Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asylum Seekers Getting Apartments in Ballinamore - mod warning in OP (18/10)

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

bubblypop wrote: »
    Think about it like this.....
    The people who are physically deported & escorted out of the country by Gardai,

Were talking about the majority who have not being physically deported and you know it .

Attempts at moving the goal posts , deflections and repeatedly driving around around about isn't going to change a thing

PostWoke wrote: »
    Evidence for this claim;

"Those are the people who have been physically deported.
    Most people who receive deportation orders leave themselves."

Provide evidence that these people who aren't accounted for left by themselves (because they didn't; they're just crammed into homeless services where they can hide out indefinitely).

Stop wasting my time. I agree with Gatling, a few members in here trying for a thread lock with goading and pretending they don't understand requests for evidence.

Provide evidence or stop wasting our time.

Lol!
    The evidence is the fact that some are physically deported by Gardai
    I am not sure how hard this is for some posters to understand. Why are some people deported forcefully? How or why do you think that happens?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

alastair wrote: »
    There’s been no bias in the media coverage of the issue. The poor reaction to the statements in Oughterard were a consequence of the statements made, not any bias in the coverage.

Not all would agree with that but moving aside from the media side of it the response to the community based on legitimate feedback it's no surprise.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,130 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Can everyone please re-read the warning in the OP, as if this continuous back and forth claims/counter claims or demands for back-up continue I will start handing out threadbans, cards and/or forum bans

Any questions PM me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 559 ✭✭✭PostWoke

bubblypop wrote: »
    Lol!
    The evidence is the fact that some are physically deported by Gardai
    I am not sure how hard this is for some posters to understand. Why are some people deported forcefully? How or why do you think that happens?

That is not what you were asked at all. You were asked to prove that those unaccounted for, the vast majority, 'leave by themselves'.

Which they of course, don't. How can they? They don't have any money. They simply disappear into the Irish homeless system. Which we've been saying all along. You can't prove anything so stop claiming it so the thread is not locked. Thanks for playing.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Evidence for this claim;

"Those are the people who have been physically deported.
    Most people who receive deportation orders leave themselves."

Provide evidence that these people who aren't accounted for left by themselves (because they didn't; they're just crammed into homeless services where they can hide out indefinitely).

Stop wasting my time. I agree with Gatling, a few members in here trying for a thread lock with goading and pretending they don't understand requests for evidence.

Provide evidence or stop wasting our time.

I love this notion that there are tens of thousands of un-deported asylum seekers in the care of Peter McVerry etc. Particularly since 80% of those using homeless services are Irish, so they’ve managed to squeeze themselves into a broader group of 2000 non-nationals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 559 ✭✭✭PostWoke

alastair wrote: »
    Particularly since 80% of those using homeless services are Irish

Literally untrue. Eastern Europe is a massive presence in the homeless sector in Ireland, which makes that 'stat' complete fiction. You would know this if you interacted with the homeless sector day to day, which I do. If I had to make up my own little stat on the spot, from eyeballing it I would say it's maybe about 60%.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

That is not what you were asked at all. You were asked to prove that those unaccounted for, the vast majority, 'leave by themselves'.

Which they of course, don't. How can they? They don't have any money. They simply disappear into the Irish homeless system. Which we've been saying all along. You can't prove anything so stop claiming it so the thread is not locked. Thanks for playing.

They liase with INIS to arrange and pay for the travel costs. That’s the Normal process most use for leaving the country.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,130 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

PostWoke and alastair - do not post in this thread again

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

To be perfectly clear.

I don’t want “ghettoes”. I don’t want “no health care or education”

I actually want ENHANCED health care and education and integration classes but in a central facility.

So not in far flung rural locations but a central location where they are housed until their application is decided.

Win win for the asy seekers and the state.

Bizarre. You want integration classes but a massive segregated instution. Very very bizarre.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Bizarre. You want integration classes but a massive segregated instution.

It's actually common sense ,add people part of the Danish idea where they were planning to take valuables and cash from economic migrants to fund their stays .

One secure location with an educational area and medical area and if you fail in your application you can then be removed and repatriated quietly and efficiently , integration classes can introduce them to Irish customs , language , laws, equality and so on .

