Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland vs New Zealand, International friendly, 7:45pm, RTE 2 & Sky Sports Football

• 14-11-2019 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭

1839426.jpg

Match Odds:

Ireland 4/11
    Draw 7/2
    New Zealand 7/1

Fringe players and promising prospects get a chance to impress tonight in the friendly with New Zealand. The FAI yesterday posted what would be the starting XI:

https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/1194668749388963840

Might Parrott earn a place for himself on the bench against Denmark with a strong performance? Looking forward to seeing how Clark and Brady fare on their return. Lee O'Connor debuts, and O'Hara has a first start in goal too. Meanwhile Chris Wood should be NZ's big threat. This is their first game in 525 days due to off-field issues.

Want to see a solid win. 2-0 or better. What are you hoping for from tonight's match?

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Zico !

It's not a bad team on paper I like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,934 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

the pressure on Parrott

If he doesnt score tonight he will be written off but hes only 17 and this is his first senior game

hopefully a great performace to lift the squad and supporters for Monday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

For some bizzare reason, RTE player won't work here in my inlaws in Belfast. Any way I can watch it without shelling out for a VPN?

EDIT - Sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

why have they this woman who no one knows on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Excited to see the attacking triangle of Byrne, Parrott, and Maguire. 3 technically talented lads with great movement, really hope they get to forge a bit of an understanding between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭franglan

pgj2015 wrote: »

Don't think she's too bad. People surprised to have Lee O'Connor starting? Some jump I would have thought.

Does it matter if you don't know someone, if they can offer insight?

Snowflake society its like sue the one who lives on sky sports news taking one of the lads places on soccer Saturday

christ..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Pretty certain that woman is Lisa Fallon, she is a highly quilified coach, believe she as a UEFA PRO license and works with Chelsea and formerly of Cork. Think she did some scouting and match analyse for Northern Ireland or Scotland

Massive crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Should of had this in Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

That Ireland kit is more an Australia kit.

Doesn’t look like Ireland anyway.

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Pretty certain that woman is Lisa Fallon, she is a highly quilified coach, believe she as a UEFA PRO license and works with Chelsea and formerly of Cork. Think she did some scouting and match analyse for Northern Ireland or Scotland

I think shes good. Something different at least. I suppose rte are damned if they do / dont

That Ireland kit is more an Australia kit.

Doesn’t look like Ireland anyway.

Not as bad as some are making to be fair

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

I think shes good. Something different at least. I suppose rte are damned if they do / dont

Saw her do a game a few months back(think it was champions league) she knew her stuff to be fair

Lovely ball from Byrne... the run was just slightly mistimed, but a good sign of what he offers.

Midfield have started good. Passing the ball at least.

Great to see full backs and keepers not just putting a boot through the ball.

Cullen, Byrne and Brady all starting well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Decent chance for Williams. Positive start.

Is cyrius christie gone or what from the set up some decline

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Cullen, Byrne and Brady all starting well.

Yeh its hard to know how bad New Zealand are but signs from midfield are great. Passing and being ceeative. Cullen being defensive and offering something in attack.

Zico ! wrote: »
    Is cyrius christie gone or what from the set up some decline

Just never been that good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Put these lads on against Denmark.

Well certainly get McClean off. Anyone of these lads is a serious improvement.

So we can pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭This is it

From the 5 minutes I've watched the lads look really good, though against very poor opposition I'm sure. Something to look forward to at least

It's absolutely nuts that this team of lads who've never played together look more cohesive and connected than the first team... like, the first team have played against plenty of rubbish teams themselves, and can't string 3 passes together. Today everyone's finding a teammates feet, moving for each other, working the ball around smartly. Which should really be the bare minimum, but which we've not seen for years from the first team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I know it's against NZ but I'm enjoying watching this match a lot more than usual. A lot more positives than aiming every set play at Duffy or every pass back to Randolph.

We always struggle against poor teams anyway. Gibraltor being a good example.

Thats why this is so good. I feel if the usual midfield were in ( Whelan, Hendrick McLean) we would be poor enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,838 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

finishing again, the pull back was the sensible ball if he didn’t have the confidence to go around or over their keeper.

Alan Browne is playing deeper than Cullent. In the DM role nearly. Doing well.

Great tackle by Williams, 0-1 down without that tackle..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Brady's passing has been poor, always just slightly away from the player..seems to fizz the ball at players too

New Zealand are comfortable against us nothing up front me thinks

LowOdour wrote: »
    Brady's passing has been poor, always just slightly away from the player..seems to fizz the ball at players too

Not sure about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Oh ffs. Carved us open. 1-0 New Zealand.

That was coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,424 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Commentators curse strikes again

I seriously hope we dont revert to type.

O'Connor went missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭This is it

Good goal :(

That was coming

No it wasnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Brady fast asleep there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Williams inability to control a ball to his chest started the move that led to their goal.

Oh ffs. Carved us open. 1-0 New Zealand.

Brady didnt track and Oconnor way out of position. Central midfield did well to push them wide too. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,424 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

That was coming

Possession is like 70-30 in our favour

New Zealand fair play had 6/7 players committed as far as our box for that goal, been by far the second best team but we’ve been less than impressive in terms of efficiency with the ball at our feet.

No it wasnt.

Last 10 mins it was

Corholio wrote: »
    Brady fast asleep there.

Oconnor badly caught too.