Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Revolut Megathread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭beachhead

used to be regular event in Tesco.Hasn't happened for about 2 yrs to me.Refund can take up to 5 days.Otherwise collar the store manager.as above essential to keep any receipts

• Registered Users Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭Zardoz

A proper bank wouldn't dream of asking such a thing and its why they shouldnt really be used.

I have an account with N26 and Wise, use them way more than Revolut and never an issue with them.

Both excellent services in comparison.

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 5,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

There's a fundamental difference between your card being compromised (through no fault of your own) and you being tricked into making a transfer into another bank account.

Regardless of it being Revolut or a traditional bank, in the former case you're covered and will be refunded.

In the latter case though, there's no comeback regardless of the bank.

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 5,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

Can take a few days.

Moral of the story, after getting a refund don't leave until you've a receipt of said refund.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭apache

Yeah will have to make sure I have my receipt in future......

• Registered Users Posts: 9,781 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Falling for a scam phone call and giving your card details I'd understand, and I've a lot of sympathy for anyone caught out by the recent Whatsapp scam. But if you don't question why you have to transfer all your money twice, and why the second time you're transferring it to an individual's account, then I can't really muster any sympathy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭mightyreds

I have tried them out, I've used them for years but now I'm full time banking with them and if I was scammed and they were unhelpful or locked my account for transferring over 360 euro that might be an issue.

I know there's horror stories with every bank but I don't think I've ever had one lock my account for a week.

Plus the scam above you could say is user fault but once the gards got involved AIB did a charge back don't know why revolut can't do similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭Gooser14

Is it not the case that AIB are now looking for the money back now that they know that it was willingly transferred to the scammer. It could be that I have misunderstood what OP is stating.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭Gooser14

That's my understanding also. But the following from one of OP posts yesterday has confused the issue:

"More the frustration how the events played out and how AIB payed me back the money and no warning about 'the possible chargeback process' which happened a few weeks later".

Perhaps OP can clarify whether he has got his money back or has been held responsible for the loss.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,348 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yep that's what happened

Never heard the word 'chargeback' til my revolut accout was locked a few weeks ago. Wish it was indicated to me that it could happen even with the funds 'refunded' (the day I made the statement)

The garda statement was hard as there not the best for that kind of thing

The tough bit is that the payback is not somewhat negotiable in terms of paying it off over a period. Really don't know what to do In that regard

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

I'm happy to give you what information, apart from his banking details, to which you don't think you've been privy if you have anything relevant to say.

Actually, I'll tell you anyway. He transferred €361 from his regular AIB account to his Revolut account. He's working in France but work hasn't been very regular recently because it's not the busy holiday season where he is so he is a bit strapped. He bought a motorbike to make it easier to get to jobs thinking that he could pay his insurance monthly but because of red tape the insurance company decided then once he'd taken the policy out that he couldn't and he'd have to pay the entire amount upfront.

His father sent him money into his AIB account to pay for it. Because he didn't take a card reader with him and also his AIB card is out of date and I hadn't yet sent him his new one because it went to our old address, he couldn't pay the insurance from his AIB account to the insurance company's account as they wanted him to so he transferred it to Revolut to pay it through that card because he didn't need a card reader and his card is current. As soon as he put it into his Revolut account Revolut restricted his account. He doesn't have lots of money at the moment but what he has he puts on Revolut so most of his transactions would be his wages when he's earned anything and his living expenses such as food, petrol, and other transport. Anything else you want to be privy to? He's done nothing wrong, despite your suspicions. If you wanted more information you should have asked and not been snide about it.

For anyone else having similar Revolut account problems, a friend who works in the finance sector sent me this advice. It might be of some help to you.

"It does sound like maybe they’re being overzealous with their AML. I think you have to give them 40 days before an official complaint to the ombudsman which is not v helpful for you. Can I suggest that instead of using the chat you/ he pens a formal email outlining that his account has been locked and noting that they have a duty to investigate promptly. Given the small sum involved, they should be able to review this in a timely fashion and the delay is causing undue hardship to your son. Acknowledge duty to comply with AML but note it must be applied proportionately and they have a duty of care to their customers too and you feel that if this matter is not resolved you will need to bring it to the attention of the ombudsman and the CBI as it appears to be a common issue for customers of Revolut and you would like to bring it to the attention of the regulator given their plans to expand their banking activity. (It’s Saber rattling obviously, but a few choice phrases might push them to get it sorted)."