Must be a shock to some cultures that we have equal rights for women , education and sexuality

• Registered Users Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭1641

Gatling wrote: »

Must be a shock to some cultures that we have equal rights for women , education and sexuality

I think they would be more shocked to find we didn't have sexuality!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

Bizarre. You want integration classes but a massive segregated instution. Very very bizarre.

It's not bizarre at all.
    There is plenty of community based schemes going on for the young people.of mosney to learn about our culture and teach others about their own.
    Don't forget that the people in mosney are also from different cultures to each other.

Woodsie1 wrote: »
    It's not bizarre at all.
    There is plenty of community based schemes going on for the young people.of mosney to learn about our culture and teach others about their own.
    Don't forget that the people in mosney are also from different cultures to each other.

Its completely off the wall bizarre

The poster wants integration taught to people who are segregated. Thats just silly nonsense. Why teach the peoole the complete and utter opposite of their reality and give them no practical opportunity to change this reality.

The poster wants extra educational and healthcare facilities for this camp but doesnt want schools and hospitals built. Are they supposed to provide the education and healthcare in tents?

The suggestion is completely and utterly unworkable. Its ghettoising, segregating, needs massive extra resources that would work out even more expensive

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Great to see that Borrisokane saw through

But they still say no ...

Can't label everyone racist

I dont...

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 15,486 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Fair play to borrisokane. Looks like achill are saying no as well

They need to have a centralized centre for these asylum seekers somewhere near dublin airport and have facilities there for them. Have a fast track system. By all means yes, grant the genuine cases and refuse the ones that should be refused and then ya know...actually enforce the deportation order - radical idea I know!!

Fair play to borrisokane. Looks like achill are saying no as well

They need to have a centralized centre for these asylum seekers somewhere near dublin airport and have facilities there for them. Have a fast track system. By all means yes, grant the genuine cases and refuse the ones that should be refused and then ya know...actually enforce the deportation order - radical idea I know!!

Common sense is apparently a far right notion .

Were getting build them hospitals and schools sod Irish families what do we get , bills for other peoples Lifestyle choices

• Registered Users Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭1641

Common sense is apparently a far right notion .

For once I tend to agree with you:

"Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen."

Albert Einstein.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,486 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

We all agree there has to be a fully functioning asylum system.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭zimmermania

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Wtf will they do in Ballinamore? It will only lead to a feeling of abandonment and crime. It's not good for anybody, locals or the asylum seekers.

This policy of putting asylum seekers in random country towns is absolutely ridiculous.

I'd imagine the flats were built there by some local developer. Happened a lot during the boom, the local lad done good came back to show off his new found wealth by building mini estates in nonsense locations.

Why will it lead increased crime?.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭zimmermania

Literally untrue. Eastern Europe is a massive presence in the homeless sector in Ireland, which makes that 'stat' complete fiction. You would know this if you interacted with the homeless sector day to day, which I do. If I had to make up my own little stat on the spot, from eyeballing it I would say it's maybe about 60%.

A quick look at a dictionary would provide you with the precise meaning of massive.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

We all agree there has to be a fully functioning asylum system.

A conveyor belt asylum system would do.
    Accepted.
    Rejected.
    Bye bye.

Why will it lead increased crime?.

Because that is what far right racist propaganda wants you to believe.

Terry Pratchet

Unfortunately the facts across Europe trump's that claim

Far right propaganda , varied facts and left denials

I chose the middle one

• Registered Users Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

More like they got Flanagan to cop on a bit and not just dump large numbers of asylum seekers on rural communities all in one go without any consultation.

Rural folk aren't stupid idiots who would be taken in by the far right seeking to hijack legitimate concerns.

I know Borrisokane well and Flanagan and Stantons idea to put 70 people there at the same time was nuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Assaults, rapes and murders have been committed in Europe since 2015 by asylum seekers, Cologne on New Years Eve and the rape and murder of 14 year old Susanna Feldmann being just 2 examples.

But the left wants to ignore cases like these and not talk about it.

Assaults, rapes and murders have been committed in Europe since 2015 by asylum seekers, Cologne on New Years Eve and the rape and murder of 14 year old Susanna Feldmann being just 2 examples.

Yep. There have never been murders of rapes in Europe before those pesky foreigners moved in

Nah. Its more about rejecting the hate filled racist agenda that seeks to paint all asylum seekers and refugees as rapists and criminals.

Terry Pratchet