Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Farming Protest @ Dublin City Centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I already said ppl should join the protest in solidarity with the farmers and rural Ireland. don’t want an urban rural divide but won’t be ignored and treated like the idiot brother in the attic either

I have a feeling you are that brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Anyone know where I'd get a good /cheap breakfast in the Nassau st area? I have the John Deere parked up there and don't want to be walking too far.

Go around to the Kilkenny shop Nassau Street shop, the breakfast is lovely plenty of room if you want to get a big table to discuss strategy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

If you're against this protest, I urge you to go to the nearest Lidl/Aldi, buy some really cheap meat and throw it at the farmers.

Not that I'm anti-farmer, I'm just pro-humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

They should hire a crane and several flat beds, come into the city and lift them each onto a trailer then bring them all to an impound area, anyone who attempts to interfere is arrested, job done. Its what would happen if any other group tried to pull a similar stunt.

Appeasing these arrogant yokels is whats gotten us to this stage where they think they can just traipse up to Dublin and inconvenience everyone else because they refuse to adapt to new realities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,582 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

There’s unreal anger in rural Ireland.

I’ve flagged this a few times before on various threads but yes, this has been coming a long time.

A sense nobody is listening. Maybe they will listen now.

LOL. I've been hearing the same poor mouth line from farmers since I was a kid and I'm in my forties now! Never a shred of gratitude from them.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭blackbox

What do they expect the minister to do? He can't control global prices.

When there is more beef than anyone wants, it is inevitable that the price will be low.

What would any other business do if demand for a particular product was declining. They sure wouldn't keep producing it at the same rate or even faster.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

I already said ppl should join the protest in solidarity with the farmers and rural Ireland. don’t want an urban rural divide but won’t be ignored and treated like the idiot brother in the attic either

The protest should be now over as Creed agreed to meet with them. Can you pass the message along to remove the tractors please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

If you're against this protest, I urge you to go to the nearest Lidl/Aldi, buy some really cheap meat and throw it at the farmers.

Not that I'm anti-farmer, I'm just pro-humour.

Ah come on, usually in times of crisis Dublin folk don't buy meat from Lidl, they wreck the shop and rob the meat!

blackbox wrote: »
    What do they expect the minister to do? He can't control global prices.

When there is more beef than anyone wants, it is inevitable that the price will be low.

What would any other business do if demand for a particular product was declining. They sure wouldn't keep producing it at the same rate or even faster.

100%, they refuse to adapt to their own failing business models, they have l;and they can switch to cereal crops which not only are in demand but also will help the environment as they wont be rearing cattle.

Also they complain about prices but who was it who sold off their controlling stakes in the co-ops again?

Their current situations are 100% their own fault by selling off the co-ops and not having enough foresight or quite simply any joined up thinking to understand the saturation of the beef markets would mean they needed to adapt their farming produce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Im sick hearing these farmers feed us, not all of us eat beef, and they export the vast majority of it. Seems to be an oversaturated market, maybe try something else lads.

Thats an important point that is being missed and is related to a much wider issue in rural Ireland, a fair few beef farmers are actually part-time farmers with 20 acers, while at the same time working as an engineering operative in the nearest big town, beef farming lends its self more easily to part time farming. its getting more difficult to do this

The psychological change from seeing themselves as farmers to seeing themselves as employees is huge, farming is not just an occupation in rural Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Looks like there is going to be traffic chaos in Dublin City, with the following roads closed tomorrow: Fran McNulty had tweeted the following:
    Kevin Street, Cuffe Street, Kildare Street, Merrion Square South, Dawson Street & Merrion Row will remain closed tomorrow as farmer protests continue.

Having a look at the protests and what they are protesting about it almost seems like they are trying to be the Irish gilet jaunes. What started as a protest/movement against low beef prices seems to have morphed into anti-vegan, anti-climate and other that seem to go hand in hand with those issues. Indeed they are ultimately saying is that the rural way of life is dying.

What say you? Are you on the side of the farmer?
    Do you eat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

You think it's 'support from Dublin people' we are looking for?
    We are done with that, we want fair play.

Right.

So you're idea of "fair play", is to disrupt and cause nuisance and inconvenince to thousands upon thousands of ordinary people in Dublin - who can do nothing to help you, and whose support you don't want, from getting too and from their homes.

You really thought that one through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Ah come on, usually in times of crisis Dublin folk don't buy meat from Lidl, they wreck the shop and rob the meat!

You’re lucky you’re in Ireland. Try this in Paris or London and you’d need to learn how to jumpstart a burned out shell to get home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

VinLieger wrote: »
    100%, they refuse to adapt to their own failing business models, they have l;and they can switch to cereal crops which not only are in demand but also will help the environment as they wont be rearing cattle.

Small point but quite alot of land in this country is not fit for cereal production.

LOL so "fair play" = even more government subsidies than you currently get and continued propping up of an industry refusing to adapt to modern realities

Small point but quite alot of land in this country is not fit for cereal production.

But theres still plenty that is in the south and east and is used primarily for livestock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I imagine they will be arrested if they go near the M50

AulWan wrote: »
    Right.

So you're idea of "fair play", is to disrupt and cause nuisance and inconvenince to thousands upon thousands of ordinary people in Dublin - who can do nothing to help you, and whose support you don't want, from getting too and from their homes.

You really thought that one through.

I'd say the fact that it's all over the papers and media means it's going OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,236 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Sorry, I'm at work. And if I wasnt, I'd rather pull off my toenails with a rusty pliers than join your socialist nonsense.

Gael23 wrote: »
    I imagine they will be arrested if they go near the M50

Ahem!-that's the plan.

ELM327 wrote: »
    Sorry, I'm at work. And if I wasnt, I'd rather pull off my toenails with a rusty pliers than join your socialist nonsense.

Saw a few Dubs on telly last night who seem to specialise in that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Saw a few Dubs on telly last night who seem to specialise in that kind of thing.

Come on. I asked the other lad earlier and he is more interested in soundbites than answers.

You seem to be going for this urban v rural angle. What have the dirty Jackeens done to you? What do you want us to do to make amends? Did you find that breakfast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Collie D wrote: »
    Did you find that breakfast?

And were the rashers in the breakfast roll from Irish pigs?

Were the sausages made from irish "meat filler"

Collie D wrote: »
    Come on. I asked the other lad earlier and he is more interested in soundbites than answers.

You seem to be going for this urban v rural angle. What have the dirty Jackeens done to you? What do you want us to do to make amends? Did you find that breakfast?
    Interestingly I live in a small rural village in North Meath but I couldnt be more opposed to this action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

It's all a smoke screen.

Black Friday sales are upon us. Farmers looking for free parking close to the "Grafton Quarter" shopping district to save even more money.

It's a masterstroke.

F*****g hell diesel is fair dear up here, how do ye afford to live at all.

Well foods pretty cheap thankfully.......

At this stage we're just waiting for the minister to climb down and we can go home. We're not in any rush as there's not much to be done on the land until spring time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

At this stage we're just waiting for the minister to climb down and we can go home. We're not in any rush as there's not much to be done on the land until spring time.

Minister to climb down from what? Creed isn't going to stop direct provision, reverse the carbon tax or indeed interfere in the beef market contrary to market rules.

If there is anyone going to go home with their tails between their legs, it's the farmers I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

VinLieger wrote: »

Why hasn't anybody thought of this? It's almost like farmers aren't aware that cereal crops will grow on any type of land and only love making a loss :rolleyes:

And those complaining of subsidies, if people were willing to actually pay for the actual cost of food then there would be no need for subsidies. Something is seriously wrong with the food system when 1L of milk is cheaper than 1L of water.

Minister to climb down from what?

Turn on your radio.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

They seem able to pay their hotel bills anyway.

Who said they paid !

You have a modicum of support right now from some circles but the longer you stay especially around this time of year it will quickly dissipate, firstly among business and shops which you are severely disrupting, then among the general shopping public, once that happens they can and will take action.

I hope he sticks his ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Slattsy wrote: »
    When is culchie day actually? Coincidence?!
    December 8th. They could be here for a while in that case.
    It's not the 1970/80s, there haven't been Dec 8th sales for decades, rural folk do their shopping on exactly the same days as their urban counterparts.
    Anyone that calls it "culchie" day is either a bit slow or someone with a chip on their shoulder.

Anyone know where I'd get a good /cheap breakfast in the Nassau st area? I have the John Deere parked up there and don't want to be walking too far.

Define Irony:

A beef farmer, protesting about the unfairness of the price paid for his produce due to the capitalist nature of the free market..........asking where he can get a pig farmer's produce on the cheap.

*head implodes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Just cycled past. Not a lot going on except they have baggot st closed off. A few Healy Rae looking men with those hats around. Some of the streets are a lot nicer without traffic. Maybe they're anti car cyclists like myself at heart.

