Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Farming Protest @ Dublin City Centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Sure they are only coming up to visit Mags to see how she is getting on with her nurse training in the big smoke.

Well someone has to administer the methadone to ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,881 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

The minister surprised "tired"" farmers with an early morning visit. Most of them were still asleep or recovering after a late night last night at a time when most of the city was not only awake, but on the move.

He completely put them on the back foot.

They should have done their homework regarding start times in the city and FG rhetoric about people who get up early in the morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

VinLieger wrote: »
    100%, they refuse to adapt to their own failing business models, they have l;and they can switch to cereal crops which not only are in demand but also will help the environment as they wont be rearing cattle.

Also they complain about prices but who was it who sold off their controlling stakes in the co-ops again?

Their current situations are 100% their own fault by selling off the co-ops and not having enough foresight or quite simply any joined up thinking to understand the saturation of the beef markets would mean they needed to adapt their farming produce.

Sorry is this the co op u mean we sold

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/kerry-group-still-keeps-lion-s-share-of-stock-in-the-kingdom-1.1085653

Or should we have invested closer to home for u !

https://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/should-new-aib-shareholders-now-take-the-money-and-run-35860653.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Come out and support the protest is what ppl should do

Come out? Are you there? Aren't you the same lad who couldn't be bothered with the Extinction Rebellion nonsense even though you vehemently supported it, the rugby came first if I remember correctly??

Yet now you are pro-beef farming?? Absolute spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Im sick hearing these farmers feed us, not all of us eat beef, and they export the vast majority of it. Seems to be an oversaturated market, maybe try something else lads.

Yeah true - sick of exact same endless witterings about beef in all those repetitive comments. But yeah feking agriculture exports worth 2.5 Billion to the Irish economy last year - bastards *shakes fists*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

ELM327 wrote: »
    That's not a dictatorship that's free market, if it's so bad, start your own competing business!

Also: when you receive over 100% of your income in subsidies , I think the farming industry should quite frankly look for ways to improve or close. There are plenty of more deserving causes than a brand new New Holland or John Deere from the government/EU coffers!

https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/agri-business/cso-figures-reveal-extent-of-farmers-reliance-on-subsidies-38571014.html

That’s not free market he was bailed out by Charlie haughey 30 years ago and has bought anyone and everyone off in the mean time so he can use slave labour .

He breaks them down from farmers to feed lots and if they don’t want that.
    he lets the bank take them over and purchases there land from the bank cosy cartel !
    I have called on numerous times , to go on our own with our own mega factory in the middle of the country !
    Close him down !
    but he has the power of money and government behind him !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

Just cycled past. Not a lot going on except they have baggot st closed off. A few Healy Rae looking men with those hats around. Some of the streets are a lot nicer without traffic. Maybe they're anti car cyclists like myself at heart.

Some of those streets are nearly dead during the weekend anyway due to the commercial office nature of the surrounding area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Creed out. Useless

He was out this morning, apparently some of the poor farmers were tired when meeting him after being on the pints all night.

Good to hear the support on Newstalk from ordinary dubliners at the moment.

The message is Keep it up lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Plenty of tractors not too many people outside the Shelburne hotel.
    Lots of random signs...including irexit..I am not sure farming in Ireland would even exist without EU subsidies...

Hopefully it clears up before commute home but not looking likely to me.

Good to hear the support on Newstalk from ordinary dubliners at the moment.

The message is Keep it up lads
    Let see how long it lasts when they can't get from and to work for a few more days.

gmisk wrote: »
    Let see how long it lasts when they can't get from and to work for a few more days.

Ppl should join the protest. Hell, it’s not like there isn’t plenty to protest under this godforesaken government! I’m not for urban rural divide. We all share this society

Nice idea but unfortunately like most people I have a job and if I don't turn up the mortgage won't get paid.
    It would also help if there was some kind of a collective message rather than random signs for everything.
    For example.
    "Plant the seeke no more eatee"

Have you joined it? Did you join the Extinction rebellion one in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Jesus will ya stop inviting the rent a mob crew along that just want to stick it to whatever government is about today. They will cause trouble, want specifically to have friction with the guards and all the flack will fall back onto farmers.

It’s bad enough putting such a disorganised front on this useless protest without getting the thugs along to make it violent too.

