Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late Show Friday 4th October 2019

12345679»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Because they have death threats ffs

You can't be serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Augeo wrote: »
    ....... Can't fathom their reaction TBH.
    Leaving the country etc etc..... Fear, anxiety & stress..... Yet normal for the chap.

Its completely understandable.

As a white woman upto now she didnt really understand how bad racism is.

As a black man he has become used to it and almost immune.

The fear, anxiety and stress is completely understandable given the amount of scummy racist abuse Gemma and her supporters sibjected them to.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

I think the start of next week show tubs should publicly apologize to the bald audience member he took a cheap shot at tonight thinking he was funny.
    You can’t say that type of thing to a complete stranger who might be self conscious or suffering with depression etc.
    It’s alright having the craic with friends but that was taking the p1ss there tonight.
    The same tubs will be waffling sh1te next week about bullying.
    I’m fcukin annoyed over it.

I hope he doubles down on it and does an opening 3 minute monologue of bald jokes.

RobertKK wrote: »
    It all seems a bit OTT. It is a small minority and it is being portrayed as if most people on social media were targeting them.

I didnt thinknit was portrayed that way at all.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,827 ✭✭✭✭road_high

It all seems a bit OTT. It is a small minority and it is being portrayed as if most people on social media were targeting them.

Absolutely- yes the comments are awful but sweet Jesus this is the internet- a magnet for every head case imaginable. Don’t read the fcuking comments and get on with your life. This is exactly what these people want - attention and engagement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Tandey wrote: »
    Excuse me? The only person spoofing here is yourself and your vendetta. I stand by what I say. I call it how I see it.

Name calling now, I think it’s way past your bedtime.

I don't have a vendetta. You made a ****ty comment that he was just there to sell a book.

Back-tracked with the "fair play to him and all that" which would appear to be far from the intention to paint what he was saying when you said "All this to flog a book".

Maybe you didn't mean to be ****ty. Maybe it was language. Only you know that.

It appeared as a very ****ty comment. And I stand by what I said on the comment that was made.

If your intention was different, so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Watching back there on +about that Lidl couple. well no Ryan you haven't started any Conversation in the country because it'll be a one sided conversation with anyone with an alternate viewpoint whether we like or agree with it or not never ever allowed to air their argument so it can come into plain view and be argued back and forth like adults. Instead everyone is driven to the extremes and labelled far right or far left... labels which have been rendered meaningless now so overused are they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

I didn't know anything about this story until now.They appear to be a very normal couple.Some nasty uneducated people out there.

...and in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Pandora!

Absolutely over the top reaction. And tubs letting us know as a country we are all racist. Near 5 million population and I'm guessing it's sub 100 fools posted racist comments so we all have to sit down and reflect on those fools comments.

Also felt sorry for the bald chap. He didn't look too impressed.

Looks a bit hypocritical of Ryan:
    He himself appears to insult the man in the audience (+seems to find it funny)
    + yet then goes on to find fault with other people insulting the couple in the Lidl ad, bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Ivan Yates moved to Wales for a while due to debt threats.

I'd nearly re-reg to thank that again.
    Haven't seen Jean Byrne for a while,she is looking well.

Michelle Dillon is where it's all at. I saw her interviewed on the News the other night. Came across as a very genuine, no bullsh!t person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

sligojoek wrote: »
    I'd nearly re-reg to thank that again.

Michelle Dillon is where it's all at. I saw her interviewed on the News the other night. Came across as a very genuine, no bullsh!t person.

She is very genuine and pleasant and excellent at presenting the weather forecast.

Pandora! wrote: »
    Looks a bit hypocritical of Ryan:
    He himself appears to insult the man in the audience (+seems to find it funny)
    + yet then goes on to find fault with other people insulting the couple in the Lidl ad, bizarre.

Extreme racist hate speech and death threats are not comparable to what Ryan said.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭quinnd6

Tubs used to make fun of bald people on Tubridy tonight.
    He's a baldist lol.
    He doesn't realise he's making himself look like a plonker.
    That fella in the audience looked embarrassed.
    Failed joke attempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

I can be cynical myself about things at times,but definitely not about death threats and sexual abuse.
    Some of the comments here tonight are disgraceful.I'm sure the people making them have never been subjected to what that couple and Richie Sadlier have gone through.

