Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sony TV won't power on :-(

• 24-09-2019 7:12pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys,

Have a Sony KD65X8509 which has started to slow down a lot recently, I lived with it but now it won't power on. Invoice no Snipped, puchased in October 2015.
    I tried both remotes and the button on the rear, I tried a different outlet and I tried changing the fuse but she's dead.

Please advise :(

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

• Company Representative Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Richersounds.ie: DavidS

slave1 wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Have a Sony KD65X8509 which has started to slow down a lot recently, I lived with it but now it won't power on. Invoice no 2378969, puchased in October 2015.
    I tried both remotes and the button on the rear, I tried a different outlet and I tried changing the fuse but she's dead.

Please advise :(
    Hi slave1,

If you PM me with your name and address details I can look this up on the system for the warranty info and get this looked at for you!

Kind regards

David

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

PM sent, I meant to ask if there are any more checks I can do please let me know...
    Hi slave1,

I'll get back to you asap!

Kind regards

David

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, RicherSounds.ie Moderator Posts: 2,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Ritz

Mod Comment

Slave1,

Removed the invoice no. now that enquirers are underway :-).

Cheers,

Ritz.

The Ritz wrote: »
    Mod Comment

Slave1,

Removed the invoice no. now that enquirers are underway  :-).

Cheers,

Ritz.
    Thanks Ritz!

Any update on this, I was hoping to have it collected by the weekend to get things moving.
    Regards

Any update on this, I was hoping to have it collected by the weekend to get things moving.
    Regards
    Hi slave1,

I will check with Craigavon for an update but it may be Monday before they call to schedule an appointment.

Kind regards

David

Hi again,

Still no call, natives getting restless (as well as myself) so I'd appreciate an update please.

Regards

• Company Representative Posts: 17,277 ✭✭✭✭Richersounds.ie: Kenny

Hi again,

Still no call, natives getting restless (as well as myself) so I'd appreciate an update please.

Regards
    Hi Slave1.

I have asked our service guys to get an update for you and call you ASAP.

You can also contact them directly on Service@Richersounds.ie.

Our service guys deal with all our repairs and will hopefully be able to get an answer quicker than myself.

Lads from Craigavon picked her up today, called bang on when they said they would which is nice as nothing worst than hanging around for a no-show

Hey Slave1.

That is very good to know.

I'll tell the service guys to keep an eye on progress for you and also to keep you in the loop.

Followed up with Craigavon myself and they said the screen is dead and not an economical repair.
    Would have thought I would be back to ye regarding replacement but they said they deal with it through Sony.
    I've asked for the spec of the replacement but I was going to use the "opportunity" to upgrade so do I assume this option is no longer a runner?

How will my warranty work with replacement TV, will that be with Richersounds or Sony and will it start from scratch (given it's a new TV)?

I'm more used to dealing with original retailer so hence the queries.

Regards

Followed up with Craigavon myself and they said the screen is dead and not an economical repair.
    Would have thought I would be back to ye regarding replacement but they said they deal with it through Sony.
    I've asked for the spec of the replacement but I was going to use the "opportunity" to upgrade so do I assume this option is no longer a runner?

How will my warranty work with replacement TV, will that be with Richersounds or Sony and will it start from scratch (given it's a new TV)?

I'm more used to dealing with original retailer so hence the queries.

Regards
    Hi slave1,

If Sony are doing the exchange you would need to go through Craigavon regarding the upgrade however you would only be able to upgrade to another Sony TV. For the new TV you would have the remaining time left of your original warranty.

Let me know if you have any further queries!

Kind regards

David

Okay, thanks.
    As I'm a motion flow freak (material in 24/25/29/30 fps, pulldown/judder etc.) I have no interest in models other than Sony at present.
    I'll see how things progress with Craigavon/Sony although if I pay for an upgraded TV model I would expect a fresh warranty....sure lets see how it goes.....

Okay, thanks.
    As I'm a motion flow freak (material in 24/25/29/30 fps, pulldown/judder etc.) I have no interest in models other than Sony at present.
    I'll see how things progress with Craigavon/Sony although if I pay for an upgraded TV model I would expect a fresh warranty....sure lets see how it goes.....
    Let me know how you get on with Craigavon slave1!

Hi guys, finally got there, Sony have a new TV on their way to me and I am happy with the spec.
    Best date to me is probably late next week but I am away so Craigavon will hold onto for me.

Got there in the end but over 4 weeks without a TV is a long time guys...

Hi guys, finally got there, Sony have a new TV on their way to me and I am happy with the spec.
    Best date to me is probably late next week but I am away so Craigavon will hold onto for me.

Got there in the end but over 4 weeks without a TV is a long time guys...
    Hi Slave1.

Thanks for letting me know you are now sorted.

