Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asylum Seekers Getting Apartments in Ballinamore - mod warning in OP (18/10)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

alastair wrote:
    Except that most asylum seekers do remain in the system until the bitter end. So your theory is rather compromised by the facts on the ground.

So most is not all?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Gatling wrote: »
    Can you at least provide some evidence to back this claim up or are you reposting someones else claim unvarfied claim at that ??????

Enforced deportation figures:
    2018 - 163
    2017 - 140
    2016 - 458
    2015 - 251

So most is not all?

Sure; so?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

alastair wrote: »
    Enforced deportation figures:
    2018 - 163
    2017 - 140
    2016 - 458
    2015 - 251

That means what exactly.

How many were not enforced or couldn't be served

That means what exactly.

It answers the question you asked.

Absolutely not no

Except it does. You wanted evidence to back up the claim - those are the exact figures.

Can you at least provide some evidence to back this claim up or are you reposting someones else claim unvarfied claim at that ??????

I don't know how I can give you evidence but I do know people who work in the immigration unit, so they have told me.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Except that most asylum seekers do remain in the system until the bitter end. So your theory is rather compromised by the facts on the ground.

...and then don't get deported. I know someone who works in the International Protection Office. They say virtually nobody gets deported. They half hope they will leave of their own accord. They don't care actually. Too much money is being made from the taxpayers in certain legal/ngo/ and property owner circles plus many more. It also has the further advantage that they get praise from the normal suspects. EU/UN Amnesty etc.

They also say that maybe 2% are genuine refugees.
    Good money to be made if you are in the right circles. Let the overall future be damned. Party today.

bubblypop wrote: »
    I don't know how I can give you evidence but I do know people who work in the immigration unit, so they have told me.

The figures are in the public domain - if he was actually interested, he could check for himself.

quintana76 wrote: »
    ...and then don't get deported. I know someone who works in the International Protection Office.

Of course you do. You left Soros out of your bogeyman list btw.

I so they have told me.

Another poster quoted his daddy as saying so .....

So what your saying you cannot back up the claim you and the one claimed .

Saying your friend told is utter bs

Too easy -

Less than one-fifth of people who have received deportation orders so far this year have been removed from the State, according to statistics published by the Department of Justice.

While 736 deportation orders have been made so far in 2018, only 133 people had been removed from the country by October. In 2017, 140 of the 932 people who received deportation orders were removed from the State. In 2016, just over a third of the 1,196 people who received orders to leave were deported.

A total of 9,197 deportation orders have been made since 2011 while only one in five of those who received these orders – 1,857 people – have been deported from Ireland.

Too easy -

Less than one-fifth of people who have received deportation orders so far this year have been removed from the State, according to statistics published by the Department of Justice.

While 736 deportation orders have been made so far in 2018, only 133 people had been removed from the country by October. In 2017, 140 of the 932 people who received deportation orders were removed from the State. In 2016, just over a third of the 1,196 people who received orders to leave were deported.

A total of 9,197 deportation orders have been made since 2011 while only one in five of those who received these orders – 1,857 people – have been deported from Ireland.

Those are the people who have been physically deported.
    Most people who receive deportation orders leave themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Of course you do. You left Soros out of your bogeyman list btw.

You can't handle the truth. You can only pathetically try to discredit to the truth teller. Prejudice over truth. Very sad and also destructive in the long term. I feel sorry for you mate, knowing better than someone who works at the coal face. Stay blind and deaf.

quintana76 wrote: »
    You can't handle the truth. You can only pathetically try to discredit to the truth teller. Prejudice over truth. Very sad and also destructive in the long term. I feel sorry for you mate, knowing better than someone who works at the coal face. Stay blind and deaf.

I’ll struggle on despite your prognosis, cheers. Best regards to your fictitious friend.

Can you please provide proof yes or no ?