Boards.ie gets more and more bigoted and right wing and cynical by the day in my view. Check out the views of the mob on accommodation and property for example, at a time when Ireland has the worst accommodation and homelessness crisis in its history. It mirrors the way Ireland is going in my view, and it's not a good path to be in. Used to love this thread, witty and highly entertaining. Last night was a low point in this threads history for me.

I think it was a failed attempt tonight by a few to get up on soap boxes and virtue signal.

People have a right to be cynical when someone comes on to sell a story on tv, which is what the couple and Richie Sadlier are doing as a fact.

The couple in particular, getting upset over some comments on twitter, are not credible to a lot of people who are entitled to their opinion.

Virtue signal, the go to put down of anyone these days when they just can't stomach the fact others might actually be sympathetic to something they aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭riddles

Baldism is rampant and Tubridy is an enabler. That chaps considering leaving the country now. It’s not a victimless crime.

Watching back there on +about that Lidl couple. well no Ryan you haven't started any Conversation in the country because it'll be a one sided conversation with anyone with an alternate viewpoint whether we like or agree with it or not never ever allowed to air their argument so it can come into plain view and be argued back and forth like adults. Instead everyone is driven to the extremes and labelled far right or far left... labels which have been rendered meaningless now so overused are they

Virtue signalling, there's another meaningless label for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,419 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I actually missed the bald ‘joke’, what did he say?

(I was out of the room, planning better ways to spend Friday nights :D ).

Regarding that most unremarkable couple, it seems to me if they (& it seems to be mostly she) did not live their lives on Twitter they would never ever know about remarks good, bad or indifferent. Everything and anything gets negative remarks from brain-dead skangers who, being lazy-headed, have little else to do but troll the world of social media). I rarely use Twitter, except for power outage updates etc, and wouldn’t have s clue what people are tweeting about me, not that I’m very interesting to the twitterati.

To me it seems this has become one great big advertisement for Lidl, and that there’s not much more to it. Btw in case any hung-ho outraged grabs the wrong handle here, I abhor racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Missed it last night. Did Tubridy keep to his misery fest and ask Lowry if he ever thinks about death?

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Missed it last night. Did Tubridy keep to his misery fest and ask Lowry if he ever thinks about death?

He forgot that crucial question :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,261 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Geez if twitter search Tubirdy Bald you get some remarks about what happened last night, but also the same stuff going back years

2014 Tubirdy teasing bald man about the Hair Treatment prize for everyone in audience
    2015 ''did Tubirdy just mock a bald man in audience?''
    2012 Tubirdy drawing attention to bald man in front row
    2011 Bald people want to smack Tubirdy

Seems he is indeed a ''Baldist ''

Geez if twitter search Tubirdy Bald you get some remarks about what happened last night, but also the same stuff going back years

2014 Tubirdy teasing bald man about the Hair Treatment prize for everyone in audience
    2015 ''did Tubirdy just mock a bald man in audience?''
    2012 Tubirdy drawing attention to bald man in front row
    2011 Bald people want to smack Tubirdy

Seems he is indeed a ''Baldist ''

Geez

You'd swear that bald people were subjected to death threats and extreme hate speech

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭quinnd6

Geez

You'd swear that bald people were subjected to death threats and extreme hate speech

Ah now don't be giving people ideas lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

terrydel wrote: »
    Boards.ie gets more and more bigoted and right wing and cynical by the day in my view. .....

yeah, seems to have been in the last while since GDPR and new / re-reg accounts became rampant. but its also with accounts that have been around 10 years plus... hard to know the cause, maybe just the way the online world in general is going

I hope he doubles down on it and does an opening 3 minute monologue of bald jokes.
    I actually missed the bald ‘joke’, what did he say?

(I was out of the room, planning better ways to spend Friday nights :D ).

Ya. What did he actually say? I thought he was totally against pointing out other peoples' differences as we're all the same.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Ya. What did he actually say? I thought he was totally against pointing out other peoples' differences as we're all the same.