Again sorry for the delay with this, sometimes repairs can take 3-4 weeks which is a normal sort of turnaround unfortunately.

Fingers crossed no more issues.

Hi again.

After extended time I finally got the TV (65XF9005), I have set it up etc and it's quite slow and to support Dolby Vision I have tried unsuccessfully to update the TV firmware.

When I check the firmware version on the TV it says, v6.56 and running Android 7 so it is not running latest firmware.
    When I ask the TV via the Update Software function it says it is up to date.

I downloaded the latest firmware version 6.65 Andriod Oreo (8) however cannot update.
    I have followed the instructions here to the letter, I have used 3 different USB sticks, I have performed soft/hard/power resets then did a factory reset (which lost all my calibration settings), then tried all USB ports again with different USB sticks, then formatted all the USB sticks to FAT/FAT32/NTFS...
    No matter what the TV will not recognise a USB stick with firmware update being put into a USB port.
    This has sucked up my entire afternoon.

https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/lcd-tvs-android-xf90xx_x90xxf-series/kd-65xf9005/downloads/00016211#system_requirements

Please advise

Hi again.

After extended time I finally got the TV (65XF9005), I have set it up etc and it's quite slow and to support Dolby Vision I have tried unsuccessfully to update the TV firmware.

When I check the firmware version on the TV it says, v6.56 and running Android 7 so it is not running latest firmware.
    When I ask the TV via the Update Software function it says it is up to date.

I downloaded the latest firmware version 6.65 Andriod Oreo (8) however cannot update.
    I have followed the instructions here to the letter, I have used 3 different USB sticks, I have performed soft/hard/power resets then did a factory reset (which lost all my calibration settings), then tried all USB ports again with different USB sticks, then formatted all the USB sticks to FAT/FAT32/NTFS...
    No matter what the TV will not recognise a USB stick with firmware update being put into a USB port.
    This has sucked up my entire afternoon.

https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/lcd-tvs-android-xf90xx_x90xxf-series/kd-65xf9005/downloads/00016211#system_requirements

Please advise
    Hi Slave1.

Sorry to hear of yet more issues.

I have checked over your account and can't see us supplying you with a 65XF9005?

I will have a check with our service guys tomorrow and see what your next step might be.

Hi Kenny, the XF was supplied as a replacement to my dead [font=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif]X8509, this thread has the history[/font]

• Registered Users Posts: 33,966 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Snipped by Mod

Hi Kenny, the XF was supplied as a replacement to my dead [font=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif]X8509, this thread has the history[/font]
    Hey Slave1.

Going over the posts and emails it does seem like it was Sony themselves that supplied that replacement.
    Have you tried calling Sony directly with the issues to see if there tech team could help?

I'll get our repair guys to call Craigavon and see how you proceed with this.

Our service team will be in touch as soon as possible.

My contract is with RS. RS offer the 6 year warranty, not Sony, not Craigavon.

I prefer RS to handle product issues.

RS passed me to Craigavon/Sony which I was displeased with at the time and told you so verbally to the store via my phonecall.
    As said previously, I would have preferred to purchase a new TV directly from RS rather than a Sony sourced direct replacement, however I was advised that as the TV died within the first 5 years I would have to go via Craigavon, again I questioned this and was told I had no choice because it was a Sony.
    RS 6 year guarantee clearly states RS will provide replacements, the term "We" and "The Company" for me means RS not Craigavon or Sony.

I was without a TV for 6 weeks (half a week of which was at my fault), this forum is great for tracking as it gets responses however I had many unanswered emails to Craigavon where I was in the dark on progress, I did not choose this replacement TV, I would have preferred a different model and pay the difference in price however I was not given this choice - when offered this TV originally I declined and asked about paying for a different model but was told no.

I have a simple request, I accepted a TV after checking it's features and functionality, now I cannot get the TV to update to latest firmware which contains the features I assumed I was getting - e.g Dolby Vision, faster response time. These are January 2019 features so not recent updates.

I appreciate RS and the many products I have purchased over the years, not just the Belfast store but also Dublin and before that London Bridge, and they are a great/courteous bunch of guys at Craigavon however they won't respond to emails and this issue is not something I can do over the phone as I am at work during the day and the TV is at home.
    I tried the Sony website as posted above, I also tried a web-chat on the Sony website but it turned out to be another region they supported and they just redirected me to the original Sony support page I linked to in post 19 and told me to contact original retailer. I did not phone Sony as it was Sunday when I tried all this and I'd already got a web-chat response. The Sony helpline is 9-6 Monday to Friday so no good for me with my job/commute.

