a deal".

(*giving away the timeline slightly here!)

In fairness to the guy making the bid, he was having none of it. Maybe he didn't need the money, maybe he didn't like being treated like a stooge, maybe he just thought the facilities manager was a creep, but he blew the whistle on the whole scam. Turns out your man was at it from day one. All the contracts were investigated and a lot of good people lost their jobs through no fault of their own. And I'm not talking about the maintenance crew here who deserved it, I mean all the cleaners and janitors got kicked out, the catering staff in the canteen went, security guards, and so on. New contractors were brought in to replace them but still, it wasn't their fault their employers went down that road in the first place.

Thankfully my own job wasn't affected as it came under the remit of supply chain management and not facilities.

On further investigation it even emerged the facilities manager had been whisking his wife off to New York for weekend shopping trips on the department credit card! No police action taken, I've no idea why, although he voluntarily surrendered his privately owned 4x4 to the company who I believe sold it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Just so we are clear here to all biggin up the bigguns

How fat are we talking here? Washing themselves with a rag on a stick fat?

Nah jaysus I'm not one of those American lads - feeders ?
    She was overweight sure, but not morbidly obese, definitely could work on her weight without having to have stomach surgery.

This is exceptionally sad :(

lassykk wrote: »
    This is exceptionally sad :(

Yeah, it sure is. The kid was absolutely innocent and just doing what a kid that age does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

This was the scandal at the time. A retail company in the south east. Part of the "Big 5" supermarkets at the time. I don't know for sure but I would say the store turned over €1m a week. I say this so you get the idea what kind of money we're talking. There was a management team of maybe a dozen and each has their own code to go into various parts of the building which was logged.

Anyway, One night somebody (or people) goes into the store in the dead of night (Uses a Key for entry) and then moves through the building using each of the dozen managers codes all the way up to the safe and empties it even somehow clearing CCTV footage. To say **** hit the fan is an understatement. Two managers were grilled by the guards and were widely believed to have been those involved, One left within a year but the other was still with the company well over a decade later.

It was completely brushed under the carpet because I would think insurance would never pay out and they didn't want the bad publicity. Not even a word in local papers.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-had-explosive-device-components-in-college-locker-court-hears-1.2885433

I worked in the same building as the guy, he worked in a spin out company within Maynooth University. Guards had the whole corridor containing their lab cordoned off and everything being carted out. Was a while before we found out what the story was so a fun day of speculation.

One of the technical staff I was friends with said he'd chatted to him a fair bit and your man had been asking him questions about remote control switches :pac:.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Sleepy wrote: »
    Did you work with her or with the Garda who got in hot water for shagging her in/on the squad car?

Same organisation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,965 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Same organisation

You work for Pornhub? :pac:

blackwhite wrote: »
    You work for Pornhub? :pac:

Lol....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

People wank1ng / shagging in the toilets. You hear it all the time :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭dinorebel