Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Achill asylum centre cancelled - mod warning in OP (01/11/19)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Gatling wrote: »
    60,000 have been through DP now Dp doesn't account for asylum seekers,

We know 1800 got deportated that leaves another 58,000 + that were not deported or left as claimed by several poster's.
    And we have one of the highest refusal rates in the EU

So how many failed asylum seekers still here?
    well apparently the majority of them are still here evidence is produced to prove otherwise they are still here

Nope, the burden of proof lies on the claimant. Massive 2+2=5 assumptions being made here

• Registered Users Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Nope, the burden of proof lies on the claimant. Massive 2+2=5 assumptions being made here

When they got leave to remain or citizenship they returned home to their war torn countries and the welfare is sent to them .

rgossip30 wrote: »
    When they got leave to remain or citizenship they returned home to their war torn countries and the welfare is sent to them .

Im actually looking forward to the inevitable invasion of Albanian druglords ye predict here, one would need their product after reading the nonsense on this thread.

Well you and your pal boggles have dragged it down to nonsense level .All without any links to back anything up .Who said albanian druglords make up time now.Troll and derail .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Transginger

Imagine if it were famine times and Trump called Ireland a ****hole country and nobody wanted Catholics and people on social media were complaining that irish people are mostly just looking to live off welfare when they arrive anywhere. And Boris Johnson said Irish people are mostly fakers.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

You mean Taken 9?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Nope, the burden of proof lies on the claimant.

Posted the government figures to back my claims several times and yet the same posters deny deny deny.

nice try but this was already put to bed maybe read the mod warning too ;)

Boggles wrote: »
    You mean Taken 9?

Yea the angry mob here reckon they are already consolidating their grip on the drugs trade here.

Posted the government figures to back my claims several times and yet the same posters deny deny deny.

nice try but this was already put to bed maybe read the mod warning too ;)

Wooh. Hang on, you posted "figures" with no citation.

Where does the government say 58,000 failed asylum seekers are living among the 26 counties?

Wooh. Hang on, you posted "figures" with no citation.

Where does the government say 58,000 failed asylum seekers are living among the 26 counties?

Where do you think leave to remainers might be living .

There is also an estimated 26k undocumented .
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/varadkar-urged-not-to-forget-undocumented-living-in-ireland-1.3429507

Wooh. Hang on,

Your not dragging this thread off again

People luv their roundabouts..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Sadly when you look across to the uk, it's not a prediction, but a 'cold hard fact' for them now.

NCA: Albanians have acheived 'near total takeover' of the UK’s entire £5bn 'special white powder' market. Widely reported in the press as 'Kingpins'. There was even one report suggesting they were the bigger player behind the scenes of the recent Vietnamese truck incident (global trafficking).

Some acheivement for 0.3% of the uk's population.
    Oh, and who just happens to be Ireland's single biggest source of applicants for IPO (with 99.97% rejection)?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Imagine if it were famine times and Trump called Ireland a ****hole country and nobody wanted Catholics and people on social media were complaining that irish people are mostly just looking to live off welfare when they arrive anywhere. And Boris Johnson said Irish people are mostly fakers.

Except when we went to places we went to work and went to some countries where there was no welfare state available.

Ireland also enlightened itself to the rights of women and gay people in tandem with those countries you mention, and had free education introduced around the same time and shared a language. If you really want to make a fair comparisson its either like syrians coming to 1950s ireland or migrants from 2090 coming to 2019 ireland because thats probably how long education and attitudes in those places will take to come up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

60,000 have been through DP now Dp doesn't account for asylum seekers,

We know 1800 got deportated that leaves another 58,000 + that were not deported or left as claimed by several poster's.
    And we have one of the highest refusal rates in the EU

So how many failed asylum seekers still here?
    well apparently the majority of them are still here evidence is produced to prove otherwise they are still here

The funny thing is how are they surviving off the books?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The funny thing is how are they surviving off the books?

Driving taxis (as seen by the recent operation to pull them in), working in restaurants, on the game, plenty of ways to make money under the radar.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Then all the potato-less Irish turned around, and went the long way via Italy and Greece who both had some potatoes at least.

But with monumental effort (some would say unnecessarily) the Irish pushed on to Georgia and Albania. Where the potatoes were bigger and sweeter than anything they had ever seen.