I believe this is part of a concerted effort by several poster's trying for a thread lock

• Registered Users Posts: 15,589 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

This is why I’m baffled by all the deflection and posters saying there’s no problem with deportation numbers. It’s really odd. There’s obviously a huge problem with ppl being given deportation orders and then not deported.

Why is that ? Why are some posters telling everyone that ppl “self deport” and then provide no stats or facts to back it up??!

We've gotten everything from me da telling me to me mates in immigration all of a sudden it's not the first thread involving the same poster/posters

It's a sad day when a genuine discussion has turned into a because I say so opinion is considered fact

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Interesting related article https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/nuj-deeply-disturbed-by-cameramans-treatment-at-meeting-on-asylum-seekers-959936.html

Not a nice scenario but cannot say I am too surprised considering allot of the bias in the media looks to demonize locals and shut them down that way.

This is why I’m baffled by all the deflection and posters saying there’s no problem with deportation numbers. It’s really odd. There’s obviously a huge problem with ppl being given deportation orders and then not deported.

Have you any stats for people avoiding enforced deportation on the back of anything other than leaving the country or judicial reviews? I’m a bit baffled where you think these people are to be found, given that there’s none of them evident in this country.

Think about it like this.....
    The people who are physically deported & escorted out of the country by Gardai, why do you think that happens?
    Because they didn't leave themselves!
    How do they decide which people to physically deport?
    They pick the ones that haven't left!
    Obviously.

Calhoun wrote: »
    Interesting related article https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/nuj-deeply-disturbed-by-cameramans-treatment-at-meeting-on-asylum-seekers-959936.html

Not a nice scenario but cannot say I am too surprised considering allot of the bias in the media looks to demonize locals and shut them down that way.

There’s been no bias in the media coverage of the issue. The poor reaction to the statements in Oughterard were a consequence of the statements made, not any bias in the coverage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 559 ✭✭✭PostWoke

Those are the people who have been physically deported.

Evidence? Or you gonna wait a few more pages before posting again, pretend you didn't see this? How are they paying to leave exactly? And where to? The asylum merry-go-round in Europe?
    There’s been no bias in the media coverage of the issue.

So we're just at the outright lying stage now eh?
    Have you any stats for people avoiding enforced deportation on the back of anything other than leaving the country or judicial reviews? I’m a bit baffled where you think these people are to be found, given that there’s none of them evident in this country.

lmfao maybe check homeless hostels and soup kitchens like The Capuchin Centre they're there in droves, choking out yet more services that could go to native homeless.

PostWoke wrote: »
    Evidence? Or you gonna wait a few more pages before posting again, pretend you didn't see this?.

See approx 3 posts up

• Registered Users Posts: 15,589 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I’d say a lot of them who get deportation orders go underground -to be exploited in the black market by the way. and hope either to get an amnesty or else to “regularise” their situation in a few years

This idea of them leaving without any delay is NAIVE BEYOND BELIEF !!

Which is why I suspect there’s some other agenda with the ppl who are peddling this craic on this thread.

See approx 3 posts up

Nope? Try again? Evidence please.
    I’d say a lot of them who get deportation orders go underground

100%. Many private homeless hostels don't need much paperwork to get in for obvious reasons and they all eat at soup runs. Ghosts after that. Till they harm someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Calhoun wrote: »

It has elicited more balanced evaluation re the scheme

PostWoke wrote: »

Nope? Try again? Evidence please.

What evidence do you require?
    People who do not leave are physically deported.
    I'm not sure how you can't understand that?

How do you think Gardai decide which ones to deport?

What evidence do you require?

Evidence for this claim;

"Those are the people who have been physically deported.
    Most people who receive deportation orders leave themselves."

Provide evidence that these people who aren't accounted for left by themselves (because they didn't; they're just crammed into homeless services where they can hide out indefinitely).

Stop wasting my time. I agree with Gatling, a few members in here trying for a thread lock with goading and pretending they don't understand requests for evidence.

Provide evidence or stop wasting our time.