Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quinn Director abducted and assaulted

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

razor8 wrote: »
    Where in the media did it say a Gardaí burned the car??? My understanding was the car was burned while in police custody so could of been burned by anyone

What does that mean. Stop all police pensions if this is the standard.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭razor8

What does that mean. Stop all police pensions if this is the standard.

It’s a simple question. It is implied that a Gardaí physically lit the match that burned the car. The security around the impounding of the car is another issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

bubblypop wrote: »
    Tulsa did not find any allegation to be false.

No, instead Tusla souped-up the original allegation by mixing in a report of rape.
    The dpp directed that there was no offence disclosed. Now, that does not in anyway take away from anything a young girl said about what happened to her. You have no knowledge of what was in that allegation, no more then anyone else.

We know it didn't pass muster for the DPP to prosecute but somehow everyone on the country knew about it so it could discredit the whistleblower. We know it came as part of a sustained campaign of falsehoods and defamation against Maurice McCabe perpetrated throughout An Garda right up the ranks.
    I have a big issue with people trying to defame a young girls name.
    Also, to suggest that anyone would use their child to make a false allegation, is a dreadful claim to make, & one that you cannot back up.

I think we know what you really have a big issue with. Your outrage over these "dreadful" claims is a a curious echo of Callinan finding the original penalty points whistleblowing "disgusting".
    When I say I have no knowledge I mean I don't know what happened to that car, but considering AGS don't dispose of anything by burning, it seems extremely unlikely to have been done by accident. Which obviously points to someone destroying it. Who that was I have no idea, but I have no doubt the culprit will be found.

I wish I could share your confidence. Any opinion on why no Garda action was taken over 4 years of criminal intimidation until a man was nearly tortured to death?
    I also do not believe in painting all members of AGS, nor all members in a division, corrupt or incompetent.
    If a guard was responsible for destroying evidence, I would have no doubt that he/she will be dealt with.

More people would agree if they saw the "good" Gardai catching the "bad" ones. Instead they just seem to cover for them. Your own comments on the defamation of Maurice McCabe suggest that you're part of the problem.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    No, instead Tusla souped-up the original allegation by mixing in a report of rape.

whatever Tusla did or didn't do is on their organisation.

[/QUOTE]
    We know it came as part of a sustained campaign of falsehoods and defamation against Maurice McCabe perpetrated throughout An Garda right up the ranks. [/QUOTE]

it was a separate matter, nothing to do with any 'whistleblowing' & it should have been kept private to protect everyone involved

[/QUOTE]
    I think we know what you really have a big issue with. Your outrage over these "dreadful" claims is a a curious echo of Callinan finding the original penalty points whistleblowing "disgusting".
    [/QUOTE]

no, you don't have any idea what my issue is. I have no issue with Maurice McCabe. I do have an issue with people spreading lies about a child.
    please don't put me in the same category as any commissioner

[/QUOTE]
    More people would agree if they saw the "good" Gardai catching the "bad" ones. Instead they just seem to cover for them. Your own comments on the defamation of Maurice McCabe suggest that you're part of the problem.[/QUOTE]

there are Gardai arrested regularly, unfortunately. They are members before the courts on criminal charges.
    I'm not part of any 'problem' I can assure you, most Gardai hate to hear of members doing wrong. Corrupt and incompetent members reflect badly on all the force, it makes doing the job harder.

also, just fyi, why would you think that ordinary Garda members would care about McCabe's whistleblowing?

He said himself he received great support from his colleagues in his Division.
    You do realise, his original complaint was that Superintendents were cancelling tickets for friends, family etc?
    why would Guards care if the Superintendents were in trouble?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Seems like Quinn is now trying to employ a shock and awe strategy, he made the front pages of two of the Sunday newspapers today

Sindo- Quinn children to sue Quinn Holdings for a 20% odd shareholding. Only justification for it seems to be that '"the Quinn group was always run for the benefit of the Quinn family"

Sunday Times- Quinn had detectives interview him in his house recently and he has made a 35 page Garda statement which alleges fraud by Kevin Lunney and other Quinn directors

It all looks like a bottle of smoke and the last sting of a scorpions tail to me anyway. But interesting that two different Sunday newspapers got fed two separate stories from the Quinn camp on the same weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I agree that Quinn's arguments have no apparent merit. Still though quantity has a quality all of its own. I doubt Seanie has much regard for Stalin but he seems to share that view at least; if the Quinn-IBRC litigation since 2011 that only wrapped up last year is anything to go by.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/commercial-property/quinn-case-there-was-nothing-normal-about-this-litigation-saga-1.3846925?mode=amp

Story continues to rumble on with todays Sindo front page reporting that Sean Quinn is still trespassing on company property as recently as last Tuesday. He has been sent several solicitors letters and warnings to stay off company property but has ignored them.

