Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Club Championships 2019-20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Corofin will blame everyone else if they lose here. Why did they foul at the end? Kilcoo cant kick in play.

Kilcoo managememt have questions to answer re how they let their team run into the tunnel at the end. Typical nordy intimidation tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

franglan wrote: »
    Was it brought forward twice though or did kilcoo fella Rob 10 metres?

Took another 10 and was on the edge of the D when he finally kicked the free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Would the hurling snobs ever shut up trying to tell everyone how much better hurling is.. They're nearly worse than the vegans..

Big Ears wrote: »
    I've actually turned it off.
    70 mins of that ****e was enough, I don't care who wins now.

Its one big sham. Hurling needs to be the main event. More entertaining, less cynical, more scores (14 in nearly 70 mins of play here). Its as bad as the soccer this.

Would the hurling snobs ever shut up trying to tell everyone how much better hurling is.. They're nearly worse than the vegans..

It is better though. Far superior. Hurling is the steak of sports. Football is the vegan option.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭sliabh 1956

And Leo wants those Nordies to join the Republic no thanks after the glorious hurling the last 2 days to be exposed to that muck is so sad Kilcoo have suceeded in dragging Corofin down to their level they could win this which would be a travesty

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Have to say I still like the Hurling, despite those lads doing everything they can to put me off it, the All-Ireland championship was awful last year though.

It is not a problem when there are intelligent footballers and sideline who have thought thier players to vary thier play.

The problem is when the lower quality players/mangers play they only know one way and that is stay defensive - no variety.

That is the issue not the game of football itself.

You could argue that some teams have to play defensive that way or they would never have a hope.
    Cheddar Plunkett did the same with the Laois hurlers when I think of it.
    Kept the score down ran Galway close,

Like Kilcoo?

Id argue in hurling we see a sweeper. Maybe 2. But we never see 13 men inside a 45 defending, with 9 of them inside their own 20. Big differ from a sweeper to a blanket defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Conor Lane must be the most frustrating ref in the game.
    Blows up for the slightest thing.
    I would blame him as much as anyone as to how ill tempered it got.
    That said, Lundy is an idiot.

charlie14 wrote: »
    Conor Lane must be the most frustrating ref in the game.
    Blows up for the slightest thing.
    I would blame him as much as anyone as to how ill tempered it got.
    That said, Lundy is an idiot.

He has been spot on with most of his calls. Tackle is clearly defined. What kilcoo and Corofin have been doing is not tackling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭threeball

The game is like groundhog day Dublin v Donegal AI Semi Final 2011 0-8 0-6.
    Where the Dubs were nearly caught
    Just the colours are different. Still can't believe how Corofin do not know how to play against that type of system. Not rocket science the examples were set

How many Corofin games have you watched. They play blanket defences all the time and break them down. They're just playing very poorly today.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

People from the crowd entered the tunnel there

Standard GA Shmozzle antics, very nearly a mêlée close to breaking out.

Example

Corofin kepper got possession of the ball inside his 20. 1 kilcoo player inside the 45. The rest turned around and retreated.

Press the ****ing ball and try to win back possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭gifted

Are both team back to 15? And the black card stays?

Tackle is clearly defined.

And the 2020 award for the biggest lie goes to........

This just made me laugh out loud. Mrs looking at me wondering what's going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭testtech05

Great score by Steede

And the 2020 award for the biggest lie goes to........

This just made me laugh out loud. Mrs looking at me wondering what's going on.

Have you read the rule book?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,912 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

threeball wrote: »
    How many Corofin games have you watched. They play blanket defences all the time and break them down. They're just playing very poorly today.

Only the big ones to be honest. It makes it even worse if they played defensive teams plenty of times before. Makes it even more baffling.
    Got thier goal now - looks like they got out of jail.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

And that's that.

That'll soften the kilcoo cough. Quiet as mice now.

Have you read the rule book?

If you think the tackle is clearly defined then you've never played , rec'd or managed. It is an area of constant frustration for all involved. What one person thinks is the opposite of another. This is the reason why you see people losing the rag with inconsistencies.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Some turnaround by corofin. Frankly, I thought they were finished at full time.

Game. Set. Match.

Like Kilcoo?

Id argue in hurling we see a sweeper. Maybe 2. But we never see 13 men inside a 45 defending, with 9 of them inside their own 20. Big differ from a sweeper to a blanket defence.

That is because it is impoosible to play hurling with 13 behind the ball - completely different sport than football. Ball can be moved much faster in hurling.
    As I said Cheddar Plunkett made a good effort of defensive hurling when he was with Laois. All the sweeper talk makes me laugh you would swear it was splitting the atom or something. The way some of the analysts go on.

It is as if GAA managers only realised they could borrow tactics from other sports in the last decade.

