Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else fed up of dating apps?

167891012»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

There's never any guarantee that they will; you do them for the enjoyment of it first and if you happen to meet someone you like along the way then even better. It gives you both a common ground to possibly meet and have something immediate in common. If it happens.

It's true that Irish people are not entirely direct about their intentions and I was the same when I was a younger man in my early twenties; I was afraid of rejection and frankly missed out a bit. Anxiety didn't help either.

You can use that above fact to your advantage; it will make you stand out if you are more direct in a way and trust me, every man would love a woman to walk up to him and start chatting away instead of the usual way around.

My friend group is a mix of different personalities. Most of my friends are settled down or married. Most of them would be fairly confident and def sure of themselves but not cocky lads. In all of their cases they struck up conversations with women they liked at various events and locations.

Also, the wider your friends circle is the greater the opportunity of meeting someone who you may click with who's a friend of a friend.

I agree with this. I have a very small circle of freinds and honestly think this is one of the reasons I am still single - no opportunities to perhaps meet someone who is a friend of a friend. It gets very depressing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I'm not exaggerating, I love hearing people's "so how did you meet?" stories and I've never once heard a story along the lines of "well I saw her in the shop/ library/ gym/ cinema and I thought she was cute so I asked for her number and we went out that weekend."

It seems very much like the stuff of an American romcom. In Ireland, that could only happen after *several* hours in the pub, a scene I'm not very involved in.

I met a girl in a shop before. I worked in Dunnes and she was chatting to a co-worker of mine and I asked her for her number.

Went out with her for a year and half but she turned out to be a pure looper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

This is slightly OT but an ex work colleague went on a work trip to the UK a few years back, and on her return journey there was some sort of catastrophic IT issue that caused all flights to be grounded.
    She was bored stuck in an airport so started swiping through tinder, and matched with a guy from London who was on his way to Spain for a stag.
    They messaged back & forth for a bit and then he suggested meeting up for a coffee in the departure lounge as they were both bored and looking for something to do...4 years later they're happy out and living together in London. :o

Its the best "how did ye meet" story I've ever heard anyways :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

SusieBlue wrote: »
    This is slightly OT but an ex work colleague went on a work trip to the UK a few years back, and on her return journey there was some sort of catastrophic IT issue that caused all flights to be grounded.
    She was bored stuck in an airport so started swiping through tinder, and matched with a guy from London who was on his way to Spain for a stag.
    They messaged back & forth for a bit and then he suggested meeting up for a coffee in the departure lounge as they were both bored and looking for something to do...4 years later they're happy out and living together in London. :o

Its the best "how did ye meet" story I've ever heard anyways :pac:

Airports and planes are brilliant for meeting people. I have long standing friends I met while travelling. It's great because you can get properly chatting and you have each other's full attention. Years ago I was stuck in Brussels airport after a work trip because of a snow storm and met an Irish girl waiting for my same cancelled flight home. She was great craic and when we ended up being carted to a hotel for the night, we had dinner and drinks there and took the same flight home in the morning, then her dad gave me a lift back home from the airport :D We're still in touch now and to think we'd never have even met if that flight hadn't been cancelled and we hadn't got chatting there about what was happening. I could definitely see making a romantic connection in the same situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

I met a girl in a shop before. I worked in Dunnes and she was chatting to a co-worker of mine and I asked her for her number.

Went out with her for a year and half but she turned out to be a pure looper.

Bet she was great in bed though.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Feisar wrote: »
    Bet she was great in bed though.

Yes....yes she was :D