Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whingy Returning Emigrants

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

PostWoke wrote: »
    "I sit at home alone so it's hardly going to be a good experience for me is it."
    What scutter you think passes for an argument.
    And yes, I have no experience of it prior to 9/11, but I felt far safer in NYC than any day spent around Dublin City Centre.
    Perception is everything.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I went on a date a few years ago with this girl who had moved home from Dubai or one of those places and she was nice enough and not bad looking and afterwards I discovered she had written a few articles about moving back home after being years in Dubai in the Indo, moaning about how tough her life was here or something. I wasn't arsed afterwards but she sounds like an older version of the one this thread is based on... wonder how Dubai girl is doing now...

That sounds like a story from the person writing the article tbh

valoren wrote: »
    There used to be a photoshop competition on Boards back during the time she bought the apartment. Posters suggested photos and whichever photo had the most "thanks" then that was used for that weeks competition. One week a grimly atmospheric photo of a forlorn looking Alison standing at a balcony of her gaff was the selected photo. One genius entry was a slow "zoom" in on a car which happened to be parked in the distance of the photo where the last plane showed the Picard "face palm" meme.

Succinctly summed up the correct attitude to such attention seekers.

Ah yes. Alison and her expensive parking space. With a self-pitying puss that could turn milk sour. One version did the rounds where prison bars were superimposed. Hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Funny how when she was in New York she was so melancholic about Ireland (Specifically a Northern Irish poet)

She stinks off attention seeking.

https://www.facebook.com/humansofnewyork/photos/a.102107073196735/513699518704153/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

I think this thread is the nationalistic equivalent of when you come from a dysfunctional alcoholic family that you know is a nightmare but at the same time woe betide anyone else who actually calls it what it is.

At the same time, it's not like Belfast doesn't have art galleries, theatres, decent restaurants and nightlife. Lot more to do than in most towns on this island which are basically a dozen pubs, a half dozen takeaways, 5 hairdressers, 4 hotels, 3 supermarkets 2 bookies and a petrol station. I could live quite happily in Belfast, when I was in New York I found it a bit overwhelming and very expensive.

And that's the part about the article that seems odd to me. To be able to relocate to New York and then back to Belfast wouldn't be cheap. Yet she says she needs to move back to afford her further education, and that she was waiting tables to get by in New York. I can't figure out if she comes from a well off family or not. My hunch is that she does, because waiting tables is a tough way to make rent in NYC and I'd say her motivations for working at that were less to do with necessity and more to do with wanting to try and mix with the people on the ground/get ideas for writing etc. And she probably moved back for college because, well, rich people like cheap/free stuff as much as anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I'm touched by the number of evidently new arrivals to Ireland in this thread who are under the hilarious impression that standards in the Irish media have declined with this article by a nobody. When did you people arrive off the plane?

The Dublin media: rightwing agenda-pushing reactionary West Brits & alcoholics doing the bidding of oligarchs and conservatives in power since, well, forever. It can't get worse, and it hasn't been able to get worse since at least when Independent Newspapers journalists were cheering on the police as they hammered the workers of Dublin off the streets in 1913 on behalf of their boss, William Murder Murphy. Check out The Irish Times coverage of the Easter Rising in 1916 for another taste of the mentality in question. Decline from that?

The demise of the compromised shills who constitute the journalism mob in Ireland in 2019 will be a very, very good day for democracy, openness, accountability and transparency in Ireland.

Da Derp Dee Derp Da Teetley Derpee Derpee West Brit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Goodness me, I wasnt expecting the article to be that bad....but it was. I dont want to say anything really mean about the girl, but she seems very immature. I had a masters AND 3 children at her age, sometimes I think young people these days live in a very prolonged adolescence. Not really their fault maybe, they were just not raised in tough times. I do worry though about the levels of narcissism, neuroticism and authoritarian liberal idiocy in a strongly mentally conditioned (indoctrinated) younger generation who will soon enough be the policy makers and public sevants for the whole of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Gynoid wrote: »
    Goodness me, I wasnt expecting the article to be that bad....but it was. I dont want to say anything really mean about the girl, but she seems very immature. I had a masters AND 3 children at her age, sometimes I think young people these days live in a very prolonged adolescence. Not really their fault maybe, they were just not raised in tough times. I do worry though about the levels of narcissism, neuroticism and authoritarian liberal idiocy in a strongly mentally conditioned (indoctrinated) younger generation who will soon enough be the policy makers and public sevants for the whole of society.