So now Quinn Industrial Holdings have applied to the High Court for an injunction to stop him trespassing. They are claiming he is intimidating members of staff. If the injunction is granted and Quinn still trespasses on company property he will likely end up in prison (again).

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Muahahaha wrote: »
    If the injunction is granted and Quinn still trespasses on company property he will likely end up in prison (again).
    Fingers crossed!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭oceanman

Fingers crossed!
    cant see him going to prison again, remember the media coverage it got the last time he was in jail....just played right into his hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭Odelay

Think there's a name for this....don't know what it is....but.....

Put the last three letters at the start.
    Reverse these three letters.
    Make no other changes.

Konman

Took me a while, so for the benefit of others that are also a little stoopid.

Mad how a simple rebranding of the company needed discussion with the Gardai and PSNI
    It is understood that the rebranding operation was enacted over the weekend amid tight security because of fears of a backlash from supporters of Sean Quinn.
    Gardai and the PSNI were briefed on the name change. It is understood that the first of a fleet of trucks were rebranded in secrecy over the weekend at the company plants.

I never remember Marathon contacting the police before they re-branded to Snickers. That was a controversial re-branding but clearly not as controversial as whats going on up in Cavan.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭Odelay

Mad how a simple rebranding of the company needed discussion with the Gardai and PSNI

I never remember Marathon contacting the police before they re-branded to Snickers. That was a controversial re-branding but clearly not as controversial as whats going on up in Cavan.

I don’t think anyone in Marthon was kidnapped and tortured?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

I still don’t understand how a few Euro hasn’t sorted him out.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Dunno man....you musnt have been there for the whole Cif/Jif riots

• Registered Users Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    Dunno man....you musnt have been there for the whole Cif/Jif riots

Are you a Cif or Jif sort of guy?

Feisar wrote: »
    I still don’t understand how a few Euro hasn’t sorted him out.

I dont think this is about money for Quinn, its about power and status both of which he has lost in spades.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

I dont think this is about money for Quinn, its about power and status both of which he has lost in spades.

I wonder will trump be hangin round the White House in the same way?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Sean Quinn pledges not to trespass on Fermanagh quarry

Read more...

-

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    I wonder will trump be hangin round the White House in the same way?

A prescient post from last November given the riots Trump just instigated at the Capitol two weeks ago in an attempt to overthrow a democratic election.

As for Quinn looks like the Belfast court has put manners on him to keep him off company property. He's off to prison if he does it again so that will soften his cough.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Man pleads guilty to assaulting two QIH directors

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2021/0311/1203404-assault-court/

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Seems to be unrelated to the actual abduction of Kevin Lunney. Still a complete scumbag thing to do, he threw a cup of hot tea at Lunneys face and then punched him seven or eight times in the face and broke his nose.

I wouldn't say "unrelated"

The local boo-yahs up there think they have their own laws and quinn is their excuse for anything.

Id say very much of a type, the two crimes

• Registered Users Posts: 56,257 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Seems to be unrelated to the actual abduction of Kevin Lunney. Still a complete scumbag thing to do, he threw a cup of hot tea at Lunneys face and then punched him seven or eight times in the face and broke his nose.

Horrendous..

And Lunney’s response so dignified and gentle..

Serious sentencing needed here.

If this country wants to stamp out this thuggish and dangerous element of society they need to send a strong message to people. You commit these crimes we will remove you from society for a long time..

yeah I hear ya. Im just saying that when I read that a boxer broke Lunneys nose in a vicious assault I immediately thought was he paid to do so by a certain person. But the reason he did it was because the day previous to the assault Lunney made his father redundant from his job as a truck driver for Quinn Holdings.

The RTE report also mentioned that it was said in court that this boxer had nothing to do with the abduction and torture of Kevin Lunney.

Still a complete scumbag thing to do though, be interesting to see if he gets prison time next week upon sentencing.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,009 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

walshb wrote: »
    Horrendous..

And Lunney’s response so dignified and gentle..

Serious sentencing needed here.

If this country wants to stamp out this thuggish and dangerous element of society they need to send a strong message to people. You commit these crimes we will remove you from society for a long time..

I wish you luck with that.
    The courts in this country will listen to some old sob story and a letter from a priest about his sad upbringing and he’ll get three months at most, maybe even suspended.
    Just read the court cases from around the country,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭celt262

The courts in this country will listen to some old sob story and a letter from a priest about his sad upbringing and he’ll get three months at most.

I hope they mention he was a promising boxer.

The courts in this country will listen to some old sob story and a letter from a priest about his sad upbringing and he’ll get three months at most, maybe even suspended.

Bang on..

And really irks me!!

celt262 wrote: »
    I hope they mention he was a promising boxer.

That should be a factor that should go against him

A person trained in a sport that is designed to allow the skilled use of fists to inflict damage...

Of course, you don’t have to be a boxer to do damage, but there may well be more chance to do real damage if you are a boxer!