If you think the tackle is clearly defined then you've never played , rec'd or managed. It is an area of constant frustration for all involved. What one person thinks is the opposite of another. This is the reason why you see people losing the rag with inconsistencies.

Id say a lot of team and patrons use it as an excuse to lose the rag. I would think anyone who says that kilcoo and corofin havent been fouling all day long has never read the rule book or coached how to tackle.

That is because it is impoosible to play hurling with 13 behind the ball - completely different sport than football. Ball can be moved much faster in hurling.
    As I said Cheddar Plunkett made a good effort of defensive hurling when he was with Laois. All the sweeper talk makes me laugh you would swear it was splitting the atom or something. The way some of the analysts go on.

It is as if GAA managers only realised they could borrow tactics from other sports in the last decade.

And thats why hurling is currently a much superior spectacle to watch.

Should have been red for the kilcoo wing back there. Under Lanes nose too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Should have been red for the kilcoo wing back there. Under Lanes nose too.

Red and dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

But they are correct in fairness

Id also argue it was a foot block by corofin goalie.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

One of the most nasty cynical displays ive seen from a team at any level, Corofin aren't a dirty team but when the other team is carrying on like Kilcoo are you have a right to defend yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

One of the most nasty cynical displays ive seen from a team at any level, Corofin aren't a dirty team but when the other team is carrying on like Kilcoo are you have a right to defend yourself

Sign of a great team, Corofin can play it any way you want

Dead right. I wouldn't even shake their hand after that. Mickey Moran should be ashamed to send out a team like that. Filthy bunch.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

The row at full time actually helped corofin. It woke them up.

The row worked against kilcoo.

Steede and Daithi Burke were immense for Corofin. Kept a team that wasn't firing in the game in crucial periods.

Not true - I suspect you are from the 'never seen a good game of football' - but 'never seen a bad game of hurling' school of thought.

As I said when the top teams/managers play football and have the nous to vary thier play - football is fantastic. Mayo, have shown it, Kerry have shown it, Dublin have shown it.

In contrast hurling can lead to a lot of one sided games as below 6/7 teams there is a huge chasm in standard.
    Also by it's very nature hurling can lead to a lot of onesided games due to the amounts of scores in the game.

After the initial hype over the new hurling system two years ago, it did not work as well last year.

Also the other problem hurling has is the bias towards' traditional counties' - especially Munster. There is a reluctance to relegate these teams and the rules are manipulated.

Big Ears wrote: »
    I've actually turned it off.
    70 mins of that ****e was enough, I don't care who wins now.

Same. I normally have a fairly storing stomach for the dour stuff and we can’t complain really, people watch soccer and don’t, but that was as bad as I’ve ever seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

Not quite sure how to analyse that. Corofin had the momentum in the second half and then tried to be too clever and almost lost it.
    Got the momentum again in extra time and stomped Kilcoo into the dirt.

When they simply play football Corofin are the best club team I've ever seen.

Kilcoo deserve credit. Horrid game and they played in a cynical way but it worked a lot better than some other teams who thought they could out-football probably the best footballing club side there has ever been. Can't be too hard on a team that chose a better approach even though it'd turn a purists stomach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Knew what I'd see when I logged in here.

Anti-football and anti-Northern bias.

It makes me wonder why some of ye even watch football. Actually it seems that some spent more time reading and posting here than actually watching the game.

That was a cracking game before extra time. Full-blooded, passionate, tactical, result in doubt until the end. Kilcoo gave everything to get back in the second half and had nothing left for extra time.

Stop moaning. If you want a score every minute go and watch basketball.

Not true - I suspect you are from the 'never seen a good game of football' - but 'never seen a bad game of hurling' school of thought.

As I said when the top teams/managers play football and have the nous to vary thier play - football is fantastic. Mayo, have shown it, Kerry have shown it, Dublin have shown it.

In contrast hurling can lead to a lot of one sided games as below 6/7 teams there is a huge chasm in standard.
    Also by it's very nature hurling can lead to a lot of onesided games due to the amounts of scores in the game.

After the initial hype over the new hurling system two years ago, it did not work as well last year.

Also the other problem hurling has is the bias towards' traditional counties' - especially Munster. There is a reluctance to relegate these teams and the rules are manipulated.

Ive seen plenty of bad hurling games. A poor game of hurling would have been superior to that ****e though.

grbear wrote: »
    Not quite sure how to analyse that. Corofin had the momentum in the second half and then tried to be too clever and almost lost it.
    Got the momentum again in extra time and stomped Kilcoo into the dirt.

When they simply play football Corofin are the best club team I've ever seen.

