Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

MOST HATED PERSON IN IRISH HISTORY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I can't believe no one mentioned Ryan Tubridy yet, what is wrong everyone these days?

Are you putting him ahead of Bono?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Brian Ormonde.

Brian McFadden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Michael collins, tan loving bastard who had several ofhis own men killed under his determination of "treason" and sold out the 6 counties because he had no workable plan. Best thing de valera ever did was have a bullet put between his eyes......... (allegedly)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

razorblunt wrote: »
    Brian Ormonde.

Brian McFadden.

Yesssss , now we are really starting.

More! More! More!

Brian Boru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭thefasteriwalk

de Valera. William Martin Murphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Brian Boru.

Brian Lenihan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Seanie fitz
    David drumm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,095 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

More! More! More!

Brian Dobson
    Brian Kerr
    Brian Dennehy
    Brian from Family Guy
    The Life of Brian

Jesus, I hate Brians!

Denis O'Brien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Toto Schillaci

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Bertie Ahern, we have plenty outsiders who did harm but the real enemy is within and the Fianna Fail party are the enemy of the Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,972 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

theguzman wrote: »
    Bertie Ahern, we have plenty outsiders who did harm but the real enemy is within and the Fianna Fail party are the enemy of the Irish people.

Casualties from Cromwells battles in Ireland.

15,000–20,000 battlefield casualties, over 200,000–600,000 civilian casualties (from war-related violence, famine or disease) and ~50,000 deported as indentured labourers was not as bad as Bertie?

Cromwell did not effect my generation, most of us would never exist if he never came. We can't change the past but we can change the future. Bertie Ahern absolutely condemned Ireland to 20 years of lost prosperity and he was single handedly responsible for a surge of suicides around Ireland and thousands of young men went to their coffins at the end of a rope because of what he and Fianna Fail did to Ireland.

Trevelyan, Robert Peel and Queen Victoria instituted a series of maniacal genocidal tactics in Ireland and starved over 1 million of our people to death also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

C.J's grave is the most danced and pissed upon plot in the country. Hard to match that.

Anyway, do carry on with the usual Brit hating wankfest so beloved of AH.

C.J's grave is the most danced and pissed upon plot in the country. Hard to match that.

Brian Lenihan another low life in Irish History.

Cromwell did not effect my generation, most of us would never exist if he never came. We can't change the past but we can change the future. Bertie Ahern absolutely condemned Ireland to 20 years of lost prosperity and he was single handedly responsible for a surge of suicides around Ireland and thousands of young men went to their coffins at the end of a rope because of what he and Fianna Fail did to Ireland.

Trevelyan, Robert Peel and Queen Victoria instituted a series of maniacal genocidal tactics in Ireland and starved over 1 million of our people to death also.

Thread title: MOST HATED PERSON IN IRISH HISTORY?

Irish history did not start the day your good self came in to the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Brian Lenihan another low life in Irish History.

Give it a break, dude. There’s a mouth-breathing competition you should enter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭tigerboon

I can't believe no one mentioned Ryan Tubridy yet, what is wrong everyone these days?

Has to be nip and tuck between him and Cromwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Twink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Notwithstanding a slight airbrushing of the role of the Catholic church in CS Parnell's downfall, its a toss between Travelyn for inspiring that damn song, and Cromwell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Mil Espain, the poor fairies have been living underground ever since.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,037 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

No Georgie bleedin Burgess on the poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Sonny678 wrote: »
    The top 10

1 Jim Galvin ( The man behind the most dastardly most evil cold blooded campaign in Irish history eg 5 in a row. He slaughtered every county in the country..Humilated all 32 counties..Broke the hearts and dreams of all Mayo people. Yes they say he never smiles cold cold individual. Jim fecking Galvin.

2 Stephen Cluxton ( The captain of the most evil enterprise in Irish history eg 5 in a row, they say his kickouts are lethal could send an opposition head spinning of his shoulder )

3 Diarmaid Connolly ( He left for America but came back to win 5 in a row, an evil genius )

4 Des Cahill ( He dys his hair with shoe polish , no Irish man in history has done this, the most vain thing ever done by an Irish person ever )

5 Bertie Ahern ( They say he was the cutest slyest most cunning Dub of them all , he bankrupt the country and thousands lose their jobs and dreams and thiousands fled the land).

6 Bosco ( because he lives in a box and red hair but he sounds like a Dub. He told Irish children lies about magic doors. Very devious individual who corrupted the minds of Irish youths with stories of a magic door .)

7 Charles Haughey ( People say he was from Mayo or Derry , but he could be a Dub. He left office in disgrace )

8 Matress Mick ( A Dub with crazy hair and sells mattreses, enough said )

7 Eoin Muchain (He looks about 12 but he scored the goal that broke Heart of a nation and won 5 in a row )

8 Bella from Fair City ( Worst actor in history and a true and true Dub enough said )

9 Bono ( A small northside Dub who thinks hes a god , tryed to save Africa but couldnt save his own hair. They said he had hair transplant in 1985 after he sang in the name of the Dubs what more in the name of the Dubs and all his his hair fell out. His partner in crime is called The Edge. Hes ok he welsh. )

10 Marty Whelan or Ronan keating or Kieth Duffy.

One is unsufferable , one is the most annoying git ever and all three r Dubs. Enough said.
    Whelan bring culchies to Dublin fills them full of drink and cocktail sausages get them to spin a wheel as they make holy show of themselves.
    Keith Duffy because he worst singing voice in history of man kind
    Ronan keating coz hes Ronan keating.

