Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Compiling a list of FG poor performance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Never forget that the current leader of Fianna Fail was also Minister for Health and guess what he did?

**** all.

Nothing is going to change in the health service, We could be paying 70% taxes in this country and we still wouldn't fix it.

Not a solution but if it was France there would be riots.

The answer is not throwing more money at it either. The answer is likely to be found in in proper governance structures, implementation of new technologies, trimming the waste (useless lazy management), making it leaner, hiring more skilled front line staff and of course more beds!

No point in throwing more good money after bad until it is sorted. To do that there has to be some hard decisions which no Govt has the balls to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

and next election some other clowns will get into government and absolutely nothing will change in the health service - its been in "crisis" my entire life.

And yet people will defend voting FF or FG because the others word be worse, allegedly.
    Why would FF or FG do anything different? What they do works great for them.

The only question is which of the two has the balls to tackle privatising the HSE. That's the long con they are both looking to IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

And yet people will defend voting FF or FG because the others word be worse, allegedly.
    Why would FF or FG do anything different? What they do works great for them.

The only question is which of the two has the balls to tackle privatising the HSE. That's the long con they are both looking to IMO.

That ship sailed with the Troika.

Harney had a go. There's ways and means. Outsourcing and still public in name. Lots of contracts to be had and that's all it's about.
    A multinational conglomerate who do security and US prison guards etc. clean the courts in Dublin for example.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Highest number of patients in a single day waiting for beds today at 760. The narrative seems to be it's flu season but this is an annual thing.

Another sky high achievement for FG. The clowns are in power since 2011 so their excuses don't wash.

Literally asleep on the job.

listen I totally agree, but if anyone else thinks any of the other fools will do anything different, they are delusional! What are they going to do? Reform the HSE? cut pay etc? LOL! LOL!

The setup here is a sham! "What do we want? Change! What do we wont to do to effect change? NOTHING"

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Not a solution but if it was France there would be riots.

The answer is not throwing more money at it either. The answer is likely to be found in in proper governance structures, implementation of new technologies, trimming the waste (useless lazy management), making it leaner, hiring more skilled front line staff and of course more beds!

No point in throwing more good money after bad until it is sorted. To do that there has to be some hard decisions which no Govt has the balls to do.

nail on the head! now do you believe that any of the parties would do this? never mind the champagne socialists? its comedy the thought of any of the parties doing anything different!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Alan Farrell 15k injury claim

Verona Murphy Fiasco

Tuam babies (Still nothing done)

Government Jet and LE Aisling sell off Fiasco

Eoghan Murphy and others (born with a silver spoon in their mouth, literally do not give a toss about anyone)

Irish Water

Cervical Check Crisis

The corruption in the Garda and the Ms Fitzgerald p!$$ take

Project 2040 propaganda with tax payers money (Strategic Communications Unit)

In Party bullying

Leo doing deals with Lowry (a convicted criminal) to become head of the party

Fast track planning permission which is a joke!

The Pope visit costs and treatment of soldiers

Defense forces dwindling

Prisons Full, Not enough Garda (Large parts of rural Ireland, and some towns are effectively lawless), and other judicial reform which is desperately needed.

Propping up Shane Ross (Biggest A$$hole in the Dail) and other Independents to stay in power

Public services card (turns out it's not legal to force people to have one.... more money wasted)

In Party bickering (Waterford)

TD Josepha Madigan advice to Ms Bailey

Cocaine epidemic on the horizon

Coming to the rescue of RTE, despite the fact barely anyone watches it anymore!

Insurance Crisis

Baptism Barrier back tracking

Policy that allows Irish Banks to be free of income tax for years post crash

And that's only after 10 minutes of googling

I've always voted for Fine Gael.
    I don't know who to vote for in the next election

at least I can agree with the above! Literally not voting, is a very credible option. they are all piss takers!

Throw in FF there instead of FG the past few years, and you have some of the same and some different scandals...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    at least I can agree with the above! Literally not voting, is a very credible option. they are all piss takers!

