Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tusk's Walrus - Le Reveal

• Registered Users Posts: 20,362 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Necrina wrote: »
    Ssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhh

Main reason my wife doesnt have a boards.ie account yet.......

...... that I know of.... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,362 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

@Tusk

Couple of great Super8 and tab songs for ya

- Beautiful melody

- Bit more energy, more concentrated build up. Another great melody

I wont link my other favourite Super8 and Tab song though as I want to keep it for a future walrus. But its a belter! Actually, I probably could have submitted for your belter, but I didnt :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

Trigger wrote: »
    Can't believe you still use an ipod jaysus

Great song though, gonna listen to the full playlist over the weekend

My ipod is still going strong after more than 12 years, battery ain't what it used to be but I'll be gutted when it gives up the ghost.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,476 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

My ipod is still going strong after more than 12 years, battery ain't what it used to be but I'll be gutted when it gives up the ghost.

Still have the original 80GB brick wheel ipod. Works grand.

All Eyes On Rafah

• Registered Users Posts: 17,541 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

giphy.gif

Tusk round 2 starts tomoro wooo hooo

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭tusk

23 songs left to review twice and 4 left to review once. I'll try get through a few tomorrow. Reveal perhaps on Sunday.

IF you're all good

• Registered Users Posts: 11,007 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

I read that and was excited, then checked which round it was...!

My issue with the changeling is that I had good reason to hate my song initially, it's crap! It's just circumstances around it that have led me to now enjoy it. As you're judging it cold it could come very low... it's certainly worse than The National!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

I'm still not at all sure about my Changeling. It was definitely the hardest category for me. In some ways at least, OTOH, the other categories had such a wealth of options that it was hard to narrow down, so they were difficult in their own way too.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭adox

The changeling is the least inspiring of the categories.

The one where you kind of hope you are marked low so you can say " I knew that song was shit all along" :D

Changeling first listens are done. Should hopefully get through second listens tomorrow and Sunday with reveal soonafter

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

So reveal tonight is what you're saying.

whoop cant wait for this to start tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Love Friday night walrus :D

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

We’re definitely getting this tonite right?

Green&Red wrote: »
    We’re definitely getting this tonite right?

Knowing tusk it's probably Sunday....

After Christmas :pac:

You know what's infinitely better than Sunday reveal?

Bank holiday Monday reveal!

You're welcome

Necro wrote: »
    Knowing tusk it's probably Sunday....

After Christmas :pac:

Hey! I ain't no skunk

FG Beers, it would have been unnecessary madness to have this tonight. BH Monday reveal is perfect.

Final Scores for Round 2 are compiled. So let's kick this off!

QuerulousActiveClam-small.gif

Wooo hoo now I can finally complain that my song is not the same without the video

Dam you tusk and you making this all about the music

What is this the voice

Also starting whhhhhhhhhhhhhoooooooooooop

A reminder of Round 2:

2. The Changeling
    Ever have a song you just know you hate. You don't know why, but you do? Then somehow for no apparent reason you start humming it when it comes on. All of a sudden you're actively seeking it out on Spotify or YouTube? Submit a song you initially hated but then grew to like.

My Example:

I hated this song. HATED. Couldn't get my head around the 'noone knoooows, how far it gooooos. It did not compute for me and it hurt me deep.

Then I started to love it. It's a great song.

Okay, here we go.

In at the very middle we have The Wild Boys
    GNR
    with Rod Stewart - Maggie May and 13 points

Notes:

Listen 1: nice plucking intro. medeivel sounding. About to break out some greensleeves its sounds like. WTF, then the song starts and it's completely separate. what even is that intro doing there? DAFUQ. like this song actually. Well the first verse anyway. 'say to you' the climb on this part of the verse is just lovely. i like to sing it. very popular song, which means there are always detractors. intersted to hear the reasons for it being a changeling.

Listen 2: Oh yeah, the intro that doesn't actually have anything to do with the bloody song. WTF. That's gotta be illegal right? The actual intro is decent enough tbf. I love the 'Wake up maggie' bit. Good song.

Well, did she eventually find out????

Next up Klapauzius aka.
    Jurgen
    with Shake It Off by Taylor Swift and a solid 12 points...

Listen 1: Ha! this was a changeling for me too. ****in hated it. But it's actually pretty decent. fairly flat throughout tho. Don't know a lot of taylor swift, but this is a decent one.

Listen 2: Nah, not arsed listening to this again. Solid 6.5

The Syndicate
    Necro
    next with Wiley, Sean Paul, Stefflon Don - Boasty feat. Idris Elba get's himself 14 points

Listen1: Love that bong. nice. don't like the clappy bit. I like this. super beat and the vocals are actually deadly, bit of layered vocals. bbbbbbiddybaba

Listen 2:Oh that bass. I wish i had my skullcrusher headphones to listen to this. That beat is just great. The Boasty bit is the worst part. Everything else is pretty decent. Ok, now i'm getting bored of it. Bye bye

'Fairly flat' :pac:

Ooh la di da Mr. Rolling Stone reviewer :P