Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway traffic

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Problems and solutions

Problem #1: Your strongest argument for not building lanes is nobody uses them.

Its a ridiculous argument hes bringing forward. By the same token less people use the footpath along the route so if we use the same argument we should get rid of the footpath or nobody uses the hard shoulder on the motorway so get rid of it.

That's a crazy cycle to do daily if your company doesn't have showers.

It’s a crazy cycle full stop imo, much too far to be cycling to and from work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

CowboyTed wrote: »

Sorry but I must ask again. How can we keep spending money on an unrealistic target. Thus an unrealistic plan...
    Doing this means we have no cost benefit analysis. This is incompetence..

Don’t go on the thread about the light rail!

It’s a crazy cycle full stop imo, much too far to be cycling to and from work.

That's a 10k cycle. That's not far, at all. You'd do it in 35-40 mins no bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,930 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Especially with the prevailing wind behind you most mornings or at least not in your face. Get an ebike if its a struggle but 10k is no bother, you'll be looking forward to it after a couple of gos, best way to get your recommended cardio aswell.

That's a 10k cycle. That's not far, at all. You'd do it in 35-40 mins no bother.

It’s far too much imo to be putting yourself though before and after a days work. I wouldn’t even consider half that as reasonable, just far to much effort in the morning in particular.

That’s not even considering weather, if you want to carrying things, if you have other places to go before, after or during work etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭TwoWheeledTim

It’s far too much imo to be putting yourself though before and after a days work. I wouldn’t even consider half that as reasonable, just far to much effort in the morning in particular.

You know that feeling when you're stuck behind slower cars and the road changes to dual carriageway and you can finally put the foot down and power on up the road?

That's the buzz cyclists get when they hop on the saddle after work and tear across town. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭yer man!

That’s not even considering weather, if you want to carrying things, if you have other places to go before, after or during work etc etc.

I think that's fine, if you don't want to cycle the 10km grand. But there are a lot of people that do not live that distance from work or want to live closer to their work. This will become even easier in future with more apartments, meaning higher density. These people could then have a really handy bicycle commute. By those people on bikes it does mean less cars, which could make the commute for those that drive a bit easier.

I think it's underestimated how many people really do want to live as close as possible to work. Take the docklands in Dublin, people are fighting to get an apartment there as it's close to all the tech companies and means you can even walk to work.

If you want to live in the country and drive, then that's grand, I don't have a problem with it to be honest, I did it myself and quite liked it. But there's so much opportunity to improve the efficiency in the city that would help every sector.

Lol you wouldn't consider 15 minutes on a bike reasonable? Thats slightly pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,107 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Thargor wrote: »
    Lol you wouldn't consider 15 minutes on a bike reasonable? Thats slightly pathetic.

Are you new to Nox?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Johnny_BravoIII

Lets say in the morning the city introduces the following:
    - a congestion charge
    - pedestrianises woodquay, cross street, ravens terrance, eglinton street,

The issue Galway faces is 78% of non-urban dwellers live rurally. We have one of the most car dependant polulations in an already dispersed country.

How do we manage city access for these people? We need massive investment in public transport over the coming decade.

I haven't seen plans for this type of traffic reorganisation anywhere other than fringe groups on solo runs with light-rail ideas or battling for the odd bike path. Where is the joined-up thinking?

Personally I hope WFH reduces the demand, otherwise the city remains a car park indefinitely.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,904 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The issue Galway faces is 78% of non-urban dwellers live rurally. We have one of the most car dependant polulations in an already dispersed country.

How do we manage city access for these people?

Apart form hospital visits, why do they need city access? Why not make the services the need available in Clifden, Moycullen, Spiddal, Oranmore, Athenry, Claregalway, Tuam and Headford?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Apart form hospital visits, why do they need city access? Why not make the services the need available in Clifden, Moycullen, Spiddal, Oranmore, Athenry, Claregalway, Tuam and Headford?

Because cities are ancient cultural epicentres. They're attractive to people who go there to socialise, work, meet people, eat in good restaurants, meet in cafes, visit museums, galleries, go to gigs, drink pints in bars and pubs, listen to music, walk the streets, shop for clothes, food and other nice things. People like the atmosphere and ambience of cities like Galway and Galway has the added advantage of being a coastal city with a river running right through it. The bigger the city the more options available, that's why people flock to Galway and not the likes of Moycullen.

