Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you tip the delivery guy/gal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

You’ve never got that?! I remember I ran into a mate’s ex who’d ended on bad terms with them and they gave me like €15 in 50c, or a taxi driver once who wasn’t happy when I gave him a €50 because he didn’t have change on him. I’d say it’s a default for many. And if someone is rude to them I’d say they’d gladly take the few extra seconds to spite them. You don’t really have a say either, they gave you your change, you don’t get to pick the denomination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

leggo wrote: »
    You’ve never got that?!

Sure I've gotten change in coins or fivers but they were usually apologetic about it or scrambling shrapnel to make up the sum. Just sounds like more work for them really.
    I remember I ran into a mate’s ex who’d ended on bad terms with them and they gave me like €15 in 50c

Comes across like more of a personal thing to be honest.
    or a taxi driver once who wasn’t happy when I gave him a €50 because he didn’t have change on him.

Sounds like he was under prepared for taking a fifty, which is daft on his part and crap for you of course but he doesn't know at that stage if he's getting a tip or not so doesn't really hold up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

toffeeshel wrote: »
    Ok. I am a driver and I am also a customer. When I get food delivered I always tip. Why? Because it’s nice to be nice. Even rounding up to the nearest euro is a nice thing to do. If you’re going to obsess about it being free money you will never understand the concept. Remember that the person delivering is not just a random stranger. They are out in all weather delivering to you. You might actually get to know them a bit and have a bit of banter. You know- pleasant human interaction.
    Also remember that if the driver leaves the shop with 2 deliveries in opposite directions that the tipper gets their food first

Yes..they're out in their warm car with the heater on. God have mercy on them.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭toffeeshel

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Yes..they're out in their warm car with the heater on. God have mercy on them.......

And the food just flies from the car to the customers door by itself. Or the driver beeps the horn and the customer comes out to the car.
    You’re trying to be smart but actually your not very clever are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 49 davedonie

khaldrogo wrote: »
    And if not, why not?

The reason I ask is I was a delivery driver for a few years in the early 2000s while doing my apprenticeship. I'd say 85% of people tipped me.

I started doing deliveries again this weekend (squeezed middle here!!) and so far it's about 50-60%.

I'd feel weird not giving a tip myself. I would usually give 1-2e. On the very rare occasion where I've paid online and have no change I always apologise to the driver.

I know, I know.........you've paid for your food and a delivery charge so why should you give more money? The answer is you don't HAVE to but it is nice to do. Standing there while the driver digs around for your 30c change says a lot about you.

To someone like me who's doing it help pay the bills, the tips mean a lot.

I tip delivery guy but this got me thinking about couriers like for appliances or shrubs. Would it not be weird after paying bones of a tenner for delivery?

actually your not very clever are you?

This always fills me right up with joy.

And the food just flies from the car to the customers door by itself. Or the driver beeps the horn and the customer comes out to the car.

Sorry what? You’re trying to get technical and make a point about someone walking a few yards and back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭Shelflife

I dont get some of the arguments made here to justify giving a tip.

To those that say its nice to tip, fine but why tip some service providers and not others ? when was the last time you tipped someone in a supermarket or local shop ?

To those that say the delivery driver will spit in your food or take a longer journey because you dont tip, well if you deliver my food to me cold I will either ring and complain or simply never use you again.

If my taxi driver brings me on the scenic route because I didnt tip him the last time, in this day and age with google maps its pretty easy to suss him out, all that happens there is that you never use him again.

As for the hairdresser butchering you without you knowing it ? seriously ?

If you get a bad haircut you never go back !!

Businesses rely on repeat trade, if you dont get repeat trade you go out of business, as a waiter you will get feck all tips sitting at home if the restaurant closes, same with the hairdresser and and the taxi driver.

I tip when someone goes above and beyond what was expected, I dont tip for a professional standard as im already paying for that .

