Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Toy Show 2019 - Friday 29th. November 9.35pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

walshb wrote: »
    The Sophia segment..

Nobody seems to have mentioned, or picked up on her claim that she was getting physically assaulted...

Name calling is one thing, and many many children do it. It’s natural..not saying it’s right, or nice, just part of childhood for so many...

But she also mentioned getting kicked. That is a little more sinister and nasty...

Ryan, the tool of an interviewer, seemed to let it go right over his head. Now, I am not saying he should have grilled her on it, but I would have at least differntiated it from the name calling, and emphasised it a little..

I’m in the same group on FB as Sophia’s mam, that poor child has been bullied her whole life. Even when she had ‘mainstream’ long feminine hair before she had it cut short, she still got picked on at school.
    She was damned if she did and damned if she didn’t. I’m delighted she has finally embraced her own personal style and had the confidence to go on national tv, raising awareness for the unfortunate issues she has faced in her young life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,702 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

If it only were a toy show as it used to be. Plenty of other times during the year where social issues can be addressed and it would be more appropriate.

Kids don't watch the LLS any other time of year (most adults don't, either)

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Am I the only one who finds it ironic that they had the anti-bullying segment with Sophia and pushed the message hard, but yet at the same time opened up that lad with his nanny Pat for a lifetime of bullying with his knitting and tap dancing routine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Kids don't watch the LLS any other time of year (most adults don't, either)

No kids like to watch the toy show to see wait for it.. toys not agendas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

No kids like to watch the toy show to see wait for it.. toys not agendas.

agenders? you could be right there

That’s in really poor taste tbh.

It's a play on words, and for all we know it could be the case. bit of humour never went amiss

I don't think there's been any ridicule of the kids themselves (apart from Ryan...) just questioning whether the Toy Show was the right platform to use to raise these issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

I don't particularly like the toy show and can't stand Tubridy, so this year I took the controversial decision not to watch it.
    There are literally hundreds of other things to watch on the TV or maybe take yourself out for the night.
    You know exactly what you're going to get with the toy show. If it's your thing watch it, if not give it a miss and let the hundreds of thousands that do like it, get on with it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

joe40 wrote: »
    I don't particularly like the toy show and can't stand Tubridy, so this year I took the controversial decision not to watch it.
    There are literally hundreds of other things to watch on the TV or maybe take yourself out for the night.
    You know exactly what you're going to get with the toy show. If it's your thing watch it, if not give it a miss and let the hundreds of thousands that do like it, get on with it.

Well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Just from talking to the general public yest and today there has indeed been verbal attacks and insults about the children. Along with the height of abuse for tubridy himself but he gets well well paid for it. Including from ppl generally considered pillars of the community.

Not good:/

RTÉ are 100% to blame for setting up the children for ridicule and abuse from general society. Disgusting decision by the producers of the LLS

• Site Banned Posts: 135 ✭✭Sloppy_Joe

SusieBlue wrote: »
    I’m in the same group on FB as Sophia’s mam, that poor child has been bullied her whole life. Even when she had ‘mainstream’ long feminine hair before she had it cut short, she still got picked on at school.
    She was damned if she did and damned if she didn’t. I’m delighted she has finally embraced her own personal style and had the confidence to go on national tv, raising awareness for the unfortunate issues she has faced in her young life.

How do you know from a facebook group all that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

blueshade wrote: »
    The thread has gotten off topic. This is meant to be about Toy Shows not an LGBTQ agenda being pushed.

Pardon me for laughing! :D

Some of the people on here who were triggered at the idea of a child casually mentioning her two Mams, or a young girl who liked to wear her hair short like a boy - perish the thought :eek:, were among those who were perving in the most obscene way about Una Healy during the show! Talk about the Toy Show thread? It was more like The Inbetweeners in here. So much so, that the moderators had to shut down the thread for a while.

I loved the show. I have always enjoy the Toy Show thread, but, sadly, this year was the absolute pits, due to a few negative individuals who infested the thread for most of the night. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,632 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

It's a play on words, and for all we know it could be the case. bit of humour never went amiss

A certain poster already got this thread shut down because of multiple clicks of that report button...that were obvious jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,632 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Pardon me for laughing! :D

Some of the people on here who were triggered at the idea of a child casually mentioning her two Mams, or a young girl who liked to wear her hair short like a boy - perish the thought :eek:, were among those who were perving in the most obscene way about Una Healy during the show! Talk about the Toy Show thread? It was more like The Inbetweeners in here. So much so, that the moderators had to shut down the thread for a while.

I loved the show. I have always enjoy the Toy Show thread, but, sadly, this year was the absolute pits, due to a few negative individuals who infested the thread for most of the night. :mad:

Speak of the devil.

Sloppy_Joe wrote: »
    How do you know from a facebook group all that?

Because her mother posted about it several times over the last few years and I remember reading the posts?

Talk about the Toy Show thread? It was more like The Inbetweeners in here. So much so, that the moderators had to shut down the thread for a while.

Lucky it was shut down, or it would have had to be shut down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭facehugger99

joe40 wrote: »

I can't wait until my kids grow out of it.

There's no way I'd be watching it otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Some of the people on here who were triggered at the idea of a child casually mentioning her two Mams

No-one is triggered at all. It's simply the issue that the kid is handpicked and well coached to drop in that she has two mams. Tubridy of course carries on cool as a breeze because he knew exactly what was coming because it's all pre-arranged to show RTE as some kind of cool and 'with it' broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,606 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

*re-enters thread*

Whoa.

*backs away slowly out of thread*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Una also triggered some people.

The target audience seems to be mostly composed of Facebook SJWs.

It's not a show that caters to children anymore unfortunately.

Tubrity said yesterday morning on the wireless that 1.7 million tuned in a some point to the show. And was delighted with all the social media conversations it started.
    And that the knitting chap and he’s granny we’re guests of honour at the turning on of the lights in their town.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,644 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

So the general consensus is that was the best LLTS ever. :)

Yeah it's definitely not about toys at all now.

It's a shame we can't escape these things being pushed on us constantly. The gender fluid, autistic doll for example.

The toy show used to be about kids reviewing toys and making us laugh, not telling us "this is society now". What's the toy all the kids want this year? No idea. It started off badly with the young lad with a hundred fart bags.

Was there even any Christmas songs the whole night?

They don't even have the "cool" adult toys now. Remember Pat Kenny out on a hovercraft?

I heard Tubs saying he has ideas for next years show already, he'll probably turn it even more into a societal issues program now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

sydthebeat wrote: »

That’s the RTÉ propaganda machine in full effect

Bestest and mostest PC LLTS ever. ;-)

Don't spill yer cornflakes boys ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,994 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I can't wait until my kids grow out of it.

There's no way I'd be watching it otherwise.
    Four kids

The two youngers mad into the toy show, loved it.
    The two olders did not take a huge interest in it but still watched and enjoyed bits of it.

Felt a little sad that the two olders were growing out of it.
    Thought back to the days not that long ago when they were looking forward to it all week.

Be careful what you wish for.

Actually, come to think of it, was there even any reference to Christmas in the show?

I don't think I saw a santa, heard a christmas song or hear anyone say anything about christmas.

Actually, come to think of it, was there even any reference to Christmas in the show?

I don't think I saw a santa, heard a christmas song or hear anyone say anything about christmas.

Christmas!!

Careful now.

*re-enters thread*

Whoa.

*backs away slowly out of thread*

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,288 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Tubrity said yesterday morning on the wireless that 1.7 million tuned in a some point to the show. And was delighted with all the social media conversations it started.
    And that the knitting chap and he’s granny we’re guests of honour at the turning on of the lights in their town.

Yeh, he can’t seem to shut up with the self-praise....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Field east

walshb wrote: »
    Yeh, he can’t seem to shut up with the self-praise....
    He was promoting/talking about it in some shape or form all the week before it .he had other programme presenters referring to it also - even down to it might impact on the voter turn out. It was all an overkill to me.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Spot on. In previous years this thread used to be hilarious, full of craic and memes, this year was just sad. I swear if I hear the phrase RTE propaganda one more time....

And I loved the fact the same lads "who weren't watching that RTE sh!te" posted more and knew more about the Toy show than those who "watched it".

I really hope those lads spend as much time giving out about ALL the tv shows they don't like or watch as they did to a kids show that brings joy to many families across the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Surely it would be a better idea NOT to have this little girl on TV at all, in case she decides after a few years that she IS actually a girl and wants to live as a girl. This TV segment is on the Internet forever. I don't think that it is "an important moment in Irish television", I think it is hugely irresponsible for RTE to do this.

she never claimed that she wasn't a girl though. The whole trans thing can tend to reinforce gender roles, saying to kids "if you're a boy and you like dancing/dolls/long hair then off comes the penis and in go the hormone injections"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I have to admit here that reading all of the replies in this thread made me weep for society. Some people posting negative replies here about it that night somehow had a tight twist in their knickers by going all blustered about some things that happened on a Toy show that was meant to bring joy to tons & tons of kids with their families who live all across Ireland. And these same people replying at that point were seeing it as something that was not normal. Why? I don't get the level of anger around it. It was a Toy show ffs. Many of the negative posts made in this thread was like something that you see emanating from people who have traditional conservative backgrounds who have a massive chip on their shoulder. It would make your head's melt.

The Toy show last Friday night was brilliant. I loved every minute of it.

The thread here on the other hand. Oh no. Jesus wept. Some of the comments that were written in here at that time made it total sh1te.

There. I said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I thought Tubridy was really good to be honest although there was some cheap sentiment. I did chuckle though when he said "bullies never win".

Nice thought but if you look across the Atlantic, the most powerful man in the world is an odious bully.

and across the Irish sea, the entire Tory Party seems to be made of grown-up playground bullies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

goose2005 wrote: »
    and across the Irish sea, the entire Tory Party seems to be made of grown-up playground bullies

A now Trudeau is a wank5r, but a bully I'm not sure.

I have to admit here that reading all of the replies in this thread made me weep for society. Some people posting negative replies here about it that night somehow had a tight twist in their knickers by going all blustered about some things that happened on a Toy show that was meant to bring joy to tons & tons of kids with their families who live all across Ireland. And these same people replying at that point were seeing it as something that was not normal. Why? I don't get the level of anger around it. It was a Toy show ffs. Many of the negative posts made in this thread was like something that you see emanating from people who have traditional conservative backgrounds who have a massive chip on their shoulder. It would make your head's melt.

The thread here on the other hand. Oh no. Jesus wept. Some of the comments that were written in here at that time made it total sh1te.

There. I said it.

Imagine people having an opinion contradictory to yours. Terrible stuff altogether. Then again that's the danger of a discussion forum.

People like yourself are the reason RTÉ puts out so much ****e.

Lapping it up and asking for seconds.

No wonder it’s in such a state.

It was a Toy show ffs.

Was it?

The focus wasn't on toys though.

There wasn't any reference to Christmas, Santy, no Christmas songs...

The toy selection was embarrassing for a supposed toy show, unless you're a fan of fartbags!

The show is for adults under the guise of it being for kids...kids don't have any interest in Pacman or have a clue about Freddy Mercury.

The focus wasn't on toys though.

There wasn't any reference to Christmas, Santy, no Christmas songs...

The toy selection was embarrassing for a supposed toy show, unless you're a fan of fartbags!

The show is for adults under the guise of it being for kids...kids don't have any interest in Pacman or have a clue about Freddy Mercury.

You musnt have seen the movie pixels recently...

or the freddy biopic that won awards, or the elton biopic.

BTW all my kids would know how freddie mercury and elton john are... we love music in our house.

and i could have sworn i heard "merry christmas everyone", "all i want for christmas", "im dreaming of a white christmas", "sleigh ride" as part of the set list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭gifted

It was ****e...end of!

gifted wrote: »
    It was ****e...end of!

Great input, and sure at least your viewership helped it to the 1.7m audience it took in.

Loughc wrote: »
    Great input, and sure at least your viewership helped it to the 1.7m audience it took in.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,623 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I think a lot of the grumps in this thread are looking at the toy show with cynical adult eyes, tut-tutting and moaning about how there were hardly any toys and how it was better 10/20/30/40 years ago when you were children. Back in the day (*waves walking stick), there were still a lot of musical numbers, singing, dancing, comedy, personal moments etc. too.

Any kids I know who saw the toy show last week thought it was great (including my niece and nephew with whom I watched it).

It's mainly a show for kids. You all still watched it for 2½ hours instead of changing the channel, just so you can have an auld moan here and jump on the nostalgia train about the 'glory days' of the LLTS when in fact the format of the show hasn't really changed that much since it started in 1975.

And no doubt you'll be back in December 2020 to watch it for another full 2½ hours, and back on this site to moan about that show as well.

Mr E wrote: »
    I think a lot of the grumps in this thread are looking at the toy show with cynical adult eyes, tut-tutting and moaning about how there were hardly any toys and how it was better 10/20/30/40 years ago when you were children. Back in the day (*waves walking stick), there were still a lot of musical numbers, singing, dancing, comedy, personal moments etc. too.

Any kids I know who saw the toy show last week thought it was great (including my niece and nephew with whom I watched it).

It's mainly a show for kids. You all still watched it for 2½ hours instead of changing the channel, just so you can have an auld moan here and jump on the nostalgia train about the 'glory days' of the LLTS when in fact the format of the show hasn't really changed that much since it started in 1975.

And no doubt you'll be back in December 2020 to watch it for another full 2½ hours, and back on this site to moan about that show as well.

I watched it....I sat in the same room...with my 3 kids and the three of them said it wasn't very good......we record it every year and they usually watch it numerous times over the following few weeks.....guess what, thete haven't watched it once since......every one has a different opinion....I think it was ****e...my kids thought it was poor.....other people think it was great...
    No doubt the kids will watch it again next....hopefully it's a lot better.