Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rob tourists at gunpoint & have your anonymity protected?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

CCTV footage must blur the faces to comply with GDPR

Ah yes, that's why all the footage is blurred on crimecall.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

The junkie is the one paying for the judge's house in cap d'antibes and the senior counsel's house in chamonix.

This sounds like an exaggeration, but I was having lunch in Smithfield a few years ago with a friend. He pointed out a smartly dressed man and described how he had made a lot of money from the tribunals, but his property investments did poorly in the recession. So much so, that the man was now seriously having to contemplate selling his chateau in France. My friend swore that was true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

And just today NS?

Suspended Sentence Nolan strikes again.

Enough for a custodial sentence? Not under Nolan's watch.

Joke of a country....

https://www.thejournal.ie/martin-guerin-child-pornography-4863973-Oct2019/#comments

Don’t just comment here,Email T. Ds and Ministers. I emailed Katherine Zappone about changing laws for viewing child abuse material and Charlie Flanagan for violent offenders getting repeated suspended sentences. Tell them to raise the issue of sentencing in the Dáil. Can you imagine if 1000 people did that? They have to respond also.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Keyzer wrote: »
    There you go folks, there's the answer...

*Thread Closed*

That truck drivers name and address are all over the media. He still has to go to trial
    So the law decideds who’s face should be blurred

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

And just today NS?

Suspended Sentence Nolan strikes again.

Enough for a custodial sentence? Not under Nolan's watch.

Joke of a country....

https://www.thejournal.ie/martin-guerin-child-pornography-4863973-Oct2019/#comments

He does seem to have a soft spot for peados and wife beaters does mr nolan .

All the rest just live in Narnia, I believe on of them advised a fellas that the correct approach to deal with a gang of feral scum was to reason with them .....

Give me f#$kin strenght

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I like how the story names the witnesses as well as describing where they were when this happened. Great idea to let armed robbers know the people who informed on them.

Bear in mind that the 2 f$#king cockroaches that did this are probably

1. Being housed by Dublin city council
    2. Getting €188 a week while they look for a job....
    3. Have a medical card
    4. Get free travel.
    5. Have never in their worthless fu#king lives contributed anything but have been a constant drain on resources and have 60/80/100 convictions...

And will get a fuc$king bonus at Christmas .

F$#k this dying country don't let your kids ever pay tax if even a penny is still going to maintain the f$#kin scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,762 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Any arrests?

Is it even possible, unless the gardai are trying to be incompetent, that neither of these scumbags have been picked up despite the clarity of the CCTV?

I think we have a right to know what our so called police are doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭conorhal

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    You just completely ignored my point on mistaken identity and the wrong people getting attacked. Pretty happy you've no role in the criminal justice system.

I put it to you that...

1) vigilante action is no less illegal then waving a gun in a tourists face in the street. Identifying a dangerous criminal at large in no way changes that fact, both actors should be subject to the law.

2) How many people are likely to be subject to vigilante justice based on mistaken identity Vs. the number of people likely to be robbed at gunpoint by a dangerous criminal that hasn't been identified because the public aren't allowed identify him to the police?

3) Your arguments are so reductio ad absurdum that they actually encourage people to take action outside the law since your attitude contributes so much to peoples complete lack of confidence in the justice system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

What about the lad yesterday arrested over the 39 deaths?

Named and shamed all over media even though probably innocent.

Then these scrotes identities protected??

• Registered Users Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

lola85 wrote: »
    What about the lad yesterday arrested over the 39 deaths?

Named and shamed all over media even though probably innocent.

Then these scrotes identities protected??
    Wasn't it UK media that outed the driver first?

One scumbag arrested.

Should be automatic 10 year jail sentence for armed robbery. That's what proper countries do.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

They were going to build Thornton Hall mega prison for the scrotes but the do gooders didn't want that. Now the judges are partially too lenient but also have no where to put them.

IIRC Michael McDowell gave a farmer in north county Dublin €30,000,00.00 of taxpayers money for his field to build this. Farmer is still in shock, as is the taxpayer. What’s that site doing now? The farmer has probably leased it back at a € a year or some bull**** like that.
    Most striking part of the video is how the assailants just casually walk off with not a care in the world.

They know garda are not showing up there.

One of the biggest garda stations in the country nearby too.

I think the local Garda Sargent and Commissioner Harris (I know he is relatively new) should be dragged in front of a committee to explain to us all why it took 10 minutes to respond to an armed daylight robbery (in the biggest tourist trap in the country!). I think it's time we got answers as to why law enforcement does not work in Dublin.

I'm in town most days and can't remember the last time I saw a garda, maybe a few weeks a go.

Yet, walk by Pearse street everyday and you see all the cars parked up.

What are they all doing if they're not out on patrol?

Even some visibility would be a big deterrent but we have pretty much no visibility.

They are probably sitting in a courtroom all day waiting to give evidence in a speeding ticket case or some other bull**** waste of time

One scumbag arrested.