I don’t mean this to be taken up wrongly but

For Irish ppl Dublin is OUR capital city

It is not exclusively for dubliners

Hence we take the protest to dublin and take the fight right up in their grills of their big mercs and in their faces

Time has passed for ye to pass by and pretend ye are not seeing rural Ireland’s concerns

Are you there?? You haven't answered that so far, despite being asked numerous times.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Who sets the base price for beef?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

N
    For example.
    "Plant the seeke no more eatee"

Sorry, i don't speak culchie - does this mean something?

It's like something my 5 year old would scribble on the sitting room wall for reasons best known to herself!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,236 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

That’s not free market he was bailed out by Charlie haughey 30 years ago and has bought anyone and everyone off in the mean time so he can use slave labour .

He breaks them down from farmers to feed lots and if they don’t want that.
    he lets the bank take them over and purchases there land from the bank cosy cartel !
    I have called on numerous times , to go on our own with our own mega factory in the middle of the country !
    Close him down !
    but he has the power of money and government behind him !

Who is your big conspiracy against?

Has the price of tinfoil hats gone up? Disappointed that Gemma is not running in your constituency?

Creed out. Useless
    More use than the hung over farmers at a time when many including myself were en route to work
    Plenty of tractors not too many people outside the Shelburne hotel.
    Lots of random signs...including irexit..I am not sure farming in Ireland would even exist without EU subsidies...

Hopefully it clears up before commute home but not looking likely to me.
    Ha.
    Ha ha,
    HAAAAAAAAAAAAAA BWAHHHAAAAAA

Irexit. Lol.
    The farmers would be entering a whole new world of pain without the handouts from EU!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I think people would be more sympathetic if there was a genuine grounds for the protest, if for example there was a cartel in the beef industry. But there has been no evidence of that found.

Essentially they're demanding that the state artificially raise prices for beef. Nobody can support that, because it creates a precedent. People working in every other sector will start protesting and demanding that the state introduce a minimum price for their products too. And you know what that leads to...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MrAbyss

Hence we take the protest to dublin and take the fight right up in their grills of their big mercs and in their faces

If you read the TD/Councillor press releases and editorials in the regional papers it is all 'the Dublin Government' this and that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

A proprotion of Farmers have a grievance - I get it - Possibly 50% of Dubliners also have a grievance - extortinate rent and house prices - but Dubliners dont take ther grievance out on innocent citizens going about ther day, trying to make ends meet, coming home or going to work like last night and today - the dissruption was chaotic its just an act of bullying by a small set of Farmers. Take your issue with the Government or whoever is responsible for your problem but not inoocent civillians. Still fuming from the traffic disruption last night - zero sympathy now.

Sorry, i don't speak culchie - does this mean something?

It's like something my 5 year old would scribble on the sitting room wall for reasons best known to herself!:D
    I am a culchie...I have no idea

thebaz wrote: »
    A proprotion of Farmers have a grievance - I get it - Possibly 50% of Dubliners also have a grievance - extortinate rent and house prices - but Dubliners dont take ther grievance out on innocent citizens going about ther day, trying to make ends meet, coming home or going to work like last night and today - the dissruption was chaotic its just an act of bullying by a small set of Farmers. Take your issue with the Government or whoever is responsible for your problem but not inoocent civillians. Still fuming from the traffic disruption last night - zero sympathy now.

Baz it’s part of the price you pay for living in a capital city that is the seat of government - let’s be real about this.

Btw I’d be fine with the seat of govt being in the geographical center of the state. Somewhere around athlone

Would make a lot of sense.

Maybe rural Ireland’s voice would be heard louder before the sheer anger and frustrations overflow?

Ppl on this don’t seem to be clued into the sheer misery and desperation that is in rural Ireland.

Then the protests would centre there.

The disruption It’s not personal to you, honestly.

Protest no problem, on foot like normal considerate citizens do, this creates some blockages but the city does not come to standstill.

"Protest" with tractors is not a protest, its intimidation, its blockade, its against all other citizens rights. If any other group had done it there would be arrests for obstruction. But no the gardai themselves are generally from county so dont want to upset the apple cart. Seriously why is the training centre in templemore, why not a greenfield section in dublin area.