I used to think this.
    However not voting ends up in things like Brexit, Trump and Borris

You need to use every number on the voting card.
    If there are 10 candidates you start are number 10 as opposed to number 1
    10 being the person you absolutely do no want to get into government, and then work your way back to number 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Long list

Nice list, hard to argue with it.

I would add - Dara Murphy working for FG in Brussels, drawing two salaries, with Leo's approval (says Murphy)

The TDs and senators caught up with expenses they weren't entitled to (Farrell, Bailey, Mulhern)

The constant awarding of lucrative state contracts to a friend of the party - and the inquiries that seem to go with them.

GDRP, FG only seem to think It's important if it works in their favour. (Look up Public services card and the Apple tax contradictions)

John Delaney debacle.

I've left more out, I'll revisit later.

McMurphy wrote: »
    Nice list, hard to argue with it.

I would add - Dara Murphy working for FG in Brussels, drawing two salaries, with Leo's approval (says Murphy)

The TDs and senators caught up with expenses they weren't entitled to (Farrell, Bailey, Mulhern)

The constant awarding of lucrative state contracts to a friend of the party - and the inquiries that seem to go with them.

GDRP, FG only seem to think It's important if it works in their favour. (Look up Public services card and the Apple tax contradictions)

John Delaney debacle.

I've left more out, I'll revisit later.

You could go on forever depending on how far into the nitty gritty you wanted to get.

Thing is FF would probably have performed the same for most of the National level issues.

Ultimately, a party needs:
    1: The right mandate
    2: A huge majority
    3: And most importantly some bottle
    to sort the issues we have

Like I don't give a sh*t if TD X knows Engineering Company's Y CEO and they do a deal to get something built so long as it's a good deal for the Tax payer.

A huge part of the issue that any government here has is
    1: We have a huge amount of people on state benefit/welfare of some kind
    2: A large number of public sector workers do SFA and are huge under performers (This could nearly be considered state welfare, they do no work and can't be fired)
    3: Political dynasty's and distrust of anyone new

People on welfare are not going to vote for a party that are going to take away welfare from those that don't really need it.

Getting a change through the public sector or with civil servants is nearly impossible.
    Look at the Dail printer, Civil servants refusing to use it unless they get a raise.
    It's the same with any public sector job.
    Imagine someone in a large multinational company refusing to use a printer unless they got more money.
    They'd be sacked on the spot, in fact Amazon routinely sack their bottom 5% of performers every year.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Steviewinger

I don't think Leo is doing himself any favours with the electorate today with his discussion on remembering the black and tans. Carcrash tv

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Baptism Barrier back tracking

Do you mind me asking, what is this?

The RIC commemoration is a good laugh.
    Like Germany having a remembrance for the Stasi ffs. They tried to paint over the 1916 commemoration and now this farce.
    Is remembrance day not enough for allegedly lamenting losses on all sides? Leo looking for a KBE?
    Tories being Tories.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,152 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Did John Bruton just say on the Claire Byrne show that we had two civil wars. Must have been mitching the day that was taught.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I don't think Leo is doing himself any favours with the electorate today with his discussion on remembering the black and tans. Carcrash tv

That one was probably one of the most shocking things FG have come out with yet imo.

You couldn't make it up, Leo proudly displays a portrait of Michael Collins in his office, and his party wants to commemorate the black and tans?

download.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

This is fast becoming an absolute clusterf**k by FG. How they felt it was a good idea to commemorate the DMP/RIC and the Tans boogles the mind.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/justice-minister-insists-ric-commemoration-is-not-a-celebration-of-the-black-and-tans-38837971.html

This is fast becoming an absolute clusterf**k by FG. How they felt it was a good idea to commemorate the DMP/RIC and the Tans boogles the mind.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/justice-minister-insists-ric-commemoration-is-not-a-celebration-of-the-black-and-tans-38837971.html

Because everyone are “ a great bunch of lads “ they stand for nothing. Pathetic

Dublin City Council votes to boycott RIC commemoration service https://jrnl.ie/4955771

Take a read of the comments. Looooooool!!! Varadkar possibly the most hated Taoiseach ever? I could tell he was the emperor with no clothes nearly immediately, thank god he’s been found out to be the massive fraud he is , by the masses ... they wish they took Coveney now!

Assuming a large part of the swing back to ff is from rural Ireland. That disconnected ” quare” up in Dublin , as they see it , isn’t doing them any favors !

He's a non-event as a politician. He's the unelected leader of the marginally preferable to FF party with arrogance and ignorance in spades.

He's likely vying for a KBE.
    The Irish should boycott this Ill informed insragram folliy of the arse licking of the Empire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I think if this goes ahead there is a real possibility it will be the tipping point for disturbances on the street. Many people across all political spectrums are infuriated and protests being planned.

It's been another spectacular own goal,no doubt about it.

Be curious to see what FF does. Half arsing it to play both sides won't work this time.

Do you mind me asking, what is this?

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/it-is-not-the-churchrsquos-job-to-provide-education-in-this-country-catholic-barrister-says-821199.html

Couple of years back, Government pushed to remove baptism barrier, but the church just said No.
    The Catholic Church is warning that removing the barrier will leave the State at risk of massive legal action.

IE: "We'll sue the crap out of you if you remove the barrier. We gave you the land and a lot of the buildings on the agreement that baptised children come first"

Even now, there are religious inspectors in Schools checking if catholic religion is being taught, it it's not they threaten to sack the principal (which that can do as they have a majority on the board of a massive amount of schools every school)

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Dublin City Council votes to boycott RIC commemoration service https://jrnl.ie/4955771

Take a read of the comments. Looooooool!!! Varadkar possibly the most hated Taoiseach ever? I could tell he was the emperor with no clothes nearly immediately, thank god he’s been found out to be the massive fraud he is , by the masses ... they wish they took Coveney now!

Assuming a large part of the swing back to ff is from rural Ireland. That disconnected ” *****” up in Dublin , as they see it , isn’t doing them any favors !

Probably shouldn't haven't used the Q word, but I get what you're saying about the disconnect between some groups of rural and city dwelling people.

It seems quite clear now that Leo wants out. He's fed up with all the crap and the useless and stupid TD's he's been surrounded with.
    He knows there is no way he'll get elected as Taoiseach with a majority, he'll just end up in a minority government or a crappy coalition again.
    He's a Doctor by trade, they make huge money, why would he hassle himself with the job of Taoiseach when he could make nearly as much money being a Doctor.

I think this government has performed very poorly, it's being kept on life support by the confidence and supply agreement (barely).
    I think the CASA has damaged FF also

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

McMurphy wrote: »
    You couldn't make it up, Leo proudly displays a portrait of Michael Collins in his office, and his party wants to commemorate the black and tans?

It seems you could make it up.

Beta Rey bill. If he goes back to being a doctor , he wouldn’t want to do it in this Country! Joke of a system. Outrageous marginal rate of tax. Do what the rest of the clever ones do and get out of here !

I wonder would a senior ff / junior fg coalition be the best outcome. All options are so ****e , it’s hard to know. Or is it possible if neck and neck to form coalition and split ministries and Taoiseach duty on a yearly rotating basis ?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

maybe he thought it was a celebration of blacks & tans rather than black n tans?

Wonder if he asked Kylie to perform at the celebration!

“Dear Kylie,

How are you ? I’m super , thanks for asking ! Would love for you to perform at our black n tans celebration. It’s sure to be a great occasion. Ps, I just can’t get you out of my head! Hugs and kisses , your biggest fan. LV - Taoiseach ( Ireland’s prime minister ) XOXO “

Ps I think this could be a great distraction for me on a personal level. Get my mind off the riff raff and peasants I have to entertain and who’s vote I will shortly have to court. It’s a fine line between actually looking after the elite , while fooling enough of the plebs into voting for you. But I digress ...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Has anyone mentioned the ghettos they've allowed to spawn across the country by having a complete lack of plan for integrating people into new communities?