Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Hitch hikers - do you ever pick them up?

• 09-11-2019 1:08am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

There was a great thread here not more than a couple of hours ago about whether you pick up hitch hikers or not? Not sure why it's gone.

Wanted to reply to a particularly funny one about a lad living off land in moll's gap! I don't pick them up personally as only lads I see are on small back roads out the back of Limerick and that. Not interested in them.

Your stories below please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭victor8600

I have not seen many hitchhikers in Ireland actually. I would usually stop to pick up a hitchhiker though. Last time it was few years ago in Wicklow a couple of joggers asked for a lift. One of them had a trouble with a knee and could not run, so I dropped them to where their car was parked in Enniskerry. Not much of a story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

That was me dropped the lad off up the gap. When I asked him about food, all he said was he couldn't light a fire because the rangers would find him.
    Wonder what happened the other thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

I do but it's for selfish reasons, due to work I can be on the road a fair bit. I like chatting to random folk and seeing what makes them tick.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

What's with so many threads being deleted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Husband used to until one left a wet patch on passenger seat.

heldel00 wrote: »
    Husband used to until one left a wet patch on passenger seat.

Is that what he told you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,211 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Not the heavier ones, you’ll put your back out trying to pick them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Never ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

I was picked up when in 5th year back in 2015 by a lady in her 20s who drove me to school. The 7b bus failed to stop, so she asked me to get in her car and drove me to the entrace of my school and then drove to work as it was on the N11 in Stillorgan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I once gave a hitchhiker a lift, after a while he turned to me and said " you know I could be a serial killer" I turned to him and laughed saying " the odds of two serial killers in the same car at the same time was astronomical".
    True story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I've hitched all over the country for years going to Fleadhs and music festivals, just myself, tent, bodhran and rucksack. Some of the smaller festivals can be difficult to get to in the midlands, if travelling from Galway, but I bussed part and hitched the other half at times and its still not too bad, sometimes a wait but as long as I can get to Kinnegad or Loughrea, I can catch the Citylink to Galway.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

I feel inclined to, as I hitched all over Europe for years. Once hitched from the Irish midlands to southern Turkey. Ireland was always harder to get a lift in. But as a lone female driver I am too nervous to pick up hitchers. Himself picks them up to pay back all the lifts we ever got. Last nights pickup was stunningly drunk and frighteningly loud, smelly too apparently, and had to be taken miles out of his way down boreens in the distant hills. Im so ungracious these days that my only thought was, Great, now I have to sit in the vague residues from that drunk when we go out today. :( In Germany they have a brilliant formalised hitching system called -wait now while I make an arse of this spelling - Mitfarheng - apologies. One can book long lifts in advance, and give an agreed amount to fuel. My kids use it. Good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

I have twice in Ireland and both times they were utter oddballs, so I don't bother anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Shutuplaura

Used to be a lot more common. Even did it myself. Not seen anyone doing it in ages though. Would assume it was someone caught out in some way so I probably would stop, unless I didn't like the look of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I picked up an old fella about two weeks ago.
    He was only going a couple miles down the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Never see many hitchhikers except one smelly local lad that I’d never pick up but I would regularly pick people up on my way to work that I know are walking to the bus stop and drop them there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

I never give hitchhikers a lift, but I broke my own rule one day many years ago. I was travelling along the N11, 5 miles outside Gorey at around 10am. It was absolutely bucketing down and I passed a little old dear thumbing at the side of the road. I passed her by and headed on up the road. Of course, conscience got the better of me and I turned around to pick her up.

Me: I'm heading to Gorey missus, do you want a lift?
    Her: God bless you son, I urgently need to get to the chemist, I'm quite bad today

Obviously, I'm feeling pretty good about myself as we pull up at the traffic lights in the middle of Gorey, so I go for more brownie points

Me: It's still lashing down missus, which chemist and I'll drop you at the door.
    Her: You've been heaven sent to me mister but here is fine. I'll get out here.
    Me: I won't hear of it, which chemist?
    Her: No you're alright
    Me: I insist
    Her: Would you ever f**k off you interfering old bol**ks

With that she hobbled out of the car, slammed the door and straight in the door of the main early house in the town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Stopped for two French lads last year they were going to Galway and were doing it as a challenge/were on a very tight budget.

They were planning to go on the lash in Galway though so I'm not sure saving 20 quid on the bus fare wold get them too far in terms of a weekends drinking in Ireland. I suppose a few extra pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Yeah I do now and then. The odds of there being two serial killers in the car are pretty low I figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Is that what he told you?
    I handed that one to you!
    Smelly people is also another reason that he stopped picking up hitchhikers. Some were just too smelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,211 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Pick them up but never drop them off.ðŸ€

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

To get between where I live and the major towns and Limetick city, you need to go down winding narrow roads with no pavement that are treacherous to cycle or walk on. The public transport is abysmal, one bus a week. So sometimes you see people hitchhiking at one end or the other. I always feel a bit bad when I drive past them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,353 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

If you go across the pond to visit, I would not recommend picking up hitchhikers, or hitchhike yourself. According to the FBI crime reporting database:
    From 1979 to 2009, there were 675 reported victims of sexual assault and murder along Interstate Highways. Although in fairness this could represent a small number of incidents, why play the odds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

One time in my youth I got a spin from a sound guy but he actually had twine for seatbelts. I can't remember the car make but it was close to a banger. He decided half way to light up a spliff and then ask me did I mind waiting because he wanted a few pints in a pub before Cork. I said no and told him I'd get out to hitch another lift like i said really nice guy but you were at the mercy of who would pick you up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Black Swan wrote: »
    If you go across the pond to visit, I would not recommend picking up hitchhikers, or hitchhike yourself. According to the FBI crime reporting database:
    From 1979 to 2009, there were 675 reported victims of sexual assault and murder along Interstate Highways. Although in fairness this could represent a small number of incidents, why play the odds?

A friend told me a story of when he was driving with a couple who were friends of his in California. The couple had a bad domestic and she said let me out and so the man did and drove a couple of miles down the road and when calmed a bit turned to go pick her up . When they arrived back to where she was dropped off a man was trying to drag her into his car. He saw them and sped off.

Scary story, more scary for me was that my friend and the couple didn't bother their holes reporting it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

What's with so many threads being deleted?

Mod pms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I used to but never any more.

Maybe I’m just getting old and suspicious but any hitchhikers I see really look like they are straight out of a Stephen King novel.

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭MLC_biker

Living in West Cork, I would pick up as public transport isn't great and people have given me lifts. Will pick and choose, and drop people on my route, not bring them to their destination

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭FluffyTowel

Haven’t picked up any, but have been the hitchhiker twice. First one was after a wedding in Galway where we missed the bus to the train from a B&B in some remote place in the backend of nowhere. Ah - memories of the driver trying to feel me up while my friend was getting sick out the window in the back.

The second one wasn’t as pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Haven’t picked up any, but have been the hitchhiker twice. First one was after a wedding in Galway where we missed the bus to the train from a B&B in some remote place in the backend of nowhere. Ah - memories of the driver trying to feel me up while my friend was getting sick out the window in the back.

The second one wasn’t as pleasant.

Did you murder the second driver:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭FluffyTowel

johnayo wrote: »
    Did you murder the second driver:rolleyes:

No...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I pick them up if I have room. Only picked a few this year. There are no dodgy fcukers where I live. Everyone is lovely

Not a chance. In this day and age I wouldn’t even stop if I seen someone lying on the road so I’m hardly going to stop for someone deliberately trying to stop a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I always stop but can go many months without seeing one.
    It' almost always an alcoholic who has been drinking in town and needs a lift to their home village to continue drinking for the day.
    Don't approve of the lifestyle but they are harmless. They sometimes have a few crazy stories which are enjoyable once I don't have to listen to them for too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

biko wrote: »
    I picked up an old fella about two weeks ago.
    He was only going a couple miles down the road.

There's an old lad near me who'll stand outside his house waiting for someone to stop to take him to local village.
    I used to often give him the lift but he wouldn't be great in the soap and water department so now I don't look when I pass him, I pretend I don't see him :)

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭corks finest

Yes as long as they look clean/ sober and over 18,,,thumbed years ago everywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

No hitch hikers in Ireland. country is too small for that. Only lads and the odd lassie thumbing a lift afew townlands over the road.

anyway a rare enough sight nowadays. yes i would give them a lift if they didn't look shifty.

jayus if you stopped to lift the wrong lad ,you might well regret it.

ruwithme wrote: »
    No hitch hikers in Ireland. country is too small for that. Only lads and the odd lassie thumbing a lift afew townlands over the road.

anyway a rare enough sight nowadays. yes i would give them a lift if they didn't look shifty.

Anyone could be the wrong lad no matter what they look like. Why risk it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I'd recommend anyone to watch American horror story 1984...

Absolutely class as there is a hitcher in it.

Season 9 episode 7.

You will never pick another....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

ruwithme wrote: »

So you think appearances never deceive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

I do, I spent years on the side of motorways and roads doing it myself so I know how it feels, I used to play a game, insulting passing drivers with lines from Hardcore songs.. "this time I'm not going to let you slide" "You drew the last straw Our friendship's reached its end" etc etc
    It passed the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Anyone could be the wrong lad no matter what they look like. Why risk it?

There is a very small risk something could go wrong but my quality of life is better when I live it without thinking every stranger could be out to get me.
    Of course common sense is important when doing this but the satisfaction of helping someone outweighs my fear.

I do, I spent years on the side of motorways and roads doing it myself so I know how it feels, I used to play a game, insulting passing drivers with lines from Hardcore songs.. "this time I'm not going to let you slide" "You drew the last straw Our friendship's reached its end" etc etc
    It passed the time

I'm glad I didn't stop for you now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Not in a million years. Firstly, as a woman alone when driving the last thing I want is to invite any possible trouble or criminals into my car. Now I know people will say that most hitch-hikers are fine but since having kids, im now ultra careful and I don't need the risk in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

once stopped to give a lift mid way home, some older hippy type traveler from NZ, usual talk for 15mins drive, but maybe 3-4 years later going back from work, stopping and same guy :D took me few minutes to remember, but he recalled myself and even diff car back at the time, no clue if some farm job or returned or maybe stayed but good few years apart so nice coincidence :)

apart from one scum that was barely sober and dirty in general mostly good experiences, dont get the danger idea - same risk going out after it gets dark really into town,prob worse in comparison. But most either seem needing short lift or missing a bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No.

Last winter there were 2 young women thumbing just outside the local town at 6am still in dresses and heels from the night before, it was freezing and pissing rain but there was no way I was stopping to give them a lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭afatbollix

A neighbour of mine would come over from time to time.

He was such a lezy fecker he would hitch and once in the car would say 'Oh feck I've left my wallet at home and would say let me off here and all walk home'

it was about 200m.

The other good story I had was I was late to head down to cork from the West. I picked up a father and son, They were sailing around Ireland and their engine had gone. They were heading back to Galway for a part for the engine and then would head back to the boat.

I informed them I was running late for a motor rally down in Cork. They said that would be grand as they will get to Galway. I headed off at speed and made Galway in good time and they literaly had a lift waiting for them at the first roundabout in Galway. To be honest I don't know why.

Thinking back I might of scrared them a little bit.

They left about 10 quid in change in the cup holder tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sonyvision

I would if they were going my direction.

I benefitted from hitching a few years back. Was waiting for a bus in Italy which never came to catch a train. We knew it would be tight but no sign of a bus... no taxis and in the middle of no where my girlfriend and I had no choice.

Thumbs out standing side of the road, rug sacks on our backs within 5 minutes a car pulls in. (Lady drive mid 30s) asked us where we need to go. Couldn't have been nicer she chatted to us for the short car journey.

Got to the station train pulled in made it with 60 seconds to go. Yes we legged it through the station for the train!

Fado Fado a friend of mine who used to live out the back of Dublin Airport drove into Phibsboro every working day. One desperate stormy morning she was passing the cottages at the boot Inn when she saw an elderly neighbour standing at the bus stop. As it turns out he was heading to Ballymun Post office to collect his pension, which he did the same day every week for many years. She picked him up and said good morning Paddy, to which he replied "Fcuk you, you cnut, why did you never pick me up before?".