Baz it’s part of the price you pay for living in a capital city that is the seat of government - let’s be real about this.

Btw I’d be fine with the seat of govt being in the geographical center of the state. Somewhere around athlone

Maybe rural Ireland’s voice would be heard louder before the sheer anger and frustrations overflow?

Ppl on this don’t seem to be clued into the sheer misery and desperation that is in rural Ireland.

Its not a protest - its bully boy tactics with tractors - move them, get down off them and walk like normal protestors not bullies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

It’s not personal to you, honestly.

Well it was last night , when I got stuck in unending traffic , late for an appointment , trying to make ends meet for me , so I can pay my ****ing extorinate rent - If i had done similar I would be clamped and arrested - one rule for some and another for others

Why not join the protest?

I see your problems as legitimate!

I support your protest.

You should support rural Ireland’s.

We are one society with HUGE problems and HUGE solutions are desperately desperately needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

If you can say that about housing surely commuters could easily counter with saying that dealing with a low price is the price farmers pay for over producing product and refusing to diversify away from beef?

• Registered Users Posts: 8 memyself33

Define Irony:

A beef farmer, protesting about the unfairness of the price paid for his produce due to the capitalist nature of the free market..........asking where he can get a pig farmer's produce on the cheap.

*head implodes*

Utter rubbish. Irish farmers aren't participating in a free market.

They are getting shafted by the main processors who have for the past 20 years have been buying up all the other small meat processors.

The market is a monopoly/ cartel controlled by a handful of buyers who have all the power in the process. That is the real story here.

memyself33 wrote: »

They are getting shafted by the main processors who have for the past 20 years have been buying up all the other small meat processors.

The market is a monopoly/ cartel controlled by a handful of buyers who have all the power in the process. That is the real story here.

This

I support your protest.

We are one society with HUGE problems and HUGE solutions are desperately desperately needed.
    This is NOT rural Ireland's protest. I am from rural Ireland and:
    ELM327 wrote: »
    Sorry, I'm at work. And if I wasnt, I'd rather pull off my toenails with a rusty pliers than join your socialist nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

_Brian wrote: »
    I’m not here to support the protest.

But so you realise how stupid that post makes you seem?

Cereals only grow on specific lands, in Ireland that’s quite a small portion. Beef and sheep are reared on land that’s unsuitable for cereals.

People are intimating their vegan ideals that everywhere should just grow crops and all will be good. Not so.
    The proportion of land to grow crops is limited. To grow enough for 9billion people would take masses of fertilisers and pesticides and would within a short time destroy the land.

It’s well known and accepted that variety in farming the same as variety in human diet is the best for everyone and the planet.

Ireland would be completely reliant on food imports, we would loose a massive agri food industry with all its jobs and exports. I think it’s 10% of the working population are employed in the Agri food industries

That was my point, hence the rollie eyes...I was being sarcastic!
    I was addressing another poster who asked why don't farmers just grow cereals instead of beef.

Did you even read the rest of my post, it was pretty obvious I was on the side of the farmer?

Ok so a handful of buyers have been buying up the small meat processors - did you's not see that coming. If not then you arent working the market and if you did why didnt you do something like create a co-op to buy the meat processors yourselves.

OR

Setup meat processing plants yourselves now, its a long term plan.

hmmm.. long term planning whats a word for that

Oh yes strategic business plan. If you're a business you have to have one.

The old question if something came out tomorrow that would completely take over your marketplace putting your business in jeopardy what could your business do to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,835 ✭✭✭Allinall

I support your protest.

Are you there?

What’s the atmosphere like on the ground there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭tjhook

Time has passed for ye to pass by and pretend ye are not seeing rural Ireland’s concerns

I feel pretty safe assuming that most of the farmers currently blocking up Dublin weren't there for previous protests, like the Homelssness protests
    Or campaigning for better public transport in the Dublin.

But if inconveniencing people is the way to get their support, I'll do my bit today. I'll buy a nice Argentinian steak on the way home, to be washed down with Northern Irish milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

A proprotion of Farmers have a grievance - I get it - .

I don't.

What's their grievance? They can't make a living selling beef?

So what, don't sell beef - problem solved. I can't make a living selling willy warmers!