I really hope you didn’t spend more than two or three minutes typing that out. What a waste of time.

The top 10

1 Jim Galvin ( The man behind the most dastardly most evil cold blooded campaign in Irish history eg 5 in a row. He slaughtered every county in the country..Humilated all 32 counties..Broke the hearts and dreams of all Mayo people. Yes they say he never smiles cold cold individual. Jim fecking Galvin.

2 Stephen Cluxton ( The captain of the most evil enterprise in Irish history eg 5 in a row, they say his kickouts are lethal could send an opposition head spinning of his shoulder )

3 Diarmaid Connolly ( He left for America but came back to win 5 in a row, an evil genius )

4 Des Cahill ( He dys his hair with shoe polish , no Irish man in history has done this, the most vain thing ever done by an Irish person ever )

5 Bertie Ahern ( They say he was the cutest slyest most cunning Dub of them all , he bankrupt the country and thousands lose their jobs and dreams and thiousands fled the land).

6 Bosco ( because he lives in a box and red hair but he sounds like a Dub. He told Irish children lies about magic doors. Very devious individual who corrupted the minds of Irish youths with stories of a magic door .)

7 Charles Haughey ( People say he was from Mayo or Derry , but he could be a Dub. He left office in disgrace )

7 Eoin Muchain (He looks about 12 but he scored the goal that broke Heart of a nation and won 5 in a row )

8 Bella from Fair City ( Worst actor in history and a true and true Dub enough said )

9 Bono ( A small northside Dub who thinks hes a god , tryed to save Africa but couldnt save his own hair. They said he had hair transplant in 1985 after he sang in the name of the Dubs what more in the name of the Dubs and all his his hair fell out. His partner in crime is called The Edge. Hes ok he welsh. )

One is unsufferable , one is the most annoying git ever and all three r Dubs. Enough said.
    Whelan bring culchies to Dublin fills them full of drink and cocktail sausages get them to spin a wheel as they make holy show of themselves.

Never heard of any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Protestant Religion wasn't formed until nearly 500 years later.

They were proto-prods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

The top 10

Well someone's obviously annoyed about the All Ireland.

Mayo have no one to blame but themselves!

Disclaimer: I'm not from Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Ah wait i know.

Phil coulter for Irelands call.

Notwithstanding a slight airbrushing of the role of the Catholic church in CS Parnell's downfall, its a toss between Travelyn for inspiring that damn song, and Cromwell
    Finally a reason to give thanks to the Catholic Church.

Good. Parnell would have had us standing for God Save The Queen at All Ireland Finals. I bet he'd had voted for Brexit and all. Parnell was a useful idiot in his day but not one whose downfall ought to be lamented. Utterly overrated figure in Irish history.

Edit. Post edited as I initially wrote Cromwell instead of Parnell as a typo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,112 ✭✭✭BQQ

Guy Person wrote: »
    My "hilarious" After Hours answer is me, Guy Person. A total fúcking wánker.

My serious actual answer is the same.

I would also have to go with Guy Person

no Jamie Heaslip or Conor McGregor in the poll?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Ryan Tubridy

Hector O Heochagian.
    Whatever happened to Hector?

He looked like his star was in the ascendant at RTÉ for a few years there, then he went briefly to Today FM and sort of vanished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

sxt wrote: »
    Who is it?

Diarmuid Mac Murrough

He invited the English to Ireland in 1169 after losing his throne as King of Leinster. King Henry II took him up on it and the Irish have been trying to get rid of the British ever since.

Oliver Cromwell

He decided to use Ireland as his own killing field to advance his political career in Britain. Murdered and deported tens of thousands of Irish as slaves.

Charles Trevelyan

Britain’s overseer of Ireland during the Great Hunger. He decided that economic policy and ‘not coddling the poor’ was more important than millions starving.

Lord Lucan

The worst landlord in Ireland during the Great Hunger. He turned 10,000 people out of their homes in Ballinrobe in Mayo alone. Thousands starved to death as he ruthlessly cleared the land.

Captain William O’Shea

He decided to divorce Kitty O’Shea despite knowing it would bring down Charles Stewart Parnell, who was on the verge of achieving Home Rule. He was egged on by British interests to do so. Despite the fact that O’Shea and Kitty were separated when she met Parnell, the resulting Victorian era scandal took down Ireland’s "Uncrowned King."

David Lloyd George

Also known as ‘the Welsh Wizard,’ this British Prime Minister split the Irish delegation during the treaty talks and insisted on Irish partition and keeping his unionist backers happy at all costs.

Winston Churchill
    A young Winston Churchill, responsible for the Black and Tans.