I work in the service industry myself, it too is a hard job with long hours but we dont get tips as its not the "done thing" in our service area.

We give a polite and professional service and my tip is when I see the customers keep coming back to us and giving us their custom and keeping my wages paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Neames

I generally tip in restaurants, barbers, delivery guys ....the lot really.

What I'm finding lately especially in restaurants is the tip isn't acknowledged in any way. Now I'm not expecting a big song and dance but an "oh thank you" be nice. Maybe it's just taken for granted lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Not a delivery man, never worked in a job where tipping was a thing. Try again.

But yeah, if you're a dickhead to someone, they'll be a dickhead right back to you. That's just how the world works. If I'm rude to a cashier in the shop, they'll give me all my change in €1 coins. If I'm rude to a delivery man, he'll leave my door open. If I walk into a restaurant and start looking down on the maitre d', maybe they put me beside the door or window so I'm freezing the entire meal. Their job doesn't extend to doing these extra bits like giving me my change in the most convenient way. If I'm ****ty to them, they have every right to be ****ty right back to me and can do so while still fulfilling the remit of their job and I have zero right to moan if they are because I started this ****ty cycle. Someone has to sit in the crap seat in the restaurant, it's not going to be the really sound person who's likely to tip and appreciate the extra work that you put in. May as well make it the scabby person you know is going to look for the first opportunity to get a refund regardless of what you do.

No I don't mmivd been met with hostility, whatever that means. If you stopped playing the victim and acting like you were the victim of a hate crime for a minute, you'd find a post with many reasons to tip. Nobody is insulting you, we don't know you to do so. We're saying that this is the attitude people have towards scabby people who bend over backwards to find logic not to give people a euro or two extra if they do a good job (unless it's mildly socially awkward for you, then you compromise everything you believe in). You are the one admitting that that's you. We can only operate off the information you give us about yourself here lad. Don't throw a tantrum because that info paints an unflattering picture, that's one you painted yourself. :pac:

And you still don't understand, you're being wilfully ignorant. I'm not saying you have to tip the waiter to get into restaurants. I'm saying that if you are sound and build a relationship with people who serve you, no matter where you're at or what you're doing, they're more inclined to help you. If you're mean and look down your nose at people who work in certain jobs, and your attitude drips of that here so I guarantee people immediately see through your fake little 'smile and be polite strategy', they won't. It's straightforward. Tipping is just one signifier of an overall attitude. And if you expect someone to go out of their way for you while simultaneously thinking they're beneath you, you're simply delusional.

Yeah and I can build rapport with people without paying them for rapport. A smile, positive demeanour and treating people with respect and allowing them time to speak goes a long way, I find.

I don't want a waiter to do anything extraordinary, just the normal job spec stuff.

I'm not worried about the insults directed at me but I am really fascinated that people would jump straight to insults for even asking why they tip. If they had good reasons, they'd just give the reasons without bothering with insults the same way people normally answer a question without any insults.

Your examples of you being sh1tty to people and them being sh1tty in return are interesting. Couldn't you just treat people with normal respect whether they're in tipping jobs or not? That's what I do and it works out fine.

Do you really think being aggro and insulting to everyone who may not agree with you improves your life more than giving a euro or two to people who do a good job helping you? You’re coming across as aggressive and miserable here tbh, insulting someone just because they believe in something you don’t.

Money makes people go mental lads. :pac:

Where do you get the idea that the options for treating people are either agro or giving them money? Wouldn't you just, you know, treaty them with a smile and a bit of respect and go from there? I really find a smile and a positive demeanour goes a long way with almost everyone I meet.

They're paid to bring food from the shop to the customer, that's literally the job. It's not a hard job. It's actually a really easy job in my experience. Almost certainly the easiest job I've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I feel so sorry for the guy getting a tax free wage for having to walk 5 seconds from his car and back......

They're paid to bring food from the shop to the customer, that's literally the job. It's not a hard job. It's actually a really easy job in my experience. Almost certainly the easiest job I've ever had.

