Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Units of alcohol per week...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Unfortunately, I can confirm there are people that obtuse in this society. The same people look at you as if you've committed treason when you point out that Guinness is, in fact, an 18th-century English drink (porter), that Guinness is, in fact, a British company which moved its headquarters to Britain in the 1930s and that Guinness has, in fact, a massive record of the most egregious anti-Catholicism, anti-Irish independence and pro-Unionism positions.

For these abject simpletons Guinness is a symbol of "Irishness", indeed the symbol of Irishness. The fact that cider, for instance, has been drunk here for many, many centuries longer is irrelevant. The dominance of wine taverns and a huge wine trade here long before this English pub culture was imported is also not a part of "real Irishness" to these ceoláin. If you're "really" Irish you must drink alcohol to be "fun", and to be really, really "Irish" you'll drink Guinness.

I don't know anyone who drinks Guinness because of 'Irishness', it's because they like the taste compared to other drinks, you must be thinking of tourists? Hope this helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Unless it’s a dry county like Saudi pretty much every county has plenty of drinking going on in it.

I'm not necessarily talking about dry countries, I'm talking about countries where the main social outlet does not involve alcohol consumption. Would you be miserable in such countries?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I don't know anyone who drinks Guinness because of 'Irishness', it's because they like the taste compared to other drinks, you must be thinking of tourists? Hope this helps.

That particular dude is a bit of an ultranationalist, and tends to blames the Brits for almost everything he imagines is wrong with Ireland.

People like to drink Guinness because it’s very very easy to drink despite its reputation for being ‘heavy’, and it’s way easier put away 8-16 pints on a session drinking it rather than some of its rivals. I drink a heap of it myself, but there’s no doubting it’s a bit bland.

Cyrus wrote: »
    Stands to reason if you have made it your only social outlet

You said you had a full medical recently and all was fine , are you not overweight with all this drinking and no exercise ?

It’s not that it’s my only social outlet it’s just by far my favorite. What other social outlets would you suggest?

I’d be a stone or so over the “ideal weight” yes but I’m personally happy with my weight and don't have much interest in changing anything. I’m very far from being what ever fat slob you have in your head.

I also I do get some exercise every week and cover a fair bit of ground with farm work evenings and weekends. Just find it exercising for the sake of it boring and also don’t have time for it a lot of the time.
    tuxy wrote: »
    I'm not necessarily talking about dry countries, I'm talking about countries where the main social outlet does not involve alcohol consumption. Would you be miserable in such countries?

What counties would they be? Not many western/first world counties where drinking isn’t a major part of socialising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I wouldn't like to live in a country where you could not get a drink but that's because I like to drink. It has nothing to do with social outlet. As long as I could go to the fridge or drinks cabinet in my house I would be ok.

I have experience of dry counties in the US but you just go to the county line where there is usually a liquor store and bring it home to drink it. They don't have bars or off licences but drinking as such is not banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 bassface93

What countries? I can't think of any of major society, except for dry countries, were the main social outlet doesn't involve alcohol consumption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

And I drank more than the weekly limit twice over the weekend and had an absolute ball of a time. Just wish it was only starting, I couldn’t fathom why I’d want to stop drinking, it would make for a very boring outlook for me I have to say.

Are you any craic? What do you do when drinking? Make people laugh? Sing rebel or trad songs? Dance? Do you talk about how much you drink and how you love it and does everyone nod in approval?

Can you remember what you say? Would you think people say 'ah Jaysus nox is some horse of a man, he can put them away, and the fcuking gallery you'd have with him, you'd be laughing for a month. He's a fcuking thundering hoor lads I'd shift him if he was a woman. Fcuking ledgend'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭Homelander

Naggdefy wrote: »
    Are you any craic? What do you do when drinking? Make people laugh? Sing rebel or trad songs? Dance? Do you talk about how much you drink and how you love it and does everyone nod in approval?

