Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leader of country caught up in blackface controversy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭HailSatan

notobtuse wrote: »
    “I appreciate you calling it makeup, but it was blackface.” - Justin Trudeau

When a progressive has to let the media know they’re carrying a little too much water for him it is evident the media’s bias is pretty damn pathetic.

I give Trudeau some credit for this.

Maybe he just doesn't like dudes wearing makeup

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

notobtuse wrote: »
    I give Trudeau some credit for this.

Isn't he just an expert in right-on speak though and so knows precisely what the mob (his mob) would be waiting to say should he say anything else?

pinkyeye wrote: »
    My own opinion is that it's not a problem but then I'm not black so I don't know what how someone who is feels about it.

Good to know. Thanks.
    pinkyeye wrote:
    Blackface is fine, no problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

jaxxx wrote: »
    Older man does something stupid when he was much much younger.. .. ..

OH MY GOD, CONDEMN HIM TO DEATH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But the fact that he's done it at least 3 times-that we know of-indicates that he's kind of unusually into it. I'm about his age and of all the Halloweens and fancy dress parties I've been to down the years I can remember one person doing this once in the late 90s. Even then in supposedly racist monocultural Ireland it was a bit "ah here".

• Registered Users Posts: 14,517 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Well something I didn't mention in the earlier post is that the Liberal Party gave out quite a big amount of cash to "legacy media" just before the election in what many think was a blatant attempt to win favorable coverage. It was done with some vague references to avoiding the false narratives spread during the U.S. elections in 2016 and 2018 with some semi-mysterious overtones of avoiding the Hand of Putin. A lot of people thought it was just to get the media to cheerlead for the Liberals even more than they would normally do, which is quite a bit. Even the left wing parties were outraged. So now, they are confronted with this mess and they have already spent the money presumably so they can't give it back and pile onto the Liberals so they are edging around a bit, looking to exploit any "not really that big a deal" angles while getting no sound bites from anyone, including the PM himself who basically called a news conference to say "I am perhaps the dumbest person alive today and this was a terrible thing I did," which is maybe overdoing how most people would actually see it (awkward, but probably no racist intent).

With there being three separate incidents now being exposed to public scrutiny, it is probably too comprehensive to survive, a point which must be as obvious to party insiders as to their opponents. I can't think of a similar situation where a governing candidate in an election has been faced with the need to resign during the final stages of the campaign, perhaps I overlooked something there. The party may force it to happen as they are faced with the stark possibility of losing all their seats rather than just a few, if perhaps they toss the leader and tell the voters they will elect a new leader who would then be either PM or perhaps leader of the opposition (although Liberals were in third place here before the 2015 election and could fall back that far again, even fourth is not out of the question if Quebec voters decided their best protest vote was the Bloc who once held as many as 20% of the seats in parliament, now it's closer to 3%).

It is a rare thing when our elections are of interest to anyone, even ourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭notobtuse

Isn't he just an expert in right-on speak though and so knows precisely what the mob (his mob) would be waiting to say should he say anything else?
    Perhaps, but it is an acknowledgement by him of liberal media bias. And in him doing so he committed 5 of the 7 deadly sins. :)

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

About 15 years ago one of the lads in college done the black priest thing at Halloween, wasn't seen as controversial. The year 2000 seems like yesterday however 7 years before that it was illegal to be gay. We look back and think it was mental to be smoking on planes.

Things should only be judged in their own time.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Well something I didn't mention in the earlier post is that the Liberal Party gave out quite a big amount of cash to "legacy media" just before the election in what many think was a blatant attempt to win favorable coverage. It was done with some vague references to avoiding the false narratives spread during the U.S. elections in 2016 and 2018 with some semi-mysterious overtones of avoiding the Hand of Putin. A lot of people thought it was just to get the media to cheerlead for the Liberals even more than they would normally do, which is quite a bit. Even the left wing parties were outraged. So now, they are confronted with this mess and they have already spent the money presumably so they can't give it back and pile onto the Liberals so they are edging around a bit, looking to exploit any "not really that big a deal" angles while getting no sound bites from anyone, including the PM himself who basically called a news conference to say "I am perhaps the dumbest person alive today and this was a terrible thing I did," which is maybe overdoing how most people would actually see it (awkward, but probably no racist intent).

With there being three separate incidents now being exposed to public scrutiny, it is probably too comprehensive to survive, a point which must be as obvious to party insiders as to their opponents. I can't think of a similar situation where a governing candidate in an election has been faced with the need to resign during the final stages of the campaign, perhaps I overlooked something there. The party may force it to happen as they are faced with the stark possibility of losing all their seats rather than just a few, if perhaps they toss the leader and tell the voters they will elect a new leader who would then be either PM or perhaps leader of the opposition (although Liberals were in third place here before the 2015 election and could fall back that far again, even fourth is not out of the question if Quebec voters decided their best protest vote was the Bloc who once held as many as 20% of the seats in parliament, now it's closer to 3%).

It is a rare thing when our elections are of interest to anyone, even ourselves.
    would you say the timing of these "revelations" smack of a hatchet job?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Feisar wrote: »
    About 15 years ago one of the lads in college done the black priest thing at Halloween, wasn't seen as controversial. The year 2000 seems like yesterday however 7 years before that it was illegal to be gay. We look back and think it was mental to be smoking on planes.

