Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Should we start our own TV station?

• 27-11-2019 8:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Since RTE is almost universally despised and all the foreign TV stations are so foreign maybe we, the boardsies of Ireland can start our own alternative.

We have a lot going for us. An abundance of political commentators, techies to rig up a few transmitters on the cheap, people with diverse interests, even if you only have a face for radio we can make up a Morbeg costume for you and find you a slot. I'm sure the lads in the motors forum can come up with a decent alternative to top gear featuring roads with grass in the middle and sheep and mk1 escorts airborne over a humpback bridge.

Also we have no expensive legacy equipment to keep alive, no pensions, no archives, no symphony orchestra to prop up and at the start it will be only a spare time project until we start getting notions and become the crowd we used to despise.

Who's up for it? If they won't give a license we can go pirate for a while first. Actually feck it lets just go pirate we'll be all rich and famous by the time the comreg fellas get their vans back on the road anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Since RTE is almost universally despised and all the foreign TV stations are so foreign maybe we, the boardsies of Ireland can start our own alternative.

We have a lot going for us. An abundance of political commentators, techies to rig up a few transmitters on the cheap, people with diverse interests, even if you only have a face for radio we can make up a Morbeg costume for you and find you a slot. I'm sure the lads in the motors forum can come up with a decent alternative to top gear featuring roads with grass in the middle and sheep and mk1 escorts airborne over a humpback bridge.

Also we have no expensive legacy equipment to keep alive, no pensions, no archives, no symphony orchestra to prop up and at the start it will be only a spare time project until we start getting notions and become the crowd we used to despise.

Who's up for it? If they won't give a license we can go pirate for a while first. Actually feck it lets just go pirate we'll be all rich and famous by the time the comreg fellas get their vans back on the road anyway

Are you joking?
    It's bad enough having to read the ****e that's posted here , never mind look at the idiots that post it and I include myself in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Are you joking?
    It's bad enough having to read the ****e that's posted here , never mind look at the idiots that post it and I include myself in that.

Feck sake. I can't be dealing with that level of defeatism. If you're saying that after being booed off the airwaves a couple of times fair enough but not at this early stage in the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭Guffy

Are you joking?

You don't though

Guffy wrote: »
    You don't though

I do , I'm looking for the holy Grail,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

... Techies to rig up a few transmitters on the cheap

Ah bless, you never heard of YouTube channels and the money you can make off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I've got a better idea. RTÉ is pursuing a digital first strategy, likely to follow the BBC's example and eventually move RTÉ2 to being an online channel.

So, get the jump on them and launch your own player to rival RTÉ's. Just like the RTÉ player it will play a series of ads before each programme - that's your revenue stream

Then you announce and market the shít out of your new slate of programmes - a remake of the final series of Game of Thrones, written by George RRRRR Martin, that follows his vision for where the books will eventually go. Documentary series that exclusively reveal the tomb of Jesus Christ and who really killed JFK. The first drama ever filmed in space. Next year's Oscar winning films before they hit the cinemas. This amazing programming will attract viewers (even paying subscribers - another revenue stream) to your player in massive numbers.

But how can you possibly deliver programming like this without a massive budget you ask? No problem at all, because just like the RTÉ player, the ads will stream perfectly every time. But as soon as the ads finish and the content should kick in...CRASH!

Reload...more ads...more revenue...CRASH! Content never plays, so you never have to deliver it, job's a guddun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭Archeron

The mustard forum should be a three hour slot, preferably Friday night prime time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Just start a youtube channel.

Ah bless, you never heard of YouTube channels and the money you can make off it.

Then you're just another youtuber with a youtube channel. Swimming among all the 9 year olds. Without transmitters you wouldn't have a hope

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Boardenders?

Boardonation Street?

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

20Wheel wrote: »
    Boardenders?

Boardonation Street?

Ok , I'm convinced .
    Roll it there ubi... whatever the OP calls himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Hours of geeks playing computer games - no thanks.

A Youtube channel would be better.

Edit: ILoveVibes is way ahead of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,716 ✭✭✭✭maccored

go for it. i'd love to see what kind of tv you can make - how many millions do you intend to pump into it OP? You do realise you do need money to create TV content (lots of it)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Water finds it's own level and all that, what are you doing here!