Can you remember what you say? Would you think people say 'ah Jaysus nox is some horse of a man, he can put them away, and the fcuking gallery you'd have with him, you'd be laughing for a month. He's a fcuking thundering hoor lads I'd shift him if he was a woman. Fcuking ledgend'?

Wha? What's that got to do with enjoying a drink? People just enjoy drinking and having a good time. Your questions would probably be more applicable to a 16 year old. Most adults drink because they enjoy the drink, the buzz, good conversation, feeling the let go of the stress of the working week, whatever.

I drink for those reasons, I assume most adults do. I always remember what I say, don't give a crap if people think I'm funny or not, understand that most mature individuals don't pay attention to what or how much I'm drinking, and not sure how to even respond to the weird shifting comment.

Are we talking about adults here or young lads drinking buckfast before hitting up the local teenage disco.

Homelander wrote: »
    Wha? What's that got to do with enjoying a drink? People just enjoy drinking and having a good time. Your questions would probably be more applicable to a 16 year old. Most adults drink because they enjoy the drink, the buzz, good conversation, feeling the let go of the stress of the working week, whatever.

I drink for those reasons, I assume most adults do. I always remember what I say, don't give a crap if people think I'm funny or not, understand that most mature individuals don't pay attention to what or how much I'm drinking, and not sure how to even respond to the weird shifting comment.

Are we talking about adults here or young lads drinking buckfast before hitting up the local teenage disco.

I was asking Nox specifically. I'm curious about what makes him tick. I'm not interested in you at all. Are you Nox, no you're not, so stop answering questions addressed to him.

Sorry, must have forgotten for a second it was a private exclusive interview and not an anonymous internet board.

Can you not read I said Nox do you think etc etc.

Then you came in with your life story and drinking philosophy, not interested.

Nox is the man of the thread agree or disagree, I wanted his thoughts.

I talk about all sorts of different things while drinking same as anyone. Some people do say I am well able to put them away alright though, there are some (work colleague mostly) afraid to get in rounds with me as my normal drinking pace is too much for them :D

Did I? Left out a few crucial details so. I was born in Dublin in 1984. I'm sure you can fill in the gaps between than and 2019 from your deep-rooted insight into those who consume alcohol.

I talk about all sorts of different things while drinking same as anyone. Some people do say I am well able to put them away alright though, there are some (work colleague mostly) afraid to get in rounds with me as my normal drinking pace is too much for them :D

Would you lead the sing song?

On occasion yes, residents bars at weddings for example I would be in the middle of any song song.

Like myself.

To each his own with drink I suppose. Look after yourself anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

And I drank more than the weekly limit twice over the weekend and had an absolute ball of a time. Just wish it was only starting, I couldn’t fathom why I’d want to stop drinking, it would make for a very boring outlook for me I have to say.

Of course drinking is fun, there’s be no problem with it if it wasn’t, no one would do it, there’d be no one going to pubs and no alcoholics.

That said life without booze is not necessarily boring at all, saying life without alcohol would be boring is simply ridiculous tbf.
    Surfing, orgies, soccer, hurling, reading, rallying, are all examples of non boring activities that can be be enjoyed by a young man like yourself, but only properly when sober.

That said life without booze is not necessarily boring at all, saying life without alcohol would be boring is simply ridiculous tbf.
    Surfing, orgies, soccer, hurling, reading, rallying, are all examples of non boring activities that can be be enjoyed by a young man like yourself, but only properly when sober.

But they all take more effort than lifting a glass to your mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Unless it’s a dry county like Saudi pretty much every county has plenty of drinking going on in it.

I was in a pub for the Ireland v Sweden game in Euro 2016. It was the first of our group games. Italy v Belgium was on straight after. The Irish and a small number of Swedes piled in for the first game. After it was over, the Swedes drifted away and the Italians and a small number of Belgians arrived for their game. The Irish remained. After Italy v Belgium was over, fans of both sides vamoosed pretty quickly. The Irish remained. We were very noticeably the only fan group left by closing time.