I was responding to a poster that commented on warm cars in bad weather.
    I actually don’t believe that you ever did deliveries. Anyone that has even spent one night delivering would not have your attitude towards tipping.
    Easy job? Intercoms and door bells that don’t work. Idiots that order before they leave the pub and aren’t home when you arrive. Idiots that order and then sit out the back garden where they can’t hear the doorbell. Drunks that order and then fall asleep before you arrive. Idiots that order and wait for the delivery to arrive before starting to search for their wallet that might be upstairs or in their car.
    Yeah it’s a doddle dealing with joe public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,384 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I was at a gig last night and we got great seats near the bar overlooking the stage. When I ordered a Guinness the young lady said she would have to go to another bar on the same premises to get it but would bring it to me when it was ready. Top service, I gave her a fiver for herself.

Throughout the night she was on the ball, every time we wanted a drink I didn't have to even have to go to the bar, just eye contact and a nod and the drinks were delivered.

Towards the end of the gig I gave her another fiver for a drink for herself for being so nice. She deserved it.

The next call was just a pint for myself as I had a bit of a lip on me and they were going down well. Over comes the young lady and when I went to give her the money she said no charge this time, this one is on me. I tried to make her take it but she wouldn't have it. I got a tip for tipping, only in Kerry would that happen.

Great gig too.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I actually don’t believe that you ever did deliveries. Anyone that has even spent one night delivering would not have your attitude towards tipping.
    Easy job? Intercoms and door bells that don’t work. Idiots that order before they leave the pub and aren’t home when you arrive. Idiots that order and then sit out the back garden where they can’t hear the doorbell. Drunks that order and then fall asleep before you arrive. Idiots that order and wait for the delivery to arrive before starting to search for their wallet that might be upstairs or in their car.
    You get the food order, put it in the car. Go to the address and knock/ring the doorbell. Customers being idiots is irrelevant. It's an easy job that even a low functioning idiot with a driver's license could do.

How is customers being idiots irrelevant? The job is to deliver to customers. Did you recognize yourself in some of the above behavior? Did I hit a nerve?

It's irrelevant because any business that deals with the public encounters idiots. Dude if you want to insult me soz but won't happen. That's it the job is to deliver you ain't carrying out life saving surgery. Cop on to yourself as I said a low functioning idiot with a license can do the job . Nothing in the job description warrants a tip.

Only one of us being insulting here and it isn’t me

Are you to trying to claim it’s a difficult job? I couldn’t think of many easier jobs tbh.

There are many vastly harder jobs with similar pay and no tipping ever associated with them.

Are you to claim it’s a difficult job? I couldn’t think of many easier jobs tbh.

Ah be fair doorbells and intercoms require specialist training to operate.....

Yeah I did the job. You get drunk customers and people who are difficult. But you problem solve those issues as they arise. You phone them if they don’t answer the door (to check you have the right address) then phone the shop to see if they’ve left any further instructions, then leave a voice message and go about the job. You have to deal with those customers or “idiots” as you refer to them. Most customers are sound in my experience. But it’s not a hard job.

So what if you have to problem solve? All jobs have problems to solve.

Die Linke wrote: »
    Imagine being such a tight kunt that you wouldn't give the waitress a couple of euros...yikes!

Ok. Why WOULD you give the waitress a couple of euro?

Imagine being such a tight kunt that you wouldn't give the waitress a couple of euros...yikes!

Genuine question, why just waitresses ? why not the girl in the supermarket who gives a great service with a lovely polite smile ? do you tip her ?

Imagine being a tight kunt that you wouldn't give the shop assistant/nurse/guard/doctor/ambulance driver etc etc a couple of euros... yikes.

