Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Joe be Gone Til November like Wyclef Jean? Liveline: 17/09/2019 to date

That's pretty much it. Somebody whom I gather was in the IRA (had just tuned in) was refusing to say what his IRA instructions were, regarding a raid on a cash transit van.

Actually he was an IRA supporter but was serving in the Defence Forces. He did armed support for cash transits and Joe asked him what were his orders were they to be raided and he refused to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Well I see I missed a cracker so to speak.

Just like the way Mr. Duffy potrays the Hutches as harmless innoncent victims compared to the murdering killer Kinahans, I see once again it's he's attempting to paint the IRA in as bad a light as possible, with I can only assume scant mention of the British Army, British Secret Service, UDA, UVF, UFF, Red Hand Commandos, Red Hand Defenders, Shankhill Butchers (amongst others)?

I'm no IRA supporter but he's so biased in his chairing of any debate on Northern Ireland he really should not be allowed to engage by RTE in this.

From reading the thread, he doped in a subtle as a brick plu then went for a break offering the caller no right of reply? What a shameless coward.

All dismissed as whataboutery when mentioned.

Actually he was an IRA supporter but was serving in the Defence Forces. He did armed support for cash transits and Joe asked him what were his orders were they to be raided and he refused to say.
    Are you kidding me?

Why should a former member of the defence forces disclose that info? I asume there are regulations against that. I'm lost here, that makes Duffy's diatribe even more perplexing and the awkward segue into his self-promotion even more cynical.

How would writing a book on the Children of The Troubles have given Duffy an insight into Defence Forces procedures surrounding Cash transit operations..?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Any tough questions came his way he threw them to Ann to answer.

Then he'd attack the next callers point and repeat the manooooooooover.

Cowardly blackguarding they used to call that behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

shearforce wrote: »
    is it yourself Basil?

Afraid not, just happen to know a lot about the subject matter.

cozar wrote: »
    he will go and sip prosecco with Padre in Howth.

Will they have lunch with Dr. Sam in Jaco's restaurant?

Are you kidding me?

Why should a former member of the defence forces disclose that info? I asume there are regulations against that. I'm lost here, that makes Duffy's diatribe even more perplexing and the awkward segue into his self-promotion even more cynical.

How would writing a book on the Children of The Troubles have given Duffy an insight into Defence Forces procedures surrounding Cash transit operations..?

Well the ex-soldier called Joe out for not being a Republican because he always has an anti-Republican agenda. Joe tried to get him to say that his orders if he was raided while on duty was to fire ball ammunition at the IRA but he refused to say so.

Joes segue was to tell RA-man that there was a book about all the children killed during the troubles written by that anti-republican Joe Duffy.

Did he lose the rag or just dither? Should I listen back so to speak?

Definitely listen back.

Well the ex-soldier called Joe out for not being a Republican because he always has an anti-Republican agenda. Joe tried to get him to say that his orders if he was raided while on duty was to fire ball ammunition at the IRA but he refused to say so.
    That's probably a reasonable guess, although I'm sure the procedure is a bit more detailed than that, depending on context, rank, training, whatever.

Duffy shouldn't be putting words in people's mouths, and shouldn't be asking a member of the defence forces, even former serving members, to disclose procedures around firing ammunition in those circumstances.

Whenever former soldiers and Gardaí appear in media, they're always very circumspect about internal procedures -- Det Chief Superintendent John O'Brien (retired) was on Radio last night talking about current issues in Cavan, and making that point about the sensitivity of security procedures.

he was trying to get the guy to incriminate himself somehow. lose his pension or something... yah know Just Joe stuff.

withless wrote: »
    he was trying to get the guy to incriminate himself somehow. lose his pension or something... yah know Just Joe stuff.

Like a true man of the people.

How could he incriminate himself if he was in the army?

The cash escorts were fully armed in full combat gear, of course they had orders to fire if necessary.

Though I think I heard that a cash escort was never actually hit. The show of force was enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,191 ✭✭✭Jeff2

The cash escorts were fully armed in full combat gear, of course they had orders to fire if necessary.