Irish cities have always welcomed people from all over the country and further afield. I don't think it's a good idea to start being unwelcoming, they're part of the lifeblood of the cities of Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭xckjoo

You know that feeling when you're stuck behind slower cars and the road changes to dual carriageway and you can finally put the foot down and power on up the road?

That's the buzz cyclists get when they hop on the saddle after work and tear across town. :)

It's such a great way to start the day too. Always feel more awake and ready to go the mornings I cycle to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 794 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

When flying past in a car, this looks like a perfectly good cycle lane so I can understand why motorists think cyclists have quality facilities.

Here's the reality, this is a part of the cycle lane on Bothar na dTreabh, dangerous if you hit this on a road bike.

520007.jpg

Google Street View (wide angle to doesn't even look as bumpy as reality)

520013.jpg

Have no qualms with this... These should be fixed...

I am not anti cycling as I said before... I just want to see realistic targets.

Should we be investing more in Public transport over cycling... Does it reap benefits better...

Should there be a major incentive to have employers put in showers...

All I am saying is that there seems to be no to bypass and cycling will solve the problem mentality in some places here...

Let's get facts... 60% of transport in Galway is done by car. 5.5% is done by bike and 8.5% (I think) is done by Pub. transport...

What is the realistic targets for 2030 and how can that be achieved... Lets be clear we were told 20% for Cycling and 20% for PT in 2008... How about we ask for realistic targets and then see what has to given up to achieve those targets...

It is highly irresponsible to start a project or program with unrealistic targets... Are people that afraid of failure?

If you ask for investment under the guise of unrealistic targets you find it a lot harder to get them. People might give you nice words but you don't get them. The example of this is the 2008 plan.

If people saw a real plan which would 20% Cycling and 20% PT... that is 26% reduction of traffic in Galway... There would be no problem with investment in that... But how can anyone believe it on past results in Galway?

There is very little acknowledgement of the Population Density, topography and Weather of Galway. Again unrealistic.

There are quick wins, fix the cycle lanes that are there, E-Bikes, Showers at work,...

I suggested HOV/Car pooling land solution and was told we can't discuss that because it wasn't discussed...

The overall aim is to reduce traffic and make it safe. Asking for realistic numbers I don't think is too much to ask.

There would be no problem with investment in that... But how can anyone believe it on past results in Galway?
    There are no past results in Galway because it has never been tried, there are the same useless piecemeal bike lanes to nowhere stop starting around the place, you just saw the decision makers unanimously chicken out of a trial in Salthill, probably one of the most appropriate sites for a protected cycleway in the country.

It's been proven over and over again that if you build the infrastructure people switch to using it. I don't know what you're even arguing here, would people run cars if they could only use them safely here and there in a few random spots?

What is the realistic targets for 2030 and how can that be achieved... Lets be clear we were told 20% for Cycling and 20% for PT in 2008... How about we ask for realistic targets and then see what has to given up to achieve those targets...

The problem with these % share targets is they're like the climate change emissions targets. Let's all spend a lot of time agreeing on a number then get a sense of achievement when we have a number set for a future date then do absolutely nothing until the date arrives. Repeat and set a future date and % target.

Our "target" should be let's make X% of journeys in Galway City achievable by segregated cycle lane by 20xx, without having to interact with motorists. That target is measurable by actual infrastructural changes.

We've seen in other countries that if you have a linked up segregated network, the % share will come.

A football manager doesn't decide before a match that we're going to aim for 4-1 result at the end of 90 minutes. They aim on strategies to best overcome the team presented to them, get that right and the win will come.

Someone has been making a statement in Salthill over the last few weeks... kids bikes being left locked to poles in the middle of busy traffic. Some new bikes added or moved last night, quite clever whoever's doing it...

https://twitter.com/Giant_Foley/status/1283535294143311873?s=19

https://twitter.com/GalwayCityCars/status/1283805976580313088?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Laviski

as yes the city of cars twitter.
    where they film you and your children in your car while they themselves break the rules of the road.

thought the guards talked about those antics.

Laviski wrote: »
    where they film you and your children in your car while they themselves break the rules of the road.

