Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Farming Protest @ Dublin City Centre

• Registered Users Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Anyone else sick of these muppets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,323 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Yes, getting home is going to be a real joy!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I'm not affected by them so it doesn't really bother me, but sick of the whingeing Irish farmer self-entitlement bullsh*t in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

elperello wrote: »
    Another protest planned for Dublin tomorrow 2pm.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0114/1107325-farmers-protest/

Gozandu be there I guess

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

When are our Heroes coming to Dublin then? I'll take a walk down to look at their mutton heads at lunch, maybe hand out a few soy lattes to keep them going.

Would u not just give them tae ! They’ll hardly know how to spell latte much less drink one !

The knacker language ( muppets) ! Mmm say no more !
    Twas a wonder u could spell it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

Some very expensive machinery for a protest about how bad they have it. If your chosen profession isnt paying change career like any paye person and sell your very valuable assets and invest in something that does pay.

Should be there soon enough, T. Protest starts at 2. You'll smell the hang sangiches and flasks of schald when they're close.

I think they use coleslaw nowadays! A lot of townie women have upgraded to marrying country folk !
    I think the shelbourne gave them the hot water for the tae the last turn ! They are there best customers the lads in Dublin couldn’t stay there can’t afford it after they’ve there rent paid !
    The property is probably owned by a farmer anyway !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Car99 wrote: »
    Some very expensive machinery for a protest about how bad they have it. If your chosen profession isnt paying change career like any paye person and sell your very valuable assets and invest in something that does pay.

Shhh! They'll hear you, they hate when we say things like that. It's not sense they want to hear, it's handouts they're after, but they are not just for themselves, oh no..apparently it's in all our interests that they get them.... or something:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Get them growing hemp and they can still play around on their tractors, whinge about Dublin and take grants.

The Dail is suspended who are they going to complain to when they get there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,149 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Complaints pouring in now.
    A few Dubs must be stuck in their cars.
    If you don't want this to happen lads, don't live where the seat of power is. It has a tendency to attract protest of all sorts.

Get them growing hemp and they can still play around on their tractors, whinge about Dublin and take grants.

Never tasted hemp , is that in yer fancy Dublin vegan restaurants !

The Dail is suspended who are they going to complain to when they get there?

Makes no odds - they couldn't get it together last time when the minister they demanded to see came knocking early in the morning, cos they'd all been skulling cans in their tractors for half the night.:D

When you have no point, it really makes no difference who you talk to or don't talk to as the case may be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I think they use coleslaw nowadays!

Its far from cloeslaw they were reared. Notions!

If you don't want this to happen lads, don't live where the seat of power is. It has a tendency to attract protest of all sorts.

If only non-Dubs took that approach too, we'd have great peace in the morning driving to work etc. if all the non natives moved "back home". :o

But...but... where would they get their free money from the EU if they did that?

Antares35 wrote: »
    But...but... where would they get their free money from the EU if they did that?

And PAYE workers are so compliant...never protested a thing over the years. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

My approach to protests: Never object on lazy, begrudging grounds of them discommoding me, because I may have to do it (and have) one day myself.

Makes no odds - they couldn't get it together last time when the minister they demanded to see came knocking early in the morning, cos they'd all been skulling cans in their tractors for half the night.:D

When you have no point, it really makes no difference who you talk to or don't talk to as the case may be!

Word is they had few lines of coke mixed with viagra of the bonnet of the tractor !
    Before they took lady’s off the night into the tractor !
    Ah it’s only an excuse to get to big smoke let hair down u know !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Just walked by the tractors. Nice day for it, and Baggot st is so quiet without cars and vans racing through it.
    They all seem to have Louth accents, much like last time, and not a looker in the bunch.

Think that free money finds its way back to Dublin in taxes , what pays for yer fancy roads and everything else with it !

U hardly think the measly wage ye earn in Dublin keeps the country going !

Sure half yer wage comes to farmers chances are ur renting one if there property’s !

Think that free money finds its way back to Dublin in taxes , what pays for yer fancy roads and everything else with it !

Sure half yer wage comes to farmers chances are ur renting one if there property’s !

Dublin props up the rest of the country, Einstein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

And PAYE workers are so compliant...never protested a thing over the years. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

My approach to protests: Never object on lazy, begrudging grounds of them discommoding me, because I may have to do it (and have) one day myself.

But they are not protesting in the normal manner of people protesting, they are using the tractors as an intimidatory viewpoint and this is what is discommoding people - not the physical protestors.

Other normal protests do not take up the city with intimidatory tractors. I have no issue with people in volumes protesting but not with machinery in tow.

Just walked by the tractors. Nice day for it, and Baggot st is so quiet without cars and vans racing through it.
    They all seem to have Louth accents, much like last time, and not a looker in the bunch.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/d4/99/2c/d4992ccd987c7976f2fac01d55ce6085.jpg

This one was looking out fr u !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

its tax efficient to invest in new machinery

farming is all about cash flow, your payments usually come in at one or two times of the year and you have nothing coming in for the rest of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Dublin props up the rest of the country, Einstein.

It's more of a symbiotic relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Other normal protests do not take up the city with intimidatory tractors. I have no issue with people in volumes protesting but not with machinery in tow.

Do they look like this?
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQlG24AuE5HkvDcftnRMqt24yOZY5Xs9pcfWBLCmx0UhOSvFlEq&s

I'm not being discommoded in the slightest. I live and work nowhere near the protests and probably wouldn't drive in that part of the city anyway.

It's odd that you hold protestors in such high esteem, yet still imply that protesting is non-compliant. :pac:

Do they look like this?
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQlG24AuE5HkvDcftnRMqt24yOZY5Xs9pcfWBLCmx0UhOSvFlEq&s

Not quite but not far off. Any tractor in the city is intimidatory and frankly dangerous for pedestrians or cyclists.

I just... what?! :D It's like a different language. Not renting thank God :)
    I'd say most of the free money finds itself under a mattress in ballygonowhere and stays there gathering mould for the rest of it's life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Not quite but not far off. Any tractor in the city is intimidatory and frankly dangerous for pedestrians or cyclists.

Yes the most accidents with pedestrians and cyclists happen with tractors.
    Quit talking ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Can't quite figure why this is being tolerated by the Gardai at this stage though. I dare say Francie that if you and a few mates decided you didn't like say the imposition of new parking fines that you could just drive up and be allowed to block off parts of city centre Dublin. You'd be moved on quick enough, so is there one rule for citizen farmers and another for the rest? What's deceitful about these protests is that the main farming organisations won't stand behind them - it's convenient to have a few proxy renegades do their protesting. If the IFA etc. really believe in these protests and blockades, they should do it officially and put their names behind them.

But they are not protesting in the normal manner of people protesting, they are using the tractors as an intimidatory viewpoint and this is what is discommoding people - not the physical protestors.
    I'm not being discommoded in the slightest. I live and work nowhere near the protests and probably wouldn't drive in that part of the city anyway.

It's odd that you hold protestors in such high esteem, yet still imply that protesting is non-compliant. :pac:

The function of a 'protest' is to cause disruption and so bring attention to a cause.

It's working.

Yes the most accidents with pedestrians and cyclists happen with tractors.
    Quit talking ****e.

Like yourself I'm entitled to talk as much ****e as I like. However what I have said above is not ****e. Tractors are not the norm in the city hence you don't see accidents with them but then again it means that pedestrians and cyclists are not used to them. Tractors are massive and have blindspots, wheels that stick out more at back than the front, wheels that are large and also p**ts driving them in the city where they are not suitable.

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Can't quite figure why this is being tolerated by the Gardai at this stage though. I dare say Francie that if you and a few mates decided you didn't like say the imposition of new parking fines that you could just drive up and be allowed to block off parts of city centre Dublin. You'd be moved on quick enough, so is there one rule for citizen farmers and another for the rest? What's deceitful about these protests is that the main farming organisations won't stand behind them - it's convenient to have a few proxy renegades do their protesting. If the IFA etc. really believe in these protests and blockades, they should do it officially and put their names behind them.

I spent an hour or so last night, doing a bit of work for a farmer heading to the protest this morning.
    His view was that the IFA is next to useless and has lost the support of farmers like him. Too many vested interests in it.
    I don't know my self, but there does seem to be a split forming.

The function of a 'protest' is to cause disruption and so bring attention to a cause.

It's working.

Machinery has no place in a protest and if the guards did their job instead of ensuring uncle francie or brother tom from the country can bring in their tractors to the city it would be appreciated.

Guards are losing minds in dublin fast, I'm a law abiding citizen and I simply feel they are pandering to the farmers. This needs to stop.

Protest - no problem
    Tractors - no

Is it even legal to drive a tractor in a city? They gave someone on an electric scooter penalty points in Dublin recently, lol, yet you can drive a tractor around.

