Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darklands? The new Love/Hate?

Gave it another go but not impressed. The chap who plays Damien seems a great actor. Very natural. The Dublinese is jammed up to the jaws of death with the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,521 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think this is one of the worst TV series I've seen in a long time.
    I honestly can't take any of it seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,836 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What a load of crap. Pure rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

The Dublinese is jammed up to the jaws of death with the rest.

Inserting "youse" and "fuuuuccccckkkkk saaaaaaakkkkke" into every sentence is obligatory, it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Uncle Goose looks like he got released from a Village People world tour rather than the 'joy

Inserting "youse" and "fuuuuccccckkkkk saaaaaaakkkkke" into every sentence is obligatory, it seems.

It's like a Fool Arms and Hog sketch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Mr Regal

Uncle Goose looks like he got released from a Village People world tour rather than the 'joy

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂☝☝☝
    Absolutely. Another stupid name Goose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Jasus Git is fair ****e at the acting

It's like he went to Jail in the 1980's and came out with the same image!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,627 ✭✭✭baldbear

I'm going to stick with it. I want to see how Damian gets on. Love hate was slagged off when it started.

Acting isn't great here. But its not the worst.

Don't slate me. :)

Damien on top of the Hill. Is he going to start shouting "Draaaaaagoooooo" ala Rocky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,559 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Can't understand the reasoning for the teenagers involved in MMA being the main story of it, they should have went with unemployed lads in their 20's who were desperate to make cash.

baldbear wrote: »
    I'm going to stick with it. I want to see how Damian gets on. Love hate was slagged off when it started.

Acting isn't great here. But its not the worst.

Don't slate me. :)

God love your optimism :D I think both Damien and the Girlfriend are decent characters. The rest is a complete and utter mess. Butsy?? Good grief

Can't understand the reasoning for the teenagers involved in MMA being the main story of it, they should have went with unemployed lads in their 20's who were desperate to make cash.

I think MMA had a bad reputation before this and this is really playing to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,457 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

they're loving the drone shots. getting tiresome now the amount of them. enjoyable all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Bodhran

Gave it another go but not impressed. The chaps who plays Damien seems a great actor. Very natural. The Dublinese is jammed up to the jaws of death with the rest.

His name is Dane Whyte O'Hara. Apparently he has no acting experience.

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/i-was-gobsmacked-dane-applies-for-role-as-extra-on-virgin-medias-new-series-darklands-and-ends-up-as-star-38450331.html

Bodhran wrote: »

He is the best of them. No hammy overacting. I think he has a good future in acting if he pursues it but this show doesn't. Its a complete and utter shambles. It makes Fair City look as good as the Wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

For a country that has produced world renowned writers,playwrights,actors,theatre companies,movie directors,scriptwriters,poets etc how f***ing bad are we at this "TV Drama" stuff.
    Doing stuff on the cheap explains some of it, not paying for proper voice/accent coaches,not paying enough extras for realistic scenes (how many times are the main actors the only people in the pub shop etc) but even allowing for that this is awful

At least no Gleesons were harmed in the making !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

For a country that has produced world renowned writers,playwrights,actors,theatre companies,movie directors,scriptwriters,poets etc how f***ing bad are we at this "TV Drama" stuff.
    Doing stuff on the cheap explains some of it, not paying for proper voice/accent coaches,not paying enough extras for realistic scenes (how many times are the main actors the only people in the pub shop etc) but even allowing for that this is awful

From what I can gather, TV3 put this forward for Sound and Vision Funding, expecting to get others involved, it sat waiting to be produced before realising that it wasn't going to get other investors. I think it possibly barely got anything from TV3.

In fairness Blood is a much better series.... but then you can see the funding difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Why were they smuggling drugs in the middle of the day in an actual port whilst dressed like extras from adam and paul......Whhhhhhhhyyyy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 957 ✭✭✭80j2lc5y7u6qs9

Why would a young guy like the martial artist not have some pt work.He is left school? He is a genuine guy but does not spend all time training. At least "the fridge is empty would not be heard then".Or the child needing the toy in the cereal box.