I experienced the same in London years ago, it was Arsenal vs some other team in the champions league. A Wednesday night I believe and everyone went home right after the game even though Arsenal had a great victory. I'd not experienced that while in a pub in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Can you not read I said Nox do you think etc etc.

Nox is the man of the thread agree or disagree, I wanted his thoughts.

I'm glad someone else answered as well as Nox as your questions were making unfair and silly assumptions about people who like a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,276 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Greyfox wrote: »
    I'm glad someone else answered as well as Nox as your questions were making unfair and silly assumptions about people who like a few pints.

a few pints? i like a few pints

16 isnt a few.

Soccer and hurling I watch all the time (with and without drinking) so I do enjoy both. I used to play soccer when I was younger but aside from an odd bit of 5 aside I don’t have the time and an ongoing injury makes it risky (I’ve also played 5 aside while drinking :D). Overall none of the options or other ones like it are an either or with drink and are not something to spend hours at as a way to relax and unwind etc. looking forward to exercise etc has never got me through a hard week at work like the thought of a trailer full of pints on a Friday evening does.

I spend a lot of my time drinking with continental Europeans as I work with a lot of them and I’ve had countless very very heavy sessions with them Italians, French and Germans in particular will drink until they get sick as well as any Irish person, they all laugh at this myth there is in Ireland that people don’t drink at a lot and get hammered all over Europe and the world.
    a few pints? i like a few pints

16 isnt a few.

16 would be a lot if it was over 3 hours on a Friday evening, it’s not outlandish at all for a full day session.

Soccer and hurling I watch all the time (with and without drinking) so I do enjoy both. I used to play soccer when I was younger but aside from an odd bit of 5 aside I don’t have the time and an ongoing injury makes it risky (I’ve also played 5 aside while drinking :D). Overall none of the options or other ones like it are an either or with drink and are not something to spend hours at as a way to relax and unwind etc. looking forward to exercise etc has never got me through a hard week at work like the thought of a trailer full of pints on a Friday evening does.

I spend a lot of my time drinking with continental Europeans as I work with a lot of them and I’ve had countless very very heavy sessions with them Italians, French and Germans in particular will drink until they get sick as well as any Irish person, they all laugh at this myth there is in Ireland that people don’t drink at a lot and get hammered all over Europe and the world.

16 would be a lot if it was over 3 hours on a Friday evening, it’s not outlandish at all for a full day session.

Obviously you can watch soccer or hurling while drunk, that's clearly not what was meant. You can't play them while drunk though, and need to be somewhat clean living to take them half seriously as a participant. Same with many things, of course you can have a preference for alcohol over everything else, but people who do not get drunk regularly are not necessarily bored by any means.

They may not be bored but I would be. I often see someone out for a run while on the way to the pub and I always think to myself how I’d hate to be doing that rather than about to go sipping on creamy pints of Guinness.

you have time for all day sessions but you dont have time for sport unless you are watching it drinking.

i presume / hope that you dont have any kids yet?

i dont think there is any difference, these are fellas doing the exact same thing they were doing as teenagers, they havent developed beyond that.

:) For sure the runner is the one whose losing out!

you have time for all day sessions but you dont have time for sport unless you are watching it drinking.

i presume / hope that you dont have any kids yet?

Oh I watch far more sport than the sport I watch while drinking I was just saying I very much enjoy watching it while drinking also.

Do you expect people who have kids to give up on having a good time for themselves? Maybe you are one of the cohort who give up on life after having kids but a lot of people are not happy to do this and still want to enjoy themselves and can do so without any issue.
    i dont think there is any difference, these are fellas doing the exact same thing they were doing as teenagers, they havent developed beyond that.

You appear to have an issue with people who enjoy going out drinking, saying things like “they haven’t developed beyond it” is condescending nonsense nothing more. I work hard, have got as high an education as can be got and have a successful career and I will damn well enjoy myself if I want to.

