Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quinn Director abducted and assaulted

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

Did anyone else get an RTÉ news push notification stating the person they believe responsible for his abduction has died ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭celt262

Did anyone else get an RTÉ news push notification stating the person they believe responsible for his abduction has died ?

No just you.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Main suspect has died in police raid in Derbyshire according to RTE

"took ill"??

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭DFGrange

Main suspect has died in police raid in Derbyshire according to RTE

I'll wait to hear details but that's not a good outcome. Killing suspects doesn't help any investigation.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,649 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

DFGrange wrote: »
    There's very little coverage of this outside Ireland, which I find odd as it's a horrific crime being committed in a first world country as an attempt to extort or intimidate an official of a major local company. This is the kind of thing you expect in a lawless ****hole on another continent.

I don't know why the media are quiet about it but it hasn't gone unnoticed and is a huge red flag for investment in Ireland.

The Gardai and PSNI need to get all over this, take these cnuts down and show them they can't behave like third world scumbags on our island.

To be fair the BBC site has it:
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-50344964

And I linked to a Channel 4 News piece in another post. Its about 10mins long and has an interview with Sean Quinn where he was asked straight up was he the mastermind of it all.

Edit: here is the C4 piece again
    https://www.channel4.com/news/brutality-betrayal-and-the-northern-irish-borderlands

no name yet

isnt it gas how well protected these people are to break the law

• Registered Users Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Main suspect in Lunney investigation dies during raid

https://www.rte.ie/news/crime/2019/1108/1089493-lunney-investigation/

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

celt262 wrote: »
    I wonder will that solve the whole thing now.
    If the dead guy is just the leader of the kidnap gang and not the paymaster then this benefits the paymaster (dead men dont talk).

no name yet

isnt it gas how well protected these people are to break the law

The main man was named weeks ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Derbyshire Police are a bit slow to release how he died during the raid, he took ill is all they say

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭kravmaga

The main man was named weeks ago.
    Whats his name?

• Registered Users Posts: 69,156 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    "took ill"??

That's how Sean O'Rourke reported it.

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

feels like we're entering the twilight zone with this guys death

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

MadYaker wrote: »
    This isn’t Texas normal people can’t go strapping pistols to their hips when they go to work.

You mean this isn't Norn Iron :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Many people say that Gerry Adams was in the iRA - proving it is another matter!
    Same thing here.

* and no I'm not trying to make this about the IRA but trying to use a well known example of having to prove something.

So you have an organisation worth millions and they know who the problem is, nah I still can't see the issue.

First they came for the socialists...

Will be interesting to see how this story develops now.

As for the kidnap itself, it was said the culprits made at least one call on a mobile.

They know the time of the incident, surely its easy enough to gather all the call data from masts in the vicinity and go through them all? Perhaps the security forces already have.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Will be interesting to see how this story develops now.

As for the kidnap itself, it was said the culprits made at least one call on a mobile.

They know the time of the incident, surely its easy enough to gather all the call data from masts in the vicinity and go through them all? Perhaps the security forces already have.

And what if they live in the area?

bubblypop wrote: »
    And what if they live in the area?

They may do.
    But track who all the receiving numbers were, one of them is the guy calling the shots. No?

They may do.
    But track who all the receiving numbers were, one of them is the guy calling the shots. No?

But someone living in the area & receiving a phone call doesn't do much on its own.
    But, not saying circumstantial evidence is no good, all evidence is good.
    It's just a pity that man died today......

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭2thousand14

From the Anglo Celt:

“ The spokesperson confirmed that the man "wet himself and then went ashen pale" when police burst into his home earlier today”

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭DFGrange

To be fair the BBC site has it:
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-50344964

And I linked to a Channel 4 News piece in another post. Its about 10mins long and has an interview with Sean Quinn where he was asked straight up was he the mastermind of it all.

Edit: here is the C4 piece again
    https://www.channel4.com/news/brutality-betrayal-and-the-northern-irish-borderlands

It would be pretty shocking, maybe even suggest a cover-up, if broadcasters for the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland didn't report the event.

I was referring to the world outside the little bubble people seem to live in here.

There's feck all being said about it even at European level. But some psycho Kiwi kills an English backpacker 20k km away and that's the news.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

i've been googling and reading about this since it happened and this is the first time i've seen a name. cheers!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

He only moved to Derbyshire the week Lunney was abducted.
    Chief suspect in the ATM robberies around here too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,844 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I think the problem here is obvious- the perpetrators are no longer living on this side of the border and wont be crossing it anytime soon for the Gardai to pick them up. The PSNI cant pick them up for a crime committed in another jurisdiction but no doubt know who and where they are. So long as they remain within Northern Ireland there isnt much the Gardai can do here.

Did the kidnapping not occur on a road in Co. Fermanagh, with the subsequent torture believed to have been in Cavan?
    Crimes committed in both jurisdictions there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

i've been googling and reading about this since it happened and this is the first time i've seen a name. cheers!

He is notorious since he moved to the area. Won't be too many shedding a tear

• Registered Users Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

A well known name in the local area and well known to the cops.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,156 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

He is notorious since he moved to the area. Won't be too many shedding a tear

Is he confirmed to be the deceased?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Must admit had never heard of him but had been involved in ATM theft, smuggling, and all kinds of rackets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

Is he confirmed to be the deceased?

Yes it is definitely him