And why would he be afraid of his gf brothers, surely he would deck them with one blow.
    Didn't see love hate so cannot compare but its very thin and slow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Why would a young guy like the martial artist not have some pt work.He is left school? He is a genuine guy but does not spend all time training. At least "the fridge is empty would not be heard then".Or the child needing the toy in the cereal box.

And why would he be afraid of his gf brothers, surely he would deck them with one blow.

Dublin murders is on now. It's a million times better

He's still in school, first episode showed that.

I'm guessing unlike a certain real MMA fighter, the character wants to avoid trouble!

Still crap though. Actually only watching cause it's local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Finding it hard to take this programme seriously without laughing at some of scenes, especially yer man with the Fran voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i haven't seen yet...

is this so bad its good?? in a prisoner cell block H sort of way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,240 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Who plays Goose?

Darren Healy.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Who plays Goose?

Why played Gooses's sister and what was she in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

Darren Healy.

Ah jaysis remember him in crushproof

gwalk wrote: »
    Ah jaysis remember him in crushproof

That movie is an underrated classic!

Just watching episode 2 now, they kept the Goose in prison in Bray Wanderers home ground, you can even see the pitch when they open the gate!! Ah come on!

Prepare yourself for lot's of drone shots of Bray!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Butsy and Goose..... my god, i bet they'll end up bumming each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

Hopefully this Goose lad isn't just a psychopath a la Love Hate Hughie, I don't hate it so far it could be decent but it could do with another compelling character and it looks like he's going to be pivotal.

In pistol whipping that little gremlin he made a decent start in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 957 ✭✭✭80j2lc5y7u6qs9

He's still in school, first episode showed that.

I'm guessing unlike a certain real MMA fighter, the character wants to avoid trouble!

Still crap though. Actually only watching cause it's local.
    ok i missed that. still one would think and enterprising guy like him would have a part time job. He is so eager to escape

I watched this yesterday after hearing love hate comparisons. It shouldn’t even be mentioned in the same sentence.

This is basically like cardboard gangsters, the TV show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Cardboard Gangsters was pretty good, it shouldn’t be compared to this. This is more like Red Rock set in Bray executive produced by Coach Kavanagh.

Butsy and Goose..... my god, i bet they'll end up bumming each other

Butsy's voice ......He sounds constipated..And the young mma fighter fighting a man in a cage that wouldnt fit two budgies....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Drug shipments in broad daylight, well I never, the guards have only gone and lifted a pile of coke off a lad acting shifty in broad daylight in the one and only Bray. Perhaps not so uninspired after all!

it's 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Has Paul Williams made his obligatory cameo referring to them as 'Scumbags' yet?

Utter drivel. Looks like a TY project, but not quite as polished.

The Bray setting definitely does not work. The cliff walk and hill of bray is spectacular, I know there is dodgy parts to the town but I’ve never ran into these scummies when visiting these main attractions.
    I know Nidge lived in a nice house in south side Dublin, and John Boy has a stylish studio apartment (think that was in Sandy ford or else was the block with that you can see from Croke park canal end), but most of the scenes were north side kip areas.

The Bray setting definitely does not work. The cliff walk and hill of bray is spectacular, I know there is dodgy parts to the town but I’ve never ran into these scummies when visiting these main attractions.
    I know Nidge lived in a nice house in south side Dublin, and John Boy has a stylish studio apartment (think that was in Sandy ford or else was the block with that you can see from Croke park canal end), but most of the scenes were north side kip areas.

Nidges house was in Castleknock. John Boys penthouse apartments was distillery lofts, just off Clonliffe Road in Drumcondra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Watched 5 mins if this. Absolute muck. It's Fair City with notions. And that's being harsh on Fair City tbh.

Didn’t realise Bernard Brogan was starring in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Mr Regal

Butsy would play a blindin Dessie Curly in the Snapper Prequel.

Me bolllixx me bolllixxxx.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

This is so bad. Butsy in particular. Enjoying how shïte it is though.

I know and I have no idea why I'm watching it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭holly8

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Did I hear it announced both fighters come from the blue corner ?

Yes..I wondered about that too

I had a look a Twitter there. Mainly comments laughing at it and about the drone usage.
    A few phrasing it all liked by the director and and actors.