Oh I watch far more sport than the sport I watch while drinking I was just saying I very much enjoy watching it while drinking also.

Do you expect people who have kids to give up on having a good time for themselves? Maybe you are one of the cohort who give up on life after having kids but a lot of people are not happy to do this and still want to enjoy themselves and can do so without any issue.

You appear to have an issue with people who enjoy going out drinking, saying things like “they haven’t developed beyond it” is condescending nonsense nothing more. I work hard, have got as high an education as can be got and have a successful career and I will damn well enjoy myself if I want to.

I dont see spending time with my children as giving up on life, and if you think going on 2 day benders is enjoying life and a good example for your kids then im not going to try bother to convince you otherwise.

I seem to have touched a nerve Nox, has your all day drinking evolved since you were 19?

You seem to think working hard and having what you deem to be a successful career gives you carte blanche to do whatever, family life regardless. That couple with your attitude to money suggests you are a bot from the 1950s :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Okay nox, I really don't want to be that person but please hear me out and maybe, just maybe you'll think about it down the line or whatever, I'm an internet stranger, I couldn't care less but at least it's off my chest.

You have an unhealthy drinking habit and you open yourself up to a downright addiction if you aren't becoming more mindful of your behavior.
    While I'm not a qualified professional, I have supported people getting a hang their habit or quit entirely because alcohol destroyed my family. Because of how this messed us up my sister went on to become a psychotherapist and works with people that are on the receiving end, so children, spouses and relatives of people with alcohol addiction.

But first things first: I'm pretty sure you see an alcohol addict as some disgusting grimey slob that is permanently broke with an unhealthy skin colour and since you are working a successful job, newlywed and planning a house this could never be you because you have your stuff in order, right? Guess what, a lot of addicts started out as heavy social drinkers, just for the craic and banter because it makes you feel good, so what. Often there's a trigger, something bad happens and the bottle doesn't only seem attractive for social purposes but it's literally the only thing that makes you feel good without questions asked.

I find it quite worrying when someone says they use alcohol as an outlet to unwind. Alcohol is a drug after all, it would sound pretty messed up if someone would say they use meth or coke to unwind.

I know you're also someone who'd prefer to drive home after a session. Since my father was an addict throughout my childhood he was driving with me hungover once, first he pulled over on the highway to have a nap during the day in summer in a really hot car with me on the back seat (I was just before school age) because he was so hammered from drinking alone our hotel room. Then after I woke him up we continued driving and an hour later he caused a single vehicle collision on the motorway and while this could have been fatal, we both walked away unscathed we were really really lucky.
    Years later himself and a friend were hit by a drunk driver as pedestrians and his friend died.
    The above is the end stage when it really is out of control. My mother left my dad with both of us because he was on his way to drink himself dead.
    And again, he started out with a habit, young lad on the rise, drank socially, had a few drinks to unwind, absolutely no harm. Kids came, he couldn't cope and booze became his outlet in an environment that's super pro drinking because what's the harm?
    One set of emotionally abusive drinking grandparents that would down a few bottles of wine between them every single evening. A grandmother with a binge drinking habit because she was bored as housewife and hid it.

And you know what all of them had in common? They are the ones completely downplaying their drinking and putting into the shining light of relaxation, fun and socialising. Nobody would even come up with the idea they had a problematic habit. Nobody would dare to highlight this in a negative way to them, believe me, pointing this out to a drinker is burning bridges.

If alcohol is more or less essential for you to have fun or to unwind, this is a problem. It's an addictive neurotoxin after all and if life gets hard you're at risk that addiction hits you like a beast long before you realise that you're neck deep in it.
    I know you're building a house with your wife and planning to have kids. Maybe take a moment and think about how you'd cope if you'll hit a difficult stretch in the future, be it the loss of a parent, financial troubles or a child with special needs.
    Could you go a week or a month without drinking? Would you be willing to cut out alcohol entirely for the last couple of weeks of your wife's pregnancy because the baby could come anytime and she needs you? The first few weeks post partum?

