Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Teamtalk/Transfer Rumours/Gossip 2019/20

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

I'd nearly start playing a 5221/3421 Formation, might be worth a shot

De Gea

Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Maguire, Tuanzebe, Young

McTominay, Fred,

James, Rashford,

Martial

Lets us use Tuanzebe while the midfield is diabolical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

McTom Pereira Fred
    James Martial Rashford

That’ll be the front 6, which is why we are 5/1 at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Is there anything to be said for the manager devising a tactical plan and effectively implementing it? Win the game that way?

Ah, who am I kidding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

It sounds like they are lining up to give Ole another year.

Relegation is the only thing that’ll save us now

Think about it.

Ole is cheap and is probably willing to do whatever they want in terms of running the squad. A manager who won’t challange them and whose strategy (if it is indeed his strategy) will lead to a much lower wage structure and generally buying younger players whose value will be retained or go up. They can throw in the odd maguire signing to hit the headlines and counter their overall money ball type strategy.

Because the club is so rich, the funds they spend sound astronomical. But relativeto the funds available to most clubs we don’t spend a lot and our wage structure is only higher then spurs in relation to revenue.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/football/2019/may/22/premier-league-finances-club-guide-2017-18-accounts-manchester-united-city

This basically means that whole the headline “United biggest wage bill” sounds impressive , the club is actually investing the least in the league proportionate to what it can afford.

Now spending is probably not the biggest problem, it’s how we spend it, so I’m not suggesting we keep paying more. I’m just pointing out that the club can afford a lot more then it’s spending so people don’t try to make out our owners push the boat out because headline figures sound good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

Is there anything to be said for the manager devising a tactical plan and effectively implementing it? Win the game that way?

Ah, who am I kidding.

Hey man, who do you think we are?

A coherently functioning football team or something?????

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    I'd nearly start playing a 5221/3421 Formation, might be worth a shot

De Gea

Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Maguire, Tuanzebe, Young

McTominay, Fred,

James, Rashford,

Martial

Lets us use Tuanzebe while the midfield is diabolical

I’d try a 9-0-1 formation with Fellaini up front. Just keep clearing it out of defence to him. I suppose we don’t have Fellani so maybe just a straight forward 10-0-0 formation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭kerplun k

It sounds like they are lining up to give Ole another year.

Relegation is the only thing that’ll save us now

What a stupid statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭limnam

kerplun k wrote: »
    What a stupid statement

Nothing stupid about it at all...

considering we're going into week 9 a point off bottom 3....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Lord TSC wrote: »
    I've long since passed the point where I think this group can step up for a big game.

I think we're going to get slaughtered today. 4 or 5 tbh. We got our asses kicked last year in this fixture, and we're signifcantly weaker now than we were then.

In the 0-0?

Ye were probably the better team that day, especially with the injuries.

God the more you think about it the more it makes sense.

Make Ole manager, popular with fans , easy to control and cheap as chips. Also means his mate pundits (former united players) will most likely be less critical. Gary Neville shifts his attention to Woodward in maybe an unexpected turn of events (surely they wouldn’t turn on the man who put Ole in charge?!) and he reaches out to get Neville onside. Neville has a massive influence on united sentiments and up until Ole was generally a good person to critically analyse the club.

Woodward is pr everywhere it seems now, he must be feeling the pressure himself hopefully, he has really ****ed us footballing wise

• Registered Users Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

Regards how we score....

I think we should employ the beach ball tactic that worked wonders for Sunderland, the 10 year anniversary was the other day I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Drumpot wrote: »
    God the more you think about it the more it makes sense.

Make Ole manager, popular with fans , easy to control and cheap as chips. Also means his mate pundits (former united players) will most likely be less critical. Gary Neville shifts his attention to Woodward in maybe an unexpected turn of events (surely they wouldn’t turn on the man who put Ole in charge?!) and he reaches out to get Neville onside. Neville has a massive influence on united sentiments and up until Ole was generally a good person to critically analyse the club.

He's made a misstep if he thought that,listen to any of the lads who go to every game and have their lives revolve around the club and they know full well that the words from him are bull.
    They are behind Ole because they see him as a guy given a poison chalice in a job he'd probably dreamt of having which has turned into a nightmare.
    The problem with sacking Ole is that the guy who has presided over the sale of the club and it's on field decline stays holding the reigns of power, another manager will come in and the cycle will continue.
    Woodward is too arrogant to look in the mirror and see he's the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

It's really dumb of any CEO to say that the manager is safe. Woodward is implying that the results won't affect Ole's future & that's bad for any club.

