Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emma Watson is Self-partnered? WTF.

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

blueshade wrote: »
    She's a rich neurotic shallow former child star who is too high maintenance and vacuous for the men she's dated to want to stick around. She seems like one of those self absorbed women who take themselves entirely too seriously. This is where we're at as a society now, women who can't get sex are ''self partnered'' men who can't get sex are ''incels''.

Wow, you seem to know her well. Can you introduce us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

JayZeus wrote: »
    Until she’s a sad old spinster and realises time passed too quickly.
    Why would she suddenly jump 20 years to being a sad old spinster just because she's not letting herself be unhappy now while on the lookout for a partner? :confused:
    A fair few heading that direction, it would appear.
    Is there?
    She's a rich neurotic shallow former child star who is too high maintenance and vacuous for the men she's dated to want to stick around. She seems like one of those self absorbed women who take themselves entirely too seriously. This is where we're at as a society now, women who can't get sex are ''self partnered'' men who can't get sex are ''incels''.
    Crikey. She literally used a silly two-word term to describe herself for the current time that she's single. The rest of what you're posting is just in your over active imagination - absolutely zero evidence that she's too high maintenance and vacuous for men she has been with. Your posts get fierce aggressive towards individual women.

Yeah she does seem to take herself too seriously in some contexts, and I agree with you on the misuse of "incel" and the way it's used to undermine men but really, a phrase used by one actress isn't deserving of such ire and over analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

He will never be left on the shelf
    'cause Kevin he's in love with himself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭blueshade

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Why would she suddenly jump 20 years to being a sad old spinster just because she's not letting herself be unhappy now while on the lookout for a partner? :confused:

Is there?

Crikey. She literally used a silly two-word term to describe herself for the current time that she's single. The rest of what you're posting is just in your over active imagination - absolutely zero evidence that she's too high maintenance and vacuous for men she has been with. Your posts get fierce aggressive towards individual women.

Yeah she does seem to take herself too seriously in some contexts, and I agree with you on the misuse of "incel" and the way it's used to undermine men but really, a phrase used by one actress isn't deserving of such ire and over analysis.

Oh please it's such nonsense.

Wow, you seem to know her well. Can you introduce us?

You don't know her at all, so climb down off that white horse before you fall and hurt yourself. I couldn't care less about the woman.

Self-partner definitely is different to single, though, I presume if she's using it? It means you're not looking?
    I dunno. I don't think she means she isn't keeping an eye out - just that she's contented while currently single, instead of being miserable and desperate, which some think she should be.
    Its a case of the emporers new clothes, just on a different platform. I am just waiting for a child to say "haw haw cat lady"
    It did happen here - although grown man instead of child.

She probably would be hard work though..you'd come back late after being out for a pint or something and she'd have the Cruciatus curse put on you or something..

Oh please it's such nonsense.
    Crikey that's not great.
    You don't know her at all, so climb down off that white horse before you fall and hurt yourself. I couldn't care less about the woman.
    Neither do you know her but it's ok for you to make these claims about her? Nobody said you care about her but you care awfully about what she said.

A person can disagree without being a white knight btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

She probably would be hard work though..you'd come back late after being out for a pint or something and she'd have the Cruciatus curse put on you or something..
    Best post in the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Maybe that's just your slightly skewed memory of the time you spent with her. You probably just weren't compatible. Best to let it go.

Crikey that's not great.

Neither do you know her but it's ok for you to make these claims about her? Nobody said you care about her but you care awfully about what she said.

A person can disagree without being a white knight btw.

:D I'm guessing you're another one who can't give it away. Not to worry, it's OK to be a spinster of the parish, or so I hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

Listen if women want to pamper themselves with idiotic terms like self partnered (I.e single) then they can have the same labels they brand men with - Emma Watson is an incel. She can **** off with her self coined terminology.

:D I'm guessing you're another one who can't give it away.
    Guessing it based on absolutely zero evidence. You're not guessing it though - you haven't a counter argument so it's all you can come up with.

If people make statements without any backup like you did about this woman who did nothing more than use a silly phrase, they can expect to have it remarked upon, and are in zero position to start crying about this.

Listen if women want to pamper themselves with idiotic terms like self partnered (I.e single) then they can have the same labels they brand men with - Emma Watson is an incel. She can **** off with her self coined terminology.
    Which women though? No evidence that she calls men incels. I don't use the term about men either - don't like it. I doubt she would be unable to get casual sex too, and "incel" refers to that.

Strange hostility about just a phrase - which she came up with apparently due to people constantly quizzing her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

I doubt she would be unable to get casual sex too, and "incel" refers to that.

In which case to lose the tag they may have to resort to methods deemed incelubrious.

• Site Banned Posts: 11 DutchGold98

Didn't some mad Sheila marry herself ?
    Italian I think she was ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Didn't some mad Sheila marry herself ?
    Italian I think she was ...

Ya but she was oppressed into it by The Patriarchy :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

Which women though? No evidence that she calls men incels. I don't use the term about men either - don't like it. I doubt she would be unable to get casual sex too, and "incel" refers to that.

Strange hostility about just a phrase - which she came up with apparently due to people constantly quizzing her.

Well men that don’t buy in to relationships are frequently called incels so why should someone get to term themselves as self partnered just because they are female? She’s an incel, and no amount of whataboutery will change that.

Candidate for dumbest comment of the year.

Incel is involuntarily celibate. If someone chooses not to be in a relationship, well that's not involuntary. I don't think Emma Watson has said she is choosing to be single - just that she is single and ok about it.

Nobody is stopping men from calling themselves self partnered though.

I do agree that "incel" is a stupid term (you'd swear it was a new thing that some men can't get a woman) and used incorrectly. But I only see it being used towards men who say woman hating stuff. I don't think a man would be given a hard time by women if he just said he's ok with being single and refers to himself as self partnered. He'd get flack for using the silly term, not for being happy while waiting for his next relationship though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

The term springs to mind “what’s holding you back??”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Always struck me as something of an odd ball with an inflated sense of ego.

Same with Paltrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Holly13

Emma Watson is not gonna have a problem getting sex. Saw an article in the paper the other day showing her snogging the face of some guy (when I say “paper” I mean the Daily Mail website)
    However if she chooses not to have sex while waiting to meet someone “special” that does not make her an Incel for God’s sake.
    Also many married people and people in long term relationships can go for extended periods of time without having sex for various reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No famous person is ever going to have a problem getting sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Holly13

:D I'm guessing you're another one who can't give it away. Not to worry, it's OK to be a spinster of the parish, or so I hear.

You seem very bitter, like you are a deeply unattractive man and are angry that women don’t want you. Many, many people want Emma Watson.

And, if it's that she is waiting until she meets someone special, rather than just being with someone for the sake of keeping up appearances in the media, fair play to her..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

And, if it's that she is waiting until she meets someone special, rather than just being with someone for the sake of keeping up appearances in the media, fair play to her..

Well, exactly.

So many people are in crappy relationships because they just wanted to be with someone, anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,036 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Is Emma Watson really having difficulties getting some? I'd say I know about ten lads (and maybe some ladies) that would volunteer to relieve her of her problem.

How do you "partner" with yourself anyway. To be a partner, you have to be associated with someone other than yourself.

Maybe the auld career is going south and she has to generate some publicity.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Is Emma Watson really having difficulties getting some? I'd say I know about ten lads (and maybe some ladies) that would volunteer to relieve her of her problem.

How do you "partner" with yourself anyway. To be a partner, you have to be associated with someone other than yourself.

Maybe the auld career is going south and she has to generate some publicity.
    No it seems to be pretty well established that she said in an interview that she was single but getting on fine (unfortunately she went and used that phrase, which is silly but some folk are disproportionately bothered by it) because she was getting tired of people being bothered by her being single, and the assumption that she must be miserable.

It's the media that went off on one about the phrase then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,036 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It's the media that went off on one about the phrase then.

Maybe.

I can't say I'm all that bothered really. I can't think of a single film she's been in that give a hoot about.

It is kinda funny however, in more ways than one.

Holly13 wrote: »
    You seem very bitter, like you are a deeply unattractive man and are angry that women don’t want you. Many, many people want Emma Watson.

I'm very happily married to a wonderful woman. Emma is a third rate actress, a third wave feminist who has more money than sense. Hasn't made a single decent film since she was a kid and is probably going to end up alone and being eaten by her cats. As some of you here will be. I think she's a product of her generation, she still believes she's as special as mommy and daddy told her she is. Folks, when people tell you that ''it isn't you, it's them'', it really is you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I guess Miss Watson surrounds herself with quite feminine males that prescribe to her own world view. Unfortunately for Miss Watson, she probably doesn't fancy them and the whole thing of women liking masculine men hasn't just disappeared after 100,000 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Single isn't the same thing as celibate, though. Plenty of self-described single people are having sex. They just aren't in a relationship.

Attention-seeking celebrity euphemisms are common, such as Gwyneth Paltrow's "consciously uncoupling" for what everyone else calls "breaking up," or "self-partnered" for what the rest of the world calls "single." They're also pretty meaningless in the grand scheme of things.

Emma Watson is a young woman of 29. I'd be surprised if she doesn't meet someone and get married over the next 5-6 years.

I would be more interested in why people reference 'celebrities' so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Reading through these threads is like trying to separate your kids when fighting over the PlayStation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

She probably has very high standards,
    she would need to meet a male of similar status ,eg someone who is well off , with a high status job ,who is intelligent ,polite ,
    interested in the arts or culture .
    She will not be going out with a bloke who works in a factory .
    she is a feminist who has made speechs on womens rights and equality .Rich famous people have to be cautious ,
    there will be some people who just want to date you because you are famous .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Emma Watson is a terrible actress. Genuinely it's like she plays one version of herself I can never buy into her characters.

I thought she was definitely on to something with the HeforShe campaign as I do agree men need to do more, maybe, in making the world more fair and equal for both genders.

Self partnered? Just a really poor euphemism for single isn't it? and a really, really stupid Oxymoron from someone who purports herself as erudite.

Why don't you just say "I am very happy by myself and in my own company and frankly, I don't want anyone else right now. It is what it is"

Not everything needs a label or a term or something confusing to mask. Sometimes things can just be what they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭SnazzyPig

Self-partnering, the most fun you can have on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I can't imagine Emma Watson would have too much trouble getting laid, should that be her little hearts desire!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

Sounds like she needs a good ride. Fellas probably blow the load straightaway with her because of her fame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I like her, she seems a good sort. Plus, she has beautiful tits. :cool:

I think I get the point she's trying to make with the word-games around being single. She certainly seems to be stirring up anger around here, mind. Film at 11! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭bmc58

JayZeus wrote: »
    Emma Watson is a special kind of eejit.

She thinks of herself as ‘self partnered’, rather than single.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/self-partnered-emma-watson-the-sudden-rise-of-the-single-positivity-movement-1.4074875

I think she should just accept that it’s okay to be single and happy if that’s how you are.

The self-partnered thing is just sad and a bit pathetic. I can’t help but think she’s probably deeply unhappy and unfulfilled, on her own. Not surprising really, with the sheite she spouts to anyone who listens. Who’d love that? We all know some sad old spinster, but she’s well on her way and far in advance of her years. I bet she has cats though.

She needs someone to tell her to cop-the-f***-on before she ends up a wrinkled old man-hating dose of misery with a legacy consisting of no more than a few kids films and a load of bitter whinging and excuse-making on talk shows.

I hope people see her as the plonker she is. You’re not supposed to accept life on your own, not at her age. WTF has gone wrong in her head?

This is a new one on me.Had to laugh at this latest self definition in todays mad world.