Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC World Darts Championship 2019/20

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Nerves from De Sousa - nearly hit T18 with his first dart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭shockframe

Heta got that whole Colin Monk open mouth thing going on.

shockframe wrote: »
    Heta got that whole Colin Monk open mouth thing going on.

He looks like Leo from the Saw Doctors.

maxresdefault.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

was great to have webster on comms in the first
    and part on comms in this.

which means we will get mardle and turner and their nauseating tripe for the sherrock match........will end up looking for a dutch stream to watch on it

Bob Harris wrote: »
    He looks like Leo from the Saw Doctors.

maxresdefault.jpg

was great to have webster on comms in the first
    and part on comms in this.

which means we will get mardle and turner and their nauseating tripe for the sherrock match........will end up looking for a dutch stream to watch on it

Maybe you'll find a dutch boards to post on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭bassy

ouch...……………………………………..

might post more often instead, since I am upsetting you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭munster87

De Sousa is terrible so far

munster87 wrote: »
    De Sousa is terrible so far

nowhere the player he was earlier this year when he was chucking some great stuff on his way to 2 floor champs

Heta has played well enough in Australia this year. Durrant should beat him you’d expect in next round handy enough though if he goes through.

munster87 wrote: »
    Heta has played well enough in Australia this year. Durrant should beat him you’d expect in next round handy enough though if he goes through.

yep, neither of them would trouble durrant on this form

• Registered Users Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭MileHighGuy

So which do people think is the correct way to support/expose womens darts? BDO style with their own concurrent world championship, or to let them try to qualify for the main tournament as the PDC are doing?

I think I prefer the BDO approach myself, and happily watch the matches interspersed between the mens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,384 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

More booing of the male player like there was on Sunday night. I don’t get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Sherrock is no slouch. She's regularly avg in the 90s over the short BDO format so she has a chance

Sounds like there will be booing for Evetts

Fair play to fallon Sherrock though as whether she says it or not she must be nervous.

Yeah, I really hope the crowd don't start with the booing, support your player by all means.

I will be amazed if they don't boo though.

I hope that fallon doesn’t get embarrassed and give a good account of herself.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Fair play to fallon Sherrock though as whether she says it or not she must be nervous.

You can see it on her face, she looks really nervous.

Even the way sky are promoting them is slightly unfair imo. They're not asking for that treatment and i imagine it raises the pressure a bit.

You can see it on her face, she looks really nervous.

Even the way sky are promoting them is slightly unfair imo. They're not asking for that treatment and i imagine it raises the pressure a bit.

And sure it’s completely understandable. She wouldn’t be human If she wasn’t.

No need to be cheering a player missing a double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Is that Chris Evans lovechild?

Well set one to Ted evetts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,905 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

This booing of anyone that's playing against a woman is the height of ignorance

NDWC wrote: »

I actually undermines the moment which is a big moment.

Ally Dick wrote: »

Well I can’t not see it. Damon heta won’t be going further than the next round what I saw earlier.

NDWC wrote: »

could you imagine the uproar and backlash if it was the girl getting booed.
    comms completely ignoring the booing by the crowd.

I think its great having women in this comp, fair play to them and if they are good enough best of luck to them, but this promo after promo after promo and bias only serves to make most people want her to lose so they wont be subjected to this hype again next round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Ally Dick wrote: »

That can't be unseen now

Well the Alexandra palace roof lives to fight another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭boomdocker

Pretty good game this!

She’s playing well and improving.

Take away all the hype and all that this is a good game of darts.

I think its great having women in this comp, fair play to them and if they are good enough best of luck to them, but this promo after promo after promo and bias only serves to make most people want her to lose so they wont be subjected to this hype again next round

If they are going to have them in the same competition as the men, they need to treat them exactly the same, no over promotion, interviews if they lose, pussy-footing in the commentary. All supporters would have much more respct for that approach. It feels a bit patronising at times really.

Good quality game this so far. Feel Sherrock absolutely must win this set, I can't see her coming from 2 back like the Japanese girl the other night,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

I told yis lads.. She's no walk over..

Well if you’ve seen her play in the bdo women’s championship you’d know she wouldn’t be a walk over. Whether she’ll win is the question.

If they are going to have them in the same competition as the men, they need to treat them exactly the same, no over promotion, interviews if they lose, pussy-footing in the commentary. All supporters would have much more respct for that approach. It feels a bit patronising at times really.

Good quality game this so far. Feel Sherrock absolutely must win this set, I can't see her coming from 2 back like the Japanese girl the other night,

if women are to be in this comp they should be entering the same qualifiers as the men.

The women are only in this comp based on their sex ,if it was fair they would be in with the men in the qualifiers as well.

That said she is playing well

Not a bad way to start a set hitting a maximum.

Lads she’s in with a great shout of winning this match. She’s growing in confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

if women are to be in this comp they should be entering the same qualifiers as the men.

The women are only in this comp based on their sex ,if it was fair they would be in with the men in the qualifiers as well.

We agree on something

Great game this.

Stop ****ing booing and it’s not helping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,065 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Lads she’s in with a great shout of winning this match. She’s growing in confidence.

Tbh first I've seen of her
    Great player and has the potential to go far if she wins this match

It would be some laugh to see a female champion in this tournament. Marble and the lads would lose there ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

PTH2009 wrote: »

It would be some laugh to see a female champion in this tournament.

Steady on now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I hope she gets hockeyed now. That female commentator is driving me demented

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

She really is playing top stuff. Great game this.

Sherrock more impressive than MVG in this tournament

Well my own preference would be that they had their own tourney,, but I don't mind separate qualifiers.

The "rest of the world" players have regional qualifiers and are generally well below the standard of the rest of the field, but it is a great way of promoting the game in those countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

The crowd not even cheering Evetts 180

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Tbh first I've seen of her
    Great player and has the potential to go far if she wins this match

It would be some laugh to see a female champion in this tournament. Marble and the lads would lose there ****

Female champion ? Let’s walk before we can run.