Just the brace from big rom today.

That's all :pac:

• limnam wrote: »
    Just the brace from big rom today.

That's all :pac:

It's sickening tbh, but not unexpected

Not good enough for United but a step up on what we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Thepoet85 wrote: »
    Predictions today lads?

Think we'll be beat 2-0. Of course I hope I'm wrong, but cant see where the goals will come from.

I think 1-1 I'm optimistic :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

It's sickening tbh, but not unexpected

That he can score against a team in the lower half of the table with the worst defensive record in serie a? Superstar

• That he can score against a team in the lower half of the table

Exactly, unlike Rashford

Just chopped it up a bit to make more relevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Not good enough for United but a step up on what we have.

Is that not contradictory?

That he can score against a team in the lower half of the table with the worst defensive record in serie a? Superstar

We could do with someone who could score against anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭This is it

No. It just means that what they have now is not good enough either.

This is it wrote: »
    No. It just means that what they have now is not good enough either.

That's a fair point. But is the metric for measuring someone good enough for the team not if they're better than what is currently there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Deffo good enough for this United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

McTom Pereira Fred
    James Martial Rashford

That’ll be the front 6, which is why we are 5/1 at home

Where's this 5/1?

That was the point.

Shocking that the club knew he planned to leave and put a their chips on Rashford.

• Where's this 5/1?

Betfair last time I checked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

A nil all draw and the united squad will start to believe. 7 years from now when united have 5 more premier league titles the documentaries will all go to this game here and tell how ole was 90 minutes from the axe, how at the time we were all living a historic moment but the only person who noticed was BDI on boards who some people seem to think was somebody else but computer historians found out that actually he wasn’t.

Can’t wait to see the team sheet and get depressed again.

limnam wrote: »
    We could do with someone who could score against anyone.

Cresswell has scored the same amount of goals as United since August.
    So has Aaron Connolly.

That was the point.

Shocking that the club knew he planned to leave and put a their chips on Rashford.

Ah sorry misunderstood original point my bad!

Also United are best price 15/4. 4.7 on the exchange. Would need to be 6.0 for 5/1 no?

Betfair last time I checked

You had my hopes up there. Not a bit to be got now. 5/1 is value if you can get it, we should be no bigger than 3's.
    Our biggest issue is lack of ability to control a game and use the ball to find space and create chances, we won't have to worry about any of that today, it'll be a case of keep compact and break at pace and they will leave space.

Ah sorry misunderstood original point my bad!

Also United are best price 15/4. 4.7 on the exchange. Would need to be 6.0 for 5/1 no?

Yeah 6.0 would be basically 5/1.

Whilst on the discussion of bets, what's United back line likely be?

Young is 2.62 to be booked which I like and Wan B is 3.75

Flicked on LFCTV to see what was going on.

Bit like boards. Ole's presser was on. :pac:

limnam wrote: »
    Flicked on LFCTV to see what was going on.

Bit like boards. Ole's presser was on. :pac:

Obsessed. :)

Whilst on the discussion of bets, what's United back line likely be?

Young is 2.62 to be booked which I like and Wan B is 3.75

I'd expect both to be playing. I'd usually have young down as a great bet to get booked but if we play as deep as I suspect he mightn't have as much need to drag at anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

I'd expect both to be playing. I'd usually have young down as a great bet to get booked but if we play as deep as I suspect he mightn't have as much need to drag at anyone.

It’s likely tuanzebe could play on the left.

https://podcasts.apple.com/ie/podcast/whats-going-on-at-manchester-united/id1227699368?i=1000453538934

really good listen, it ushers a lot of my sentiments about United’s issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,303 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭xtal191

No Salah, De Gea starting

• Gary with his bolox interview is on Sky again

It's cringe

Again, I repeat. Fans aren't worried about the performances apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭xtal191

Team
    De Gea, Wan-Bissaka, Young, Maguire, Lindelof, Tuanzebe, McTominay, Fred, Pereira, James, Rashford.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

541 formation

Rashford lone st

James lm and Pereira rm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,667 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

First game to try a back 3 this season is a risky move.

• Jose with the juicy reality

Ha, asking Jose “what do you think about Ole being given time to rebuild” (or something like that) and Jose saying it’s a nice position to be in as man united manager and afforded the role be being judged on what you want to do not on what’s actually happening ! Jose also saying “nice PR from Woodward” .....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Fair play to whoever called 5 at the back

Attack attack attack

Fair play to whoever called 5 at the back

Attack attack attack

:pac::pac::pac:

no salah...do do do do dooooo oooo no salah.....