Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Late Late Show Tribute to Gay Byrne, Tuesday, RTÉ One, 9:35pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Mike Murphy Acting The Maggot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Mike looks a bit shook looking as well

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Gay byrne was as tight with money as they come

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Jaysus Tubridy, can’t even allow a joke against the RTE canteen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Skid X wrote: »
    Tubs not happy with Pat slagging off the RTE canteen

Two digs from Pat now,not bitter at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Why not have this Friday?

And cancel the Declan Nerney special?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Expunge wrote: »

There is a lot of very bitter dicks on here tonight
    Its a nice program for Gay, yes a bit cheesy, and yes a lot of the guests are greased
    But leave the cynicism at the door lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Joe hasn't the EyePhone with him tonight by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Joe with the last word, no surprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Sheesh Pat Kenny really getting his digs into RTÉ tonight, now he’s turned on the dinner ladies in the canteen :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Joe coming out with more humorless guff again. He has no funny bone really

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Jaysus Tubridy, can’t even allow a joke against the RTE canteen.

Company drone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Funeral blues from joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Expunge

Duffy with his fooking po-am. Deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Pat having a dig at the bland presenting style prevalent in RTE now :)

IMO he would be so right, but there is a time and place I suppose.m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

Oh fcuk off Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Joe always wants the attention on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Duffy really is making a total show of himself since yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Joe just quoting “four weddings and a funeral “....nothing more profound for us Joseph??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Is an ad slot not a little immoral?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Tommy on the late late is a sight i want to see alot more of, particularly on friday nights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

sligojoek wrote: »
    Yup.

rte.ie/entertainment/2019/1105/1088746-late-late-remembers-gay-byrne-on-really-special-show/

The full line-up for tonight's show is:

President Michael D Higgins

Mary McAleese

Bob Geldof

Pat Kenny

Joe Duffy

Mike Murphy

Andrea Corr

Sharon Shannon

John Sheahan

Finbar Furey

Nell McCafferty

John McColgan

Tommy Tiernan

Pat Shortt

Jon Kenny

Rosaleen Linehan

Eamon Dunphy

Twink

Fr Brian D'arcy

Paddy Maloney

Donal Lunny

Nell McCafferty

Michael Carruth

Moya Doherty

RTÉ Director General Dee Forbes

Vincent Browne

Mary Black

Frank McNamara

Aonghus McAnally

Not trying to be funny but there are a few on that list that I thought had already shuffled off this mortal coil.

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Gay byrne was as tight with money as they come

Came from a generation, like my parents, who were brought up in a time money was scant and you held on to everything you had for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Mary mental case Mcaleese and Bob I hated Ireland Geldof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Duffy couldn't leave books out of if.

Cut off before he could plug his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Was a poor choice of a poem in all fairness, it reads like the romantic thoughts of a lovestruck girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Two digs from Pat now,not bitter at all.

You know he’s been fecking waiting to get a chance to give RTE a good kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What a load of shoite.. too many self important people..

Except for Mike. He's a legend. A warm man with genuine wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I don't really get the canteen jibes tonight? The main show these days can be ridiculous and proper canteen jobs.

But to be fair, this is a tribute to Gay Byrne and RTE is where he spent the majority of his life and a proxy for entering people's living rooms for decades. Of course all his old RTE mates and colleagues are going to be on.

They're hardly going to have Meryl Streep in studio with the ghost of Peter Ustinov skyping in from Heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Came from a generation, like my parents, who were brought up in a time money was scant and you held on to everything you had for life.
    Plus wasn't the poor fecker fleeced in the early 80s by one of his best friends (grandfather of the current housing Minister)
    And then got majorly wedgied during the recession.

Duffy really is making a total show of himself since yesterday

If only it was since yesterday though.

The advertising slots will have been sold and need to be fulfilled I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭embraer170

Was a poor choice of a poem in all fairness, it reads like the romantic thoughts of a lovestruck girl.

A rather odd poem to pick.

A hidden love story no one ever knew about. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Herself is watching this, and I'm just back in the room.

Adverts...... Nice to see RTE aren't cashing in on Gaybo one last time or anything.....

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

valoren wrote: »
    Oh fcuk off Joe.

He is such a prcik, so annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Icsics

Joe would want to shut up & let Murphy & Kenny (real broadcasters) take over. And either of them would be preferable to bloody Tubs presenting this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

lawred2 wrote: »

Yep, I really like Mike Murphy.

Yes it's vulgar, it's all about the money, ker ching!

So I missed Terry prone but I get the impression I missed another “contributor.” Did I ?

Seamai wrote: »
    Not trying to be funny but there are a few on that list that I thought had already shuffled off this mortal coil.

I spent most of today wondering about the lad on the RIP thread who found out yesterday that Dermot Morgan is no longer with us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭dmc17

Tubs might need a bathroom break too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Herself is watching this, and I'm just back in the room.

Adverts...... Nice to see RTE aren't cashing in on Gaybo one last time or anything.....

Herself is watching it.
    Lol.
    Don’t be ashamed lad.
    We can all suffer together 😂

Sir Oxman wrote: »

So do I, I think some saw him as the poor man's Gay Byrne but he is his own man.

And Gay hated it when Rose Of Tralee contestants read out poems as their 'talent' piece.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 345 ✭✭Tea Shock

lawred2 wrote: »

Mike Murphy off air is a complete ignorant bastard!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Didn’t that Gaberial Byrne come to do some charity gig for a children’s charity and get into trouble for insisting on staying in the shelbourne hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Sir Oxman wrote: »

The missus is from Scotland. Knows pretty much none of these people.

Her only two comments were that the few clips of Gay Byrne showed how bad Tubridy is and that Mike Murphy seems the nicest of the lot of them.. least interested in the sound of his own voice

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

jay0109 wrote: »
    I see Frank McNamara and Theresa Lowe in the audience there. Looking happy out

Free house, wouldn't anyone be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Christ, they really are all out tonight. Sir Bob has arrived.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

The DG D4bs on the coms system to the producers barking orders to rake in the cash...:D