Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All's not well in FG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

golfball37 wrote: »
    Paddy is a fool if he swallows that. Frances Fitzgeralds removal was the right thing to do for incompetence alone, let alone Murphy. FF have ducked these issues and Brexit has nothing to do with it.

Paddy is no fool
    Changing a government before clarity on Brexit would be foolish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

FG are an absolute disgrace. The list of crises is an outrage and the party is a party of landlords and west Brits. The Minister for Justice is on the record for saying RIC/DMP killed in the War of Independence were “murdered” while they put a picture of Collins in Varadkar’s office. Young FG are hard right loons. How they got 3000-4000 first preferences in bye elections is beyond me but it tells you why they are the way they are. 25 years in opposition might clear their unionist heads.

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    FG are an absolute disgrace. The list of crises is an outrage and the party is a party of landlords and west Brits. The Minister for Justice is on the record for saying RIC/DMP killed in the War of Independence were “murdered” while they put a picture of Collins in Varadkar’s office. Young FG are hard right loons. How they got 3000-4000 first preferences in bye elections is beyond me but it tells you why they are the way they are. 25 years in opposition might clear their unionist heads.

:D:D:D

I think I've given the appropriate reply

Mortelaro wrote: »
    :D:D:D

I think I've given the appropriate reply

About as good as an FG supporter can manage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

The tipping point for me with FG was minimum pricing for alcohol. It was in their 2010 manifesto to introduce this to save the Irish pub. But when it was voted upon this year it was all about health. Hyperbole and waffle. Why should non alcoholics be forced to pay double for a can of beer?

About as good as an FG supporter can manage.

Well I'd disagree with that
    I'd say consistent with the percentage of people in Ireland sharing your hard left wing Republican socialist view
    Laughter is only at the thought anyone thinks otherwise

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

The tipping point for me with FG was minimum pricing for alcohol. It was in their 2010 manifesto to introduce this to save the Irish pub. But when it was voted upon this year it was all about health. Hyperbole and waffle. Why should non alcoholics be forced to pay double for a can of beer?

When you have an issue and the ‘solution’ is to up the price of it to stop people doing it its a giant dog whistle that says ‘were well aware that this problem isnt with the middle or upper classes’ FG know that our drink problem lies firmly within poorer households but wouldnrather punish us all than tackle the elephant in the room of people mis spending welfare and costing the HSE more in the process.

Well I'd disagree with that
    I'd say consistent with the percentage of people in Ireland sharing your hard left wing Republican socialist view
    Laughter is only at the thought anyone thinks otherwise

Hard left? No evidence of same in my post. Just an FG knee jerk reaction through the list of hard right reactions available. Socialist? No evidence. As above.

Republican ? Definitely. As are most people in the Republic. It’s only a dirty word to unionists/west Brits. And there are more sorts of Republican than you imagine.

Hard left? No evidence of same in my post. Just an FG knee jerk reaction through the list of hard right reactions available. Socialist? No evidence. As above.

Republican ? Definitely. As are most people in the Republic. It’s only a dirty word to unionists/west Brits. And there are more sorts of Republican than you imagine.

It's your language and tone that gives it away
    You're entitled to be a Republican socialist
    I respect that
    I was just pointing out how tiny a minority that is
    I'm a Republican too by the way yes.
    Just not a Republican socialist

• Registered Users Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭storker

ELM327 wrote: »
    Yet if they did nothing the rent a mob would be complaining about no childrens hospital for de childer, joe.

False dichotomy. I'm pretty sure that between...
    • Don't bother with a children's hospital
    • Build a children's hospital that takes forever and involves eye-watering budget overruns
    ...there are some other options.

It's your language and tone that gives it away
    You're entitled to be a Republican socialist
    I respect that
    I was just pointing out how tiny a minority that is
    I'm a Republican too by the way yes.
    Just not a Republican socialist

No evidence other than prejudice. No Republican can support FG. That myth is well buried by now. Your tone is Trumpism. “Socialism” is a dirty word to that type. FG are facing a hiding at the GE. well overdue and richly deserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,009 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

storker wrote: »
    False dichotomy. I'm pretty sure that between...
    • Don't bother with a children's hospital
    • Build a children's hospital that takes forever and involves eye-watering budget overruns
    ...there are some other options.
    Abortions for some, miniature American flags for others?
    When will the rent a mob be happy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Honest question who is this rent a mob you have referred to twice?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

I can't see him as Taoiseach. He was around Bertie's cabinet. People won't vote him back.

