Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The €3,000 per month luxury welfare apartments

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

But sure no one can afford to buy houses nowadays we’re told.

So keeping house prices high to appease some imaginary folk is not really a great plan by the government is it?

Makes balance sheets look better. Public in general prefer higher property prices

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Muir

1 out of every 5 TDs are landlords. Some conspiracy alright.

Do you think people will move to these vacant houses when 1 in 3 refuse offers of social housing as it’s not in their preferred area?

Imagine working people had that luxury.

All for 40 euro a week.

Ah the poor mites.

And yet there are less than 200,000 landlords in the country, meaning about 5% of the adult population are landlords.

I don't know where you got the idea I'm talking about providing the housing as social housing. I'm talking about private rental accommodation to reduce rental prices for the average worker.

Shockingly, many people in social housing are actually in employment. Many of them pay more than €40 a week in rent too. But none of that really had anything to do with the point I was making anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Makes balance sheets look better. Public in general prefer higher property prices

Who says???

I’m sure if you’re looking to sell your house but at any given time that’s probably about .001% of the population.

I’m sorry but its more tin foil conspiracy nonsense.

The majority of home owners who are happy in their home don’t think what their house is worth, why would they???

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Muir wrote: »
    And yet there are less than 200,000 landlords in the country, meaning about 5% of the adult population are landlords.

I don't know where you got the idea I'm talking about providing the housing as social housing. I'm talking about private rental accommodation to reduce rental prices for the average worker.

Shockingly, many people in social housing are actually in employment. Many of them pay more than €40 a week in rent too. But none of that really had anything to do with the point I was making anyway.

You said too many in government are profiting from high rents as if it’s some mad conspiracy.

I’m telling you 1 in 5 TDs are landlords.

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭zeebre12

The sad thing is the less you have in this country the more you get. When you get old and have to go into a nursing home and have worked all your life you can bet there will be someone beside you who has not worked a day in their life. While the government bleeds you dry of anything you have. When you get to 65 its best if you have spent every penny.

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Muir

You said too many in government are profiting from high rents as if it’s some mad conspiracy.

I’m telling you 1 in 5 TDs are landlords.

I did say that. It's actually more like 1/3. And, even if it was 1 in 5 it would still be 4 times higher than in the general population. Of course it's an issue when many of those in charge of making the policies have a vested interest.

Either way - it's basic supply and demand. We don't have enough housing supply to meet the demand for housing in the private rental market. Until we do, it doesn't matter if every single person is employed, we're still going to have a shortage of housing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Berserker5

Saw one of the new tenants giving the thumbs up tonight on TV

Happy enough with the gaff

Who says???

I’m sure if you’re looking to sell your house but at any given time that’s probably about .001% of the population.

I’m sorry but its more tin foil conspiracy nonsense.

The majority of home owners who are happy in their home don’t think what their house is worth, why would they???
    Are you serious the nations biggest ore occupation and obsession during the last boom was property prices. Not quite as tasteful this time round. There was a good article in the indo quite some time ago about the public’s love affair with high prices. You don’t think it’s logical , I don’t think it is either. But I do see why some people would like it. People are illogical !

TAke a look at this Australian property documentary. The greed is global. Carbon copy of here. You’ll understand the love of rip off prices after you’ve watched it...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XL3n59wC8kk

https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2019/0321/1037676-what-are-the-roots-of-the-irish-obsession-with-property/

Just google Irish or English property obsession and look at the numbers of results. It’s the one thing that can increase in value , be given to people on a plate , no skill or effort required and the value can increase while you sit on your ass. Of course people have an obsession with such an asset !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

And the newspaper sell it like it’s a sexy cool way of living. Shhhh it’s probably illegal.

There ye go lads. Freedom, get the English out, we can all lol out for each other.

BDI wrote: »
    And the newspaper sell it like it’s a sexy cool way of living. Shhhh it’s probably illegal.