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

Thanks. I've done a lot of googling the last few days and although I didn't come across Wise, I did find posts concerning N26 and Monzo and both of them seem to have both good and bad comments about them. I've used Revolut for the last couple of years and have had no problems, touch wood. It seems to be if it is your turn to trip up over their account review algorithm they freeze your account and review it rather than for any real reason. It's taught me to only transfer over what I can afford to lose which is feck all. I hate paying AIB bank fees but at least I don't have to worry about them freezing my account and then not being able to contact them. On the Revolut blog there's a post about this business of reviewing accounts and it seems their chatbots/people are legally not allowed to discuss the reasons or anything with you other than to say how many days it will take to review or to look for docs or proof of stuff to do with your account.

• Administrators Posts: 53,796 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Same, I was rejected and unclear why. I would get the same loan from any bank or other lender without any of them batting an eyelid, never been rejected for anything before. Loan was also very small, was just going to refinance the remainder of an existing loan to a better rate.

I didn't try again since.

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭timetogo1

Me too. Annoying thing is I still get prompted about Revoluts new loan service.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Have you checked your CCR report recently? Perhaps there is an error on it.

• Administrators Posts: 53,796 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

To be honest I didn't bother because I heard other people having the same issue.

I think in my case Revolut gets confused about my salary when it tries to verify it in the linked account. Revolut asks for your monthly salary but I get paid every 2 weeks. There's no way to tell Revolut that I get paid every 2 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,967 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Has anyone used any alternatives to Revolut for doing a whipround in work or similar? The Group Vault is grand if you know all the people involved. If you're dealing with a wider audience, there doesn't seem to be any way to let them contribute.

Has anyone used other apps for this?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

A few work collections over the last couple of Covid years, the organiser has mailed everyone to say "envelope on the desk or you can Revolut me" and mailed back their account nickname/phone number - not brilliant, but it works.

Yeah, I’ve done that too. It’s just a pain having to move each Revolut payment into the vault. Some way of automating this would be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,594 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Quick question re: a junior account.

My revolut account has sterling, euro and dollar subsections. I deal mostly in stg.

I ordered the young lad a junior card linked to my account as he starts secondary school.

When it arrived I assumed I'd be able to add euro to his too, but it is only allowing me to add stg to his, something to do with the base account on mine.

I now have to load his card with sterling, but wondering if he will incur any exchange fees as he will mostly be spending in Ireland? Or will it just do the exchange calculation foc and take out the corresponding stg amount?

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭feargantae

I'm in Vienna right now and you can take money out of the atm by tapping your phone. Using the Revolut card outright and the atm tries to charge €4.90 (Visa&MC) but using the Revolut card through Curve (Mastercard) it's free! Very strange but I dunno how much this is Revolut or just the atm/bank not liking the card.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭feargantae

He probably won't hit the threshold for normal currency conversion fees given his age so should be fine there, think its around €1k/pm. Revolut will charge 1% at the weekend if you're paying in € from the £ account though.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,594 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Can they pay to Revolut via a link? Didn’t know that, it’s still a bit fiddly to have to move each incoming payment to the vault.

I read that the PayPal feature has been shut down. There are a couple of specialist apps, if anyone has used them?

Has anyone tried setting up a Revolut card for payments via an Android Watch (Samsung Watch 4 in this case)?

It lets me set up the card fine, but instead of then just letting me tap, it wants me to verify a purchase - which means opening my phone to accept a text or to open the Revolut app (via the Play store, it's not even direct). Like, that's several steps slower than just tapping with a card or my phone! What am I missing/doing wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,427 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Does it ask for verification every time you tap? It asks that when you add the card to the watch but it shouldn't ask every time you tap to pay with the revolut card.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,111 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I have my Revolut card set up on my Fitbit Versa 2. No issues. How did you add your card to the watch? By a phone app? On the watch itself?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,427 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

For me i started the process in Google Wallet on the watch. It then asked me to continue on the phone and it opened the google wallet app on the right screen.

Looks like the verification wasn't completed properly. Tried again there and it took about 20 minutes for me to get a text from Revolut with the verification code, but it tells me it's all set up now.