Kilcoo deserve credit. Horrid game and they played in a cynical way but it worked a lot better than some other teams who thought they could out-football probably the best footballing club side there has ever been. Can't be too hard on a team that chose a better approach even though it'd turn a purists stomach.

Good point Kilcoo wouldn't have been in an asses roar of them if they played open football.

I just looked at it in the last two years Corofin won by 9, 15 and now 8 after extra time.

They are clearly on the slide ;). People with be watching with interest to see if Joyce can fit them into a Galway side that suits thier style.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

When you can find the ball on screen that is

Ive seen plenty of bad hurling games. A poor game of hurling would have been superior to that ****e though.

I'm sorry that is just subjective bias stuff. It is just that 'hurling people' are used to bang crash wallop 90 miles an hour stuff.
    Traditional Hurling people do not like variation of pace in a game, tactical changes and so on.
    Traditional Hurling people prefer men to mark thier man - none of this sweeper messing.

I am well aware of 'hurling people' the said truth is hurling will wane with the insular attitude. Where the hurling snobs rule the roost.
    Dublin are viewed with suspicion in the traditional hurling world - intruders etc.
    It's funny stuff.

Traditional hurling people are extremely transparent in thier views and mindset.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

And Leo wants those Nordies to join the Republic no thanks after the glorious hurling the last 2 days to be exposed to that muck is so sad Kilcoo have suceeded in dragging Corofin down to their level they could win this which would be a travesty

What has the border got to do with it? Antrim is a much bigger hurling county than Mayo or Kerry

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Choochtown

I've never got the "hurling is better than football" or (much less common) "football is better than hurling" arguments.

They are 2 completely different sports with the only obvious similarities being the GAA and the scoring systems.

I much prefer football with it's variance of tactical approaches and formations and the fact that most scores tend to be "hard-earned".

Hurling on the other hand whilst I admire the skills on display the relentless scoring/shot taking ("ball is pucked out breaks loose is picked up and it's over the bar ...etc. ") can for me get a bit samey bordering on boring.

But that's just me. I'm hardly going to declare football a superior game just because I enjoy it more. Some people love watching ice skating ffs whatever floats your boat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,700 ✭✭✭thesultan

I'd nearly make the rugby tackle a red. It's horrible to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

I was only listening to the RTE coverage on the radio and it was plain from the description of the game that it was a pretty poor match with plenty of wides and with frequent off the ball fouling and fighting, particularly in the 2nd half. I really think Brian Carthy and RTE in general need to start calling a spade a spade when it comes to thuggery that sometimes passes for football. It's almost as if they are afraid to criticise the GAA in any way.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I'm sorry that is just subjective bias stuff. It is just that 'hurling people' are used to bang crash wallop 90 miles an hour stuff.

Football is a contact sport as well, but the way Conor Lane reffed today you would not think some.
    Even for him I found him particularly whistle happy today that left the game very stop start.
    I think that caused a lot of frustration for both teams and lead to a lot of the niggling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Football: The tackle is a skill by which one or more players may dispossess an opponent or frustrate his objective within the Rules of Fair Play. A tackle is aimed at the ball, not the player.
    A tackler may use his body to confront the opponent but deliberate bodily contact such as punching, slapping, arm holding, pushing, tripping, jersey pulling or a full frontal charge is forbidden.
    The only deliberate physical contact allowed is that in the course of
    a Fair Charge one player only with at least one foot on the
    ground , makes a shoulder to shoulder charge on the player
    in possession.

The tackle is clearly defined. However I'd argue that the definition is very poor - what exactly does the bit where it says that a tacker may use his body to confront an opponent ?

The most important part of the definition for me is the bit about the tackle is aimed at the ball

Far too often you see lads tackling the player/making no effort whatsoever to play/win the ball, the ref blows for a foul and a player doesn't seem to have an iota why the ref blew. I'd put a serious amount of this down to terrible coaching. Even at the top level there are some inter-county players who just don't seem to know what is a legitimate tackle/attempt at a tackle. I think the fact that you are not allowed tackle a player unless it's a shoulder and that you have to tackle or attempt to tackle the ball should be given far more emphasis.

I argue that a staggeringly high percentage of GAA people have never ever read the actual definition but just go by a general jist from watching matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Also the definition of the tackle for hurling is far worse.
    Hurling: Any attempt to dispossess or reduce the advantage of opponent within the Rules of Fair Play. With the exception of the charge (fair), the tackle is aimed at the ball not the player.

Basically everything is allowed unless it's against the rules.

The bit about the charge is the shoulder (says a world about whoever drafted this rule that instead of using the universal "shoulder" term they use charge, which most GAA people when they hear it will think of something in possession trying to barge through an opposition player.

It is no wonder that there is confusion about the definition of what is/isn't a legit tackle in both codes, when the actual definition in the rule-book is so poor.