Yeah I did the job. You get drunk customers and people who are difficult. But you problem solve those issues as they arise. You phone them if they don’t answer the door (to check you have the right address) then phone the shop to see if they’ve left any further instructions, then leave a voice message and go about the job. You have to deal with those customers or “idiots” as you refer to them. Most customers are sound in my experience. But it’s not a hard job.

So what if you have to problem solve? All jobs have problems to solve.

You didn’t though lad. Literally every job that’s been brought up you’ve conveniently done before. Stop lying. :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Work in the service sector myself and I never ever tip delivery men or hairdressers. Tbh I never even knew it was a thing until seeing it on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,657 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Ok. Why WOULD you give the waitress a couple of euro?

images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcQu-eTa3NrGbr3GIZmH2A4RkBbouXGJssuCmHXAMZ6ftCpj-s4x

It's not the done thing in our society. Neither is it expected that you tip the barman. In the USA however it is expected you tip the barman (and in return your get sone free booze).

But who decides its the done thing or not ? who woke up one day and decided that you need to tip a waitress but not her sister that works in the local shop ?

This is the bit I really cant get my head around .

You didn’t though lad. Literally every job that’s been brought up you’ve conveniently done before. Stop lying. :pac:

I've been a waiter and delivery driver. They're not exclusive jobs. I also worked for a few months as a hotel porter. I think that's all the tipping jobs I've done. Really, it's not that unusual

Check out his post count. He’s either out of work or a civil servant. Either way he’s well used to free money

Cos I'm not a miser, not broke, not an autist who dosen't understand social norms and sometimes it just feels good to give a small token of appreciation for a job well done :)

Oh yeah I presume their boss is paying them for a job well done. I just don’t go along wit it. It’s an American custom which reflects their pay structure. It’s just for fools in Ireland where we have minimum wage laws - unless the person is doing something beyond the normal job spec.

Check out his post count. He’s either out of work or a civil servant. Either way he’s well used to free money

Seriously. Most people have done plenty of jobs. I’ve also worked different jobs in construction and in a bakery, but they’re not relevant to this thread.

If you’re going to pretend delivery driving is a hard job, nobody who knows the job (or has actually done the job) will buy it. If you are actually stretched by the delivery driver job, then, I don’t know what to say. I didn’t find it a stretching job.

The sign of a lost argument, attack the post not the poster.

Check out his post count. He’s either out of work or a civil servant.
    The sign of a lost argument, attack the post not the poster.

It's literally 2.5 posts a day on average anyway. Hardly a massive amount anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Shelflife wrote: »
    Genuine question, why just waitresses ? why not the girl in the supermarket who gives a great service with a lovely polite smile ? do you tip her ?

I’ve done both those jobs. Waitressing is way harder. A lot more variables to deal with.

I completely agree waiting tables can be a tough gig. When it's busy it's relentless. But if we're tipping because jobs are hard then delivery driver is miles off the mark because it's a handy number. In either case, the boss pays for them to do the job.

I’ve never done delivery but I imagine there are lots of variables there too. There’s pressure because the takeaway wants you to get the food to its destination before it’s started to congeal. I wouldn’t imagine it’s a handy number. People always underestimate jobs if they’ve never done them.

There's a certain culture attached to tipping in restaurants. It's really that simple I think. You might argue it's an imported thing but that's the crux of it I reckon. I don't know why delivery drivers for take aways are lumped in with these. Maybe it's seen as somewhat of a similar gig? They're your waiter to a degree I suppose. I dunno.

I’ve never done delivery but I imagine there are lots of variables there too. There’s pressure because the takeaway wants you to get the food to its destination before it’s started to congeal. I wouldn’t imagine it’s a handy number. People always underestimate jobs if they’ve never done them.

I've done both. there's pressure to get the found out to the customer which means bagging up the food correctly, making sure the dips and drinks are correct and then driving to the destination. There's no pressure once you're in the car. You just have to drive normally and safely. There are a few problems you have to solve like sometimes it's difficult to find the address or apartment block, phoning customers who don't come to the door and dealing with customers who aren't happy for whatever reason. We did in house stuff when there were no deliveries like potwash, portioning sides, stretching pizza dough, sweeping up, that type of thing.