Machinery has no place in a protest and if the guards did their job instead of ensuring uncle francie or brother tom from the country can bring in their tractors to the city it would be appreciated.

Guards are losing minds in dublin fast, I'm a law abiding citizen and I simply feel they are pandering to the farmers. This needs to stop.

Protest - no problem
    Tractors - no

Go to a Patricks day parade in the city sometime. Vehicles of all kinds evident, from bizarre, to farming to military.

4 wheels and a road. Tractors may look intimidating to you but I assure you, a car or van or bus will do the same damage if driven illegally or badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

There is no gainsaying that tractors and city traffic do not mix.

Whatever we may think about the right to protest it's only fair to acknowledge that here is an inherent danger in bringing a convoy of heavy farm machinery into a city centre.

Big responsibility for the organisers.

Go to a Patricks day parade in the city sometime. Vehicles of all kinds evident, from bizarre, to farming to military.

4 wheels and a road. Tractors may look intimidating to you but I assure you, a car or van or bus will do the same damage if driven illegally or badly.

I come from an agricultural area, I know what tractors look like. I also have been in and viewed many St Patricks parades in my home town with tractors trucks even boats etc. However these are in organised events with people staying back from the road.

We all know that a van or bus can do the same damage but people are used to them. All it takes is one accident during these protests and you are going to see some serious backlash.

I come from an agricultural area, I know what tractors look like. I also have been in and viewed many St Patricks parades in my home town with tractors trucks even boats etc. However these are in organised events with people staying back from the road.

We all know that a van or bus can do the same damage but people are used to them. All it takes is one accident during these protests and you are going to see some serious backlash.

People shouldn't be on the road with moving traffic, van, car, bus, truck or tractor.

its tax efficient to invest in new machinery

farming is all about cash flow, your payments usually come in at one or two times of the year and you have nothing coming in for the rest of the year

If you are in a position to spend money just to become more tax efficient you must have comfortable profits in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

His view was that the IFA is next to useless and has lost the support of farmers like him. Too many vested interests in it.

Yes maybe but doesn't it suit them grand? Who stands to benefit the most? Follow the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's working.
    It's one function. The second function is to generate support for your cause. As we saw with the Bus Eireann and Luas strikes, you can actually reduce support for your cause by the manner in which you strike

Earlier today the protest (or at least part of it), were doing laps of Parnell Square - i.e. the Rotunda Hospital - making savage amounts of noise and acting in a very intimidatory manner.

Whatever about discommoding some individuals in their cars or annoying someone trying to watch TV, this is a hospital. Inside there may have been parents grieving the death of a new child, and having to listen to some mouthbreathers outside causing an ear-spliting ruckus and revelling in the chaos.

It's a perfect example of the self-entitled attitude of Irish farmers, and their complete lack of regard for anyone or anything beyond their own narrow interests.

Arrogant pricks. That's what they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Just lets the city folks know that Murphy Varadkar etc come second best to the T.D.s from rural Ireland

If you are in a position to spend money just to become more tax efficient you must have comfortable profits in the first place.

Have i not told you already - our welly wearing overlords don't like it when we say such things. You'll only anger them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Never tasted hemp , is that in yer fancy Dublin vegan restaurants !

I put the high fibre and high protein seeds in my porridge! Apparently it absorbs multiple times the Co2 that trees absorb as well.

I remember me and my friends tried smoking the seeds in the early 90s to see if they got us high. It didn't work!

seamus wrote: »
    It's one function. The second function is to generate support for your cause. As we saw with the Bus Eireann and Luas strikes, you can actually reduce support for your cause by the manner in which you strike

Earlier today the protest (or at least part of it), were doing laps of Parnell Square - i.e. the Rotunda Hospital - making savage amounts of noise and acting in a very intimidatory manner.

Whatever about discommoding some individuals in their cars or annoying someone trying to watch TV, this is a hospital. Inside there may have been parents grieving the death of a new child, and having to listen to some mouthbreathers outside causing an ear-spliting ruckus and revelling in the chaos.

It's a perfect example of the self-entitled attitude of Irish farmers, and their complete lack of regard for anyone or anything beyond their own narrow interests.

Arrogant pricks. That's what they are.

Come on now...that's a bit OTT. you think they behaved like that to aggrieve people in a hospital????

Jumping the shark there a bit now.

I agree generally though, protests can go either way.