There ye go lads. Freedom, get the English out, we can all lol out for each other.
    Imagine there was a proposal to House the homeless , or hotel bound ( take your pic ) in mobile homes ! The media vermin would be all over it like a rash. Funny they don’t have much concern for those that buy their rags !

• Registered Users Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Imagine there was a proposal to House the homeless , or hotel bound ( take your pic ) in mobile homes ! The media vermin would be all over it like a rash. Funny they don’t have much concern for those that buy their rags !

of course the media mostly non-vermin would be over such a proposal, as no doubt homeless, those in hotels and social tenants, being housed in mobile homes would be used as another stick to beat such people with.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭NSAman

TAke a look at this Australian property documentary. The greed is global. Carbon copy of here. You’ll understand the love of rip off prices after you’ve watched it...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XL3n59wC8kk

https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2019/0321/1037676-what-are-the-roots-of-the-irish-obsession-with-property/

Just google Irish or English property obsession and look at the numbers of results. It’s the one thing that can increase in value , be given to people on a plate , no skill or effort required and the value can increase while you sit on your ass. Of course people have an obsession with such an asset !

And monopolies like vulture funds?

Good documentary!

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

Ireland moving ever closer to the land of the free and the home of the brave. The Irish Dream.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,567 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Idbatterim wrote:

Turning one of our most critical of needs into an asset, that's working out well, isn't it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭X111111111111

Berserker5 wrote: »
    Saw one of the new tenants giving the thumbs up tonight on TV

Happy enough with the gaff

Excellent news. I hope they have a merry xmas :)

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

I had a great idea this morning when woke up. Some contries like Bulgaria lost more than 20% of its population in last fee decades going from 9 to 7 millions. I don't need to have an IQ above 100 to know that this demographic implosion would plummet the prices around such countries. You can by an entire village for a fraction of that money. If government buy social houses there if move those people there, it would benefit both countries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Ireland moving ever closer to the land of the free and the home of the brave. The Irish Dream.

I said this exact thing to a friend about a year ago-if you want to know where we're headed as a society just look across the Atlantic and (tongue in cheek) remarked that there's a huge opportunity there for someone to become Ireland's first trailer park king.
    Gated communities for the rich, 75 year olds forced to work, ghettos for minorities, crappy or non-existent health care for the poor, schools churning out pre-programmed drones with a false individualism pushed on them by the consumerist machine, everyone on some form of medication, et anon... We have it all to look forward to...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,505 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

sabat wrote: »
    I said this exact thing to a friend about a year ago-if you want to know where we're headed as a society just look across the Atlantic and (tongue in cheek) remarked that there's a huge opportunity there for someone to become Ireland's first trailer park king.
    Gated communities for the rich, 75 year olds forced to work, ghettos for minorities, crappy or non-existent health care for the poor, schools churning out pre-programmed drones with a false individualism pushed on them by the consumerist machine, everyone on some form of medication, et anon... We have it all to look forward to...

Yeah but people did not like the old Ireland either, the catholic church, the industrial school the mother and baby homes the boarding schools, lots more poverty, fees for third-level education, unemployment, no opertunities for the vast majority of the population and so on.

Peter McVery was being interviewed on sunday on some radio program and he said when he started there was no female homeless yet the housing situation and unemployment was dir in the 1970s even worse than now. What has changed that we now have female homeless and far more homelessness that we had then.

There is something happening in our society but its very had to captuer.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

mariaalice wrote: »
    Yeah but people did not like the old Ireland either, the catholic church, the industrial school the mother and baby homes the boarding schools, lots more poverty, fees for third-level education, unemployment, no opertunities for the vast majority of the population and so on.

Peter McVery was being interviewed on sunday on some radio program and he said when he started there was no female homeless yet the housing situation and unemployment was dir in the 1970s even worse than now. What has changed that we now have female homeless and far more homelessness that we had then.

There is something happening in our society but its very had to captuer.