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You could be the presenter of the Love Island rip off called 'Riding Hookers in a Lane on a Wheely Bin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Instead of the Angelus, there'd probably be a Two Minutes Hate against the enemies of Bordsies, such as Travellers, Muslims, immigrants and poor people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭mondeo

I don't watch TV, haven't sat down in years in front of a TV set, unless I am in a waiting room where there is a TV running. The NCT center or a doctor's waiting room.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

A 24 hour loop of this bad boy

91%2B40T4HZHL._SY445_.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I do , I'm looking for the holy Grail,.
    And you want us to join in your quest for the Holy Grail ?

Well, I'll ask around , but I don't think they'll be very keen. Uh, we're already got one, you see?

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

I can'd do a morning show , i'm hopeless in the morning.

decky1 wrote: »
    I can'd do a morning show , i'm hopeless in the morning.

Then you can do a moaning show. We'll broadcast it at the same time as Joe Duffy. Compete with the feckers head on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Any body who has skill talent and time is already on youtube or other websites.
    rte have to appeal to every one, sports fans, young people, old people
    they have to ,make arts show,s ,current affairs ,news, programs in irish.
    I think they do ok ,considering the budget they have.
    the problem is most people watch itv,bbc,c4, tv stations with a 100 times
    the budget rte tv has.
    programs like top gear have dozens of people behind the scene,s
    editors,producers, camera operators etc
    I dont think a group of boards ie users would have the time or the equipment to make a drama or a program like top gear that people would like to watch.
    We have saorview and freesat ,theres, lots of free tv out there ,
    rte has alot of classic programs on rte.ie player,
    no one in ireland is short of options for watching tv.
    Even bad tv like the x factor is expensive to produce.

riclad wrote: »
    Any body who has skill talent and time is already on youtube or other websites.
    rte have to appeal to every one, sports fans, young people, old people
    they have to ,make arts show,s ,current affairs ,news, programs in irish.
    I think they do ok ,considering the budget they have.
    the problem is most people watch itv,bbc,c4, tv stations with a 100 times
    the budget rte tv has.
    programs like top gear have dozens of people behind the scene,s
    editors,producers, camera operators etc
    I dont think a group of boards ie users would have the time or the equipment to make a drama or a program like top gear that people would like to watch.
    We have saorview and freesat ,theres, lots of free tv out there ,
    rte has alot of classic programs on rte.ie player,
    no one in ireland is short of options for watching tv.
    Even bad tv like the x factor is expensive to produce.

Bad TV is expensive because it's become bloated with overheads. Time to go back to basics. Turn an old caravan into a studio, send a few youngfellas with cameras to the scrap yard to buy an old car and make a few episodes out of reviving it. There could be a quiz show where the prizes start from 10c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

And you want us to join in your quest for the Holy Grail ?

Well, I'll ask around , but I don't think they'll be very keen. Uh, we're already got one, you see?

He might be in luck. There's a good chance somebody will post a map of grail sightings over in JupiterKids thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

TV stations are going to change forever over the next few years. RTE are likely to just become a content provider in the future. A lot of what they currently air is just other channel's output. Once pan european streaming services start to form properly they will have very little content to show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Bad TV is expensive because it's become bloated with overheads. Time to go back to basics. Turn an old caravan into a studio, send a few youngfellas with cameras to the scrap yard to buy an old car and make a few episodes out of reviving it. There could be a quiz show where the prizes start from 10c

Pirate TV has been tried in Dublin before, by pirate radio operators :

Channel D TV in Dublin in 1981 (from the operators or ARD/Radio 257). Channel D ran pre-recorded local programmes and commercial film videos, late at night and early in the morning (before the dawn of breakfast TV), for several months from a transmission site at the old cinema building in Phibsboro.

Also tests (briefly) later in the 80's from Radio Dublin, and Capital Radio from their studios in Milltown south Dublin (both were nothing more than test card transmissions).

The original Radio Nova (pirate) put the fear of god up RTE by broadcasting live tests on TV for a few days and talking about big plans for a full service. It freaked the authorities out so much that the 'station' was raided almost immediately and put off air. Even though it was a very basic setup, and the transmitter wasn't even working properly at the time of the tests (bad picture due to a faulty timebase corrector.... apparently) the thought of pirate supremo Chris Cary moving into TV was too much for RTE and the government at the time.

It didn't work then, with very little competition..... I cant see pirate TV working now with all the legit competition and other video piracy options that everyone has these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Will it have the little triangle in the corner of the screen like CH4 used to have when “adult content” was on after 11pm ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Yes, we'll revisit dissatisfied customers of Dermot Bannon!