Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boardsies Greatest One Hit Wonder Song - Live Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

By my count She's So High is at 5 and currently tied with Pass The Dutchie, and I Ran should have 6.

You are correct, thanks.

Musical Youth - Pass The Dutchie 5 Vs 5 Tal Bachman - She's So High
    LFO - Summer Girls 2 Vs 6 Sugar Ray - Every Morning
    O-Zone - Dragostea Din Tei 6 Vs 5 Babylon Zoo - Spaceman
    A Flock of Seagulls - I Ran 6 Vs 3 Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,478 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

sKeith wrote: »
    nick & kylie only had the one hit wonder

Ah yeah, not arguing with it being here, but voting for it would hurt my soul

Spook_ie wrote: »
    R1 Match 51
    Men Without Hats - The Safety Dance

Wild roses is just too weird, song about taking her virginity and murdering her with a rock, I mean WTF

My trembling subsided in his sure embrace
    He would be my first man, and with a careful hand......

And the last thing I heard was a muttered word
    As he stood smiling above me with a rock in his fist.....

It was from an album called Murder Ballads, and it's not even the darkest song on that album! :p So while it's a bizarre song as a standalone commercial hit it fits perfectly within the context of the album.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

R1 Match 52

Robin Beck - First Time

At least it has a bit of a guitar solo you can air guitar to.

R1 Match 53

Berlin - Take My Breath Away Those opening notes just take your breath away anyway

R1 Match 54 Can't say I liked either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

R1 Match 51
    Men Without Hats - The Safety Dance – Good song: gets my vote.
    VS
    Nick Cave & Kylie Minogue - Where The Wild Roses Grow – very worthy but a song I have always found too much like hard work to listen to!

R1 Match 53
    Berlin - Take My Breath Away – Just plain tedious.
    VS
    Michael Sembello – Maniac – Great song: gets my vote.

Currently

Men Without Hats - The Safety Dance 6 Vs 1 Nick Cave & Kylie Minogue - Where The Wild Roses Grow
    Robin Beck - First Time 3 Vs 5 Crazytown - Butterfly
    Berlin - Take My Breath Away 5 Vs 3 Michael Sembello – Maniac
    The Calling - Wherever You will Go 4 Vs 3 Shawn Mullins - Lullaby

Crazy town - butterfly. I used to be told that every time that song come on they were reminded of me.

Berlin - take my breath away

Dunno about the others yet.

Kolido wrote: »
    Currently

I'll push Pass the Dutchie over the line, missed that earlier. That's a classic

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I'll push Pass the Dutchie over the line, missed that earlier. That's a classic

Wooooooo

That's all my picks through to round 2 :D

Just one to resolve, with 10 left, I will post 2 groups of 5, get round 1 out of the way.

Musical Youth - Pass The Dutchie 6 Vs 5 Tal Bachman - She's So High
    Men Without Hats - The Safety Dance 6 Vs 1 Nick Cave & Kylie Minogue - Where The Wild Roses Grow
    Robin Beck - First Time 3 Vs 6 Crazytown - Butterfly
    Berlin - Take My Breath Away 6 Vs 3 Michael Sembello – Maniac
    The Calling - Wherever You will Go 4 Vs 3 Shawn Mullins - Lullaby

R1 Match 55

Eagle Eye Cherry - Save Tonight

Released 1997
    Peaked US 5/UK 6

VS

Gerardo - Rico Suave

Released 1991
    Peaked US 7/UK NA

R1 Match 56

Furniture - You Must Be Out Of Your Brilliant Mind

Released 1986
    Peaked US NA/UK 21

VS

The Bluetones - Slight return

Released 1996
    Peaked US NA/UK 2

R1 Match 57

Gotye - somebody that I used to know

Released 2011
    Peaked US 1/UK 1

VS

Yes - Owner Of A Lonely Heart

Released 1983
    Peaked US 1/UK 28

R1 Match 58

The J. Geils Band - Centerfold

Released 1981
    Peaked US 1/UK 3

VS

The Dream Academy - Life in a Northern Town

Released 1985
    Peaked US 7/UK 15

R1 Match 59

Big Mountain - Baby I love Your Way

Released 1994
    Peaked US 6/UK 2

VS

Five For Fighting - Superman It's Not easy

Released 2001
    Peaked US 14/UK 48

The calling wherever you will go. Like it more out of the 2

Furniture
    Yes
    Life in a northern town

I love all those tunes.

Kolido wrote:

Yes to Eagle Eye Cherry. Fab song.

Kolido wrote:

Better of the two in this contest imo.
    Kolido wrote:
    Five For Fighting - Superman It's Not easy

Another one I would have nominated if I had like 10 spaces. Great track.

#55 - Vote Save Tonight
    #57 - Vote Somebody I Used To Know
    #59 - Vote Baby I Love Your Way

Abstaining on the other two as I only know one of those four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Eagle Eye Cherry - Save Tonight It's acceptable.

Yes - Owner Of A Lonely Heart I despise Gotye's song and resent how everyone loves it.

Big Mountain - Baby I love Your Way I adore the part where it slows down.

Love this tune. He's still going, played Whelans recently!

Edit: Furniture. Kol, I think bluetones slipped through the net, just looked at wiki and they had 8 UK top twenties
    This is my era. Surprised they snuck in as they had loads of good tunes but they never made it the way they could/should have

Classic. And I'm glad something good came up against Gotye as that's an obvious ohw but I hate it!

Ah yeah, classic choice for this competition

Exactly what we need here, pretty rubbish generic cheese that everyone knows and kind of likes! Plus I didn't recognise Superman so had a listen there, didn't grab me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Save Tonight - glad someone else nominated it, because it was a tough decision leaving this off my list.

Slight Return - love this one, but forgot it existed. Great choice whoever nominated it.

Somebody That I Used To Know - the last of my nominations. Overplayed at the time, but having not heard it for a few years, I threw it on there recently and loved it again.

Centerfold - I've changed my mind three times already on this one, but think Centerfold just edges out Life In A Northern Town for me slightly.

Superman (It's Not Easy) - This was a close one, but just have better memories of the Five For Fighting song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Save Tonight

Superman

Life in a northern town

Somebody That I Used To Know

Abstain on other 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

Shawn Mullins-Lullaby

Good nineties memory.

Gerardo-Rico Suave

Because I want this to win for the craic.

Furniture-Brilliant Mind

Bluetones shouldn't be here.

Yes-Owner Of A Lonely Heart

Classic.

Big Mountain-Baby I Love Your Way

Don't like the other song at all.

Dream Academy-Life In A Northern Town

It's less in your face.

Love this tune. He's still going, played Whelans recently!

Edit: Furniture. Kol, I think bluetones slipped through the net, just looked at wiki and they had 8 UK top twenties
    This is my era. Surprised they snuck in as they had loads of good tunes but they never made it the way they could/should have

Classic. And I'm glad something good came up against Gotye as that's an obvious ohw but I hate it!

Ah yeah, classic choice for this competition

Exactly what we need here, pretty rubbish generic cheese that everyone knows and kind of likes! Plus I didn't recognise Superman so had a listen there, didn't grab me

Apologies, that one should not have qualified.

I can disqualify it and give Furniture a bye as I dont have a replacement now.

With 128 songs I suppose I was bound to miss 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,975 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Save Tonight ,

You Must Be Out Of Your Brilliant Mind , ace song , my pick :p

Owner of A Lonely Heart ,

Centrefold ,

Baby I Love Your Way , class tune..

Will edit in a minute when I can see what I forgot , had to park up for a minute to check the thread , damned busy Fri mornings !

Fair play if it's only one, cracking effort!

Match 57

Somebody that i used to know - best song in the competition hands down and the person who picked it is very handsome

I can't help feeling that you've forgotten my nomination, if these are the last 10 It's not showing on search

2 Macarena Los Del Rio (1996)

Spook_ie wrote: »
    I can't help feeling that you've forgotten my nomination, if these are the last 10 It's not showing on search

2 Macarena Los Del Rio (1996)

I have 5 matches left to post, it could be in those :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Match 57

Somebody that i used to know - best song in the competition hands down and the person who picked it is very handsome

Eh thanks... I think... How did you know? Are you watching me?

I love a random internet stranger in uniform

Current scoress
    Eagle Eye Cherry - Save Tonight 6 Vs Gerardo - Rico Suave
    Furniture - You Must Be Out Of Your Brilliant Mind 4 Vs 1 The Bluetones - Slight return

The Bluetones have been disqualified, I apologies for not flagging this earlier and giveing the person who nominated it another pick. Furniture advances.

Gotye - somebody that I used to know 4 Vs 5 Yes - Owner Of A Lonely Heart
    The J. Geils Band - Centerfold 3 Vs 3 The Dream Academy - Life in a Northern Town
    Big Mountain - Baby I love Your Way 4 Vs 3 Five For Fighting - Superman It's Not easy

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Tomw86

My votes;

Yes - Owner of a lonely heart
    J. Gelis Band - Cantrefold
    Big Mountain - Baby I love your way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Gotye - somebody that I used to know
    The Dream Academy - Life in a Northern Town

R1 Match 60

The Archies - Sugar Sugar

Released 1969
    Peaked US 1/UK 1

VS

Los Del Rio - Macarena

Released 1995
    Peaked US 1/UK 2

R1 Match 61

Climie Fisher - Love Changes Everything

Released 1987
    Peaked US 23/UK 2

VS

Glenn Mederios - Nothings Gonna change my love for you

Released 1987
    Peaked US 12/UK1

R1 Match 62

John Parr - St. Elmo's Fire

Released 1984
    Peaked US 1/UK 6

VS

4 Non-Blondes - What's Up

Released 1993
    Peaked US 14/UK 2

R1 Match 63

The Kingsmen - Louie Louie

Released 1963
    Peaked US 2/UK NA

VS

Chris Isaak - Wicked Game.

Released 1989
    Peaked US 6/UK 10

R1 Match 64

Gerry Raferty - Baker Street

Released 1978
    Peaked US 2/UK 3

VS

Jose Gonzalez - Heartbeats

Released 2006
    Peaked US NA/UK 9

Macarena - because it's the dance that swept the planet and who doesn't love it?

Nothings Gonna Change My Love For You - I prefer it slightly more, but neither song wow me to be honest.

St. Elmo's Fire (Man In Motion) - this was a really tough one because they're two that made my longlist for nominations and both class, but because it's the title song of a Brat Pack movie, St. Elmo's Fire gets it.

Wicked Game - another tough choice, but there's just something so enchanting about Wicked Game.

Baker Street - as much as I'm a fan of Heartbeats, it just can't compete with Baker Street which is an absolute classic.

I have 5 matches left to post, it could be in those :)

My mistake I read last 10 matches as last 10 nominations, as you were lads

Well has to be Macarena anyway now I've nominated it

Sugar sugar as I can’t stand macerana

Love changes everything. I luv climie fisher

What’s up - perfect kareoke song

Wicked game - one of the best songs ever!

Baker Street - love me some sex, I mean sax

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

greenkeeper - it puts the lotion on its skin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

brilliant, just brilliant.

Sugar sugar as I can’t stand macerana

But you've danced to it in the past I bet ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Tomw86

60 - Macarena
    61 - Nothings gonna change my love for you
    62 - Whats up
    63 - Louie Louie
    64 - Baker Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The Archies - Sugar Sugar - It's the one I actively hate less of the two.
    Glenn Mederios - Nothings Gonna change my love for you - Slow dance, erection section standard.
    4 Non-Blondes - What's Up - Close one but I give them the edge because the lead singer looks like my aunt.
    The Kingsmen - Louie Louie - Two words - Animal. House.
    Gerry Raferty - Baker Street - Arguably the best one-hit wonder ever.

I think I nommed Jose gonalzez but baker field is brilliant a potential winner

Necro wrote: »
    But you've danced to it in the past I bet ;)

Nope. And I like a boogie but I won’t do that.

Nor that just want to dance the night away song either.

Going to vote myself for Climie Fisher and John Par, 2 songs I'd play regularly, great stuff.

Los Del Rio - Macarena
    Really tough, as Sugar Sugar is clearly better, but this is the sort of song that defines one hit wonders for me, it has to progress

Glenn Mederios - Nothings Gonna change my love for you
    No great love for either to be honest, but this is the more iconic of the two by a whisker

4 Non-Blondes - What's Up
    Wanted to nominate it myself but ran out of room

Has to be, right? It's a classic

My nomination and (I think) a contender to win. Plus, Bob Holness :p

#60 - Both great shouts but Macarena wins out for me.

#61 - pass as one of them doesn't ring a bell for me the moment

#62 - What's Up, I both love and loathe it but it's undeniably a classic!

#63 - Wicked Game, an absolutely brilliant song. I wasn't sure if Chris Isaak had other hits or not, otherwise may have nominated it myself.

#64 - Baker Street for that epic sax! Although José Gonzalez's version of Heartbeats is very good I still prefer The Knife's original.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭norabattie

Can't believe Climie Fisher is against Glenn Madeiros.
    Think i'll go with Climie Fisher though.
    Hate Chris Isaack song so will go for the Kingsmen.

The rest I don't really care for so abstaining

Is that them all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Is that them all?
    source.gif

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

So many to catch up on

Owner of a lonely heart
    Centrefold
    Sugar Sugar
    Baker Street
    St Elmos Fire