There's plenty of things you can't make a living doing, but there's also plenty of things you can - have any of these geniuses ever considered trying something off the "can make a living at" list instead.

Seriously what sort of imbecile buys 10's or even 100's of thousands worth of machinery, so they can work 80 hour weeks for fúck all money (as our farming brethren would have us believe) Would you not be better off doing 40 hours in McDonalds instead?

Shower of fúcking lying whinging gobshítes!

tjhook wrote: »
    I feel pretty safe assuming that most of the farmers currently blocking up Dublin weren't there for previous protests, like the Homelssness protests
    Or campaigning for better public transport in the Dublin.

But if inconveniencing people is the way to get their support, I'll do my bit today. I'll buy a nice Argentinian steak on the way home, to be washed down with Northern Irish milk.

Ppl in rural Ireland support better public transport throughout Ireland including dublin.

I doubt many on the protest are against the homeless campaign.

Rolls eyes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Have they left yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

The traffic garda / traffic wardens (whoever is necessary) should be getting prepared now so they are ready to arrest anyone using a vehicle to causing an obstruction to traffic this evening, and impound their vehicles immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Ppl in rural Ireland support better public transport throughout Ireland including dublin.

Rolls eyes
    They are also against direct provision, pub and post office closures, speeding laws, carbon taxes too

How were they able to buy up the smaller guys? Hint: capitalism and the free market ;)

Anyway, if that's what the real issue is.....what's the proposed solution here? Artificially raise the price paid by the processors? Why not establish some sort of co-op to compete with the big boys instead of asking for subsidies and handouts?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

I think people would be more sympathetic if there was a genuine grounds for the protest, if for example there was a cartel in the beef industry. But there has been no evidence of that found.

Essentially they're demanding that the state artificially raise prices for beef. Nobody can support that, because it creates a precedent. People working in every other sector will start protesting and demanding that the state introduce a minimum price for their products too. And you know what that leads to...

They're demanding that the state artificially raise prices for beef?

Do you even know what you're talking about? You sir are the primary beneficiary of subsidies and predatory supermarket practices. If you had to pay the actual cost of producing the steak on your plate you'd choke on it! The only thing artificial about the price of the meat on your plate is in fact how low it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

The solution to this was well outlined during the meat plant blockades - beef farmers to set up co-ops running their own meat processing plants.

It's been a well trodden route down the decades. The only reason that people might be unwilling to do this is because they have some inkling of the costs involved and the ever increasing burden of compliance with legislation.

But that's the solution, if producers are convinced they are being screwed, then bypass the 'Goodmans' etc and set up own plants.

I have sympathy with the general plight but time to put money where the mouth is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

conorhal wrote: »
    They're demanding that the state artificially raise prices for beef?

Do you even know what you're talking about? You sir are the primary beneficiary of subsidies and predatory supermarket practices. If you had to pay the actual cost of producing the steak on your plate you'd choke on it! The only thing artificial about the price of the meat on your plate is in fact how low it is.

Even someone with half a brain knowes that buying two ribeye steaks or striploins steaks for 5.29 in Alid or Lidl, means someone is loosing out somewere along the line.

They are also against direct provision, pub and post office closures, speeding laws, carbon taxes too

I am against most of those things too.
    Not relevant to a bunch of morons in their subsidized toys blocking real workers

I and many in rural irl are against a lot of those yes. I don’t deny it. Rural Ireland is very much being left behind on these issues.

No more I say.

Various politicians walk by and pretend they don’t see rural Ireland’s problems and concerns

Fine. Take the protest right up into their faces and see them deal with that.

shocked, literally shocked mind, that farmers as individuals or as a group are somewhat aggressive, confused and truculent and seem unable to comprehend both the change requirements inherent to the modern world or the wider interests of any party that isnt "i wants the stuffs i wants begob"

who could have foreseen it?

hose them off the streets and seize any vehicle not moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭tjhook

Rolls eyes

I doubt many people in Dublin would have been against farmers getting a better deal from meat processors. But that doesn't seem to be enough to prevent the ordinary commuters from being targeted by the actions of these farmers.

I hope they enjoy the day out, but they're seriously deluded if they think it's going to gain them any support. I don't sympathise with people who are trying to make my life harder.