Though I think I heard that a cash escort was never actually hit. The show of force was enough.
    I doubt the instructions were for every soldier at the scene of a raid to go ahead and open fire when a raid happened - you'd have to assume that there was a command chain with different procedures depending on a soldiers seniority and training, and the circumstances of what was actually happening. We have no business knowing those procedures - in fact it is in the public interest that such matters should not be made public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Apart from that, he was a radio operator, and probably had a different set of instructions to the rest of the squad.
    I'd be very surprised if operational orders allowed them to fire without an officer or squad commander giving the order, but there may well have been an over-riding allowance if there is an obvious bad guy shooting at them.
    Having had a fairly good look at their kit in passing over the years, I'd say they were ready for a rumble, even if it came as a bit of a surprise. Doubt if they were actually loaded with one up the spout, but loaded anyway.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Joe: What would you have done, as a Republican/sympathiser if the IRA had tried to rob a van you were protecting?

What Joe hoped he would say: Well Joe thanks for the great question, I would have dropped what I was doing them and helped them, maybe carry the money or shoot a cop Joe. When can I buy your book by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭cozar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Disgraceful plug.

Absolutely scandalous, how much would all these slots cost if he had to pay for them. How do RTE allow it, he must be held to account.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Disgraceful plug.

Absolutely scandalous, how much would all these slots cost if he had to pay for them. How do RTE allow it, he must be held to account.
    I'd say he doesn't give a damn at this stage. In his own head if he was let go the BBC or some other organisation would snap him up. Either that or he would pursue his acting career where he would surely be a shining success or become a full-time author I'm sure he believes he's Nobel prize material
    Lately he has the cut of a man who's ready to cut loose

I'd say he doesn't give a damn at this stage. In his own head if he was let go the BBC or some other organisation would snap him up.
    since the BBC began to publish its top earners' salaries in the past couple of years, I think that notion can be safely put to bed. There are BBC broadcasters (radio and TV) with far bigger audiences earning far less than Duffy. At this stage of Duffy's career, it's difficult to see him gaining any traction in another jurisdiction where he has no public profile.

I think Newstalk might be interested in him for the 12pm to 2pm slot, but Ciara Kelly is already maintaining George Hook's listenership, so you'd have to wonder about whether they'd be willing to even match his RTÉ salary for dubious marginal gains.

Especially since even Pat Kenny hasn't had the kind of impact that might have been expected.

Ever since, Newstalk seem to have preferred going after newer, or less tested broadcasters like Yates and Kelly and Paul Williams for high profile slots. With the exception of the PW, this approach has generally paid off.

I'd say he's ready for change though. Delayed mid life crisis perhaps?? having said that although he has a fairly high opinion of himself I'd say he's very financially aware and he knows which side his bread is buttered

Today was all very fine but as long termers here will know, we're going to pay for it over the next two weeks. It's going to be wall to wall cancer, suicide, adoption, illness, etc. You name it, he'll serve it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Well today took the biscuit. He should be told in no uncertain terms to hawk his books on his own time and not on the national airwaves at our expense.

So we're gonna have three weeks of him dropping hints about his latest book.

Mena Mitty wrote: »

Closer to 13 I reckon.

Just fewer than 100 days until the bookshops close for Christmas...

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Well today took the biscuit. He should be told in no uncertain terms to hawk his books on his own time and not on the national airwaves at our expense.

Does RTE have written policies on this sort of stuff?

The company I work for has quite a strict ethics booklet and rules on conflicts of interests. All publicly available and distributed to all along with a mandatory computer training course for everybody.

I would get my knuckles rapped pretty hard (to put it mildly) if I was using company time & company resources to run a little sideline.

Does RTE have written policies on this sort of stuff?

The company I work for has quite a strict ethics booklet and rules on conflicts of interests. All publicly available and distributed to all along with a mandatory computer training course for everybody.

I would get my knuckles rapped pretty hard (to put it mildly) if I was using company time & company resources to run a little sideline.
    The RTE Code of Business Conduct covers this

https://about.rte.ie/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/Code-of-Conduct-RT%C3%89-Staff.pdf

It deals with matters like fair pricing, misuse of RTÉ infrastructure, and gifts (which presumably include free advertising).

The Code makes clear that although it uses tems like staff and employees, it should also be followed by contracted workers.

It seems fairly open and closed, but I'm no lawyer. The fact that contractors "should" adhere to the code might not be the same as "must", but it would presumably be within RTE's rights to instruct a contractor to stop acting outside of its code.

