Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Teamtalk/Transfer Rumours/Gossip 2019/20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Liam O wrote: »
    Surely going into someone with a lifted elbow/forearm is a foul? I don't see how that can be judged shoulder to shoulder?

Exactly...how did they not check it on VAR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

thelad95 wrote: »
    Players don't look like they care anymore to be honest.

There doesn’t seem to be much passion running through them.... then again, they must look at this joker Jones again and just go.... ‘awhhh man seriously ?’

Our front three are posing no threat but again we’ve nobody to give them the ammo, they could be dropping a little deeper the wide players and LOOK for a pass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,369 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Weepsie wrote: »
    That's not a foul on Jones. A defender shouldn't be shouldered, and that's what it was, off the ball that easily.

Disgraceful performance from all. Maguire has no right to be giving out to anyone as he's been dire too.

You're not allowed to take the player out without making a play for the ball. That's what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Not United fan but how that wasnt a free is ridiculous. That said Jones had a chance to boot the ball into the stand.

Sheff united bossing the game like they did against spurs

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Players look like they are just waiting for the change in manager again mid season, play well then and once the new manager effect wears off down tools again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭BenK

KH25 wrote: »
    There’s been zero improvement since the start of the season. Ole doesn’t seem to have a clue tactically and half of the players don’t seem interested.

Other than that though things haven't been that bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

This is the first time I've ever come close to turning off a United game. Phil Jones is an absolute embarrassment. It's all so predictable from the line up. Jones at the back is a guaranteed clanger - the only surprise is he has only cost us one goal. Periera and Fred are going to offer the square root of f*ck all in midfield.

I don't care how unfit Tuanzebe is, he could be on crutches and he would still be better than that f*cking clown. A disgrace that he is still at the club.

Liam O wrote: »
    Surely going into someone with a lifted elbow/forearm is a foul? I don't see how that can be judged shoulder to shoulder?

Seeing the replay I think it’s just a foul... yes should have been a free out..but
    Phil fûcking Jones dawdling on it when it just should have been leathered into the stand is the root cause of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

BDI wrote: »
    You what?

Jones was on one foot kicking the ball when “shouldered” from behind. Shouldn’t have really put himself in that position though but I found it a foul all the same. He didn’t help himself by diving between the ball and the man twice before that and raising his hands in the air like he was fouled.
    I agree the contact came in when he was on one foot but it did look like shoulder to shoulder. Don't think he was too "light" in the challenge but he probably should be doing something to ensure he isn't in that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

It’s nothing to do with passion and other intangible things. They simply don’t know how to play the system and as a consequence look lost. The reason so many of our players are getting caught in possession is because the rest of the team aren’t sure how they’re meant to be moving in relation to it.

Why the **** Ole didn’t change it to a 4 after 20 minutes is beyond me. Wanting to mirror the oppositions formation is only a fine idea if you actually teach your players how to play it too otherwise this is what you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭Acosta

With a team so bereft of ability and leadership up against this Sheffield United team and the way they play, none of this unexpected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Guarantee we will still be set up the same way in 2nd half, Lingard will be rolled on for Periera then Greenwood thrown into the mess for last 10mins to try salvage something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Jones was awful for the goal but I thought it was a foul too. It wasn’t shoulder to shoulder, he just shoved him off the ball.

Anyway totally deserved by Sheffield Utd and they will be disappointed to be not further ahead.

Utd to a man, bar De Gea, look disinterested. Ole sitting there not making any changes at all. Like never mind personnel, he’s not even changed the shape. It’s been disgraceful all around but that’s the norm these days.

It’s galling to think that Poch is available and we are having to endure this led by a lad with no pedigree at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Phil Jones off and hopefully it's the last time I ever see hime any where near the 1st team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Poor players

Poor manager

When will people accept this

Pre game people were saying Rashford had X amount of goals in his last 10 games, goals against the mighty Kosovo no doubt included

They’re shít, the manager is shít, Ed Woodward is shít

Surely he’s gone after today though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Guarantee we will still be set up the same way in 2nd half, Lingard will be rolled on for Periera then Greenwood thrown into the mess for last 10mins to try salvage something

wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,303 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Poor players

Poor manager

When will people accept this

Pre game people were saying Rashford had X amount of goals in his last 10 games, goals against the mighty Kosovo no doubt included

They’re shít, the manager is shít, Ed Woodward is shít

Surely he’s gone after today though

Everything about the club is poison.