I have absolutely no problem with people drinking, my husband is drinking occasionally and I really don't care.
    But maybe you'll try and see your habit from an outsiders point of view and try to observe if this really is willynillyallthecraic or a bit more than just that.
    Because being a grown, married man and getting lifts home from the parents due to the drinks is definitely not the norm, not in Ireland and not in the backbush of some Continental sh*tehole I grew up in. Or the one I currently live at.

I dont see spending time with my children as giving up on life, and if you think going on 2 day benders is enjoying life and a good example for your kids then im not going to try bother to convince you otherwise.

I seem to have touched a nerve Nox, has your all day drinking evolved since you were 19?

You seem to think working hard and having what you deem to be a successful career gives you carte blanche to do whatever, family life regardless. That couple with your attitude to money suggests you are a bot from the 1950s :P

That's the kind of thing you might think when you were 18, that concentrating on raising kids rather than getting hammered was giving up on life! The inverse is much more true.

LirW wrote: »
    Okay nox, I really don't want to be that person but please hear me out and maybe, just maybe you'll think about it down the line or whatever, I'm an internet stranger, I couldn't care less but at least it's off my chest.

You have an unhealthy drinking habit and you open yourself up to a downright addiction if you aren't becoming more mindful of your behavior.
    While I'm not a qualified professional, I have supported people getting a hang their habit or quit entirely because alcohol destroyed my family. Because of how this messed us up my sister went on to become a psychotherapist and works with people that are on the receiving end, so children, spouses and relatives of people with alcohol addiction.

But first things first: I'm pretty sure you see an alcohol addict as some disgusting grimey slob that is permanently broke with an unhealthy skin colour and since you are working a successful job, newlywed and planning a house this could never be you because you have your stuff in order, right? Guess what, a lot of addicts started out as heavy social drinkers, just for the craic and banter because it makes you feel good, so what. Often there's a trigger, something bad happens and the bottle doesn't only seem attractive for social purposes but it's literally the only thing that makes you feel good without questions asked.

I find it quite worrying when someone says they use alcohol as an outlet to unwind. Alcohol is a drug after all, it would sound pretty messed up if someone would say they use meth or coke to unwind.

I know you're also someone who'd prefer to drive home after a session. Since my father was an addict throughout my childhood he was driving with me hungover once, first he pulled over on the highway to have a nap during the day in summer in a really hot car with me on the back seat (I was just before school age) because he was so hammered from drinking alone our hotel room. Then after I woke him up we continued driving and an hour later he caused a single vehicle collision on the motorway and while this could have been fatal, we both walked away unscathed we were really really lucky.
    Years later himself and a friend were hit by a drunk driver as pedestrians and his friend died.
    The above is the end stage when it really is out of control. My mother left my dad with both of us because he was on his way to drink himself dead.
    And again, he started out with a habit, young lad on the rise, drank socially, had a few drinks to unwind, absolutely no harm. Kids came, he couldn't cope and booze became his outlet in an environment that's super pro drinking because what's the harm?
    One set of emotionally abusive drinking grandparents that would down a few bottles of wine between them every single evening. A grandmother with a binge drinking habit because she was bored as housewife and hid it.

And you know what all of them had in common? They are the ones completely downplaying their drinking and putting into the shining light of relaxation, fun and socialising. Nobody would even come up with the idea they had a problematic habit. Nobody would dare to highlight this in a negative way to them, believe me, pointing this out to a drinker is burning bridges.

If alcohol is more or less essential for you to have fun or to unwind, this is a problem. It's an addictive neurotoxin after all and if life gets hard you're at risk that addiction hits you like a beast long before you realise that you're neck deep in it.
    I know you're building a house with your wife and planning to have kids. Maybe take a moment and think about how you'd cope if you'll hit a difficult stretch in the future, be it the loss of a parent, financial troubles or a child with special needs.
    Could you go a week or a month without drinking? Would you be willing to cut out alcohol entirely for the last couple of weeks of your wife's pregnancy because the baby could come anytime and she needs you? The first few weeks post partum?