Things should only be judged in their own time.
    Yes I agree somewhat but three times is really too much. Who can't remember how many times they dressed in blackface. He has lied and looks really stupid . Is he a racist probably not but you can't be progressive or paint yourself as such and then have this come out.

That's Indians native Americans, not Arabs.

Yes I agree somewhat but three times is really too much. Who can't remember how many times they dressed in blackface. He has lied and looks really stupid . Is he a racist probably not but you can't be progressive or paint yourself as such and then have this come out.

What's progressive though? Of course we know what it means however the triggered types are hauling this lad up now on something he done ages ago when things were different.

I knocked about three Halloweens out of a South American drug cartel type:

Desert boots
    Vietnamese Tiger Stripe Combats
    Black T Shirt
    Lock of fake tan
    Shemagh
    Fake Tash
    Ray-Bans
    Beret

Why, I had it lying around. Had to reinvest in the tash. Am I racist regarding South Americans, no.

P.S. used to buy a decent cigar to round it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Absolutely brilliant, what makes it so delicious is all the times he really went over the top on trying to be whiter than white. Oh the hypocrisy :).

What is doubly delicious is all the "it happened 20 years ago" people, who would have absolutely lynched someone on the opposite side of the political spectrum for doing it.

Calhoun wrote: »
    Absolutely brilliant, what makes it so delicious is all the times he really went over the top on trying to be whiter than white. Oh the hypocrisy :).

What is doubly delicious is all the "it happened 20 years ago" people, who would have absolutely lynched someone on the opposite side of the political spectrum for doing it.

huh?

huh?

Just enjoying the hypocrisy related to this topic i have seen online, allot of people excusing it because it happened 20 years ago but wouldn't think twice of lynching the person if they were on a political spectrum they didn't like.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Making the most of it.

Just enjoying the hypocrisy related to this topic i have seen online, allot of people excusing it because it happened 20 years ago but wouldn't think twice of lunching the person if they were on a political spectrum they didn't like.

Luncheon you mean!

Dunno about his position on the political spectrum however I'm of the view that things can only be judged in their own time, see my posts above.

huh?

Wut

Luncheon you mean!

Dunno about his position on the political spectrum however I'm of the view that things can only be judged in their own time, see my posts above.

That should have been lynching i miss typed.

Each to their own but allot of the commentators on reddit and twitter ect who would have come down hard on anyone from the opposite side of the political spectrum and would be crying racist ect have been taking the attitude of "it happened 20 years ago/in its time".

Personally i don't really care which approach we take but at least be consistent with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Odhinn

He hasn't - as far as I can tell - used "black face" in the traditional sense of the word(s), so its a bit of ruckus over SFA as far as I can see.

Odhinn wrote: »
    He hasn't - as far as I can tell - used "black face" in the traditional sense of the word(s), so its a bit of ruckus over SFA as far as I can see.

He looked like he trowled on tar.

No one seems to have used it in the traditional sense in half a century but we have heard more about it in the last few years than in decades.

His Holiness Bishop Trudeau being very loud from the pulpit on such matters.

It's like that gay conversion Pastor in America who was caught screwing a rent boy.

No one cares what they were doing but his extreme hypocrisy and past righteousness on such things made it a story.

Danzy wrote: »
    He looked like he trowled on tar.

No one seems to have used it in the traditional sense in half a century but we have heard more about it in the last few years than in decades.

His Holiness Bishop Trudeau being very loud from the pulpit on such matters.

All a bit mad, tbh.

Peoplekind be crazy

All a bit mad, tbh.

It's Veep on speed

That should have been lynching i miss typed.

Each to their own but allot of the commentators on reddit and twitter ect who would have come down hard on anyone from the opposite side of the political spectrum and would be crying racist ect have been taking the attitude of "it happened 20 years ago/in its time".

Personally i don't really care which approach we take but at least be consistent with it.

Reddit and twitter, eff that ****e!

You seem reasonable, lets draw our own conclusions.

Reddit and twitter, eff that ****e!

You seem reasonable, lets draw our own conclusions.

....those are the worst ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Seeing as how it happened at least 3 times, he must have had some idea it would come out eventually.

You could even argue it's poor politicking not to take control of it and reveal it himself at the right moment somewhere along the line, rather than running the risk of what has happened.

He's so smug it's easy to see why people will delight in his squirming.

What is 'brownface'?
    Like "blackface", "brownface" typically refers to when someone paints their face darker to appear like someone with a different skin colour.

And the big deal is? When Will Smith done Wild West he questioned the casting as he was black.

We've gone to far with the bull****.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

So he’s basically Randy from South Park.
    https://youtu.be/y4B3SZYL52s

If no one has beaten me to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭dickangel

One side of me says given his work he is obviously not racist so leave him off, he's apooligised
    The other side of me kind of enjoys that he's falling victim to a culture that he helped to create.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭adam88

Asking for a friend. If said friend dressed up as Diana Ross and the supremes complete with heavy duty grade A Tan heavily applied, Is said friend now open to this being dug up and used against him. There was no offence meant and they even went on and won the competition