Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another split - Paul Murphy leaves the Socialist Party

• 26-09-2019 4:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭

News reaches us that Paul Murphy and a number of other senior members have left the Socialist Party to start a new group. Yet another split. This follows ‘extensive debate’ at a meeting last weekend.

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2019/0926/1078425-politics/

Any ideas on what caused the split? A falling out based on some obscure interpretation of Marxist philosophy? Suspicious because of his bourgeois background? A message from the real leadership over in London?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Odhinn

That shower are so fractious its a miracle they've lasted that long without a split.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

House private. No flowers please....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Odhinn

News reaches us that Paul Murphy and a number of other senior members have left the Socialist Party to start a new group. Yet another split. This follows ‘extensive debate’ at a meeting last weekend.

Any ideas on what caused the split? A falling out based on some obscure interpretation of Marxist philosophy? Suspicious because of his bourgeois background? A message from the real leadership over in London?

It follows a difference of opinion on whether or not the Socialist Party should get involved in broader movements with other parties such as Sinn Féin and the Green Party.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Imagine being Paul Murphys age and believing in socialism.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Lol.

They really are beyond ridicule at this stage.

I suspect the smug little twerp thinks the 1% they're currently running at in the polls doesn't apply to him and wants to distance himself before an election.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,943 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Any ideas on what caused the split?

It follows a difference of opinion on whether or not the Socialist Party should get involved in broader movements with other parties such as Sinn Féin and the Green Party.

I’m being green by conserving my energy rather than waste it on that shower of oxygen thieves.

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭mikep

They'll have to be called:
    The Can't Someone Else Do It party...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Odhinn wrote: »
    That shower are so fractious its a miracle they've lasted that long without a split.

They were born out of a split!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

When he originally got elected he genuinely believed that the working classes were revolting.

Has the revolution now been cancelled or only delayed?

Would this be a bad time to call (yet again) for left unity? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,009 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

What a moron.
    Like the rest of his socialist ilk

• Registered Users Posts: 21,698 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I don't have much time for him but it seems his position was that they should try to get involved with policy conversations with the likes of SF and the Greens.

Hard to disagree with him in that respect, you're never going to build any sort of socialist group of any standing if you consistently try to have everything done only the way you and your one or two mates want to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

I heard they wanted a cup of tea but nobody would get off their arse and boil the kettle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

ASNP - angry socialist namby pambys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

What the fck are you people talking about? I just looked at the Socialist Party's website and there is not and never has been a member named 'Paul Murphy.'

kZImsV4.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

He wants to work with the rest of the left, they don't.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/paul-murphy-leaves-socialist-party-to-launch-new-group-1.4031488
    Not sure how it might play out come election time though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Parties with ethics and beliefs would fracture and implode more than the like of FF/FG. I mean FG went in with FF, obviously no real politics there.
    At least Murphy got himself a mention in the papers. I'm sure he's delighted it's not for being raided at dawn or lied about by the Garda ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

WESAYSO Corporation

• Registered Users Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭TheShow

waste of oxegen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 370 ✭✭WB Yokes

In honour of Comrade Murphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Portsalon

Imagine being Paul Murphy's age and believing in socialism.

Biological age or mental age?

I suspect that he's probably had enough of perma-whining, thong waving Coppinger - and who could blame him for that?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,531 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

WB Yokes wrote: »
    In honour of Comrade Murphy

It's a great anthem though. Makes me want to invade Ukraine.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 370 ✭✭WB Yokes

It's a great anthem though. Makes me want to invade Ukraine.

I agree. The comment section is gold.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭randd1

The reason the Socialist Party will never do well is because they're just utterly sh*t at PR.

- First off, the name is just too plain. They need a name that's not only very catchy, but sounds well when they turn it into an acronym.
    For example, the Socialist Political Irish Left. That way they have the acronym SPIL, and that leads to a whole load of catchy election phrases, "SPILing the Truth", "FF/FG/L:about/SF to topple after SPIL", "SPIL the Blood of Our Enemies".

- Secondly, the symbol. Obviously, an Irish wolfhound baring teeth. Big, patriotic, powerful, deadly.
    The posters print themselves really, one of the wolfhound ripping apart lads wearing suits with FF/FG/Labour/SF Badges badge's on them with the slogan "Chewing the Fat Cats", another of the Wolfhound running and lads wearing suits with FF/FG/Labour/SF Badges badge's on them flailing after the hound with the slogan "Leader of the Pack".
    Other posters with pictures of the wolfhound with slogans like "Biting Back for Ireland", "Hounding the Elite for a Fairer Ireland", "Hungry for Change" (FF/FG/Labour/SF badges out of a dog bowl).

Their policies might still be shi*e, but I guarantee you they'd get noticed.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,477 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Portsalon wrote: »
    Biological age or mental age?

I suspect that he's probably had enough of perma-whining, thong waving Coppinger - and who could blame him for that?

image.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

randd1 wrote: »
    The reason the Socialist Party will never do well is because they're just utterly sh*t at PR.

- First off, the name is just too plain. They need a name that's not only very catchy, but sounds well when they turn it into an acronym.
    For example, the Socialist Political Irish Left. That way they have the acronym SPIL, and that leads to a whole load of catchy election phrases, "SPILing the Truth", "FF/FG/L:about/SF to topple after SPIL", "SPIL the Blood of Our Enemies".

- Secondly, the symbol. Obviously, an Irish wolfhound baring teeth. Big, patriotic, powerful, deadly.
    The posters print themselves really, one of the wolfhound ripping apart lads wearing suits with FF/FG/Labour/SF Badges badge's on them with the slogan "Chewing the Fat Cats", another of the Wolfhound running and lads wearing suits with FF/FG/Labour/SF Badges badge's on them flailing after the hound with the slogan "Leader of the Pack".
    Other posters with pictures of the wolfhound with slogans like "Biting Back for Ireland", "Hounding the Elite for a Fairer Ireland", "Hungry for Change" (FF/FG/Labour/SF badges out of a dog bowl).

Their policies might still be shi*e, but I guarantee you they'd get noticed.

You do realise the Socialist Party are an internationalist Trot party? They want to create a pan-island socialist grouping with ourselves and the UK, which would be part of a global socialist ‘conglomeration’. They really wouldn’t be into the nationalist symbols.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

see attched

• Registered Users Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The two things Irish socialists are good at, splitting and entryism.
    How many movements have they taken over and destroyed now?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

i dont think Paul likes that he's not in a leadership role for the climate protests

• Registered Users Posts: 7,324 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Imagine being Paul Murphys age and believing in socialism.

I doubt that he does.

It's just a very handy flag of convenience that allows him to get elected to a very plum role.

He's an odious and despicable little prick, but it's the morons who vote him in that are to blame.