Majorly surprised if Ole is gone and Poch replacement.

Woodward is spineless. United are shyte and will continue to be shyte as long as Ole is in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Tippex

Ok he made a change but lingard for jones.
    I have 0 time for lingard.

S.M.B. wrote: »
    I agree the contact came in when he was on one foot but it did look like shoulder to shoulder. Don't think he was too "light" in the challenge but he probably should be doing something to ensure he isn't in that situation.

Yes, it was the hesitation in a dangerous area that invited the challenge. He is facing his own goal, attacker bearing down, do you play safe and dispatch it into touch or try and shepherd it out knowing you WILL be challenged..

Jones is finished he won’t be at United next year. Get Smalling back and sign another reliable Center half.

4 on 3 and we only end up with a corner jeeez,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,461 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Strumms wrote: »
    Seeing the replay I think it’s just a foul... yes should have been a free out..but
    Phil fûcking Jones dawdling on it when it just should have been leathered into the stand is the root cause of this.

Its a clear foul.
    That doesn't excuse the standard of our defending - which has been really poor.

But with VAR there are no excuses for not spotting this. Ridiculous inconsistency in the officiating every week.

Only in the Premier league could they introduce video technology......and actually worsen the standard of refereeing.

Why didn't we start with this team and setup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Dozyart wrote: »
    wrong

Who cares it will still be same predictable mess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Happy with that substitution, if it works out I will credit Ole for it.

Because Ole is out of his depth.

Well he did change it at half time so he must be at least somewhat wading.

• Hopefully Fergie flattens him with a box in the jaw

Feel a bit sorry for Williams. They’re targeting him and know they have the beating of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Spideog Rua

Great goal...fcks sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,258 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

because the coach is clueless

Please god let that be the final nail in Ole's tenure at utd

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Well done Andreas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Ole needed that poch sacking like a hole in the head right now.

You can just feel the pressure on him intensifying and it it not gonna get any less until either poch gets a new job or utd start competing at the top table again

There are no words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,156 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Moussssssseeeeeeettttttttt

We are beyond parody. Just inept.

Pereira lost the ball. A nothing player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Pereira

Crap from DeGea and Fred looking like he couldn’t be arsed making a tackle...

Pereira a ****ing donkey again losing the ball how many times is that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,041 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

This could be 4 or 5

• Registered Users Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭KH25

This is a disgrace. Making Sheffield look like Barcelona.

Ole needs to go.

Well that’s that then. Something has to happen at the club. Get hammered next Saturday by City and Ole is cooked.

Unfortunately the one difference between ourselves and Spurs’ situation though is they still have the players, we don’t......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

How long til Pottch is in charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,113 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Poch needs to be installed before the end of the week.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

Not even mad.

Figured we would lose.

The experiment has failed miserably.

Time to move for Poch before he gets a better offer.

Tippex wrote: »
    Pereira a ****ing donkey again losing the ball how many times is that

But yet gets a contract extension, says alot about rewarding mediocrity....

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Pereira rubbish. Feed rubbish. Maguire getting dragged way out of position.

Playing a back 5 against a newly promoted team is a sure sign of how fecked things have gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Headshot wrote: »
    Please god let that be the final nail in Ole's tenure at utd

“Injuries”

Narrative to be spun post match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,156 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Even if we sack Ole unless we give Pochettino €750,000 a week why in the ever loving christ would Pochettino come here to destroy his reputation and end his career?

He will get far better job offers than us. He has no need to come here unless its like Alexis and he just wants to top up his pension.

Wheres this guarantee he wants to come to a dumpster fire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,113 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Headshot wrote: »
    But yet gets a contract extension, says alot about rewarding mediocrity....

Has been happening since 2013!!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