I will be voting FG (as I have done since 2011) as there is no other credible option.
    Have you considered voting People Before Profit?

Considering they are leftist loons and I'm in favour of sensible management of finances, no.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭storker

???

Honest question who is this rent a mob you have referred to twice?
    This might help you

No evidence other than prejudice. No Republican can support FG. That myth is well buried by now. Your tone is Trumpism. “Socialism” is a dirty word to that type. FG are facing a hiding at the GE. well overdue and richly deserved.

I refer you back to my point a few posts back regarding my laughter

More power to you for holding those intense positions
    Actually scratch that,I wouldn't give more power to ya :D
    Fair play to you instead

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Only when they get everything for free and Those who have professional careers are all taxed to death.

This might help you

I thought you could explain since you used the descriptor twice. I can just assume by your answer you have no idea either just a term you like the sound of.

What does explain mean?
    What does descriptor mean?

I can just assume by your answer you have no idea either just a term you like the sound of.

Do you people need to be spoonfed?

What does explain mean?
    What does descriptor mean?

I can just assume by your answer you have no idea either just a term you like the sound of.

So you have no intention of explaining whom you are referring to when you use the term 'rent a mob'.
    Actually can one rent a mob ? Where would you find their services advertised?

You people?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

To which Martin can answer Brexit wouldn't allow us
    So No,you're wrong on that

They've had multiple extensions on which a general election could have taken place between that those. In fact we could have been in General Election mode right now, along with the UK.

If Boris Johnson doesn't get his majority, quess what? Another extention and more of the "National Interest" for poor aul Michael.

A strong leader would have pulled the plug before the 3 year deal, citing "We can't put up with this".

• Registered Users Posts: 14,988 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Not sure what's going to happen tomorrow with Murphy. I was willing to give him and FG the benefit of the doubt on housing as the problem is ultimately not of their creation, it's a hangover from the crash.

But they've had 3 years and there's still no sign of any vision or strategy to deal with the issue, and LV is getting complacent (witness his comment last week about property taxes making up for any shortage in corporate tax, like he'd been suddenly possessed by the spirit of McCreevey. Also his vacillating on Maria Bailey and Verona Murphy). Maybe it is time for an election.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Definitely time for an election. Leo should be in a boy band, he proves this time and time again along with his merry men Murphy and Paschal. All "style" and no substance with the back bone of a Jelly Fish.

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

Murphy is a clown too beholden to a right wing, don't upset land owners whatever you do, department of housing. But he's Varadkars man so leo will back him to the hilt.

A little trivia, what connects Murphy's grandfather and Gay Byrne?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

loyatemu wrote: »
    Not sure what's going to happen tomorrow with Murphy. I was willing to give him and FG the benefit of the doubt on housing as the problem is ultimately not of their creation, it's a hangover from the crash.

But they've had 3 years and there's still no sign of any vision or strategy to deal with the issue, and LV is getting complacent (witness his comment last week about property taxes making up for any shortage in corporate tax, like he'd been suddenly possessed by the spirit of McCreevey. Also his vacillating on Maria Bailey and Verona Murphy). Maybe it is time for an election.

Most people want to live in the centre of Dublin. That is a commendable aspiration. But achieving that for free on the back of sacrifices of taxpaying people struggling to commute from Portlaoise, Wexford, Drogheda and Mullingar to work in Dublin should not even be contemplated and the fact that FG are contemplating solutions like this makes me so angry.

https://m.independent.ie/opinion/comment/john-downing-problems-for-varadkar-are-far-bigger-than-the-four-byelection-defeats-the-tide-has-now-turned-38743833.html

Indo really seems to have it in for Leo. Some time on the opposition benches may bring back some much needed humility for Leo and the lads. I suspect however Leo has his sights set further afield.