YES. Honestly, the things some people have been through by the time they are 30 would stagger her, I’d say. The bit that most amused me was her disgust at having to clean cutlery. Doesn’t she know how many people do back-breaking work for years and years?

Absolutely.
    Maybe she is a dreamy ethereal type of girl who has been protectef, I dont want to be too harsh. But most people get a sense at some stage in life of the tremendous suffering and effort experienced by almost everyone. Some earlier than others it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

But she did French language and literature in uni. You'd think companies would be throwing jobs at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

PostWoke wrote: »
    Homelessness crisis.

Housing crisis.

Immigration crisis.

****ty politicians.

Apathetic people.

Stop being jelly that they had the stones to do something with their lives.

Yeah, none of these in New York at all.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

Her next article will be about the back lash to this one. What a load of crap how naive is she. Then again the younger generation have a lot to learn about the harsh reality of life. I recently heard someone go on at work about how stressfull it was trying to get to work for 9am and they only live 15 mins away with no kids etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Her next article will be about the back lash to this one. What a load of crap how naive is she. Then again the younger generation have a lot to learn about the harsh reality of life. I recently heard someone go on at work about how stressfull it was trying to get to work for 9am and they only live 15 mins away with no kids etc

Shes not even part of the younger generation (to me anyways!)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Then again the younger generation have a lot to learn about the harsh reality of life.
    No they don't. Or at least no more or less than previous generations. Each generation faces their own difficulties and each previous generation is convinced they had it harder and like to lecture the next generation on this. The younger generation of today face a very uncertain future, jobs for life are largely gone, owning one's own home is a pipe dream for more than it was - something that can be laid squarely at the feet of their parents generation - and their lives are more played out in public.

People like the subject of this thread are the minority and every generation has them. I certainly knew quite the number like her in the 80's and 90's and they were just as WTF back then. They were usually, though not always spoilt middle class young women who missed or were protected from the reality of adulthood. That demographic were always good for a giggle. Hell, you can see them being referenced in the 19th century. Nine times outa ten life taught them, usually around her age, 30 and most would be mortified at how daft they were during their twenties(some never did cop on, but "married well" and transferred the protector figure to the husband). These days of course that's hard to be forgotten and social media and actual media tries to remember to make others feel better about themselves.

I for one have no concerns about the "younger generation", they'll do well and fcuk up in the same way previous generations did.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 TrampFighter

"parts of Brooklyn where you learn to distinguish between the sound of fireworks and gunshots."

you want that experience , move to Darndale in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,502 ✭✭✭valoren

Reading the article she strikes me as a wannabe manic pixie dream (nightmare?) girl attempting (and failing) to radiate effusiveness and experience. If she actually has been crying every day of the month since she returned then she should seek out a counsellor. When the reality of life and how crap it can be hit people before social media became ever present then they accepted it as it was. It's great. It's crap. It's mostly in between. There were highs and lows, work, rest, play. The concern is that when it comes time for that same reality to hit people of the author's age then it is compounded by social media and there is a greater sense of dysphoria as the likes of Instagram etc present a false and incredibly positive narrative where everything and everyone else’s life is great, wonderful and fantastic. You have both celebrities and non-entities espousing about how brilliant their lives are and for people like the author, who are having to do menial tasks like washing dishes, then it would be mentally healthier for them to ultimately realise life is mainly in between but also that social media and the popular "stars" of it is simply predicated on attention seeking indulgence and that no matter how well off or comfortable you are the realities of life hits each and every one of us and she's be better off not being so irritatingly self absorbed as in the long run it won't be healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

"parts of Brooklyn where you learn to distinguish between the sound of fireworks and gunshots."

you want that experience , move to Darndale in dublin.