But honestly it's a handy job. Like, really handy.

I've done both. there's pressure to get the found out to the customer which means bagging up the food correctly, making sure the dips and drinks are correct and then driving to the destination. There's no pressure once you're in the car. You just have to drive normally and safely. There are a few problems you have to solve like sometimes it's difficult to find the address or apartment block, phoning customers who don't come to the door and dealing with customers who aren't happy for whatever reason. But honestly it's a handy job. Like, really handy.

Right, so there’s pressure. You’ve described a big chunk of the job as being pressured. No reason to discount it just because it’s a different phase.

No, the couple of minutes getting the order right have minor pressure. The driving is just normal driving and handing over food and getting money is as easy as it sounds. So you're talking. A person with basic competence could do the job and find it easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭square ball

I used to work as a delivery driver to help with the mortgage on top of the day job until my wages improved. It was relatively handy but could be very frustrating when restaurants were slow or delayed with food and traffic was busy. We used to collect for 10 different restaurants.

The pay wasn't great. Used to get flat rate of €7.00 an hour and €1.00 per delivery on top of that. You would average between 3-4 deliveries per hour and the shift was from 5-11pm but might be sent home early if it got quiet. Fuel of €12-€15 a night used come out of the wage. So without tips you wouldn't make minimum wage and it wouldn't be worth your while some nights.

I'd say about half would tip but you would do very well to end the night with more than €20.00 in tips. €15 - €20 was a very good night. For the most part it was the homes where there was 2 fairly new expensive cars that would never ever tip. Professionals in their mid 30's to late 40's were the worst for tipping. The 'rougher' areas were usually the best for some reason. Then some people would constantly try and short change you or spend 5 minutes going round the house trying to rustle up last couple of euro.

Obviously we didn't expect a divine right to be given a tip but you appreciate and need tips to make it worthwhile.

You would try your best to plan your route so the good tippers food would be delivered as fast as possible. They look after you so you look after them.

I used to work as a delivery driver to help with the mortgage on top of the day job until my wages improved. It was relatively handy but could be very frustrating when restaurants were slow or delayed with food and traffic was busy. We used to collect for 10 different restaurants.

The pay wasn't great. Used to get flat rate of €7.00 an hour and €1.00 per delivery on top of that. You would average between 3-4 deliveries per hour and the shift was from 5-11pm but might be sent home early if it got quiet. Fuel of €12-€15 a night used come out of the wage. So without tips you wouldn't make minimum wage and it wouldn't be worth your while some nights.

I'd say about half would tip but you would do very well to end the night with more than €20.00 in tips. €15 - €20 was a very good night. For the most part it was the homes where there was 2 fairly new expensive cars that would never ever tip. Professionals in their mid 30's to late 40's were the worst for tipping. The 'rougher' areas were usually the best for some reason. Then some people would constantly try and short change you or spend 5 minutes going round the house trying to rustle up last couple of euro.

Obviously we didn't expect a divine right to be given a tip but you appreciate and need tips to make it worthwhile.

You would try your best to plan your route so the good tippers food would be delivered as fast as possible. They look after you so you look after them.

That pay structure is really unfair. Employer is not fulfilling their responsibility there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

toffeeshel wrote:
    Only one of us being insulting here and it isn’t me

Ah here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Always. Just round it up. She'll generally scrutinize the menu for an hour, and we'll eventually order the same thing we always ring in. Usually comes in 16/17 quid, I always round it up to a score. Yer man is local and he knows the crack takes the 20 quid, complains about the weather and ****s off to his next delivery. On busy nights they've other clowns driving too, the spas who stand at the front door pretending to see if they have change of a poxy 20. W@nkers. I'd tip them anyways but I get good amusement watching them counting out his smallest denomination coins to give me change while I watch him like hawk. Then he hands it over. It's then and only then that I say to him yer alright pal, that's for yerself. It's one of me little pleasures in life...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I'd usually round up or throw a euro on when paying cash, I avoid deliveroo on principle but if I'm ordering with other people and use them I'd add a cash tip.