I have absolutely no problem with people drinking, my husband is drinking occasionally and I really don't care.
    But maybe you'll try and see your habit from an outsiders point of view and try to observe if this really is willynillyallthecraic or a bit more than just that.
    Because being a grown, married man and getting lifts home from the parents due to the drinks is definitely not the norm, not in Ireland and not in the backbush of some Continental sh*tehole I grew up in. Or the one I currently live at.

best post of the thread, thanks for taking the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Theres a difference between a few drinks and the "all day sessions" you keep going an about. If you do that on a regular basis when you have young kids then you are a selfish, absent parent and partner. Theres no way that won't cause issues, in your marriage and your relationship with your kids. Once or twice a year? Annoying but manageable. A few times a month? That's divorce territory for many people. Not a good look for a married parent

Dont get me wrong, I like a night out with drinks when I can, but I don't feel that I've given up on life because I can't spend the day in the pub anymore. My kid is my life now for the majority and that's kind of how it should be, when they are small at least.

has your all day drinking evolved since you were 19?

It sure has, I did a hell of a lot more of it in my mid to late 20’s than I did at 19. I now unfortunately do less of it’s again but still love nothing more than a monster day sensation along with the vast majority of my friends I might add.
    LirW wrote: »
    Okay nox, I really don't want to be that person but please hear me out and maybe, just maybe you'll think about it down the line or whatever, I'm an internet stranger, I couldn't care less but at least it's off my chest.....

Great post and all but it in no way applicable whatsoever to me.
    That's the kind of thing you might think when you were 18, that concentrating on raising kids rather than getting hammered was giving up on life! The inverse is much more true.

I didn’t say raising kids was giving up on life, people who give up on going out at weekends etc I would though. Going out for a good drink of a Friday or Saturday evening/night and an odd all day session here and there should in no way be considered an issue for resisting kids. People who say this are the exact type of people I would hate to become, totally letting kids take over their life rather than also having their own enjoyment and down time.

Some posters really live in a totally different world and totally different circles of friends and family it appears. As I am totally normal among the people I know and I find a number of posters situations very strange and not how I would personally like to be living my life.

It sure has, I did a hell of a lot more of it in my mid to late 20’s than I did at 19. I now unfortunately do less of it’s again but still love nothing more than a monster day sensation along with the vast majority of my friends I might add.

Great post and all but it in no way applicable whatsoever to me.

I didn’t say raising kids was giving up on life, people who give up on going out at weekends etc I would though. Going out for a good drink of a Friday or Saturday evening/night and an odd all day session here and there should in no way be considered an issue for resisting kids. People who say this are the exact type of people I would hate to become, totally letting kids take over their life rather than also having their own enjoyment and down time.

Lirs post doesnt resonate with you now, it may in the future.

what is clear as day is that enjoyment for you is drinking as much and as often as you can. Letting kids take over your life as you put it isnt what happens people, they get perspective. Maybe you will too, but i wouldnt hold my breath.

Yeah because it's so easy to arrange childcare so that your child is looked after while these nights out and all day sessions happen. Well I suppose it is if you view the other parent as your live in nanny, who gets to take care of all the parenting, days out, driving kids to activities, parties etc that take place at weekends while your life remains the same. I dont know if you already have kids but that's a completely unrealistic and unfair attitude.

Lirs post doesnt resonate with you now, it may in the future.

what is clear as day is that enjoyment for you is drinking as much and as often as you can. Letting kids take over your life as you put it isnt what happens people, they get perspective. Maybe you will too, but i wouldnt hold my breath.