There are a number of things at play

1) Social Media and the dissemination of information means everyone knows what they are "entitled" to

2) Almost everyone in Ireland is spoilt - we are all privileged, with privilege comes entitlement.

3) The Media is more widespread and spreads itself thinner than ever so stories get attention. they also never ask the tough questions, therefore encouraging more to complain (it works I am not knocking them!)

4) There is a real lack of family, it would be interesting to know of those who are homeless how many have families with a spare room. In the past you could have 3 in a room etc - now everyone needs their own house. there was no female homelessness because people wouldn't see them out on the street. Contrast this with a "homeless woman" with two kids, whose parents own a 4 bed in Malahide.....

5) Our Government govern by Twitter poll

and many many more

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

cruizer101 wrote: »
    I never said anything about mortgage, you said
    wrong morally or not it won't make one bit of difference to my life.

My point is overspending in one area leads to cutbacks in others be that healthcare, public transport, infrastructure or sports, area that effect everyone.

Councillors vote in favour of €22 million white-water rafting facility in Dublin's IFSC

I suppose it is a "sport".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I have a relative with 2 kids by 18. She proudly announced the other day that she had applied for social housing her and her 'angles'.

She barely has a junior cert. No leaving. Has never had a job.

Meanwhile, I'm in my early 30s- pay a mortgage and a car loan. Go out for dinner/drinks maybe once every 2-3 months. Rarely get my nails/lashes done.

She's out every weekend and always has those disgusting acrylic claws preened to perfection. Kids are togged out in designer labels.

I feel like the fool.

I visited a friend yesterday , she bought an advent calendar for her front door and it was robbed in less than an hour. There is council housing down the road. I doubt someone in her estate of seven hundred thousand plus euro house robbed it. Why wouldn’t you gate developments? What business does someone have in an estate , if they don’t live there ?

They people with houses there have a far bigger right to privacy and protection that the public having access to it in my opinion. The guards are useless , the scum walk the streets with impunity. Councils won’t kick them out etc. at least gates offer a form of protection

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Who hangs an Advent Calendar on their front door? :confused:

Look most people here Get their information from the media. Do the media love high prices and property porn ? Yes. Look at all the money they get from advertising developments etc. you just don’t have an informed view , if your sources are relentlessly biased Irish media. Watch that realestate4ransom YouTube documentary, it just simply explains the entire property racket and just makes so much sense. Christ no minister should accept housing portfolio, you can’t solve these issues , because the powers that be , higher powers than eoghan Murphy , want the status quo maintained ...

Boggles wrote: »
    Who hangs an Advent Calendar on their front door? :confused:

Don’t know what that was about. It was some gorgeous outdoor one she said ...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭tigger123

Don’t know what that was about. It was some gorgeous outdoor one she said ...

Oh fab

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭Captcha

People should have a place to stay but giving premium property in premium area near public transport (which is used to get to work) is terrible governance.

If you dont work, you should not have priority to live near the public transport that people who go out to work every morning need to use. Let them walk or get multiple lines, they have the spare time without a job.

I have a relative with 2 kids by 18. She proudly announced the other day that she had applied for social housing her and her 'angles'.

She barely has a junior cert. No leaving. Has never had a job.

Meanwhile, I'm in my early 30s- pay a mortgage and a car loan. Go out for dinner/drinks maybe once every 2-3 months. Rarely get my nails/lashes done.

She's out every weekend and always has those disgusting acrylic claws preened to perfection. Kids are togged out in designer labels.

I feel like the fool.
    Can men apply to adopt etc ? would that give you the same free meal ticket that a lot of women have the option of ? Assuming you can’t adopt without your own place. Where nobody can stop stacey being banged up at seventeen!

I’ll just have to accept living in a banana republic. It will be a lot more pallatable when fg are playing second fiddle. Their arrogance is disgusting. Their attitude to taxpayers is disgusting !