There was some sort of grooming product giveaway for everyone in the audience. Out of the blue, Tubridy looked at some fella and told him he wouldn't need the hair product cos he was bald. The bloke rolled his eyes a bit. Tubridy came back and said it again.

it was typical awkward stuff out of Tubridy - a cringe-worthy lack of tact. He's a terrible host and an absolute creep if you ask me.

It's not that it was offensive, it's just he is so desperate to appear politically correct most of the time and then these little awkward moments happen. He just comes across like a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Geez

I’ve seen people complain here for a lot less. Short memories.

So I went on RTÉ player to watch the Lidl interview and, even allowing for the fact that I can’t generally find anything I’m looking for, I can’t see it up there with all the other segments. Is it just me or is there some sort of censorship conspiracy going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Dunno if ppl listen to his radio show much but he is constantly going on about

“Kindness”

“Minding each other”

“Looking out for one other”

This is said most days on his show.

He’s such a hypocritical insincere gobsh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I don't see what the Ryan family problem is they are what they are. There is a family down our country she is dark and stunning he is lrish and the only the only coments I hear is how beautiful the kids are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

kerryjack wrote: »
    I don't see what the Ryan family problem is they are what they are. There is a family down our country she is dark and stunning he is lrish and the only the only coments I hear is how beautiful the kids are.

It’s social media news. It doesn’t really reflect real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

There was some sort of grooming product giveaway for everyone in the audience. Out of the blue, Tubridy looked at some fella and told him he wouldn't need the hair product cos he was bald. The bloke rolled his eyes a bit. Tubridy came back and said it again.

It's an interesting one. In Irish society and on Irish media, it's acceptable to slag off bald men, in a way that being critical of another's physical features would be referred to as "shaming" and those who engaged in such acts would be the subject of highly critical panel discussions with Ciara Kelly and Sinead O'Carroll. I cannot imagine that Tubridy would have made the same remark to Gail Porter if she had been sitting in the audience.

But I guess expecting anybody in the media to put being consistent ahead of being populist is a bit much to ask for. Interesting to see if Tubridy gets any heat about this. Between this and the Greta Thunberg thing in the last few weeks, he'll be afraid to open his mouth. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Im bald. And i dont care if someone has a bit of banter about it. All good fun. Really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Dunno if ppl listen to his radio show much but he is constantly going on about

“Kindness”

“Minding each other”

“Looking out for one other”

This is said most days on his show.

He’s such a hypocritical insincere gobsh1te.

Its easy to act like that when your own 500 or 600k a year.

Im bald. And i dont care if someone has a bit of banter about it. All good fun. Really.

It's all about the context and tone though. Tubridy just got it wrong as per usual. And he went back for seconds!

Ironically the most entertaining bit of the LLS is seeing him fumbling about trying to be all correct and then f*cking it up :D

He was doing his "I'm great with kids" thing too with the twitter couple's baby :rolleyes:

...Interesting to see if Tubridy gets any heat about this...

He usually just forgets it happened whenever he f*cks up. Remember the Peter Casey interview?! never mentioned again.

On the other hand when he does half acceptable interview, he talks about it for weeks on end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Wasn't 'Riverdance' at number one in the Irish singles chart for a Wet Wet Wet-esque ungodly length of time?

18 weeks, unseated by a Neapolitan song from a Guinness ad.

that was some year -Whigfield, Dustin singing "Spanish Lady" and a World Cup song too https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_number-one_singles_of_1994_(Ireland)

KM792 wrote: »
    She seemed shook up and it did seem genuine to be fair.
    I'm surprised they had to suffer that abuse but twitter is a cesspit for abuse as we all know.
    On another note,I think Lidl are trying too hard with the ads at the moment..the mental health theme at the moment with the sister asking the brother what's up is totally cringe...you'd never have that conversation in the aisle of a supermarket.

a pity they wouldn't do more about the "mintil hilth" of their own employees http://franklludwig.com/lidl.html

"Bald"

I see what you did there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,185 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Any Bruce Springsteen fans out there,he will be on the Graham Norton show next week.

With De Niro ;)