He invented the Black and Tans and was responsible for sending them to Ireland to force the Irish rebellion into surrender.

General Eoin O’Duffy

In the 1930s, he started the Blueshirts, which was the Irish equivalent of the Nazis. He raised a brigade to fight with Franco in the Spanish Civil War and was an admirer of Hitler.

Margaret Thatcher

She allowed ten IRA prisoners, led by Bobby Sands, to starve to death in 1981. The bloody-handed move backfired when Sands was elected as MP and kick-started the Sinn Fein political rise a month before his death.

Colonel Derek Wilford

He was Parachute Regiment commander in Derry in 1972 when he unleashed the paras to fire on unarmed civilians on 'Bloody Sunday.' 26 were shot and 14 died. Subsequently known as “the Butcher of the Bogside.”

I copied this from below link but it was lacking an after hours poll!

https://www.irishcentral.com/roots/history/most-hated-people-irish-history

Should have included Bonar law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Was in London there two weeks ago. Statue of Oliver Cromwell outside the Houses of Parliament. Bit like having a statue of Hitler in central Berlin.

He ushered in parliamentary democracy in England, greatly reduced the power of the monarchy, he was a great man if you exclude the fanatical puritanism - rabid anti Catholicism

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Can honestly say that I've never exerted myself in any way thinking about how much I hate any of those people. Well maybe Thatcher, but only because she was an out and out c*nt, not specifically because of anything she did in Northern Ireland. In fact I'd probably put Bobby Sands and the rest of his lot ahead of her because of the sh*te they perpetrated allegedly in the name "the Irish people".

Without wanting to sound like one, I think it is fair to say that the Roundheads were a gang of chunts. However standard deviations are not just statistical anomalies. Was it 200k or 600 k, one of those figures is 3 times the size of the other?

For the record I also have seen this figure plucked from Wikipedia, I think around 200,000 displaced is an aggressive estimate, although difficult to prove otherwise. Logistically there is no evidence of a human migration of 600,000 Irish to Connaught. To hell or Connaught did happen, but only to families and individuals who were part of the confederacy of Kilkenny, in many instances they were given new lands in Clare, Galway and Mayo. Your talking about the movement of ruling usurped royalist families also.

You can start hating me now for pointing that one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

De Valera should be an option, clearly

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Arch Bishop Mc quaid, Connor Mc Gregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Charles J Haughey.

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭LordBasil

A few suggestions;
    Eamonn DeValera
    Brian Cowen
    Bertie Ahern
    Seanie Fitz, David Quinn and the rest of the Banksters
    Liam Lawlor
    Dennis O'Brien
    Michael Lowery
    Charles Haughey
    Whoever shot Michael Collins

Nobody can match Cromwell imo.

In terms of actual Irish people, Haughey left a pretty awful legacy in fairness. Also possibly worth a mention - William Joyce aka Lord Haw-Haw, though he probably considered himself more British than Irish anyway (until he became German).

LordBasil wrote: »
    A few suggestions;
    Eamonn DeValera
    Brian Cowen
    Bertie Ahern
    Seanie Fitz, David Quinn and the rest of the Banksters
    Liam Lawlor
    Dennis O'Brien
    Michael Lowery
    Charles Haughey
    Whoever shot Michael Collins

Take Michael Lowry off that list immediately, without him there would never have been a Féile or the Trip to Tipp. It is not all about lambasting **** who you don't agree with. If your going to hate someone you should at least learn to spell their name properly.

Biffo got unlucky, who is David Quinn?

It is Denis, not Dennis. As I said, know your enemies.

I respect from your hatred of anti treaty assassins your probably a blueshirt, but what exactly did Liam Lawlor ever do to you? Really?

It is too easy to hate Haughey, but at least he had the cahones to take the proper piss out of this kipp and basically get away with it. He did build the IFSC and reinvigorate our horse racing industry, he was probably a greedy chunt but I can't help liking him sometimes either, I doubt I am the only one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Declan Rice should be up there with Oliver Cromwell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭tipp_tipp_tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Cromwell was a proud republican

True, but such a basterd they sent him to hell , or as we call it drogheda

Without wanting to sound like one, I think it is fair to say that the Roundheads were a gang of chunts. However standard deviations are not just statistical anomalies. Was it 200k or 600 k, one of those figures is 3 times the size of the other?

For the record I also have seen this figure plucked from Wikipedia, I think around 200,000 displaced is an aggressive estimate, although difficult to prove otherwise. Logistically there is no evidence of a human migration of 600,000 Irish to Connaught. To hell or Connaught did happen, but only to families and individuals who were part of the confederacy of Kilkenny, in many instances they were given new lands in Clare, Galway and Mayo. Your talking about the movement of ruling usurped royalist families also.

You can start hating me now for pointing that one out.

You're absolutely right, I took that from wiki. Even if it's out by a factor of ten, he still cant be seen to be less harmful than Bertie.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Maxwell_(British_Army_officer)

'They wanted to rule their own country, how dare they!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Lottie Ryan beats him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Forty Seven

No Bono or Geldof on the list? I'd rather have a pint with anyone of those from the list than either of those two gob****es.