Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A new Irish Capital

• Registered Users Posts: 12,493 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Hmmm, for giggles and rudeness we could just pick

Cum in Co. Mayo

Lower Balix near Stranagalwilly in Wexford

Muff in Donegal

All Eyes On Rafah

• Registered Users Posts: 23,541 ✭✭✭✭ted1

No issues with it being in a minor city

America (US)
    Canada
    Australia
    Spain.
    And many others have it in smaller cities.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Itd be interesting to see a new capital of a united country. I suppose geographically Athlone would be the best option

Theres no need to try and increase the size to anywhere near the size of Cork, Dublin or Belfast but if its the capital it should at least be as big as waterford city. Plenty of american state capitals are not the biggest cities in the state or anywhere close. Newry I suppose would be the other option. I dont see the problem with changing the capital though, Dublin will forever and always remain the cultural and financial capital by virtue of its sheer size so no harm in removing the administrative capital element to take a bit of the pressure off its limited infrastructure

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Zaph wrote: »
    It's a completely pointless question, because there simply isn't anywhere on the island other than Dublin that's in a position to be the capital. The main functions of any civil service will always be where the seat of government is, and tbh there isn't a single other city or town in the country that could accommodate all those politicians and civil servants. Similarly where are you going to find space for all the foreign embassies? You'd also have to start establishing proper transport links, but are airlines going to want to start routes in and out of Shannon or Knock when the biggest airport and all the infrastructure is in Dublin. I'm afraid, whether they like it or not, if there was a UI those in the north would really have no option but to accept Dublin as the capital or else vote against it happening.

Sounds like Dublin only thinking. Civil service inc. Dail Depts probably 20,000 people could be accommodated in a few places with some planning. I agree transport and new buildings would need to be added. A for space there is plenty of it outside the pale. Dublin of course would continue to be the biggest city.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Leave the congestion and organised chao's to Dublin let it stay the capital.

Our other towns and cities are doing just fine...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

nthclare wrote: »
    Leave the congestion and organised chao's to Dublin let it stay the capital.

Our other towns and cities are doing just fine...

'I'm not sure if they are tbh. It would take some of that congestion out of Dublin to its benefit and wouldn't cause too much if handled properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

saabsaab wrote: »
    fritzelly wrote: »
    Is there something wrong with Dublin?

As a Capital city for a UI I feel that both sides in Belfast won't like to take 'orders' from Dublin and vice versa.

Fundalk/Newry metropolis it is so. Keep all sides happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Would there be enough seats in Leinster House for all the extra TDs? Genuine question. I know the sinn Fein lads have been waiting for years to go to work, it would be a shame if we had to say "sorry lads, ye may keep working remotely"

Not a single vote for Tara?
    Tara. Back to Tuatha Dé Danann with us all. A redo :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Inquitus wrote: »
    Realistically, we would be looking at:

#1) New Flag
    #2) New National Anthem
    #3) New Dail setup, maybe keep devolution, who knows
    #3) Perhaps a more neutral Capital

As part of a re-unification, at least the Germans both had Berlin as their Capital!

Why would there be a new flag and anthem? In the unified republic, changing the flag and anthem via the necessary referendum wouldn't succeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

So as not to upset anyone, just stick one of those 'fancy brand new carbon-neutral green cities' - bang in the Island's dead centre (Carnagh East, Rosscommon).
    Couple of days with a dozen JCBs, then a cement drop from a low flying Antonov An-225 Mriya to start from fresh.

It'll be all like: bike lanes, fountains, solar roads, monorail and hyperlooping in from all the big old towns.
    Housing would consist of brexitland's special discount unused shipping containers, and (cyclist eating) Volvo XC90's sprayed up with insulation foam.
    Greta whatserfaceberg can swim over and do the grand opening with some freshly recycled bottle champagne.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

We should blindfold Micheal D and get him to play "pin the tail on the donkey" with a map of Ireland, where ever he sticks it, that's the new capital.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,313 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

ted1 wrote: »
    No issues with it being in a minor city

America (US)
    Canada
    Australia
    Spain.
    And many others have it in smaller cities.

Madrid is a minor city? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,489 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Didn’t seem it to me the time I spent there, Washington DC too :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Bastardstown.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

saabsaab wrote: »
    At 51% it won't be millions against reunification about 900,000 at last census. Anyway that figure will drop in time.

Would it be possible to trick Arlene Foster into holding an Irish flag and getting the photograph?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

Killaloe, Co. Clare

The original capital..

Fair enough I would have thought Barcelona was bigger. Rare to have an inland city being bigger

Strumms wrote: »
    Didn’t seem it to me the time I spent there, Washington DC too :rolleyes:

It’s only the 20th largest city

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_United_States_cities_by_population

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

Snotty wrote: »
    We should blindfold Micheal D and get him to play "pin the tail on the donkey" with a map of Ireland, where ever he sticks it, that's the new capital.

Or just blindfold him and shove him off a cliff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Ballyconnell, Co. Cavan. Near the border, and they are very welcoming to new people.

But wait.... What border?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

swarlb wrote: »
    It's called being sarcastic.... Sorting Climate change would be infinitely easier, and probably less life threatening than trying to unify Ireland.
    You must be very young...

It's brilliant stuff. So sarcastic no one even noticed.

Ah life threatening, i've lived through most of the troubles, the Unionists have always been loyal to the half crown. We were unified up to the Government of Ireland Act 1920, 100 years ago. NI is a very minor problem and could be dealt with very quickly if GB withdrew it's support of Unionism. Climate Change on the other hand. Trying to coordinate a response to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Theres more to it than just population though, LA has way bigger population than DC obviously but most of the difference comes down it having thousands of squares miles more of suburban sprawl, DC has a large urban core probably larger than LA's. DC feels like a much more important city when youre there, its also so close to Pilly, Baltimore, Boston and NYC and they form the north east megalopolis

Naggdefy wrote: »
    Let's get climate change sorted. I love the way you post that as if it's just something on a list to tick off. 3 and a half years on and Brexit isn't near sorted, and Climate change is an infinitely bigger more complex problem.

I love how you didn't get the clear and obvious joke.
    It's brilliant stuff. So sarcastic no one even noticed.

Everyone noticed. Just not you.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

There's 6 million people in it's metro area though. Fairly huge.

Unlike, say, Athlone :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭timmyntc

There's 6 million people in it's metro area though. Fairly huge.

Unlike, say, Athlone :D

There's also 320 million people in the USA though. Fairly huge.

Unlike, say, Ireland :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,245 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Dundalk and Newry. Two capitals. Oone for everybody in the audience. The EU would never think of something like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Cali_girl wrote: »
    Not a single vote for Tara?
    Tara. Back to Tuatha Dé Danann with us all. A redo :)

Can't beat the Tara Special, 2 scones with all the trimmings and a coffee for a fiver, gets my vote!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

#1) New Flag
    #2) New National Anthem

As part of a re-unification, at least the Germans both had Berlin as their Capital!

Why do we need a new flag?

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

#1) New Flag
    #2) New National Anthem

Agree but there's a deal of 'sacred cows' to be slaughtered even in that short list. And no evidence I see that we have that sort of maturity yet. Will be a long drawn out process.

As for a capital, probably just a political capital, it'd have to be on the east coast and border country. If we were to be magnanimous, Armagh might suit not least for historical reasons.