Apologies if the above appears as a rant, it's great when purchases behave like they are supposed to and have long lives but alas sometimes they don't and one of the major reasons I'm a repeat RS customer is the excellent customer life support so in this instance I don't want to be passed on

Kind regards
    S1

PS After doing up the email above I put a .mkv file onto a USB stick and put it into the TV and the internal TV Video player could not find it.
    The USB that powers the TV recording hard drive works with recording TV if that helps

Just got a call, nothing more I can do my end and engineer call being organised.
    Thanks guys

Just got a call, nothing more I can do my end and engineer call being organised.
    Thanks guys

• Company Representative Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Richersounds.ie: John

Slave,

apologies that you are having an issue with your TV.

I would like to answer some of your complaints above however - we do stand over TV's that we have sold and we are happy to look after product issues - however as I am sure you and Boardies will understand our sales guys are not TV technicians, this is why we only use a Sony approved service agent, Craigavon TV - they have a direct line to Sony for any technical queries.

Virtually every retailer now uses specialised authorised service agents and to be fair Craigavon are generally excellent.

Your original Sony TV which was purchased in 2015 was replaced directly under a Sony 5 year warranty by Sony via Craigavon TV and to be fair I feel the the specification is far higher, as this is a Sony 5 Year warranty, they deal direct with the service agent - however  we understood you were happy with the specification of the replacement.

I do understand that you are only available outside working hours but unfortunately Sony do not offer direct support outside work hours and again the issues you are having can only be resolved either by Sony or a Sony service engineer - we would love to help but as I am sure you can understand, again, our sales Colleagues whilst good technically are not TV service engineers.

If you refuse to deal with Craigavon who are are our service agents and a Sony authorised service centre and you would like to only deal with us then the only resolution is for us to have the TV collected, taken to the store and for us to deal with Sony on your behalf - however again this will take additional time which is beyond our control - unfortunately if you refuse to be 'passed on' to our engineers we really do not have any option other than to collect the TV and we will look into the issues on your behalf direct with Craigavon.

Keep us posted,

ATVB,

John Mc & Crew

John McDonald / Managing Director / Richer Sounds Ireland / www.richersounds.ie / johnmc@richersounds.ie

Thanks guys
    Hi Slave!.

We (Richersounds) have to go through Craigavon TV Service Centre as they are the repair agent for Sony and many other manufacturers.
    Normally it would be ourselves that would exchange any televisions that are required but on this occasion Sony offered the replacement themselves.

I fully understand that your 6 year guarantee is with ourselves but as it is a Sony product it can sometimes be good to call the manufacturer directly for technical issues as they usually know the product inside out.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I forwarded the issues to our repair guys who deal with all our service issues.

Who have now arranged to get the engineer out to you to have a check over things and take it from there.

You can contact our service team who are Richersounds employees and have direct access to the service database should there be any problems on Service@Richersounds.ie

Please do let me know when they have called out and I'll do my best at this end to ensure service keep you in the loop.

Hopefully this is resolved in a timely manner for you.

Thanks guys
    As I mentioned in my previous post, I forwarded the issues to our repair guys who deal with all our service issues.

Who have now arranged to get the engineer out to you to have a check over things and take it from there.

You can contact our service team who are Richersounds employees and have direct access to the service database should there be any problems on Service@Richersounds.ie
    Super, that's what I was after, perhaps I phrased it badly, of course I understand Craigavon will be the direct support and I'm happy to work with them, I just wanted it organised through your good selves and not Craigavon directly as they did not respond to my emails last time whereas you guys keep better track and do respond. If I deal with Craigavon directly ye will not be in the loop and won't be able to help me if there's a problem because you won't be aware of it.
    [font=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif]Hence my thanks in post #25 (and 26, don't know why it doubled?)[/font]
    I also want to state again they are a super bunch, very polite on the phone and accurate with their call out times but I just don't like being kept in the dark with unanswered queries looking for an update.

I did not know about the service email address for updates so thanks for that.

Thanks guys

Super, that's what I was after, perhaps I phrased it badly, of course I understand Craigavon will be the direct support and I'm happy to work with them, I just wanted it organised through your good selves and not Craigavon directly as they did not respond to my emails last time whereas you guys keep better track and do respond. If I deal with Craigavon directly ye will not be in the loop and won't be able to help me if there's a problem because you won't be aware of it.
    [font=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif]Hence my thanks in post #25 (and 26, don't know why it doubled?)[/font]
    I also want to state again they are a super bunch, very polite on the phone and accurate with their call out times but I just don't like being kept in the dark with unanswered queries looking for an update.

I did not know about the service email address for updates so thanks for that.
    No problem Slave1, let us know when they do call out. In the meantime we'll keep the service guys on top of it to make sure it's dealt with.

Hey guys, Craigavon phoned Thursday, unfortunately I could not take the call - but they verified my problem in any case with herself. Main Circuit Board failure so just waiting on word for when it can be repaired as Sony will not replace even though it's brand new (to me anyhow).

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.