Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Georgia vs Ireland, Euro 2020 qualifier, RTE2 & Sky Sports Football, 2pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

noodler wrote: »
    A 0-0 yeah but a score draw and it gets messy.

1-1 i think would be enough for them, they'd have us on goal diff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Duff wrote: »
    We'd disgrace the Euros with that brand of football anyway, lads. Probably better off.

The green army would lead tales of pissed up antics and craic

The euros need that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Mick's plan - let's have to beat Denmark instead of Georgia.

Disgraceful performance all round.

Stephen Kenny should have got the job mick was a step backwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

fullstop wrote: »
    People were creaming themselves over a decent performance against Gibraltar saying mick had us playing great stuff. It’s been the exact same hoof ball as under MON.

we were rubbish in the two games v Gibraltar.

Duff wrote: »
    RoryMac wrote: »
    Not since his injury he doesn't

Obviously he isn't the player he was but he still puts in a solid shift.

Absolutely nonsense reasoning.

That's where we are 'a solid shift'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The green army would lead tales of pissed up antics and craic

The euros need that
    We need to be there as we are such legends, singing to babies and the like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

statesaver wrote: »
    What channel is that game on ?

Sky are showing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Zico !

mindset needs to change micks a hoof merchant along with o neill trapp charlton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

I open myself to correction.... couldn't we still get a Nations League berth if the big teams qualify and it cascades down to us?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

gmisk wrote: »
    It was a great opportunity.
    What do you think our chances are in the two remaining games?

We'll see after this game that comes up at 5pm.

Mick fooked that in Georgia today though, way too slow to make the necessary substitution changes. If we fail because of today it's entirely his fault.

collins would have scored it.

only joking

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    I open myself to correction.... couldn't we still get a Nations League berth if the big teams qualify and it cascades down to us?

yes, will probably make a play off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Absolutely nonsense reasoning.

That's where we are 'a solid shift'.

Are you new? That's where we've been for the last decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Zico ! wrote: »
    mindset needs to change micks a hoof merchant along with o neill trapp charlton

At least Charlton had a game plan

one thing i wont miss at the euros when we are not there is the green army -well 50 percent of them
    unreal craic not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

yes, will probably make a play off

But the playoffs are not the one-off home/away fixtures are they?

It's more convoluted now.

At least Charlton had a game plan

yip he was some lad for the hoofing top lad plus he had world class players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭votecounts

statesaver wrote: »
    What channel is that game on ?
    virgin media 1

One legged semi final and final

People talking about the playoffs. We had a huge chance today.

It's better just to qualify automatically.

So disappointed to see such an abject, disjointed and ragged performance.

one thing i wont miss at the euros when we are not there is the green army -well 50 percent of them
    unreal craic not

Best fans in the world, they wouldnt go to a LOI game if you paid them.

lads in the studio good analysis showing mick up

Looking at the permutations here, as i fully expect to lose on Tuesday wouldnt the best outcome for us be a Switzerland win this evening? At least then its a simple win or bust (or 0-0) v Denmark to qualify

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

At least the U21s will be used to playing for Kenny & his style for when they make the step up to the senior squad.
    They won't have the bad habits or low confidence caused by the last few managers.

I hope.

One legged semi final and final

Best to avoid that nonsense and just get it done.

No excuse today in my opinion. Mick can say what he likes, that was abject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

sugarman wrote: »
    Conviently leaving out Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Turkey...

They've a lot more players who play in Europe competitions than us.
    I looked at first 11...i added belgium...i missed kazakstan...I didn't see any players in Spain Netherlands and turkey...did you?

Sh1t interview from McCarthy. Poor Poor stuff from him today.

Watching the Rangers V Liverpool Legends game here. I'd fancy either of these two to have beaten either Georgia or Ireland today.

Best to avoid that nonsense and just get it done.

No excuse today in my opinion. Mick can say what he likes, that was abject.

Im not making any excuses, im just answering a lads query, relax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Mick was an experienced International manager and one who has managed for a prolonged period in a professional league...Stephen Kenny ?....

A guy who has managed in by and large amateur league, minimal knowledge and relationships with the squad, no experience of the level they ply their trade at, minimal knowledge or relationships with the management of the players clubs... zero levels of success apart from amateur football....

Not enough relevant experience... I’ll be wishing him well, cheering on him and the boys on but it’s a questionable appointment... but let’s see how it goes..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

TheCitizen wrote: »

Happy to have 12 points in 6 games, in that time we have already played Gibraltar & Georgia twice. I'd have expected 12 tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

One legged semi final and one legged final.

