Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another split - Paul Murphy leaves the Socialist Party

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Imagine being Paul Murphys age and believing in socialism.

To be fair he doesn't. Ireland must be the only country where socialists protest about wealth taxes.ie the property tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Judaean People's Front

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Left with with Ruth and Mick Barry as TDs.

The most dour, miserable pair of whingers to ever grace the Dáil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I doubt that he does.

It's just a very handy flag of convenience that allows him to get elected to a very plum role.

He's an odious and despicable little prick, but it's the morons who vote him in that are to blame.

Be more of a plum job to get a seat in government? Surely any chancer worth his salt is in FF/FG?
    Be much easier to pretend you don't give a f*** than pretending you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Bambi wrote: »

Is Gino ‘10 spot’ Kenny not one of them as well? Or is one of Richie BB’s crew?

For all their flaws when was the last recession caused by any of them or tens of millions of tax payer monies squandered on quangos and sweet deals? Nice to keep perspective is all ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is Gino ‘10 spot’ Kenny not one of them as well? Or is one of Richie BB’s crew?

Gino is a PBP head, he's a bit too working class for the Socialist Party.

When he originally got elected he genuinely believed that the working classes were revolting.

Has the revolution now been cancelled or only delayed?

Would this be a bad time to call (yet again) for left unity? :pac:

He realised just how revolting they actually are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭christy c

For all their flaws when was the last recession caused by any of them or tens of millions of tax payer monies squandered on quangos and sweet deals? Nice to keep perspective is all ;)

How's the deflection going Matt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

mikep wrote: »
    They'll have to be called:
    The Can't Someone Else Do It party...

The SBW party - Spongers Before Workers

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

When you say 'their flaws' who's they exactly? If it's solidarity or PBP you're referring to thankfully they've never been in power.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭touts

The one thing socialists hate more than capitalism is other socialists.

That's why after they seize power most of them then end up in a dead in a secret police torture chamber and airbrushed out of photographs.

christy c wrote: »
    How's the deflection going Matt?

Why, am I what ever the party was called supporter now? Leave your little bobbled team hat at home for once Christy ;)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSZWn_fvT_7MWvACpQtmGeLpTAWZeIDnbpA-wB57AoKAVczwpHk
    When you say 'their flaws' who's they exactly? If it's solidarity or PBP you're referring to thankfully they've never been in power.

Yeah, they're the worse thing to never happen to Irish politics ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Much as I dislike the little bollix I'm not surprised that one of the reasons he jumped ship was because he wasn't getting along with Coppinger.

He was a one trick pony anyway, once the dutch gold and 20 benson crowd got out of paying for water usage he had nothing else to talk about.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Why, am I what ever the party was called supporter now? Leave your little bobbled team hat at home for once Christy ;)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSZWn_fvT_7MWvACpQtmGeLpTAWZeIDnbpA-wB57AoKAVczwpHk

Yeah, they're the worse thing to never happen to Irish politics ;)

BuT tHe BaNk bAiLoUt CoMrAdE!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Gino is a PBP head, he's a bit too working class for the Socialist Party.

PBP spokesman on horses.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭christy c

Haha, you're deflecting like hell when someone other than FG or FF is mentioned yet I'm the team supporter.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,459 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

When he originally got elected he genuinely believed that the working classes were revolting.

A lot of them are pretty rough to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I don't know.

Clare and Mick gave them a run for their money before departing to greater nosebags in Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I don't have much time for him but it seems his position was that they should try to get involved with policy conversations with the likes of SF and the Greens.

Hard to disagree with him in that respect, you're never going to build any sort of socialist group of any standing if you consistently try to have everything done only the way you and your one or two mates want to do it.

Think of the purity though.

Micro groups like this are always their own worst enemy.

If that is his thinking he has the right idea.

Parties with ethics and beliefs would fracture and implode more than the like of FF/FG. I mean FG went in with FF, obviously no real politics there.
    At least Murphy got himself a mention in the papers. I'm sure he's delighted it's not for being raided at dawn or lied about by the Garda ;)

Brilliant, just brilliant.

Thank you for that post, the ultimate definition of deflection.

blanch152 wrote: »
    I don't know.

Clare and Mick gave them a run for their money before departing to greater nosebags in Europe.

I disagreed with Clare and Mick on lots but I have them high votes in respect to the massive service they gave over the last decade.

There are people who were Ministers for half a life who did less for the country.

Danzy wrote: »
    I disagreed with Clare and Mick on lots but I have them high votes in respect to the massive service they gave over the last decade.

There are people who were Ministers for half a life who did less for the country.

What have either of these done for the country?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Years ago somebody would write an article in Indymedia on a topic such as Socialism, Communism, Marxism or anything vaguely related. The articles would be quite long.

Comments sections would be comical with the Socialist Party comrades arguing with the SWP.

Tempers would flair up and I assume some would have been lined up and shot during the revolution.

What have either of these done for the country?

Their work on calling out corruption in the Gardaí, when it was safer not to is one such thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I don't agree with PM's policies and I wouldn't vote for him.

But, he's dedicated himself to something he believes in for rather meagre reward when with his background, education and talents he could be just making himself fairly comfortable.

I'm not aware of any ethical issues that have arisen with him and he usually presents his position well on the radio.

Pluralism is healthy for any democracy. Group think breeds complacency.

The far Left called out Irish Water as the crony stuffed, inefficient Quango shuffling along on spin and zombie accounting that it was long before it was cool, at a time when SF wouldn't touch the issue. They did it for their own reasons and they mobilised a pack of scroungers for their own ends but they still did it, and they deserve some credit for that

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Remind me

Protected disclosures and her endless work in highlighting Shannon being used for US military are just 2 things.

Daly and Wallace in recent years brought forward credible debate and cases IMO and not just ramblings to keep constituents happy.

I am not a fan of independents but they are a loss to the Dail. I would much rather see the back of Murphy, coppinger, Gino kenny etc... who offer nothing

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I don't agree with PM's policies and I wouldn't vote for him.

But, he's dedicated himself to something he believes in for rather meagre reward when with his background, education and talents he could be just making himself fairly comfortable.

I'm not aware of any ethical issues that have arisen with him and he usually presents his position well on the radio.

Pluralism is healthy for any democracy. Group think breeds complacency.

I'll agree with that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

He realised just how revolting they actually are.

he was one of the top 3 revolting things about them

Danzy wrote: »
    Their work on calling out corruption in the Gardaí, when it was safer not to is one such thing.

Yes, they backed Garda Harrison all the way to the Tribunal, and millions were spent investigating that charlatan.

Well done indeed.