Should be automatic 10 year jail sentence for armed robbery. That's what proper countries do.

Shoul be but here it Carries a Severe suspended sentence.

If they are council tenants they should be evicted immediately without appeal and not supported again and they should be tagged like the ****in animals they are and made to scrap chewing gum of the streets...

So a suspended sentence it is then

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wild Bill Pillock handed himself and his toy gun into the guards after his mother threatened to throw him out of the house if he didn't

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭mlem123

Wild Bill Pillock handed himself and his toy gun into the guards after his mother threatened to throw him out of the house if he didn't

Heard that on Morning Ireland today and it's honestly made my day :pac:

Such a tough guy..

She must have been morto.

mlem123 wrote: »
    Heard that on Morning Ireland today and it's honestly made my day :pac:

Such a tough guy..

The effect on those Italian teachers hasn't changed so unless that cockroach and his mate do 10yrs minimum it means nothing .

No doubt this **** will be addressing his issues stemming from his disadvantaged blah blah blah...............free legal aid ............ bul**** poverty defense.............turning a corner

FU#KING VERMIN

and he will get a suspended sentence

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/thats-not-my-style-says-man-after-hes-charged-with-robbing-italian-tourists-near-guinness-storehouse-38631118.html
    'That’s not my style', says man after he's charged with robbing Italian tourists near Guinness Storehouse

Paul Heaney (35) is alleged to have been one of two robbers who mugged the teacher and her student after they left the Guinness Storehouse this week.
    Dublin District Court was told the second alleged robber, who was not charged, was armed with a gun and when Mr Heaney handed himself in to gardaí, he told them: "I didn't rob anyone" and “that’s not my style”.

4th November 2017 - https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/irish-daily-mail/20171104/283283162947133
    Addict robbed same bookmakers twice

A DRUG addict who robbed the same bookmaker twice while the same staff member was present has been jailed for almost four years.
    Paul Heaney, 33, threatened the female staff member at Paddy Power Bookmakers on Meath Street, Dublin with a large kitchen knife in the first robbery in January. He then returned in October and robbed the bookmakers a second time, threatening the same staff member with a fake gun.

3rd July 2008 - https://www.independent.ie/regionals/braypeople/news/abusive-man-admits-being-high-on-drugs-27623021.html
    Abusive man admits being high on drugs
    A recovering heroin addict who was abusive to Irish Rail passengers and security staff screamed at gardai you lot are b*****ds. I'm not leaving here' as they escorted him from the station.
    Paul Heaney (24) said he was high on a cocktail of drink and drugs at the time and does not remember the incident at Portmarnock train station.
    He is currently serving a two-and-a-half-year sentence for burglary which was handed down by Bray Circuit Court in April.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,081 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

How has the man with the gun not been charged yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Anjunadeep

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/thats-not-my-style-says-man-after-hes-charged-with-robbing-italian-tourists-near-guinness-storehouse-38631118.html
    Gda Duggan confirmed to defence solicitor Ruth Walsh that Mr Heaney was not the man alleged to have produced the firearm. “He was as surprised as anybody when the other gentleman produced the firearm,” Ms Walsh said.
    Gda Duggan said this was what Mr Heaney stated. He accepted the accused was “not the main protagonist”.
    Mr Heaney had got “a little bit in over his head” in the company he kept, Ms Walsh said

I wonder does Ruth find it difficult to sleep at night after a days work defending such rodents or does the pay cheque make it all worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Defence solicitors have a poxy job and its no wonder honest people cant stand them, but in fairness in this country they cannot refuse a job just because they dont like the person or the crime

boombang wrote: »
    I don't know: I've not looked in to it. However, I would like to have a fair ability to know if there's a violent or persistent criminal that lives in my neighbourhood following release. That's why I'd like this info to be out there. Plus, if you do something shameful, then I think you should deal with the public shame.

I agree with this fully, except that the existence of people who would attack a paediatrician because they think it's the same as a paedophile, or would attack a completely innocent man in Monasterevin because an anonymous person on Facebook claimed he was a paedophile, means that innocent people will suffer from the limited intelligence of the mob.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

They look like drug addicts to me. The solution to a lot of our problems is for the authorities to do their jobs and keep illegal drugs off our streets. If the can’t (or won’t) do that then provide mandatory detox and rehab for those who will inevitably become addicted and destructive.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,567 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

They look like drug addicts to me. The solution to a lot of our problems is for the authorities to do their jobs and keep illegal drugs off our streets. If the can’t (or won’t) do that then provide mandatory detox and rehab for those who will inevitably become addicted and destructive.

Is there such as place on this planet, whereby mind altering substances, legal or illegal, are not available? Maybe we should just increase funding and resources substantially in these areas, to try deal with it more effectively

“He was as surprised as anybody when the other gentleman produced the firearm,”

The whole world's a stage...

And waste more public money and resources on the vermin.

F$ck them , gas the f$ckers and spend the money saved on services for those in genuine need. The elderly, working poor those with special needs education ........