I drink all the time with people who have kids, yeah you might not get out as much for a good session (particularly as a couple, you take turns more going out) but it’s once a week or once every two weeks not twice a year you hear fine people reduced to.
    ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Yeah because it's so easy to arrange childcare so that your child is looked after while these nights out and all day sessions happen. Well I suppose it is if you view the other parent as your live in nanny, who gets to take care of all the parenting, days out, driving kids to activities, parties etc that takes place at weekends while your life remains the same. I dont know if you already have kids but that's a completely unrealistic attitude.

Or you know you take turns like most sensible couples do. One goes out with their friends Friday night and the other Saturday night or alternate weekends or whatever. It’s also easy enough to arrange childcare when you live lose to family and friends if both parents what to get out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Depends on the week doesn’t it? You might be on a ‘health buzz’ for a week and not drink at all. Then other weeks you go at it good and heavy.

Like I did the first 4 days of the Galway racing festival this year. Then had a wedding down in Clare on the Friday, the afters in the Saturday, and had a date lined up with a horny divorcee in Limerick in the Sunday night. Drank over 100 pints of Guinness that week.

Then stayed off it the week after as I was feeling a small bit ropey.

Unless that 100 pint week involve consuming 46 or more pints within the space of 2 hours then I'm not impressed. You might as well go off and drink orchard theives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

I'd do about 90 units in about 2 hours.
    Bastards.

so it hasnt evolved, its the same thing basically just more or less of it depending, why take offence to when i said you havent developed past that, you are saying yourself that you haven't

Or you know you take turns like most sensible couples do. One goes out with their friend Friday night and the other Saturday night or alternate weekends or whatever. It’s also eBay enough to arrange childcare when you live lose to family and friends if both parents what to get out.

sounds great, so you spend no time with your wife and both of you spend half the weekend hungover. great family life to aspire to.

so it hasnt evolved, its the same thing basically just more or less of it depending, why take offence to when i said you havent developed past that, you are saying yourself that you haven't

It’s the fact you are finding issue with it and that you think it’s not a perfectly legitimate way to enjoy yourself that I have the issue with.

I drink all the time with people who have kids, yeah you might not get out as much for a good session (particularly as a couple, you take turns more going out) but it’s once a week or once every two weeks not twice a year you hear fine people reduced to.

Or you know you take turns like most sensible couples do. One goes out with their friends Friday night and the other Saturday night or alternate weekends or whatever. It’s also easy enough to arrange childcare when you live lose to family and friends if both parents what to get out.

So do you spend anytime together as a family or a couple at weekends?

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    So do you spend anytime together as a family or a couple at weekends?

Sure if you go out Friday or Saturday night evening/night that still leads nearly a full day Saturday and a full day and night Sunday. Surprised I’d have to explain that.

When do you spend time with your friends or enjoying yourself. Not everyone feels the need to be in each other’s pockets 24/7, in fact it’s unhealthy imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

@Nox i wouldn't be wasting your time replying to some of these "high horsery" comments

Ridiculous

It’s the fact you are finding issue with it and that you think it’s not a perfectly legitimate way to enjoy yourself that I have the issue with.

grands so we are in agreement that you havent moved on in that regard? its the same thing you were at as a teenager / in your early 20s.

Sure if you go out Friday or Saturday night evening/night that still leads nearly a full day Saturday and a full day and night Sunday. Surprised I’d have to explain that.

When do you spend time with your friends or enjoying yourself. Not everyone feels the need to be in each other’s pockets 24/7, in fact it’s unhealthy imo.

you dont equate time with family as enjoying yourself?

hungover time doesnt really count as family time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Some posters really live in a totally different world and totally different circles of friends and family it appears. As I am totally normal among the people I know and I find a number of posters situations very strange and not how I would personally like to be living my life.

Is your mind blown?

you dont equate time with family as enjoying yourself?

hungover time doesnt really count as family time.

Of course time with family is enjoying yourself but it’s also good to relax and unwind in other ways and for many/most people that’s going out to the pub with friends/as a couple.

As for hangover time not counting, that is absolute nonsense to be fair. Maybe for you a bit of a hangover isn’t manageable but for many it has little to no affect on their day.