And they all lived happily ever after.

Imagine that.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Driving taxis (as seen by the recent operation to pull them in), working in restaurants, on the game, plenty of ways to make money under the radar.

Paying people with work permits to register on deliveroo and them doing the work. One restaurant chain in dublin I have as a client staryed refusing to give deliveries if the picture didnt match the person coming to do a pickup and staff were intimidated so much by angry illegals that they resigned from the service.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

What? :confused:

He happens to be correct on this one.

It's actually well known in legal circles that specialize in immigration law. The DOJ wont exactly be issuing a press release about it for obvious reasons, but essentially once you brazen it out long enough and haven't robbed a bank or clobbered a pensioner in that timeframe - you're typically granted leave to remain. It's at the discretion of the minister of the day, but the last few Justice ministers have been following this course of action. Brushing our undocumented / illegal problem under the carpet.

Yurt! wrote: »
    He happens to be correct on this one.

It's actually well known in legal circles that specialize in immigration law. The DOJ wont exactly be issuing a press release about it for obvious reasons, but essentially once you brazen it out long enough and haven't robbed a bank or clobbered a pensioner in that timeframe - you're typically granted leave to remain. It's at the discretion of the minister of the day, but the last few Justice ministers have been following this course of action. Brushing our undocumented / illegal problem under the carpet.

Lot of legal eagles here who cant prove anything, surely ye could sell this knowledge to the papers?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Lot of legal eagles here who cant prove anything, surely ye could sell this knowledge to the papers?

I actually recall a newspaper article on this very topic some time ago. Not ars*d digging it out for you, but you're welcome to your snarky post.

Sadly when you look across to the uk, it's not a prediction, but a 'cold hard fact' for them now.

NCA: Albanians have acheived 'near total takeover' of the UK’s entire £5bn 'special white powder' market. Widely reported in the press as 'Kingpins'. There was even one report suggesting they were the bigger player behind the scenes of the recent Vietnamese truck incident (global trafficking).

Some acheivement for 0.3% of the uk's population.
    Oh, and who just happens to be Ireland's single biggest source of applicants for IPO (with 99.97% rejection)?

Grand, sure that ll be a concern for the Garda and customs when the apocalypse arrives,maybe join the force by the sounds of it instead of worrying about migrant groups in other jurisdictions.

Yurt! wrote: »
    I actually recall a newspaper article on this very topic some time ago. Not ars*d digging it out for you, but you're welcome to your snarky post.

It was a recommendation from the McMahon who saw it more as good gesture than anything else.

Various groups have been calling for it for years and it isn't actually a bad idea given some people had spent nearly 10 years in DP.

But it was shot down, the DOJ steadfastly stick to a case by case basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Look at the latest on MayoNews.ie online?

The good folk of Achill sourced local houses willing to take the asylum seekers; and were turned down flat by the Dept.

Graces7 wrote: »

The good folk of Achill sourced local houses willing to take the asylum seekers; and were turned down flat by the Dept.

No money for vested interests?

Were the houses been offered rent free?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 418 ✭✭high_king

Why are you slurring Albanians here, did you get sick of slurring Nigerians ? The hypocrisy of you slurring other nationalities including Irish people because you can't find a single genuine racist post would make a very interesting study by a psychologists. I suspect you don't even know what a racist is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 418 ✭✭high_king

It didn't play into the rural racist propaganda fantasy the Department and media liars like to spin . . that and the connected cronies were not going to benefit.

Quite disgusting that someone can tar Albanians after having a good kicking at Nigerians and no apology.

Outrageous so might even say.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭enricoh

Grand, sure that ll be a concern for the Garda and customs when the apocalypse arrives,maybe join the force by the sounds of it instead of worrying about migrant groups in other jurisdictions.

Gotta love this poster. Irrefutable evidence that albanians have taken over the uks coke trade.
    Irrefutable evidence that bogus albanians are seeking asylum hereall of a sudden.
    Answer- join the cops n dont be worrying about what happens in the uk.
    The uk got all the nasty ones n paddy will get the cuddly ones tyler eh?! Great stuff tyler, keep em coming!

Not interested in a back and forth with someone of your views. Thanks.

The new defence of the right is that they are somehow the victims, are you aware of your cognitive dissonance?you should be.