Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Illegal practices at work. Should Report or just leave?

Options
  • 27-10-2019 10:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hello
    situation.

I am a truck driver at a small business there are 5 other drivers here.
    I am only here about 5 months and I am looking for a new job but in the meantime I am very worried about the situation here.

Basically all drivers here work 11 hours + without taking breaks. This is illegal since we are supposed to have 15 minutes break before 6 hours and a half hour after that ( or 45 minutes for 4.5 hours driving the exact details arent important)
    We do this by setting are tachographs to break when we are unloading or away from the truck doing other work. Lots of drivers do this but in this company it is required by management to do so. I was told after my trial period that this would be the case but I am a new driver and needed the work so took it temporarily until i could find something better but i am trying 5 months now.
    We are paid as if we are taking the breaks so they pay 2 hours less each week.