I fear I may sound like a crank here but there are plenty of authors, musicians, and other creative people who would desparate like to compete with Duffy, Aonghus etc on an even playing pitch. Behaviour like Duffy's today probably does deserve a written complaint.

The RTE Code of Business Conduct covers this

https://about.rte.ie/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/Code-of-Conduct-RT%C3%89-Staff.pdf

It deals with matters like fair pricing, misuse of RTÉ infrastructure, and gifts (which presumably include free advertising).

The Code makes clear that although it uses tems like staff and employees, it should also be followed by contracted workers.

It seems fairly open and closed, but I'm no lawyer. The fact that contractors "should" adhere to the code might not be the same as "must", but it would presumably be within RTE's rights to instruct a contractor to stop acting outside of its code.

I fear I may sound like a crank here but there are plenty of authors, musicians, and other creative people who would desparate like to compete with Duffy, Aonghus etc on an even playing pitch. Behaviour like Duffy's today probably does deserve a written complaint.

Let me look after that for you caller. Unlike many a Liveline caller though I will actually listen to the offending material before putting pen to paper so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Conor84

Have got to admit that it is a totally different show with Joe back at the helm after his 3 week breakeen. You know for someone who totally disagrees with the militant Republicanism of some of the callers it felt bad almost having sympathy with them as they made an effort to "check" the inherent bias of the presenter.

Joe's new logic that omission = lie is a new one. If that is the case surely misleading is a certain lie. So yesterday's programme where Joe was fanning the flames of dissent about the Dublin homecoming being shoehorned into the park on Merrion Square (instead of outside) must be a lie. And his attempt to paint the VERY conservative caller as anti gay was unfair even if you disagreed with her.

But the PLUG was shameless. Like others have said it was almost like the whole topic was set up to allow him to do this. Such a dodgy tactic. Like Joe mentioned the calls he had received on the topic but the callers mostly seemed to be from the Liveline filofax of past callers including the impressive Anne Travers who has been on so often before but was a class above the presenter in debating with the other callers. Just building up for the PLUG. RTE Supporting the External Activities Of Our "Talented" Presenters. A joje considering the poor outhing of the organisation.

Was funny listening to JD interacting with Basil. When he found out he was a retired member of the Irish Army was expecting him to thank Basil for his service but funny no appreciation there

Listened back on the way into work so to speak, it was even worse than I imagined it would be. He thinks he's a law onto himself. No doubt when he was driving home he was in full on self-congratulatory mode after he showed those bad bad bad bastard Republicans. I'll be penning a complaint letter on this one both for the way he spoke to and generally treated the male callers (compared to the females), as well as the blatant plug.

On the "an ommission is a lie" comment, by that rationale can we call Mr. Duffy a liar every time he puts on his man of the people, working class man with a working class work ethic act?

Stardust in the news this morning again. Mr. Duffy will ride this hobby horse bareback for months.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,884 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

On today -

A tribute to Jacques Chirac

An unusual angle some might say, but will allow scope for a little plug for the French translation of Joe's buke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

more Northern Troubles related stories today

Ex Fr Paddy Ryan.
    Repeat of his regrets.
    Is he a Walter Mitty? (Cousin of Mena's perhaps)

Pyromaniac in Wexford.

Tenants subletting property to Air BnB.

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭barney shamrock

Camp voice outro to give the impression to the casual listener that he's good natured and jovial rather than an ill mannered petulant bully.

Oh we get it RTE.. You're against brexit change the record for heavens sake. The same commentators on every news

Tales of woe !

Great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

he sounds like a priest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Dont give the greeting message on the card!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Ben?.............obviously one of the flowerpot men?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Hes told the person was emigrating to Australia and he asks what the currency was

Mumsy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

I hope it's not from his mistress, Maddie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

It's not rocket science. He went out on the beer as he is emigrating. He dropped the cards while drunk

What fresh hell is this? Reading out cards?

He's in plámás mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Surely he has already handed the money in to a presbytery?

His mates sound like twats. Hashtag me arse !

#meArse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Instead of giving out every possible piece of info, maybe keep some to help identify the chap off air Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,359 ✭✭✭shearforce

How I feel
    giphy.gif