That the guy that constantly cycles around with a camera around his neck and points it at cars? Absolute nuisance on the roads (and footpaths).

That man still around

He went quiet there for a while but has been back on the saddle recently, passed him about 10 times last week, randomly weaving through junctions looking for interactions.

If he's pro-cycling he's really damaging the cause, but I suspect he's just anti-car.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

He went quiet there for a while but has been back on the saddle recently, passed him about 10 times last week, randomly weaving through junctions looking for interactions.

If he's pro-cycling he's really damaging the cause, but I suspect he's just anti-car.

Similar tactics to the Cosain guy whose favourite trick is to hide behind lampposts.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,165 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

The worst road behaviour I've ever seen was on Moneenageisha road, just before the roundabout a cyclist lost the plot and put his bike down on the road in the rush hour traffic, and started to scream abuse and take photos of the black golf behind it.

All this motorists Vs cyclists BS is just too much, is it not realised that almost everyone on the road is an arsehole.

?Cee?view wrote: »
    Similar tactics to the Cosain guy whose favourite trick is to hide behind lampposts.

What used that guy be at?

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭thebackbar

One thing that really bothers me in regard to the Salthill cycle way is that no plan was actually published. No design, nor were figures published on the number of parking places that would be lost.

thebackbar wrote: »
    One thing that really bothers me in regard to the Salthill cycle way is that no plan was actually published. No design, nor were figures published on the number of parking places that would be lost.

OK, mini-rant....

The design was presumably shared with the Salthill businesses - they seem to have some veto. Why did the Chief Executive had it over to the Councillors to veto? He didn't have to, he can apply for the available funding. Why did the councillors offer the Salthill businesses a veto on it before even sharing plans with the public? It was the public that requested it.

From what I've seen, none of the 12 councillors voted it down have given any explanation for their decision. A meeting with businesses happened but no minutes published (were any taken?) or any details of what the concerns were. I emailed each of the councillors earlier this week urging them to reconsider and asking why, no reply from anyone. They have all kept silent all week. Heads down and wait for it to pass.

It was being funded as a Covid mobility project, a public health measure blocked because a few businesses thought they'd be able to make more money without it.

It's an outrageous lack of transparency. How do we know some old-school-thinking businesses didn't say "lads here's €10k cash each, put an end to this cycling craic"... I'm not saying anything untoward like that happened but nothing has been released since to even suggest anything different to that happened. Schrodinger's brown envelope.

.... rant over. ;)

After that bit of councillor bashing, it's nice to give some credit where credit's due. Spotted this today... well done on all sides!

https://twitter.com/CloHiggins/status/1284162419301011456?s=19

OK, mini-rant....

The design was presumably shared with the Salthill businesses - they seem to have some veto. Why did the Chief Executive had it over to the Councillors to veto? He didn't have to, he can apply for the available funding. Why did the councillors offer the Salthill businesses a veto on it before even sharing plans with the public? It was the public that requested it.

From what I've seen, none of the 12 councillors voted it down have given any explanation for their decision. A meeting with businesses happened but no minutes published (were any taken?) or any details of what the concerns were. I emailed each of the councillors earlier this week urging them to reconsider and asking why, no reply from anyone. They have all kept silent all week. Heads down and wait for it to pass.

It was being funded as a Covid mobility project, a public health measure blocked because a few businesses thought they'd be able to make more money without it.

It's an outrageous lack of transparency. How do we know some old-school-thinking businesses didn't say "lads here's €10k cash each, put an end to this cycling craic"... I'm not saying anything untoward like that happened but nothing has been released since to even suggest anything different to that happened. Schrodinger's brown envelope.

.... rant over. ;)

Our 12 Councillors would be out claiming it was their initiative and hard work. Disappointed our major Mike cubbard hasn’t been vocal on or replied to your email. He says he prides himself with been connected with the people. I’m very Disgusted at Catherine Connelly, for a representative who claim to advocate for cyclists she’s been remarkably quiet.

Disappointed our major Mike cubbard hasn’t been vocal on or replied to your email. He says he prides himself with been connected with the people.

Mike Cubbard sided with the public consultation and backed the temporary cycle lane. He wasn't one of the 12.