Yeah but can you do laundry or meet friends there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

But she did French language and literature in uni. You'd think companies would be throwing jobs at her.

She should have done Celtic mythology and Social Studies. Employers are crying out for people with those useful qualifications

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Omackeral wrote: »

Or by toilet paper in the same shop as Jennifer Aniston

• Registered Users Posts: 21 TrampFighter

Omackeral wrote: »

yeah, they've got one of those outdoor washing machines next to the Priorswood Inn.

Thats high quality living right there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MrAbyss

Ah ok, it looks like she was trying to make it as a musician in the US. I can see why that didn't work out.

She has a pleasant voice. But nothing remarkable.

hv=NGeMnwlLwJM

A bit mediocre really

I am guessing she was on a O-1B visa. Which is supposed to be reserved for individuals with extra ordinary ability in the arts. Its a little hard to see how she qualified given that performance and the quality of her writing. With that said, it seems that there is a lot of abuse with this visa. I believe its the same visa Meave Higgins has. Make of that what you will.

Another Dull Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

My son is 28, he has served as a Garda for the last 2 years being commended twice for excellent police work. Holds two degrees and a master's no kids but he doesn't have time. His partner is putting herself through an intense course to become an art teacher while dealing with a serious health issue. Don't tar the younger generation with the one brush it's unfair and not deserved. Every generation has people like the articles author.

Suitably chastened. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Suitably chastened. :)

Chastisement was not my intention, apologies.

No, no need to apologise, I was being cynical, you're right, there are many responsible ones. Mine fall in the middle between responsible and occasional loodelahs. The one in the article is pure loodelah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Feisar

She just sounds like someone who is lost and lonely. It's not that she is really downing Ireland it's more that she has put NY on a pedestal. The reason I see for that is self protection, she is hiding from the fact she was spinning her wheels for six years flitting from job to job. There is nothing edgy or cool about living in an area where you learn to know the difference between fireworks and gunfire, that's scraping by.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Yeah these articles in the IT are now beyond tedious. In fact I have gone from 'roll eye' to downright disdain.

"I fecked off to New York not having a clue what I was going to do with myself. I am back now and I still have no fecking clue what I am doing."

She tried her hand as a mediocre pub singer and now waiting tables. A real catch. A dreamer waiting around for a miracle and for someone else to sweep her away. Dream on.

The IT seems to love this crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

valoren wrote:
    There used to be a photoshop competition on Boards back during the time she bought the apartment. Posters suggested photos and whichever photo had the most "thanks" then that was used for that weeks competition. One week a grimly atmospheric photo of a forlorn looking Alison standing at a balcony of her gaff was the selected photo. One genius entry was a slow "zoom" in on a car which happened to be parked in the distance of the photo where the last plane showed the Picard "face palm" meme.

Succinctly summed up the correct attitude to such attention seekers.

I remember that thread. The best entry was where someone did a slow zoom on what was ultimately revealed to be an onlooking David McWilliams in a nearby office laughing his head off. Probably boards.ie's finest moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Really? Because the generation currently in charge are doing such a sterling job.

"Argghh...In my day. I were down pit for 27 hours a day and paid 2 pence a week and when we got home our father beat us to sleep. But we were happy."

The 'Baby Boomer' generation are the generation that had it the best and what have they done? Sucked the life and wealth up and pulled up the ladder on their children and grandchildren.

When these children and grandchildren are forced to move abroad or live at home because of extortionate house prices they sit around slagging them off for being lazy and weak while making sure their own nests all well feathered with ring fenced pensions and huge equity.

Take a good look in the mirror.

The best description I read: "Baby boomers are like a pig passing through a python- slowly and using up all the resources."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Shes not even part of the younger generation (to me anyways!)

No she certainly is not by any stretch. Her issue is not youth. Rather narcissism and naivety.

When the Beatles wound up as a group the oldest of them, Ringo, was still younger than she is now.