Due to our seeding we will be certain to play the semi final away. If we somehow come through that there will be a draw to determine who plays at home in the final.

As things stand, we could be looking at playing Wales away from home.

For now, if we beat Denmark at home we qualify, no matter what else happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Jesus I thought it was fine.

Not the bitter, hostile rantings of his predecessor at least.

Mokuba wrote: »
    One legged semi final and one legged final.

Due to our seeding we will be certain to play the semi final away. If we somehow come through that there will be a draw to determine who plays at home in the final.

As things stand, we could be looking at playing Wales away from home.

Thought we'd have an away semi and an away final due to our seeding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

Thought we'd have an away semi and an away final due to our seeding?

As far as I know they draw for home and away advantage in the final.

So disappointed to see such an abject, disjointed and ragged performance.

It was that and some, we look like a team with ZERO ability or know how as in regarding how to actually achieve putting the football into the opposition net.... chance at the end aside, the glaring miss we are clueless....

Can't rule out a miracle I suppose.

I think qualification ended tonight in reality but we'll see.

Was even worse, it actually looks like he's happy with that kind of result and performance.

His predecessor looked pissed off after similar results and performances. Mick should be angry with the missed opportunity, sure keep that indoors, but don't look smug after that fook up by himself today.

Tbh you'd probably be hostile at times with TOD trying to provoke a reaction from you. Maybe himself and MON didn't like each other, maybe TOD doesn't really want to push Mick with some questions because he's gone soon enough.

As far as I know they draw for home and away advantage in the final.

yep, thats it

:pac:I think Mick disagrees. Hopefully he'll get the bit of luck he needs and will be right in the end. He fooked it today. No two ways about it.

Was even worse, it actually looks like he's happy with that kind of result and performance.

His predecessor looked pissed off after similar results and performances. Mick should be angry with the missed opportunity, sure keep that indoors, but don't look smug after that fook up by himself today.

Ah you are an outright liar.

MON was absolutely bulling at the suggestion the point from a much worse performance in Tblisi last campaign wasn't a good point.

Edit : of course you know this but you're such a MON defender you are posting a post a minute about how today is "Mick's fault" or how his interviews are bad. Fairly transparent.

More you look at this team we had out, the more you realize that creativity and scoring would ALWAYS be an issue,

MON was absolutely bulling at the suggestion the point from a much worse performance in Tblisi last campaign wasn't a good point.

No you're the outright liar. Either that or you've got it totally wrong ..... again pal

Edit : of course you know this but you're such a MON defender you are posting a post a minute about how today is "Mick's fault" or how his interviews are bad. Fairly transparent.

:pac: If you're going to edit something noodles at least get your spelling correct eh

Been waiting in the wings for a chance to attack Mick, eh?

Pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Kenjataimu wrote: »
    At least the U21s will be used to playing for Kenny & his style for when they make the step up to the senior squad.
    They won't have the bad habits or low confidence caused by the last few managers.

I hope.

Kenny U21 manager for his benefit. Primarily so he wasn't thrown in at the deep end trying to get to a Euros with games in Dublin.

Id say if Kenny brings 3 or 4 of the players he's working with now into squads for the World Cup qualifying, it'll be the height of it.

Players looking promising now will invariably drift off into lower league football.

Been waiting in the wings for a chance to attack Mick, eh?

Pathetic

Your retort is pathetic.

No not all noodles. I'm hoping Mick gets us there.

That performance and result in Tbilisi today was it different than when MON was in charge in his most recent game there as Ireland manager?

It wasn't.

The criticism on here and on the RTE panel was different though. Maybe the old panel had more affect on here than some thought one wonders? Or maybe the anti Keane thing on here holds sway? It's hard to tell.

It's all bollocks anyway noodles. MON's last result and performance v Georgia was poor and Mick's today was no better.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

No not all noodles. I'm hoping Mick gets us there.

That performance and result in Tbilisi today was it different than when MON was in charge in his most recent game there as Ireland manager?

It wasn't.

The criticism on here and on the RTE panel was different though. Maybe the old panel had more affect on here than some thought one wonders? Or maybe the anti Keane thing on here holds sway? It's hard to tell.

It's all bollocks anyway noodles. MON's last result and performance v Georgia was poor and Mick's today was no better.

I think people respect where Mick took us from, we were rock bottom by the end of MON.

Mick has us top of the group two games to go with at worst needing one home win to qualify. Mick was not given time to build a team or system he was given a set of games to qualify, he’s keeping up his part of the deal so far.

O’Neill had years to build a team and system