Tbh though, the vast majority of the takeaway I order is through JustEat and they're cheeky enough with the extra charges, I'd imagine that's a lot of the reason behind why OP has noticed a change since the last time.

FYI I've been tipped in a retail job, it was nice but I found it quite strange too. There's just not the same level of individual service involved as in catering and hospitality, and yes I've worked in both.

In my own job the other day, I'm dealing with a client and she's genuinely a lovely person, so every chance I get I'm knocking off money for her that my employer would only be too happy for me to charge. We come to a situation and a fee she hadn't foreseen comes up. I can tell when I bring it up she's a bit apprehensive and thinking about opposing it, but weighs it up and I reckon says we've had such a pleasant chat, she'll just eat the fee to not make the conversation less pleasant. Seeing this, I told her to hang on and went off to my boss (without telling her) to fight her case and got the fee waived. If tipping were a custom in my position, I guarantee she'd have given me a big one at the end of the interaction because she could see that I was looking out for her best interests and was helping her not only get what she wanted but save money in doing so. It was because she was happy to pay the fee, though, that I did that. That's where she showed she was genuine and worth defending, most people's mask would slip at that stage and they'd hit the roof. She had no idea I could waive it, but she had a genuinely good attitude so it ended up benefitting her in a way she really appreciated.

That's the difference having a give-and-take attitude can make. You can be a bit sociopathic about it like your man earlier going in with his 'smile and be polite but don't tip unless it's socially awkward' attitude, but that's transparent in the real world and those people tend to only be sound in situations they think being sound benefits them, while thinking about what you do and don't deserve in the background. With the above situation, that mask would've absolutely slipped at the point of the fee, then I wouldn't have gone out of my way and he would've ended up paying. No amount of moaning or abuse would do the job because the fee wouldn't exist to begin with if it was optional. But my boss trusts my judgement so if I say it's worth waiving in this specific instance (because the person is decent), there's hidden wiggle room nobody would even know about.

The thing is, you often don't know in specific situations how the other person can help you, because they know their job/industry better than you. A car salesman, for example, may know the price he's willing to settle at and leave you a couple thousand off, while leaving you thinking you've got the better of him and got a great deal. Or he could give you a bit of slack in negotiating because you've got a good attitude and he wants to help. Tradesmen are another great example of this: if they don't need the job they can choose between either fleecing you or doing it affordably out of soundness. It doesn't all come back to tipping, but tipping is one part of this general attitude. And being genuinely sound and appreciative - again that doesn't mean saying "I smile and be polite" while thrashing their job difficulty online with the other side of your mouth - pays off. What benefits are there to being mean when you weigh it up like that beyond holding onto a weird delusion of superiority and power?

Think I 'll wait for the TLDR version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Yeah I've a regular customer who comes in and demands a discount, been through three years of him threatening to never come back if we don't fill his largeish order for what he considers a decent discount (which would be enough to put it below cost). I fight him every inch of the way, refuse to do certain extra customisations, won't change the order once it's been finalised, won't offer him any accommodation on picking it up outside of hours etc.

I've never gotten into it with him but I wonder how he'd feel about the other customers I have who place similar sized or larger orders who I automatically give a discount to, source different things for, accommodate in terms of delivery on my own time etc. They're pleasant to deal with, grateful for extra service, I'm happy to do it.

People really do think that marching in with an entitled attitude or trying to guilt or intimidate staff is the cute hoor thing to do like. Ok maybe you do manage to make the odd entry level staff member cry and capitulate and possibly get in trouble but Jesus. Dopes.