Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Japanese for leaving cert

Options
  • 13-10-2019 11:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 3 AA Batteries

Hello. I am a Junior cert student who would be interested in doing Japanese for Leaving Cert. If anyone who's reading this has done the Japanese Leaving, or just knows about it, I have a few questions;
    1) How do I get my Principle to agree to let me do it? My school does not offer Japanese for
    leaving cert. I would love to drop Irish and pursue Japanese but, given how determined
    the government is to bring back the Irish language, that may not be possible. Also bear in
    mind I have not discussed Japanese with the principal or my parents.
    2) How much do I need to learn? I have already learnt all hiragana and a bit of Katakana,
    but how much Kanji?
    3) What books should I get? I have heard good things about the Genki books and James
    Heisig's remembering kanji but they both carry one hell of a price tag.
    4) Is there anything else I should be thinking about? Or do you have any other tips?
    ありがとうございました!

Comments

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,188 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Nothing to do with your Principal.
    You will study it outside school. You just need to tell your Exam Secretary when he/she comes round in 6th year collecting the fees and checking subjects.

Check education.ie for the syllabus and examinations.ie for past papers.

Ideally, search this forum for people who sat it before and ask them how they found it, what books they used etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Tristan_