Turn on your radio.

You mean the death threats your ilk have been sending?

Why hasn't anybody thought of this? It's almost like farmers aren't aware that cereal crops will grow on any type of land and only love making a loss :rolleyes:

And those complaining of subsidies, if people were willing to actually pay for the actual cost of food then there would be no need for subsidies. Something is seriously wrong with the food system when 1L of milk is cheaper than 1L of water.

Water isn't cheaper than milk, its 49c for 2 litres of water in tesco.

ELM327 wrote: »

It’s actually against the dictatorship of one man who controls the beef industry !

If ur ever get sick sometime , u may end up in one of his private hospitals that profit from our cattle paid for !

If your banking anywhere in Dublin City centre in our country’s leading banks Ull be glad to know who there landlord is !

Department of agriculture rents off him as well and u call this socialist ?

Dictatorship !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,041 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

They should've collectively paid a few hundred quid to a PR firm asking how to go about this. Its amateur hour and they won't get any sympathy from Joe Spudmuncher by pissing off hundreds of thousands of Irish commuters who themselves are just trying to earn some money and get on with their lives.

It's 80c for 5L in LIDL

Just cycled past. Not a lot going on except they have baggot st closed off. A few Healy Rae looking men with those hats around. Some of the streets are a lot nicer without traffic. Maybe they're anti car cyclists like myself at heart.

Are they not peaky blinders caps !

Vita nova wrote: »
    It's not the 1970/80s, there haven't been Dec 8th sales for decades, rural folk do their shopping on exactly the same days as their urban counterparts.
    Anyone that calls it "culchie" day is either a bit slow or someone with a chip on their shoulder.

We do most of our shopping on line or else in local shops. Very few go to Dublin for anything nowadays bar maybe a trip to the zoo now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’m not here to support the protest.

But so you realise how stupid that post makes you seem?

Cereals only grow on specific lands, in Ireland that’s quite a small portion. Beef and sheep are reared on land that’s unsuitable for cereals.

People are intimating their vegan ideals that everywhere should just grow crops and all will be good. Not so.
    The proportion of land to grow crops is limited. To grow enough for 9billion people would take masses of fertilisers and pesticides and would within a short time destroy the land.

It’s well known and accepted that variety in farming the same as variety in human diet is the best for everyone and the planet.

Ireland would be completely reliant on food imports, we would loose a massive agri food industry with all its jobs and exports. I think it’s 10% of the working population are employed in the Agri food industries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Sure they are only coming up to visit Mags to see how she is getting on with her nurse training in the big smoke.

Does food grown for cattle not require fertilizers and pesticides?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Well a lot of us endeavor to do jobs where we can earn enough to get by - we tend not to insist on doing jobs "there's just no money in" and then moan like fúck about not having enough money like it's someone elses fault.

Your lot should maybe consider something along those lines - nobody asked you to be a fúcking farmer, you aren't providing some vital public service, the world does not owe you a living!

It’s actually against the dictatorship of one man who controls the beef industry !

If ur ever get sick sometime , u may end up in one of his private hospitals that profit from our cattle paid for !

If your banking anywhere in Dublin City centre in our country’s leading banks Ull be glad to know who there landlord is !

Department of agriculture rents off him as well and u call this socialist ?

Dictatorship !

That's not a dictatorship that's free market, if it's so bad, start your own competing business!

Also: when you receive over 100% of your income in subsidies , I think the farming industry should quite frankly look for ways to improve or close. There are plenty of more deserving causes than a brand new New Holland or John Deere from the government/EU coffers!

https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/agri-business/cso-figures-reveal-extent-of-farmers-reliance-on-subsidies-38571014.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Looks like there is going to be traffic chaos in Dublin City, with the following roads closed tomorrow: Fran McNulty had tweeted the following:
    Kevin Street, Cuffe Street, Kildare Street, Merrion Square South, Dawson Street & Merrion Row will remain closed tomorrow as farmer protests continue.

Having a look at the protests and what they are protesting about it almost seems like they are trying to be the Irish gilet jaunes. What started as a protest/movement against low beef prices seems to have morphed into anti-vegan, anti-climate and other that seem to go hand in hand with those issues. Indeed they are ultimately saying is that the rural way of life is dying.

What say you? Are you on the side of the farmer?

Wow did you need a very large projector to get all that into the one picture?