Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SNA role

• 23-10-2019 9:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭

Without giving too much away I would like to known is it appropriate for an SNA to type out what I say to students in the class when I am teaching them? These typed notes are then sent home to the parents, it has only recently started and I am unsure how comfortable I am with the situation.

I haven’t yet asked to see what the SNA is typing as I am new to the school and I don’t want to appear unprofessional. Literally most of what I say is typed up as I can hear the keyboard tapping away. It’s a little unnerving.

Is this usual practice? Any advice appreciated

Comments

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

SNAs should never be in a teaching role -care needs only .

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Athdara

Is it primary or secondary school. Secondary I could understand that the SNA is taking down notes. I doubt there’s anything that shouldn’t be there. I used write notes for a student in secondary before. If the noise of typing bothers you why not speak to the SNA.
    Re mention of a teaching role I can’t see any teaching going on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 tros

Totally appropriate at all levels - primary and secondary.

SNA role includes "Assistance with severe communication difficulties....this might include assistance with assistive technology equipment, typing or handwriting..." from Circular 0030/2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,674 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure