Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

So you've been kidnapped..... Who's coming?

• 13-11-2019 3:10pm

Shamelessly borrowed from another forum but I thought there was a few laughs in it so whatever, here goes.

The basic premise is this - you've been kidnapped, but the rescue squad coming to get you is taken from the characters in a) the last TV show you watched and b) the last movie you watched.

For me it's the Planet Express crew from Futurama on TV, so I reckon I'd get out in one piece handy enough, maybe even enjoy the ride.

For the movie though things turn a bit nasty. Watched "Veep" on Netflix. Donald Rumsfeld, Dick Cheney, hmmm... would probably survive the rescue mission OK but might have to wade knee deep through the charred corpses of dead villagers.

How about the rest of you? Will you make it home safely? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

for the TV show, it would be Hugh Laurie and his team from House...lol. Don't know whether medical intelligence translates into finding missing people.

for the movie it would be the 9/11 hijackers or the CIA, FBI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

Nice! I think I'm safe - Freddy Krueger (Freddy's Nightmares TV series) & John Wick (movie) are coming to save me :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Either it’s gods will or the army will bust me out.

Out of the frying pan / into the fire type scenario but then Adrien Brody paraglides in and bails me out proper

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Donna, Jackie, Midge, Hyde, Kelso & Fez from that 70s show,

And Damien, Teddy & Dan from The Wind That Shakes The Barley.

Probably won't get home safe but might get high and take out a few tans along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Thomas and Arthur Shelby and the Angry Birds. Sounds good to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

For the TV show it would be Lyra and her shape-shifting, ferret/pine Martin (I think) deamon from "His Dark Materials", so not holding out too much hope there based on the show so far (never read the books)

For the film things looking a lot better: young Henry V and army complete with armour, long bows and trebuchets. So definitely will get home safely but would probably have to swear allegiance to the King of England and marry one of his smelly, medieval knights in gratitude. Probably better off staying kidnapped til Lyra can figure out how to work that fancy contraction and have marvellous adventures in an alternate universe with my daemon (which is definitely a sloth )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

For the TV show, it's Conor and Jock from The Young Offenders, so that screws that, I'm doomed! :pac:

Things are looking a bit better regarding the movie, though - this fella:

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

Right rodney kick the door down, AHaaa Del i only got these new daisey's down the market yesterday don't want the to get dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

Eastenders and El Camino,so Jesse Pinkman,but rather unfortunately he's partnered by Ian Beale.

I'm bolloxed. The waiters from First Dates and Joker.

Balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Ivan the terrible with Santa Claus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Ant Middleton & Emily Rose

I'm sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

For the TV series it's Jock & Connor from the young offenders :-(
    For the movie Denzel Washington from Fallen....He's a demon so he'll win out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The Mandalorian, so I'll be out in a jiffy!
    For a film it's Glass characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Rick,Morty and the dark knight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

From TV would be Bryan Magee and William Barrett, Professor of Philosophy at New York University from 1950-1979.

From film would be Walter Steiner and Werner Herzog. Unfortunately I only watch decent films or documentaries made for adults (by that I don't mean pornography) so I won't be able to wait on Dick Tracy or Chip N Dale to rescue me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Brooklyn nine nine
    and ghost in a shell

those kidnapper guys are so gonna get it!!!

If i had timed this better it would have been the Irish army from "The Siege of Jadotville" which would also have been awesome

Scarlett Johansson is coming to save me, not wearing much! unless she is having one of her bad days:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Rick,Morty and the dark knight

good team!

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    From TV would be Bryan Magee and William Barrett, Professor of Philosophy at New York University from 1950-1979.

From film would be Walter Steiner and Werner Herzog. Unfortunately I only watch decent films or documentaries made for adults (by that I don't mean pornography) so I won't be able to wait on Dick Tracy or Chip N Dale to rescue me.

I think everyone here is suitably impressed by your intellectual prowess. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Steviewinger

I'll be fine , Michael Schofield and T bag are coming to rescue me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Woke Hogan wrote: »

You must possess a lot of leather bound books.

Out of interest - does your house/apartment smell of rich mahogany?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I don't know what I last watched. I just hope it's Makikomi coming for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Barnaby and Troy from Midsomer Murders. I might be safe after all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Be right back

I've no hope. Tv show was the young offenders and the film was Downton Abbey.

If we go back one each, we're looking at Alf Ventress and Sergeant Craddock from "Heartbeat", and Leonardo DiCaprio as Jordan Belfort. So things don't improve much! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Sicario 2, so Benicio Del Toro and Josh Brolin are coming with night vision. Could work out badly for me though, if the mission goes south they'll just get rid of all the witnesses. :cool:

Also, just watched the last season of Jessica Jones recently, so once she keeps away from too much Wild Turkey we should be ok.

Edit: Actually no, last thing on TV I watched was pointless yesterday, so no Jessica but Alexander Armstrong and Richard Osman instead.

2nd Edit: Just remembered I watched 'The King' more recently than the Sicario films, so I'll have to rely on a weedy looking Henry V..... :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

7 of 9 from Star Trek and Darth Vader are coming to get me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Killing Eve and Terminator: Dark Fate. Good rescue team I think :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

jimgoose wrote: »
    I think everyone here is suitably impressed by your intellectual prowess. :pac:
    I like what I like. I'm almost in my seventh decade, I'm hardly going to be sitting around watching Transformers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Syndic

I'd have Nidgey and the lads from Love/Hate and the cast of In the Tall Grass.

I'm probably fecked so; blokes that keep getting themselves shot and people that get lost in grass.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭inchiuvatu

I've got the Crew from 8 out of 10 cats does Countdown, and the onmi-present robot "Mother" from I Am Mother... i should be fine.

I'll be fine , Michael Schofield and T bag are coming to rescue me.

T bag ? - you're saying you haven't watched TV since you were a kid in the 80s?

nthclare wrote: »
    7 of 9 from Star Trek and Darth Vader are coming to get me.

Pleasure & Pain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm sitting pretty pal.

I have the crew of the starship enterprise and your man from grand designs on the case:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Bob Harris wrote: »
    I don't know what I last watched. I just hope it's Makikomi coming for me.

Me mate alf(he's been on telly, kinda), his ma, my ma and the aforementioned makikomi. That said, when the gormless kidnappers get duly dispatched id probably get a clatter off me oulone for getting kidnapped in the first place and Alfie would receive the same off his ma for getting involved. The pair of them would probably start eyeing up the outsider makkikomi with suspicion, bundle him into the polo and kidnap him for 'debriefing'. Even if he's wearing boxers... Pair of bousies.

Fred and Rose West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Fred and Rose West.

They wouldn't have to even leave the house to find you. Save them the few bob on petrol. What a considerate hostage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Smith & Wesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,972 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Shamelessly borrowed from another forum but I thought there was a few laughs in it so whatever, here goes.

The basic premise is this - you've been kidnapped, but the rescue squad coming to get you is taken from the characters in a) the last TV show you watched and b) the last movie you watched.

Think I'm in trouble here.
    TV personality is Ron Swanson from Parks and Rec who I'm pretty sure will lambast me for getting kidnapped and suggest leaving me there to think about it.
    Might have better luck with movie personality, Derek Vinyard (Ed Norton) from American History X. Hope there's no kerb stones around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Last TV show was blue bloods so I'm happy with tom selleck rescuing me :)

Last film was "about time" so if all else fails we can go back in time before I'm kidnapped :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Masha and the Bear and an angry mob from Joker.

Strong rescue credentials across the board but I don't see them gelling well as a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Assuming a handful of seconds of porn doesn't count, Berk, Boni and Drutt from the Trap Door cartoon.. And I think the entire world's population died in Snow Piercer when their train blew up, aside from a five-year old kid and a drug addict teenage girl. So my fate rests in Berk's hands, really..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

For TV it is Hondo and the crew from S.W.A.T. so i think i'm pretty OK. For movies it is Mike Branning from Angel Has Fallen (and Olympus, London, has fallen) so i think i'm pretty safe there as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Vic Mackey and the strike team from The Shield are joining forces with John Malkovich and Adrian Brody from Bullet head. I think I'm safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭Tony H

From Last of the Summer Wine Clegg ,Truly Howard and Marina aided by John Wick. Might be safe ,Marina will distract the baddies while John Wick kills every one in the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Ms Crumble from Daybreak and The 1st Australiian task Force (battle of Long Tan)

Guess im good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I am f*cked. John Oliver from TV. From film, a quadriplegic Bryan Cranston and the tiny Kevin Hart from The Upside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Be right back

I am f*cked. John Oliver from TV. From film, a quadriplegic Bryan Cranston and the tiny Kevin Hart from The Upside.

Reckon Kevin Hart will save himself first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

eff'ed x 2 ....

Shortland Street .... so maybe get some medical treatment but useless at hostage resue

Moneyball .... Brad Pitt is easy on the eye, but not my cup of tea, and no good at rescue (unless its the Inglorious Bustard Pitt ... might be ok then)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Alma Lane and Morris Bellamy have taken me. Looks like it's Bill Hodges and Holly coming for me. Soon, please, before that psychopathic b1tch sticks a pick axe through my left ear. :pac: (Mr Mercedes)

If they fail then I'm relying on the guys from Saving Private Ryan. We're all going to die. :eek: