Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Descending Ash Hill (between Dunboyne and Maynooth) on Saturday at about 40km/h (there was a headwind!), white van man was evidently in a hurry (overtaking the car behind me on a bend/solid white line and pretty much not giving a bollix about me).
    I just hope that I didn't delay him too much...
    https://streamable.com/lpg01w

Fairly sure he overtook a car on the blind bend at the very start of the video as well.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

blackwhite wrote: »
    Fairly sure he overtook a car on the blind bend at the very start of the video as well.
    That was my take on it also.
    Either way, the fella is dangerous on the roads!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,653 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Don't hesitate with this one - it has got to be formally registered, too much going on in that clip to ignore it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Probably get away with #culture

Jesus, I felt seriously uneasy watching that van come up behind you in that one. Zero ****s given there.

Definitely one for the Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

Complete and utter stupidity even if I hadn't been there. The good times, short-lived though they were, appear to be over.

Crossing a continuous white line on a blind bend to overtake a cyclist who was already overtaking a pedestrian:

Yikes !!!

Also hard to see from the video how close they were to the cyclist up ahead of you going your direction.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,418 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

did you get the reg? that's one for the gardai.

(Not me!)
    #BloodyCyclists holding up an urgent game of golf...

https://twitter.com/AlanDub13/status/1264287245135159298?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

Complete and utter stupidity even if I hadn't been there. The good times, short-lived though they were, appear to be over.

Crossing a continuous white line on a blind bend to overtake a cyclist who was already overtaking a pedestrian:

Holy sh!t. If the Gardai don't prosecute this I give up. What a disgusting driver putting multiple bikes and pedestrians in danger. We really need to see bans for this nothing less.
    What really annoys me, other than potentially killing people, is how many more people might walk or cycle if they didn't fear for their lives because of this type of wanker.
    Hope you are OK?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,653 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Comiserations sy_flambeck, that is really appalling. If you can report it you'll be doing all of us a favour.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I had something similar today but I’m a smaller road (but no camera). Woman in large SUV coming towards me, overtaking a walker and almost putting me on the ditch. She didn’t even slow down. The walker had jumped into the hedge his side and the muppet just went about her day. Neither of us got a reg so nothing to be done, but it annoyed me and the walker. Also got chased by a loose dog today so not the best day out today..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Not really a near miss, cycling in a contraflow cycle lane , car pulls infront of me on the lane to park. I asked her not to park there , she told me to get out of her way.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fciU6xloaRI

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭cletus

I was hoping to see the interaction

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭Chiparus

cletus wrote: »
    I was hoping to see the interaction

Maybe later

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

did you get the reg? that's one for the gardai.

All bar 1 digit I'm not 100% on. I'll check the Fly 6 rear as it's usually clearer.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,975 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Information on make, model and colour of car based on reg plate is public domain. https://www.motorcheck.ie/ for example (or NCT site) will let you look up those up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭micar

Stark wrote: »
    Information on make, model and colour of car based on reg plate is public domain. https://www.motorcheck.ie/ for example (or NCT site) will let you look up those up.

+1 on the NCT website

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I think Phase 1 of the gradual reopening of the roads for motorists is well underway, pointless overtake and left hook near Dunboyne castle yesterday. Anyone know what's in Phases 2 - 5? I'm assuming aggressive tailgating and close & fast passing is next?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    I think Phase 1 of the gradual reopening of the roads for motorists is well underway, pointless overtake and left hook near Dunboyne castle yesterday. Anyone know what's in Phases 2 - 5? I'm assuming aggressive tailgating and close & fast passing is next?

I see your allowed text/FB/Insta/Whatever while driving to work again, I know that had alot of people worried

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

CramCycle wrote: »
    I see your allowed text/FB/Insta/Whatever while driving to work again, I know that had alot of people worried

Phew thank God for that. It's great to see the country gradually getting back to normal.

I saw one motorist in the Phoenix park last week driving in the newly coned off cycling lanes on chesterfield avenue. She was obviously planning her journey to work and checking these out - it's so convenient that they matched exactly the width of her car.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭tnegun

Same experience here sh1tty driving has returned these two this am

https://streamable.com/uzgl2s
    https://streamable.com/h0ut9f

Found this on the card too from last week this guy was pushing a breakfast roll into his face and had what looked like the phone and steering wheel in the other hand, am partial to a breakfast roll myself just not while driving.

https://streamable.com/q26xmm

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

That last one was pure bullying

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭Steoller

Didn't look like they registered you at all - Guards with that one. And Guards and Intel with the truck.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 juicer

Any of you heard of https://upride.cc/incidents/ ?

You can upload vids of close calls etc and pin them on the map.

Might be handy for highlighting areas with higher than usual bad driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭tnegun

Mc Love wrote: »
    That last one was pure bullying
    I think there was an element of laziness too, he couldn't change gear as his hands were full so just ploughed on through!

Steoller wrote: »
    Didn't look like they registered you at all - Guards with that one. And Guards and Intel with the truck.
    I might try Intel, not wasting my time with the guards they don't take it seriously, waste huge amounts of your time missing appointments etc. and I still have one incident open with them for the Airport Hopper earlier this year.

juicer wrote: »
    Any of you heard of https://upride.cc/incidents/ ?

You can upload vids of close calls etc and pin them on the map.

Might be handy for highlighting areas with higher than usual bad driving.

Looks interesting I'll check it out!

White Opel van (141-D-19912) on Kellystown Lane (along the side of Intel) this evening :rolleyes:...
    https://streamable.com/bhcyn9

• Registered Users Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Not a near miss as such but look at this mandatory cycle lane in Cork City today:

https://streamable.com/u0shp6

18+ vehicles, like this most days. Ignored by wardens and Gardai, and Cork City Council refuse to segregate.

This is the cycle lane leading from Cork's main train station in the city centre...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

A few yellow regs to save on the VRT as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Not a near miss as such but look at this mandatory cycle lane in Cork City today:

https://streamable.com/u0shp6

18+ vehicles, like this most days. Ignored by wardens and Gardai, and Cork City Council refuse to segregate.

This is the cycle lane leading from Cork's main train station in the city centre...

What the feck was yer man doing in the silver car on the other side of the road 19 seconds in!!!!